(2012/06) Jun 2012

Fleurfleur, can eat/drink coconut now, but make sure don't take it too frequently.

Re cake toppers, have you tried looking for it at Bake It Yourself? It's a shop along Bt Timah Rd, opposite Newton Hawker Centre. www.b-i-y.com.

smilezz

Er.. your "Onz" is eat at MFm tomorrow, or another day? I'm confused coz u said lunch is provided for your seminar?

nattan, smilezz

Ooh.. $1.3k is a bit ex leh

Actually Hubs bought me an Acer laptop (the big kind with the number pad) abt 3 yrs ago. Still working fine. Think he spent $800+? I was hoping to spend less than $1k leh, coz I'm not really a very computer-savvy person. Seems such a waste to spend on a Macbook when I dun even know how to do those editing, photoshop etc stuff.

Aws thought Macbooks are better for such graphics stuff & Windows is better for documents.

nattan

I have to disgree abt the iPhone. It starts 'breaking down' or acting up after a yr

Jul, yeah.. I cannot say the same about iPhone :p Lots of people complain about it too. I guess it's cos Apple is after all a computing hardware company and not one that specialises in telecommunication devices :p Anyway, I've heard a lot about the iPhone 5.. will see how good it really is when it's out. I need to change my phone soon.

If you're not planning to bring the device anywhere then just use the Acer la.

It used to be that Macs are better for graphics and Windows is for "work", but now that MS Office is also available for Mac, that doesn't hold water anymore. I love my iMac in the office and my Macbook at home.. they just seem to work a lot better than most PCs I've used :p

nattan

I wanna bring it to, say, hospital, on hols, out to sit somewhere in a cafe etc, so can't lug the Acer lah.

Ssmilezz: I love birds nest but only my MIL knows how to cook it perfectly! Cant wait for her to come back!! Hahaha.....

Fleur: Can you clarify with Dr Chan again this Thursday during your checkup?! I was a little shock when he asked me to eat coconut that i did not questioned him. Hahaha....

When is your next checkup with him after this Thursday?

Fleur

What are cake toppers?

Jul

Hehe. Sorry la. I mean another day as i don't mind going to Plaza Sing to makan.

Then maybe a IPad will be more portable for u.

Nattan

U mean the pampers or
goon? Very fast hor?

Jul, haha and you want to look at spreadsheets and word docs in the hospital and holidays ah... If it's more for leisure use, then iPad is ok la. But since it's has no disk drives, you just need to rip your DVDs into it.

ssmilezz, both Pampers and Goon arrived today
Now my living room has boxes and bags of diapers!! Fortunately I can slot them under the baby cot... Need to get the storage drawers soon...

ssmilezz & jul,
i dun mind going to plaza sing to have lunch too. but tmr i have something on already. another day. can have cafe cartel set lunch :p

<font color="aa00aa">I only ordered 1 pack of G.OON diapers in size S for baby to try as we plan to use traditional and modern cloth diapers at home (we did that with #1 too.

My boss has MacBook Air and it's really slim and light. Graphics is awesome too!</font>

Sorry to interrupt.....I have some brand new bumwear prefolds for sale. Never used before.

5 white prefolds (premium)
5 unbleached prefold (newborn)
2 Snappies

Willing to sell them at $30 (exclude postage charges).

Please pm or email me at [email protected] if you are keen to purchase them.

jul > same as u, i also wan2 gt a ipad for the same purpose. Nt sure if its enough n nt cheap either. Bt it also hlp to entertain our #1 whn we r out dining. Whic cn b useful for us at times.

Petrina, I didn't attend the presentation at all in the seminar as I have other appointment and I bring my #1 along. Btw 36 weeks is too risky to go out. My mum said I pop out in 36 wks with a good weight of 2.4 kg lor.

Sigh headache becoz my boss ask me to organize company team building but he doesn't want to hire event organizer. I have this chinatown treasure hunt idea, but other group come up with universal studio trip which in the end boss didn't agree. Sianz if we already proceed with the chinatown one sure can arrange everything already. Now boss said he will need other idea beside chinatown and decide. Any idea for company team building? Boss said must have interaction, lesson learnt, teamwork, and fun factor.
My boss suggested paintball which is rejected by most colleagues including guys said very painful hehehe.
And boss doesn't want cooking for sure. Very fussy indeed.
Now Boss asked me to ask hr manager for team building ideas. He wants half day in office half day outside do bowling or paintball or cycling. Actually I find where got team building lesson learnt in cycling or bowling?? And paintball just shooting people like that?

Fleurfleur, can find these cake toppers at B-I-Y.com, but not sure if they have suitable ones for full month..

Groovy, I think your boss prefers something more relaxing and not messy. Maybe can do as he suggests...half day in the office, have some sharing programme like teambuilding workshop (with topics like "how to work with different types of people") with refreshments and then followed by outdoor kind of activity like go prawn fishing, or ice skating followed by dinner?

My #1 comes out super bloody then hubby aunt said maybe becoz I don't drink coconut water. In fact I am drinking it like once or twice a week leh!! Becoz my gynea cut me quite badly I guess and #1 has lots of hair that's why the blood sticks. Btw I delivered naturally last time. And maybe the midwife never wipes the bloody hair properly last time

Fleur

Ah, OIC - are you planning to make your own cake or cupcakes?

Your gynae must have many patients asking him the same qn. Actually, most patients do ask the same qns so must be quite tiresome for them to answer all day long.

Groovy

Paintball is really very messy and painful. :p We have this so called team bonding event once every quarter at my place. Erm, we did the typical bowling (split into groups - friendly competition, followed by dinner), booked the entire room &amp; buffet at Kbox or issit Partyworld, did cycling at East Coast Park followed by seafood dinner before too, went to Sentosa to play the luge ride and dinner, had a volleyball/captain ball game session at Sentosa followed by dinner before too. Oh yah, we did a volunteer group event together too! Quite meaningful actually!

Quite a odd variety of things we did together i guess. Budget always around $35 - $50 per head at our side.

groovy: try building sandcastles. oops, dun wan event organiser? think still can diy, but the effect not so good though. I know of a professional one.

Anyway, can just stay put in one place.

smilez > bt smtimes i wil also lik to do sm plannin w spreadsheet n do sm cut n paste to words, while on the go. Wonder if ipad is gd enough for these.

Heading off for my workshop now.
have a good day at work!

Chis

I dunno leh. Cos I don't have an IPad. Hehe. Need to ask those IPad users if it is user friendly
Enough. But I do like the size and portability
So thinking of getting one.

Groovy

How abt something simple like charades or hangman or some silly guessing games like "who has 5kids, who drives a ferrari" etc. Then can have buffet lunch or go out n eat. Can have some bollywood veg farm tour, factory tour mushroom farm tour etc?

Chris

I'm also in a dilemma abt what to buy!

With the iPad, it's very portable. And very easy to use. Just sit on the bed, &amp; on it. Or just reach for it &amp; google for something in a hurry. But wonder if it can do the simple spreadsheets like simple caln, making list, cutting &amp; pasting to Word etc.

Buying a notebook would gurantee the tasks, but not so portable.

A Netbook would be more portable, but it could be slow at everything.

So I also dunno how!!!!

Been so tiring for the past week or so, keep waking up in the night a few times and unable to go back to sleep. Even I can, my boy who is sick recently has been crying in the night. Hope he won't spread it to me.

Went for gynae checkup on Sunday, baby weigh 1.3kg at 29 week. I feel baby weight jump too much but gynae not concerned about it. From 651g to 1.3kg in 5 weeks' time. Thinking of cutting down on my carbo.

jul
Thinking of getting the nursing bra from you but not sure my hubby want me to send it to his office and receive on my behalf. Must warned him not to open the package? Haha..

Tab
I have a samsung galaxy tab bought a few months ago, couldn't get ipad as they are OOS but end up it become my boy tab instead of mine. I used it to play some games and online but he deleted all my games, installed his own and he told us that is his now. Sigh, kids nowadays are so clever..

pampers
I didn't get any, thinking of wearing modern diaper once the disposable diapers from hospital finish. Hope I won't regret from the washing, haha.

Morning mummies... today's weather looks good...

Jul, suggest you go to the Apple shop and try it out for yourself all these functions you want to perform with the iPad and ask the sales persons there more questions. End of the day, you have to be comfortable with it. As far as I know, iPad can open attachments like Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc, but I'm not sure if you can edit them, cos iPad's software format is different. It runs on different operating system from PC laptops and Macbooks (using iOS instead of Mac Lion OS or Windows 7). So, it means you may not be able to download the full MS Office into it.

jul
Talking about the cut and paste, I really hate to do it with my samsung tab. It take me like forever to just to cut/copy, making me look so stupid. haha.. But indeed is light and convenient, can just bring it anywhere.

Very portable. Battery lasts quite ok too. But no flash. Some websites cant surf, u definitely cant play fb games online.
Basic enuff for movies n entertainment n simple work.
Its either ipad or laptop, whichever brans.
I'll suggest samsung 10" tablet though in comparison to ipad. Same features as ipad, size n all, with flash.

Oh yes.. iPad cannot load Flash websites... cos Steve Jobs fell out with the Adobe guys..LOL.. very stupid.. Weirdly, this problem doesn't happen on Macbook...

Petrina you're using a Samsung Tab? Actually that's one of my choices too... thinking of getting the 7" or 8.9" version cos it's smaller and more portable. Can use as a phone also with ear piece so I don't have to get a separate SIM card like the iPad.

nattan: i m using ipad. cause when my hb suggested, samsung was late in releasing 10". i didn't want 7" as i find it small. my hb is using HTC flyer. batt sucks big time.. 7" just nice for our son though.. fits his hands perfectly.
if u dun mind smaller frame then 7" is ok. i m gonna get samsung 10" when my ipad M1 contract expires in 1yr's time. i'll convert it to a phone by getting an additional sim card from M1 w/o contract. now i'm paying $40 per mth. not that the 3G is super fantastic..

audrey

I also have not been sleeping well. Just changed my son to the toddler bed, so think he's trying to be cheeky &amp; getting out of bed. And dunno why yest night my aircon broke down! Gotta go back home tonight &amp; take a look again. Hope it isn't spoilt &amp; I have to change *HORRORS*

Yeah yeah, pls tell your Hubs not to open if he feels that it's a soft soft package haha

Your boy very clever hor!

nattan

Hmm thanks for the advice. You're right, I shd go take a look at the Apple shop. Now a bit stumbling in the dark

Morning ladies!!

Fleur: Hahaha...yea no wonder it didnt cross my mind to question him.
Will also start at my 32 week. Thats like on my next checkup which is end of the month! Oh gosh...it is going too fast!

Audreyaw: I agree with you, baby's weight seems to be increasing rapidly especially at the last trimester. Good but scary at the same time.

Yesterday was just discussing with DH and he decided we should go for a short trip either to Hkg or Bali but flights are pretty full by now for labour day weekend. Any other suggetions?
I would be in my 32 week by then.

Petrina, I think the 7" is a bit small also, the 8.9" version is just right, although I do like the iPad's super sharp retina display and design (but it's now heavier and hotter!). I also like the fact that since it runs on Andriod, most software upgrades are free and easier to update via Google Play. A lot of my friends complain about using iTunes. Another thing is that iPad doesn't have a "back" function to switch to the last used application. You have to press the home button, so everything is very one-way. Whereas for Andriod devices like the HTC or Galaxy Tab, there's a "back" button to toggle to last used application, same as HTC phones (i'm using one).

Adeline, how about travelling to Thailand? Bangkok, Phuket, Krabi, Koh Samui... all nice places. Besides heard can get cheaper baby products in BKK... I'm asking my colleague going there for office retreat to help me find some baby stuff... hehe..

nattan: yeah.. tats y i prefer android. for tablet or phone i think samsung is still better.

Adeline: thailand is cool! Go Chiang Mai.. very rustic and laid back. things r cheaper too. not too touristy as compared to Phuket or BKK. Island type like Koh Samui / Krabi more water games. less shopping.
I go thailand every year except this year.

Adeline, Krabi is less touristy in my opinion... but I've not been there for >5 yrs so cannot really comment now. From there can visit the other islands like Phi Phi Don.

If you want a less touristy place, I suggest going to Lombok (West of Bali) which I visited about 4 yrs ago.. it's a really nice place with lots of beautiful beaches and you can take a 45min ferry to visit Bali or hire a boat to tour the surrounding Gili islands, some of which have luxury beachfront resorts. Silkair flies direct to Lombok.

jul
My boy has been shifted to his toddler bed a couple of months ago and now with his bed beside me while cot bed is further away, he is contented with the new arrangement. Or else every night he want me to stay beside him and even looking for either of us in the middle of the night.

Waiting for my hubby to finish with his meeting before asking him, haha..

He saw me delete his/my games a couple of times and that's when he learn how to do it. Should have hide from him!

adeline
Hope baby won't gain too much by the next checkup but I guess he won't too as my nausea is back. Really hope it won't last till delivery.

If you are going Thailand, try not to go in April. There will be jams (popular places and airport) everywhere plus the water festival.

Hey... Ben &amp; Jerry's giving out free ice cream today...

2pm to 8pm

Vivo City #02-135/136, 1 Harbourfront Walk , 98585
Great World City #02-40A ,1 Kim Seng Promenade, 237994
The Cathay #02-12/14 ,2 Handy Road, 229233
United Square #02-08, 101 Thomson Road, 307591
Rochester; 31 Rochester Drive, #01-01,Rochester Mall,138637

2pm to 5pm

Ben &amp; Jerry’s Zoo; Zoo Entrance, 80 Mandai Lake Road, 729826
Jurong Bird Park Hawk Café; 2 Jurong Hill,628925

Adeline, btw, now Tiger Airways got 1-for-1 promo till tomorrow. Can check out the flights and packages on their site too.

best not to go thailand now till Songkran is over. heard there might be bomb threat..

Audrey: same. he'll press the apps then press the cross button. kids r so fast at learning stuffs these days. i once had a game (Adopt Baby) played for almost 6mths already. then everything done very nicely. then he went to delete it. usually accidental so he claims.
when i re-installed, i have to start all over. as it's not a zynga game.
so i stopped playing it as it's too tedious to restart everything. build from scratch again.

Constipation
i haven't have pooping feeling for a long time. not that i have hard stools just that i think my colon is dysfunctional now. anyone experiencing same issue? i think if i'm near labour, i might "push" baby out instead of stools! turning blue just trying to push...

Its been a sad week for me. My mum passed away last week after a 1 year+ battle with breast cancer. Was really sad for the first few days but told myself i have to be strong for my son, cos he is able to feel our emotions now.

Finally able to accept the fact that this is life..it begins and it ends. And really thankful to God for giving me a new life before he takes away my mum from me. Sorry for sharing this sad news early in the morning..just hope that all of us will learn to cherish what we have, especially our parents while they are still around.

My son has been really good, not sure if its becos he can sense, but he din really move much during the funeral days as i really need the time to rest. But after we finished the funeral, he moves and kick almost whole day. Only pity is his grandma can't get to hold him in her arms.

Petrina, you may experience constipation cos baby is pressing against your digestive system. Can try taking prune juice and yogurt. Of course must drink lots of water and increase fiber intake. Works for me...

Prettibride, sorry to read about your sad news.. do be strong for your son and take care of your health. I'm sure your mum passed away in peace knowing that you have your own family now. Take care...

audreyaw
Same here i have been feeling more movements especially just before i sleep. But i have so tired that i was able to fall asleep despite the movements. Feeling the tiredness but i guess its normal as we enter into the 3rd trimester

ssmilezz
I was planning to add on to the cake that i am ordering. To make it look cuter? nicer? haha
Some bakeries like Pine Garden will require customers to get their own toppers as they only do normal piping

Prettibride: Very sorry to hear about what happen to you. I cannot imagine if my mum were to leave me as she is very very close to my heart. She was also battling with cancer a few years ago but as it was in its initial stages ... with chemo and radio it is currently under ctrl and review. We have to pray for God's strength in difficult times like this and to heal our hearts knowing that she has gone to a better place without anymore suffering.
btw ... hope you have received the voucher.

prettibride: pls accept our deepest condolences. do take care of urself and be strong for ur son.

nattan: aww.. i'm already eating lots veg n water.. i can't feel. not tat i have tummy aches. trying to push hard just to get a pathetic amt out is horrible.

Pettibride

I’m really sorry to hear about your mom. Having a relative with cancer is a something very close to my heart. My dad passed away from cancer when I was 14. That was when my mom had to single handedly bring up 3 daughters on her own. My youngest sis was only 3. Time flies and although it’s been so many many years, I still miss my dad very much. Take heart that your mom is in a better place without pain. She will be watching over you and your family. Memories will always remain and time will heal your pain. Be strong k?

Petrina, I always drink coffee in the morning with breakfast.. somehow it stimulates my tummy and I'll feel like going.. heheh... Then at night before bed, I'll eat my yogurt and drink prune juice to help me prepare for the next day. So far so good, except some days when I forget to drink enough water, then it's a bit harder.. Oh ya, I always drink a big glass of water when I wake up before eating anything, I think that helps to moisturise my digestive system too.

nattan: yes. i feel that coffee helps moves my bowels abit better. i'm cutting down. been drinking soya bean milk every morning. perhaps tat's y.

prettibride: sorry to hear about what happened. as we grow older, we learn to treasure people around us more.

petrina: i try to eat fruits and yogurt, should help a bit..

Thank you ladies for your well wishes. I do believe she is in a better place now. It aches my heart to see her in pain, at least now she does not have to suffer anymore.

Fleur, yup i got it. Thank you so much! Will go for the trial once i have time.

Prettibride: My condolences to you and your family.My heart goes out to you and i am sure you miss her however she is always with you still. Do be strong and get some rest.
God bless you and your family!

prettibride

I'm so sorry abt your mum. Take peace in knowing that she's no longer suffering &amp; in a better place with God.