(2012/06) Jun 2012

i stil havnt gt my maid yt. Originally was tinkin of gettin new maid. Nw tinkin mayb i shld gt transfer maid.
dont knw liao lar, so confuse.

glass: we would most likely get a transfer maid. plan for her to come in before my confinement lady leaves so she can at least learn a bit from her.

nattan: that is really fit, but i did not dare to do another vigorous exercise initially. thinking going for light swimming more freq from 3rd trim onwards. heard it helps in delivery.

I agree with glass, it's a lot better to get a maid from now. Unless if you want to get a transfer maid.
But transfer maid most likely has problems that's why she's transferred.

It's quite difficult to get a new maid from certain agencies. Last time I change agency because my new maid already almost 3 months cannot come they said because her passport is not ready. I look for maid during my maternity leave for #1, but until the end of my maternity leave has not got one. In the end change agent and choose transfer maid, only 4 days can take the maid immediately.

If want to get a new maid it's better to get one with a ready passport. So it will be more or less confirmed when she can go here.
That's for Indonesian maid though. Dunno about Philipine or Myanmar.

nattan
i live toa payoh.. i think there's one near the central.. prob will try to see if it's possible to go there later in the aft with the kiddo.. =) just gotta check out the operating hours.. and perhaps google abit on the good ma kuang outlets =)

maid issues
i've got two in the span of about 2 years.. the first one was experienced, 40+ yrs old, used to work in UAE.. people ask me get older ones, more stable cos has family back in philippines to support etc.. unfortunately she was abit stubborn in her ways and had many conflicts w my mum (who is the one interacting w her most, since i'm at work).. in e end, she was the one who opted out and asked to leave..

the second one (current one), fresh from philippines, graduate w comp science degree, younger than me at 27.. she is more adaptable and able to take suggestions better.. i'm perfecty ok with her, my mum likes her a lot better and my #1 takes to her.. i'm glad i have her =) just thinking how long she willing to stay and how long i willing to have her.. i was initially resistent to having a stranger at home but have grown accustomed to it mainly due to convenience =)

exercise
i used to be a gym rat in uni days, popping in gym every other day.. haha.. but aft preggy #1, my membership gone to waste.. tho i that year, i signed up for 10k yellow ribbon run to spur myself to exercise . thinking of gg std chart end yr 21km! hah! crazy!

Glass

First day only so still too new to rate. Keep monitoring her and how she copes over the week. Over the weekend then you'll have more time to run through stuffs with her so these few days, just close one eye first.

Nattan

That's true la, u need to scout around for cheaper offers instead of just buying to hit the $150! Every cent counts!

What time did your pampers delivery arrive? Mine should be today I think. I used my ILs address since they are at home.

Anna

Yup, I bought my pampers at 4.30. Missed the earlier round but thought its still cheap so get to try try.

Kadice

Ive also been working out since my entire pregnancy even during first trim. But i did so only because I have been exercising regularly like 2-4 times a wk over many many years. I still do my cross trainer ( I have it at home while watching tv) for 40 mins maybe 2-3 times a week. Usu twice after work at night and once during the weekends. Every morning I will do some light stretching for 20 mins. So far quite manageable. Still quite active around the house, less bending but still doing household chores and caring for my dogs.

Chris

If u really want to get maid, better start now. Best for her to come in first and settle down with all the training before your no 2 comes leh. Wait very luan to manage when your baby just born and she's so new.

Transfer or new all boils down to what type of maid u are looking for.

Maids

I never had one around the house or in our family. Hub is also insistent that he doesn't want a stranger around the house. I told him then we both need to share the load to cope and put in our part if not cant manage for sure.

But since his parents will care for our baby next time n they are retirees, we told them if they need one to help out at home we will get them one. But they are quite insistent they don't want. See how things go.

Good morning ladies. I'm on leave today. Happy that I can pack my house & rest at home

Most likely will get a transfer maid dun think my mil wants to teach her from scratch. I went to the agencies to enquire the procedures two weeks back. Think we should be going to register by next month.

ssmilezz, the delivery came in the afternoon. Fortunately my hubby was at home to receive the delivery.

I'm thinking of ordering more in S and M size to stock up on GMarket. It's cheaper than Carrefour esp if you buy over $50 for free delivery

For Carrefour, I may order the Algo storage drawers, 1 can of baby formula, baby laundry detergent and other household cleaners. Should be able to hit $150...Their website really sucks.. very little variety compared to websites of Cold Storage and Fairprice, so have to go down physically to purchase and arrange for delivery. If Fairprice has the same storage drawers, I'd go there instead.

Re domestic helpers, I think can get one if really have too much housework to cope. But I dislike the idea of helper looking after children cos I don't like my children to grow up thinking of helper as their main caregiver. Also, nowadays kids are becoming more and more spoilt cos their parents let the helper look after them. The other day, my hubby witnessed a helper getting screamed at by a parent when she tried to tell the kid not to do something dangerous. This kind of negative example and lack of proper discipline reinforces to the kid that helpers are their slaves and must listen to them. I worry about the state of our future generations :p

Smilezz

Where did you buy your cross-trainer, & how much did it cost? How's the cleaning & maintenance? I've been toying with the idea of buying one for YEARS but somehow nvr gotten round to it.

Good morning to all!

my butt hurts.. haha. walking like a penguin this morning.
started re-wearing my thick tights as i was told it helps to relieve varicose veins.. I found 2 spider veins popping out yesterday.
wearing the tights took me 5mins and a bucket of sweat already.

Maids
not getting since my house is cramped and i hear too many scary stories already..

Free Delivery
i guess if u have loads to buy, buy then when Carrefour is having the additional 5% on top of 5% rebate. it's quite a saving if u buying $150 and above.

Glass: happy for u
so now u shld be relieved.. baby is fine.

nattan: i won't offer opinions on buying infant FM.. cause i m anal on TBF :p

Pris: pm u already.

Agree with Petrina.. In my opinion it's better not to buy infant FM at all if you really want TBF. The baby can survive 1 week without any food (at least my baby can survive around 4 days with just a little colostrum put inside her mouth since she doesn't know how to latch last time.). Unless of course if severe jaundice/dehydration.

Once you use FM and feel HOW EASY IT IS! You'll definitely give up BF already..

I found really, totally much easier to just give formula milk ever since I stop pumping when I get pregnant. If go out just bring water, milk powder, and at certain time just give.. Can go out whole day too!

Unlike last time, before going out I need to pump firt. Then becoz I exclusive pumping, the maximum time I need to reach home is 6-7 hours otherwise I'll get decreases in supply.

Oreding Online

Hiaz.. tried to order a few mths' supply of my shower gel from Kim Sang but can't hit $200 for delivery. I could add in S and/or M diapers but my storeroom is exploding! Hubs is getting stressed by the stuff in the hse!

6-7 hours otherwise will get decreases in supply or boobs will feel a bit painful, quite uncomfortable..

I'm hoping #2 will be able to latch well

Nattan, you can stock up biscuits, drinks (carton drink or cans), from Carefour for your friend who visits you at home during your maternity leave.

Lots of things can be bought, especially with the free delivery..
Can stock up maternity pads or ordinary pads, shampoo, soaps, cooking ingredients.
I'm sure you won't have problems. hehe..

Re ordering online, actually if some of us are ordering, we can help others to order at the same time to save on delivery cost and meet the min order
provided we meet to pass the things to each other.

nattan

Haha the thing abt ordering online is that we are prob trying ordering bulky & heavy items for the delivery. A bit hard to pass to each other.

jul
i buy 4 tins of gain 3 and i hti 200 le! Haha! no need for diapers =s

yah smilezz, how u maintain the cross trainer huh? got use often? i also spend hours on cross trainer last time at the gym.. but nw too lazy go gym, ever comtemplated buy those AIBI kind.. recommendations?

Kadice

Shiok! Enjoy your leave at home. It’s always good to be able relax and take a day off from work.

I’m very much of a homebody and enjoy being at home a lot!!

Nattan

Order somemore la..i ordered 6 packets of the NB and 2 packets of size S just to try try. I already have some Huggies (S) at home too. Hoping for some offer from GOON so I can also stock up some. Want to get many diff brands to test test.

Groovy

6-7 hours is already quite long right? To go without pumping? I dunno how many hours I can tahan next time. Will try my best to be a good “cow”.

Petrina

Putting on the tights seem to be a form of exercise leh..end up sweating so much and putting in so much effort to put them on. :p It reminds me of wearing skinny jeans, need to tug and tug then can get the jeans beyond the hips and buttocks.

Jul

For my shower gels and stuffs, I always go down to Ocean at Chinatown to “sa pu” and top up my supplies every few months. We will spend quite a lot there and then lug home. My storeroom is packed with supplies. I like stocking up…sound like a hoarder hor..but if it’s cheap and the items can keep, I don’t mind buying more if I have space for storage. :p

I bought my cross trainer from AIBI. But it’s not their housebrand cos it’s too flimsy…I bought Life Fitness brand which is used in many gyms. It’s a bit big so u need to have space to put in your house. Costs a few thousand? (less than S$4K I think) and I bought it like 3 years ago? Paid via those installment plans. They have a few models….some very cheem and have a lot of functions. I find it useful cos you have access to it all day long and all times. But all boils down to your own determination too la, easy to leave it alone to collect dust. :p

Hope

I used to be siao on and signed on for many 10KM runs. Then I got ambitious and wanted to do 21KM which I completed 2 years back and then I told myself, enough liao…very shag! A lot of time needed to train for an endurance race. Looking back, I am glad at least I managed to complete a 21KM at least once in my life. Haha..

hope

Aiyah I just stocked up almost 6 mths supply of Enfa from Carrefour, so no space for more FM liao haha

smilezz

me too! I also like to buy a lot & stock up. Prob is, the storeroom is totally packed now!

Hmm.. so abt $4k huh? Do you need to clean it? Or just wipe the handle bards, the parts with sweat etc will do? need maintenance or not?

smilezz
i managed to complete a 42 km once.. think in 08 or 09.. haha! that's a huge achievement for me le! now.. go for small scale one.. tho yah, frenz jio me for 21km in dec... still thinking! anyways registration not opened yet =) you wanna join?? ahah!

i also like hoarding stuff.. you should check out my storeroom! but i always forget about expiry dates esp those perishable food items.. thrown quite a bit alr.. other than that, toiletries, diapers etc, i have tonnes at any one pt in time!

ssmilez, 6-7 hours is not during maternity leave lah, when baby is slightly bigger. huehehe.. Cannot do so many times also, only in weekends.

I cut off all my weekdays night shopping trip lor. Since need to rush home to pump last time. huhu..

Hoarders!! ME TOO! Stocked up the liquid detergent during John little sale. Hahaha..

Not until like my parents, but starting to be :$..
My house in Jakarta until like no space to walk. So many things.. I also become a hoarder in my room in Jakarta since we have own rooms and my parents never rent the room to outsiders. If I have unused clothes, instead of donating here I'll bring back to Jakarta. Becoz I feel more needy person in Indonesia. But until now has not had any time to choose those old clothes during my trip to Jakarta to be sent to the poor :$

hope

Mine also ard 2 weeks per tin. So I bought 12 tins. Must make sure he got FM to drink for the first few mths after I deliver mah. Hubs'll be busy taking care of him, cannot ask him to bring him to NTUC to lug heavy FM back also.

RE formula, I also want to TBF but the midwife at PEH where I attend antenatal class says it's good to have 1 can on standby cos some mums take longer for the milk to come and by then, baby would be starving and crying non-stop (this is from her daugher's own experience). A few days without milk may be ok, but 1 week?? I'm not sure. I definitely want to TBF for a few selfish reasons also: lose weight fast and help my uterus to shrink back! :p

Re Ordering online, ya true la.. order stuff that are mostly bulky so why bother to pass around. But say you want to order formula or diapers also, I can help do that
I have a few Goon samples at home and Origins Jamu will also give me a few pcs as part of their freebies package. If it's good, I probably will order in bulk online. Hope the Pampers deal continues!! I will order more, but right now, really facing some space constraints :p

hopecg, ssmilezz, I used to go for 10Km runs also, like the Nike / New Balance Real Run. Hubby hates running and not many friends like to run also, so lack motivation to continue. I've not mustered the courage to try half marathon yet. Training takes time also and I went through a period of no exercise cos I was in a fast-paced, high-stress job. Hopefully can pick up running again after the baby is born.

Hope

Well done man! I don’t think I’ll ever try full marathon. Hehe..unless I really have a lot of time to train and train…run and run…sometimes I ask myself, run so long and so far for what ah? :p

So are you planning to sign up 21KM for year end? I think 10KM still manageable but 21KM, erm dunno if I can get back in shape and stamina so fast…plus if still BF how ah? Run and Pump on the move? Hahaaha…

Tell me abt it lor, all my dried pantry area – sometimes the food expire and have to throw. My hub will go through and do stocktaking to throw out the old expired items. Then we go stock up again. Really cannot control our hoarding instincts!! A lot of za ba lang…at any one in time, I can have like 6 shower gels refills in my cupboard. :p

Jul

My storeroom very well equipped. :p But I hate packing so my hub does the packing and sorting.

BTW, is Kim Seng cheaper for some items ? What’s worth it to get from there online?

Cross-Trainer Maintenance

Just need to wipe the surface area with a damp towel – like the handles, etc. I usually do that when I’m also wiping my other living room surface area. AIBI provides the maintenance on site if you need – erm like FOC for first year or something like that. I cannot remember. After that, if the machine gives you problem, they’ll come down and repair or service. But so far in the last 3 years, I think only I only got them to service once cos there was some odd creaky sound that was coming from my machine.

Wah! Looks like we have many hoarders here.

Haha now u know why I spent so much at Taka Fair etc. Horading wet wipes, bottles, nursing bras, clothes...

Re stocking up on toiletries, my colleagues here have a habit of organising shopping trips to Chinatown
So if got time, i'll follow them, eat lunch and buy toiletries. It's convenient when someone is driving, else I won't bother...

Hoarding

me too! Every time when there's a Robinsons sale for eg, I'll buy 1 or 2 bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc to stock up. At one stage, I had 15 tubes of Simple facial wash in the cupboard & Hubs put his foot down & stopped me haha.

I'm also aws throwing away expired foodstuffs

smilezz

Kim Sang has cheap Enfa FM. Not sure abt other brands, but I think so too. Esp Enfa, when it's on sale, it's cheaper than any NTUC sale & got free delivery some more. Diapers discount also not too bad. Think most people buy such things, coz they don't have a great variety too. Oh maybe toilet paper, detergent, Milo etc. All the heavy barang haha

Is servicing cost expensive?

i am also Jun mummy, 2nd child.

anyone experiencing pelvic girdle pain? not sure if it is the right term. i'm having it on my left side down to the leg. did ask my gynae about it. he said cant be avoided, it gotta do with my posture and previous injury. i have this in my 1st pregnancy but the pain is not so intensive than this.

This morning, the pain so much that i cant even walk properly, cramps come in also. alamak. so painful. rest a while and it got better. now the pain comes on and off. thinking to go see my gynae asking for hospitalisation leaves but i gotta pay extra to see him since no appt made as i took package and not sure will he give me.

anyone having the same symptoms as me?

Mums, when are you all planning to start taking your leave?

A week before your EDD or?? I guess I would make use of my annual leave for that. Wanna spend more time with my daughter after birth
. Make better use of my maternity leave.

Nattan

I’m a loner when it comes to exercising. I run alone – I train and participate alone. Sounds very anti-social but I enjoy the peace running alone. Was also a gym rat for many years – always going to use the machines, do weights training, attend classes. Even signed up for Personal Trainer services for a while. Made new friends @ the gym so it’s not that bad actually. Haha..

My hub don’t run at all….he prefers to cycle. So that was why we have like 3 bikes at home. We used to go out cycling together on weekends..along the park connectors and then stop to eat along the way. Very fun! So u can imagine how cluttered my house is! With the cross trainer and the bikes…

Jul

Servicing is ok la..depending on if u need to replace parts..don’t think I spent more than S$100 or S$200?

15 facial wash a bit kua zhang..hehe..but I’m no better. I buy in bulk and in big sizes hor…I get my Dermalogical facial wash online @ Strawberrynet and I buy the size that they use at salon (which comes in a pump bottle) so that it’s value for money. :p

I bought a lot of wet wipes too! The pigeon ones (red color) – I think I bought 2 packages?? I was worried that the wet wipes will dry up over time!

Will diapers spoil or get mouldy if we keep for too long? :p

Whoami

Hi I'm also having that pain now. Hiaz.. hold on, it'll last till we deliver

Jolene

I'll work till I pop to save my leave haha

smilezz

2 packages isn't a lot leh. If your bb is TBF & poos many times a day, you'll be gog thru the wet wipes like nobody's business. Imagine, say poo 6 times a day... each time use 4 pcs? Means 1 pack of 80 wipes lasts u max 4 days leh. They can keep for abt 6 mths, I'd think.

As for diapers, maybe keep abt 6 mths max? My SIL's diapers got mouldy & my SIL, MIL & FIL used them for my boy even though her daughter is 4 yrs older! So the diapers must have been there for yrs right? I nearly fainted & told them to throw them away

ssmilezz, my hubby doesn't like to exercise, period. Haha.. But nowadays he is thinking of doing some cardio and weights at home. We have free weights, so they don't take up a lot of space compared to machines. I also like to work out and run alone, but sometimes for long distance, I like to have a companion so we can pace each other.

I dont think diapers can spoil and don't worry.. you will go through them pretty fast! Wet wipes may dry up if there is a small opening where moisture can escape.

Jul, wow.. you're a hoarding queen!! Haha... BTW, if you need to top up to $200, I don't mind ordering Enfa through you if it's really cheaper than elsewhere

Re taking leave, I hope to take a week before EDD... hopefully by then not so busy, but my boss won't be back yet though so depends on big boss' approval.

c tat many ppl alrdy start tidyin things to gt ready for bb. I nd to rearrange sm of my furniture to mak way for bb. Bt i heard fr the elderly tat we r nt allow to do tat while preg. Anyone knw?

nattan

Yup, that's me! Hubs is throwing king. So we kinda either complement each other, or drive each other nuts lol

Thanks, but they don't carry for the 1st 6 mths FM. Only from Stage 2 onwards

Chris

Yeah, think cannot move furniture, drill holes, do reno, install bed, ... basically can do nothing lah :p

Hoarders
I hoard everything too! from nice paper bags to recycle bags to perishables & non-perishables..
faintz! till I can't find my snacks when i need to munch. by the time i find them, they expiry already..
Bought at least 10bottles of laundry & bottle cleanser manz!! during JL sale. also bought 7 bottles of bath wash since #1 uses the same brand.
I bought tollyjoy bottle wipes. bought 6 bottles + 6 refills. so i can put in various places around the house.
We prefer the pulling method, single hand can tear wipes instead of trying to separate the sheets.
Diapers already stocked up 6packs NB, 6packs S, 4packs M.
Will buy more from GOON when motherhood fair comes in expo and get delivery. then i'll should be steady to prepare for my princess

Kim Seng
I went to their website. realized that most items r only offer 10% or so. I can get those items at same or cheaper price when the special sale hits a few months once.

Taking Leave
I intend to ask for 1 week MC prior to EDD. more of nesting feeling.
last night i already finished shifting and adjusting room. all prepared to welcome the bed & wardrobe

next time on the list is to take stock of old toys n collection of hand me downs.

Cross Trainer
no space in house. bought OTO rectangular machine when i first delivered in 2008. no maintenance required. working fine, used it whenever i watch TV.

Chris: i don't do big movements. i supposed re-arranging furniture for baby's sake is ok? not as if we vain or purposely do it during pregnancy..
I did it for #1 with that intention too. So i don't think #2 will mind

But it's up to individual lah. if u really pantang then better don't.

Like ironing, now i don't do it in the night. cause MIL say will burn baby skin. my #1 got palm size burnt mark on his tummy.. so sad.
so this time my hb is insistent on no ironing rule. hehe..

Kim Sang

Hmm cannot decide whether to hoard. If I buy my shower gel, 3 packs each of S & M size diapers, 1 tin of Milo & 1 refill pack plus 1 Pigeon soap powder will make it to $200. But can't decide if I have space for all the diapers! Hubs will kill me!

medela Spare Parts

I shall go & list down what I wanna buy from the spree when it's up. Must distract myself from buying other stuff hahaha

<font color="0077aa">astro, everytime i had UTI, i would take cranberry juice. it really helped. but not sure if it is advisable to take during pregnancy though.

nattan, for fm i suggest getting just the 400g tin to standby. during the first few days where milk supply hadn't fully came in and with my mum's nagging that my #1 was hungry, my hb last min went to get fm and he bought back a tin of 900g cos 400g was not readily available. in the end i only used once but luckily my nephew was able to make good use of the whole remaining tin. now i already bought a tin of 400g enfa to standby.

smilezz
haha pigeon wet wips i bought 4 large packs of 6 each!.. during taka fair.. got free shampoo mah..=s and anyway got use for it one.. hope it doesn't dries up! hahaha!

i love to see my house well-stock! even if i don't use the stuff v much!! used to be a girl guide in sec sch days.. one of the rule is: be prepared!!.. certainly following this mantra nw! =P

hmm.. AIBI and OTO huh.. i know the life fitness ones.. cali gym using them.. i wanna one that's not too space-consuming, yet not too flimsy.. no treadmill for me, perhaps just a cross trainer.. haha.. will search for one soon.. jul, looking for one too? feelin fat and heavy w all these extra weight!

Sapphire, yeah, thinking of getting just a small tin to standby.

Re Cranberry juice, it's safe to drink during pregnancy. I don't think it helps with curing UTI but only with prevention though cos it did nothing for me. Citravescent really helps to relieve the pain, but must drink it before the pain gets too serious and flush out with lots of water.

Chris, I think moving furniture is fine.. my hubby already moved our bed to reconfigure the room to accommodate baby's cot. I think so long as you're not doing heavy reno like painting and drilling is fine, not because I'm pantang about painting or drilling, but cos the paint fumes and loud noises are not good for you and the baby.

hope

Yeah I only like to use cross-trainer. Dun like to run coz it hurts my knees. Cross-trainer feels so much easier haha.

Another reason to watch what you are doing.
I was just digging my nose at home, because it was so itchy, and I didn't realise my son was watching me.
Yesterday, he was trying to dig his nose, and my FIL asked him why he kept digging his nose. He had been having runny nose for a week already.
He said, mummy is digging her nose and he went on and on about the same point.
Alamak!! They are really watching us all the time!

Nearly felt like fainting just now while at work. Had to sit down. Think too hungry.

glass, hahahaha!!! Sorry.. it's just too funny! But I agree. I also told my hubby that, since most guys dig their noses anywhere... I said you better don't let our son see you dig your nose else he'll get that habit from you... hehehe...

It's lunch time! Better go and eat. I packed my own pasta and mixed greens salad with spicy sausage today

Topicrem

Anyone still interested? I just calculated. If we order 12 bottles, it's less than SGD30 for 500ml bottle. But dunno now if it's kinda late to order coz we're popping soon liao haha

Jul, I'm only halfway through my bottle! I only use about 4 pumps per day. Sometimes alternating with my tube of Palmer's (also half used).

@Glass and for all mums...I find that these DIY massages works well for me. I try to do away with panadol with these massages, very easy.

These works well for me, I can do it anywhere, any time I feel the headache.

1. Pressure point on the hand
2. Pressure point on the skull works rather well for me.
3. Another one would be, you open your month, and you will find two "holes" by the side of your ear, place you index and middle figure there, close and mouth. Massage 10X in anti clock wise and clock wise direction.

http://ezinearticles.com/?How-to-Massage-Migraine-Headaches&amp;id=447903

@Nattan I hate it when my hubby dig his nose while he drives. I always clean the steering wheel when I drive. hahaha

Oh i started on 2nd bottle. Coz using as moisturiser also. Also dunno whether to buy more, or to stop using as moisturiser n save till i pop?