(2012/06) Jun 2012

jul > thks! Do also rem to include me whn u order the fish oil. Thks!

Nursing cover
saw one at mothercare. I feel its gd leh. No lobang n it has a plastic stick lik thing inserted on the top, so the cloth doesnt collapse on the chest area. Cn stil c our bb while nursing. Bt find it quite ex leh.

Glass > i wen dwn to a fee maid agency toda. Happen to meet the boss of 1 of the agency n he highly recommend me tis indo maid whic he interview twice personally in indo. Sy she is gd for takin care of NB n kids. I paid a bookin fee to reserve her til my hubby cn interview her usin webcam. The boss so honest tat he share w mi wat he has experienced in his 12 yrs in tis industry. Got one sound so scary tat i m vry worry nw. He sy he ever cm across 1 case of maid kill employer m anthr case of crazy maid.

Good morn mummies,

Havent post for such a long time since as busy as at work now.

I went for check up on Tuesday, dont know if my gynae made a mistake or what? Last month when I went, he advised to cut carbohydrates & sugary food as baby's head is huge & body is chubby. If I want to eat, can but must exercise more. I put on a total of 5 kg previously. Now at week 24, I put on another 3.5kg and he mentioned baby's head is not so big and doing well. Hubby asked him about the weight,last month was 482g and this month only weigh 500g. :/

Anyway, I saw at pharmacy KKH having 20% on medela pumps and stuff.

Although having baby girl, but I ended up eating more chillie than ever. I am a person who loves chillie, except that I dont take tom yum & curry cos of a smell. My baby doesnt like chocolate but loves candies. I am scheduled to see my psychiatrist next Tuesday.

Good morning!!!
I am having mee fen with luncheon meat, fish cake and fillet. Recently wake up feeling hungry in the morning!

Petrina: How often do we need to do growth assessment for our babies?
The Emma Jane bras don't have my size ... if they stock up on mine i will drop u a msg to see if you wanna tag along k.

What are socks for? What should the length be? knee high or? Are bedroom slippers enough?

I bought size 34 for the Emma janes bra on asos. Not sure if it fits though. 34 is usually the size I get but then somehow it put there as UK10-UK12. Cross my fingers. Otherwise I probably have to do returns liao.

I think socks are just to keep your leg warm? and prevent the wind from getting in? I'm also thinking whether bedroom slippers are enough

morning mommies!

for those who's planning to get playpen, JL having sale these 4 days! will pop by MS one to take a look later. newspaper advertise Luckybaby playpen at $79.90! free pillow! dono applicable for the additional 20% off or not

fleur: the sale till today only i think. It's ok. i'll set up another account if the promo is still on now.

Growth Assessment
1st week, 1st mth, 6mths, then every 6mths thereafter.

the socks i buy r like bedroom slippers. but can wash and can wear on bed. so i prefer that to slippers.
i don't want to wear ankle or long socks. adding to laundry...

AsRias: socks / slippers for walking around the house as the floor is cold. will have the cold air going into your body. so must cover your feet. legs not necessary as u can wear long pants if u r cold.

Cindy: JL sale again? End Feb-Mar week just sale..

Thanks Petrina ... its at Neu Look right? I better check it out latr after work.

AsRias/Petrina ... I am a 75B which should be a 34B right? Seems like Emma Jane on ASOS is OOS

petrina: haha ya.. JL having sale again! 14-18 March only.. think there's 20% + 10% or smth one.. it's on the news paper. my hubby sent whatsapp to me.. i didn't see the thing personally so just gonna check it out during lunch or after work later! :D

Breakfast
super big eater me had fried carrot cake, 5 strawberries, grapes, one prune, one yakult, and one mini swissroll... O.O

hah?? I dont feel so hungry leh. I don't eat much, my diet still remain quite the same.

It must be the cup of tea and bubble tea I took yesterday, my girl was like moving every 30 mins or so, hyper active yesterday. Think must cut down on the intake.

Wow all go Glen E. Me only at KK. Anyone giving birth in KK too. My EDD is on 20 June.

fleur: ya. Neu Look. I m 80B i bought 38. i was thinking of getting a 36.
i think u can get 36. for local sizes, 75 is 36. but when i checked, they say 36 is UK 12-14. which is too big if i compare dress sizes.
anyway u can choose to just get 1pc and see. then if the size fits then buy more. cause it's free size for cups. and it's nursing bra, so u can't get too tight ones. have to leave space for breast pads.

Cindy: carrot cake! i also want.. i've been eating KFC porridge in the morning as i can't stomach heavy foods in the morning.

Fleur: i like bee hoon. but my baby don't like
She strictly forbids oily food in my tummy in the mornings...
Gonna eat salad during lunch again. so i can eat egg tarts in the afternoon! I need sugar..

Jolene: I notice when i take icecream or bubble tea ... basically cold stuff, my bb will move. I read somewhere that at this stage in our pregnancy if we don't feel baby movements for the whole day and feel worried we can try taking something cold and see how before getting over worried.

CindY: Wah u are making me wanna go JL and walk walk. Actually i don't need anything but i am afraid i will end up buying because there is 20%+10%.

Petrina: Mine still small small eh haha i am afraid i cannot fill up in time haha. KK i better go check out later in the afternoon

Anyone went for OG Sale and got great buys ... do share k.

Fleur: Thats what I assume too. But some design dun have the A/B/C thing.... just size 32/34/36/38. So I just ordered 34 based on my rib size now. I ordered yesterday, still had stocks left and the 20% was available.

Morning ladies.

JL having sales again, seems the sale doesn't seem to end ....

Went for my 28th week checkup yesterday and gynae said bb is on the small side, < 1 kg, though i've put on 9kg now. Gynae told me to double my fish oil intake and eat more protein. Now, i have to force myself to eat dinner liao cos some days i skip dinner, indigestion from lunch

next visit is 3 weeks later at 31 weeks.

petrina: haha yep! coz hubby woke up early today so he went opposite hawker centre to buy.. :D yummy yummy! i've been eating A LOT man.. gained 10kg already.. and my fat baby is 200g overweight! 1.2-1.3kg now! doc say nth to worry about though.. my colleagues all also say baby big better. the most c-sect.. but i scared c-sect!

fleurfleur: yup!! have been buying so much recently.. gonna borrow my colleague's JL card. see what more to buy! hehe

Morning mummies...

Re Emma Jane bra, I bought size 32 (my usual size is 75/80B) cos it says fits UK size 10-12 and all sizes can cater for cup sizes B to F. For other models I bought 36B to correspond with 80B.

Nattan: Will Size 34 be too big for me if i am currently using 75B now?

Petrina: ASOS20OFF expire already. How? Wait or go ahead? I am trying to find a friend whose sister still in NUS to get student 10%

Sorry multiple posts. Looking at the NTUC "Sweet Deals for Babies" ad on the papers. Seeing what else I need to get.

Questions (Please Help)
1. Fever cooling gel sheet. New born can use ba. At least on way to seek medical help.

2.Baby laundry detergent, we all spoke about this before. BUt I guess the baby laundry gives the gives the gives baby smell, so why not. But do you all wash the hand-me-downs? Am quite lazy :p

3. baby wipes no need so early right, just use cloth to wipe for baby till start bringing your baby out right?

I have got those wipes for the bottoms already.

FleurFleur, I think 34 is still ok la..

NUS is National Union of Students... not National University of Singapore ;) I think it's only applicable to UK students...

Jolene, I would get 2 and 3... For 1, usually I just use a small towel with ice cubes or soaked in ice water then wrung dry.

Which brand of baby laundry is on offer at NTUC? I plan to wash hand-me-downs cos they have a "storage" smell after a while.

fleur: then dun want.. cause i bought 2pcs le. i tot of getting 1 smaller size in case.

nattan: cham! then my 38 too big liao.. i was thinking if abit loose i can sew the hooks.. but if too big then i got issues le... hope i can fit.

Jolene

I will definitely wash the hand me downs and all other new items which will be used. Hehe that's just me.

Joeey

Do u eat more during lunch till you are not hungry at dinner now? Try to eat smaller portions. Not very good to keep skipping meals. Don't want to end up with stomach problems yah?

Cindy

I just had carrot cake for last sun's brunch. Wanted black one but my hub bought white. He said less sinful. But also can la, as long as I get to eat. Not particular. The carrot cake stall at my hawker centre adds towgay into their fried carrot cake. :p

Jolene, i didn't use fever sheet on NB. after 6mths then bought. it's too big plus it's really cold. i tried it b4 when i have mastitis. my hb insisted i use it.

travel pack baby wipes i bought. cause 1st week post birth need to go hospital. then 1st mth also need. and based on experience, baby will surely poop outside.

i wash everything ppl give me. u won't know how long they kept it. plus it's hygienic to wash b4 allowing baby to wear.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Kiddopotamus-Rayshade-Sunshade-any-pushchair-UV-Protective-Sun-Rain-shade-/160756724732?pt=UK_Baby_Pushchair_Accessories_parts_ET&amp;hash=item256dd8f3fc

Jul: the photo for the kiddopotamus shade.
i tie it the same way. slight difference, at the bottom, i tie it on the back rail of the stroller instead of the seat rails.
so it's more stretched out instead of being loose and flimsy.
I am using Maclaren stroller.

The top 2 strings, u need to wrap afew rounds as it is very long.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SUMMER-INFANT-STROLLER-PUSHCHAIR-RAYSHADE-SUNSHADE-BN-/280844478345?pt=UK_Baby_BabyTravel_Pushchairs_GL&amp;hash=item4163a2a789

logo face front on top of ur stroller shades

http://www.stroller.com/kiddopotamus-cover-sun-rayshade-single-grey.html

HAhaha...ok shall wash them nearer to my EDD else also collect dust.

Baby detergent Only got kodomo. $3.35 ($3.95) for the refill. They got cleanser for Baby bottle and accessories at $9.80 ($10.90) per bot, 750 ml

I think baby wipes for young age still no need ba. Been Green, use cloth. If go out, for convenience and hygiene sake then use the baby wipes.

Jolene, I think the Kodomo detergent you mentioned is the laundry softener refill. The laundry detergent is not on offer, still $7.45 for the refill and $17.30 for the 2L bottle.

NAtTan: lol silly me. Thanks for letting me know.
Then I think I'll wait for the next ASOS sale to buy. Do let me know if yours fits.

I noticed some of my hand me downs especially the whites hv yellow Patches. Yet I know we can't use harsh detergent to wash. Can use vanish o2?

Jolene

Yup, Nattan is right. The Kodomo softener is cheaper. But I realized the Kodomo detergent has 2 type. One is extra care version but I bought the normal one. Dunno if it makes any difference

Lunch time! Feel like having an avocado milk shake. Hmm...

Fleur: Look into Dr Veronica Toh or Dr Ran Mein Chuen. Both from RH. Prices are as per what you mentioned. We cant take the vaccination packages as it is only for babies who were delivered in RH. However the difference from package and non-package is minimal with a difference of about $100+ as informed by the nurses at the children's centre.

I might consider Petrina's suggestion on polyclinic as well but will research on that.

Nattan: Thanks i have browsed through it. Can i clarify so if there is a fault in the Medela machine during the warranty period, we have to sent the machine on our own back to the US or is it back to mybeautyloft and he/she will arrange for us?

jolene, i am with KKH TPS...edd 30th June. Ya, many mummies here with gleneagles. I have a friend who gave birth at gleneagles but sent her baby to KKH when she got jaundiced cos she commented that the nursery at gleneagles only have 2 nurses on night duty and all the poor babies were crying like mad. Whereas KKH have more nurses on duty.

Kodomo baby detergent, does this smell good? I got the pigeon ones during Taka Fair...but dunno how they smell like yet cos i bought the refills. Will wash all clothes before EDD just to be safe.

Nattan, did u compare the suction power of freestyle &amp; pisa? Cos many mummies comment pisa is still better in terms of suction power. And it has the stimulation function which prepares the breast before pumping..helps to relieve light engorgement also.

time for lunch...i also started eating a lot in tri 2. dun dare to step on weighing machine now. craving for savory stuff as well like curries and indian food ~ butter chicken! Yummy.

Always get hungry around 3-4pm even though had a heavy lunch..hope the fats go to baby instead of me.

ssmilezz, fleurfleur, avocado is very fattening like durian... do eat it moderately if you're watching your weight.

Fleurfleur, I think no issue using Vanish O2 to bleach your white hand-me-downs, just make sure to rinse them thoroughly.

Adeline, the blogshop owner Ris will handle all issues during the warranty period.

I didn't compare the suction power of the Freestyle vs PISA, but the salesperson told me the company did a comparison using a machine to measure the suction power and they are both the same. Perhaps the suction cup design is slightly different? Or it's just psychological... I dunno... but both have the same 2-phase expression technology. It's really up to you la.. I just want a light portable set that doesn't make it too troublesome for me to lug around and the PISA set seems really bulkier and heavier to me.

Nattan: Thanks for all your help!

Has any mummies here bought from mybeautyloft before?

Can share your experiences, just need to be sure before committing into buying the Medela from her. Would be of great help!

Adeline, no worries
I think Ris seems reliable cos I did check out other forums and read about other mummies' feedback before buying. Besides, Medela is a reliable brand so I don't foresee a lot of issues with the machine. Are you more interested in the Freestyle or PISA?

Hey mummies who want to buy Goon diapers, I got a promo code from last Baby Expo... enter ByeByeRash and get $6 off plus free delivery for 1st time Goon customer at diapers.com.sg.

Chris: glad you've settled your maid. I interviewed this maid today. She is going home first before coming back, but i'm not so sure whether she is suitable. She talks a lot, ma'am here, ma'am there. She doesn't use the phone when she's working. But she complained that her employer of 4 yrs didn't give her a room to sleep, only near the kitchen, so when they watch tv, disturb her sleep. And she asked me how much i am willing to pay her. I'm abit hesistant even though her employer has same age kids as me type, as in she looked after newborn with 2 year old kid.

The other maid i was keen on went to other agencies. I saw 2 new profiles of her, so i think she might be shopping for employers. Many of her former employers are expat, and her husband and sisters are working here. She can cook and is slightly plump compared to other skinny maids. I quite like talking to her.

What do you think?

Adeline

Ris is fine. She's helpful and knows her stuffs. I met her when I bought my freestyle like 2-3 weeks back. And yes, u can go thru her if u have Probs and need to claim on the US warranty.

Nattan

Yeah, avocado is fattening for sure! But I dont have it too often. Hehe maybe once every 2-3 weeks.

Hope everyone is having a good lunch. Just had Cai fan with porridge. Finished my fruit juice. Will snack on some fruits later.

just came back from Food Fair @ Suntec

ate ipoh horfun and chicken pau.. drinking Aiyu Jelly drink now.

Bought 5 char siew pau. hope they make it home. otherwise will become my afternoon tea liao.. keke

@Adeline Me! I got mine from Ris too. Paid a little more for her ready stocks. I should have waited for her to compile her spree though. I think about $20 more only and $8 for her husband to deliver to my door step. Yeah finally one with KK like me. My gyane is Dr CK Khoo, yours?

moiits just a normal wipes bought from the expo. In comes in 10. 100% cotton.

I have having my avocado milkshake now! It contains good fats, I read about the benefits it has for us too.

I had a plate of chicken rice and forced myself to order a plate of vegetable too. Haiz...all for my girl.

We need both softener and detergent.

And look what I bought during lunch! Two body suits for a total of $10 only.
6795662.jpg

glass, i just got my maid last month also. i guess its still better to get a fresh maid rather than a transfer one cos they will already know the tricks and techniques to skive or protect their 'rights' etc. for the maid whom u saw shopping around for employer, chances are she is looking for a family with less work etc.

my experience is, during interview all maid will tell you they can do this/ do that. only after they come to your house then you know. have to train them slowly in everything. patience plays a big part here.

any pple here scold their maid for small mistakes? i try not to raise my voice at my maid..just smile and tell her to remember next time. cos dun wan them to bear hatred against us..who knows what they will do.