(2012/06) Jun 2012

Wow Jul.. what did you buy? ;) I'm still thinking whether to buy stroller now or wait till baby is 3mths old. Cos I probably will not be using stroller till then. But I may go back to get more bedding sets.

Stroller
I bought it before my boy was born and I am glad I did that as he has jaundice after birth so required to bring him down to sun every morning. My hubby and I used the stroller to push him down, put him under the sun before stripping him.

And I am not sure if it's true or not. Last time people told me baby need to get used to stroller early or else he/she won't like to sit on it when older. So I started using it after confinement, pushing it down for a walk.

Audreyaw, I would prefer to get a stroller but my hubby prefers to use a carrier, so he said don't buy so early.

<font color="0077aa">jul, i have the philips steamer / blender. i got it at a very good price at robinsons in late 2010/early 2011. $199 - 20% then free $50 voucher so abt $110 only. i am not sure how much it is selling now at taka bb fair... alternatively u can also see who has the philips family reward points then can get at quite a good price through philips website.

re: goon diapers
diapers.com.sg is having 10% discount now until 15 apr! checkout their fb page for the promo code.

re: laundry
i wash my gal's clothes separately from ours but using the same washing machine. whether powder or detergent depends on the type of washing machine you have? i have been using tollyjoy powder for my front-load machine and no issues so far though i have heard good reviews of pureen ABD powder.</font>

Jul: yes, i looking for good air purifier.. air quality is very imp i feel. any recommendation? i prefer something small, doesnt take up much space..

<font color="aa00aa">audreyaw,
Which brand of biodegradable powder detergent did you use?

Re: Stroller
My son did not like stroller and wanted to be carried. Baby carrier worked very well for him.</font>

Nattan

3 nursing bras, lots of pigeon wipes, avent soap, some misc items like bottle brushes, teats, pacifiers n milk bottles n wash cloths n stroller hangers. Also bought 16 small n 4 large medela bottles. Zaki hands, combi booster seat, bed rail. A lot of the stuff is for #1 or stuff like soap, dishwashing liq n wipes is for sharing.

Exclusive items for #2 are the medela bottles, zaki hands, brestfren cover, n nursing bras. But these also ard $400 hah!

N i thought i had nothing much to buy. Only consolation is that i know i will use these items lah

Sapphire

Taka bb fair is selling the blender at $199. Throw in a lot of freebies which i dun want
luckily u told me. I'll wait for outright discount then. Thks!

Jasmine

No idea what's gd leh

Audrey

I think it's true. Be it car seat, stroller, cot... Have to start early else baby sure chu pattern.

Mihoger

Yeah lor! Dunno where the $$ go!

But i did buy some ex stuff like car seat, bras, medela bottles lah

jul : oo ok la... the ex stuff cover most of the cost.. ~_~...

Cindy : btw TPY kiddy palace is huge!! not sure is it the biggest ..

Wow jul 1k is alot but looking at the items you bought can easily chalk up to That. I just came back frm taka fair. My bath tub I bought was missing the sling and had to go back collect.

We chalk up 600plus on sunday but our big ticket item was the baby cot.

ssmilezz,
my first stroller has been used for 4 years, second stroller is a hands-me-down, has been used for ~6 years, thinking of getting a new one for bb

Jul: i'll take photos this weekend and show u.
cause our stroller only open once a week. haha..

Audrey: my relatives gave me lucky baby stroller. but my son from ManYue day already dun like to lie in it. only managed to use it for a few mths as i end up carrying more often than he sitting in it.
When he turned 1.5yo, we brought him to choose stroller. He choose Maclaren Quest Red. Till now it's his fave stroller. He can zzz in it for a super long nap.

Jul, that's a lot of stuff you bought!! Anyway, talking about nursing bras, is it too early to buy now? I was thinking of buying closer to delivery date cos breast size may still change.

Petrina, that's what I was thinking of doing... bring baby stroller shopping and let him choose. Anyway, it's his daddy who cannot let go of him not me :p

Mihoger, fleur

Yeah i'm trying to console myself that i bought 'necessities'. After all, dishwashing liq, bb soap, bottles, bras n wipes sure must use right? Car seat sure gotta buy also. Hahaha

Nattan

Well maybe coz this isn't #1 so i may be more sure if the size? Last round u bought 4 from tmc parentcraft at $60 lor! There's 20% at the fair. So i bought 3. I seldom see that bra on sale. Then the zaki hands is at 40% off. Medela bottles at 50%. How not to buy? Lol

mihoger: thanks! i'll go check it out someday..

btw all of you bought nursing bras?? i saw but don't know to buy or not.. coz until now i'm still wearing my normal bras.. like no increase in cup size?? don't know what size to buy for nursing bras also.. is it necessary??

anyone knows where's the exact location of the wholesale baby clothings near the kwan im temple?? i stay opposite.. so thought of going to take a look after work this evening..

I bought my nursing bras from M&amp;S. 2pcs for $49 i think. Can't remember.
But they r having promo now. u need to check the store for more details.
I like their quality.
Then I also bought nursing spaghetti from SPRING MATERNITY. So i dun have to wear bra. Just use padding is sufficient.

Cupsize may not change. but width of chest will expand. So just try n buy now. Clip at the tightest. Will last u till it spoils. My nursing bra from 4yrs ago till now I am still wearing.

I haven't bought any new bras yet, just bra extenders cos the rib expanded. Maybe up 1 cup size? But the old ones still can wear so I just tong lor.

Think nursing bra will wait till mabbe 32nd week then buy, just in case upsize. hahaha...

Petrina, 2 for $49 is a good deal! I'll go and check it out...

Cindy, nursing bras as just for your convenience to breastfeed, so you don't have to unhook the bra behind or front. I bought a couple but they are getting too tight. Think I bought too early that time. But fortunately they are cheap. I will probably buy in 3rd trimester when the breast size is more stabilised. Right now, I still wear my normal bras although they are quite tight and cups are like 1 size smaller :p. If you don't want to buy new bras cos cup size didn't increase, you can just get the extenders to accommodate the expanding bustline. Those are cheap.. about $3-4 each.

Cindy

If u intend to latch to bf, nursing bra is a must for public. Maybe at home can get away with those sports bra type but djfficult to just lift up in public haha

The clothes shop - if u stand wjth the temple at your back - is at the left corner. Behind the toilet. It's the leftmost corner shop. Makes sense?

Nursing bras

Btw if this is your first bb, better to wait n buy later. For some reason tmc parentcraft swears by emma jane, the non padded type with the holes cut out pattern along the top of the cup. So i follow n buy lor. Indeed v good to use in the beginning when the boobs r getting engorged. I used my 4 until 'lan' liao. Bought 10 cheapo impression or eternity brand types just for wearijg coz i wasn't latching by then. But they get stretched out n fell apart v fast.

I bought 4 bravado bras this time round. With 7 bras i hope it's enough! Still got my very lan n dried up old emma janes to stand by in a pinch. Dunno y but i sweat a lot after delivery. Really gotta keep changing bras n tops else v stinky! Faint!

jul: hehe, i nvr really wear bras at home. tats y i have droopy boobs

but i feel most comfy walking ard w/o lingerie at home. I wear fitting thin cotton spaghetti tops bought from Cotton On. so when i perspire, i just change dun worry.
nowadays my bra already change daily. b4 preg, i used to wear on alternate days then air it. now i realized tat i end up washing 7 bras a week!

<font color="aa00aa">montblanc,
The address is: 269 Queen Street, #01-246. Closed on Sun &amp; PH. Cash only.</font>

Petrina, I also dun wear bra at home. Hahahah... feel so restricted with the bra. Luckily i'm not that busty so not so worried about droopy boobs. keke

I don't usually wear bras at home, but I think I'll wear when breastfeeding next time cos there may be leakage :p Also, I definitely don't want droopy boobs! An alternative to bras are the bra tops from Uniqlo.. very comfy and affordable when they have sales. I bought a few to wear under sheer tops.

Petrina, you can try doing bust firming exercises at home to tone your chest muscles?

Nursing Bras

I bought some online from the forum. But I didn't like those without padding! The abrasion makes my nipples sore so I prefer some slight padding.

I have upsized by 2 cups since the 1st trim. I shudder to think how much bigger I may get. Feel like a freaking cow and I havent even started milking!! Lol.

AsRias

Yah, no joke man. How Not to feel like a cow??!! My colleagues also commented and I always tell them big no use, must have milk or else it's just additional fats. :D I perspire a lot more between my boobs. Sigh. So who says big boobs are attractive are all men la. Only women know that big is not necessary good.

thank you for the address and directions!
will go check it out tonight. hope it's not closed yet when i go...

haha i also don't usually wear bras at home.. very restrictive :p oh so M&amp;S do sell nursing bras? that's good! love their razor cut panties.. very comfy and really no VPL.. same for uniqlos one as well! will go check out M&amp;S soon..

i'm a member for la senza and birthday month got 50% off so i got so many of those fanciful bras but they're still in my cupboard brand new....

me too! first baby but no upsize leh. just feel tighter only.. my hubby some more commented how come my bra look so empty like coming off like that at the cup there...

Ssmilezz, if you get your hubby to help stimulate your breasts, you'll produce more milk la ;)

Cindy, don't fret.. maybe cos you didn't put in much weight overall. I think I only increase 1 cup size only and I'm small to begin with :p

erm, usually first baby boobs will really upsize.. my skinny fren also at least 1 size.
maybe firmer? width wise? perhaps nearer 3rd Tri?

<font color="aa00aa"><blink><font size="+2">SALES</font></blink>
<u>Jay Gee Warehouse Sale</u>
6 – 10 Mar 2012
6 March: Preview for Card Members
10am to 7pm
Jay Gee Melwani House, 10 Genting Lane.

Participating brands are Levi’s, Denizen, Dockers, New Look, Aéropostale, T.M.Lewin, adidas kids and Osh Kosh B’Gosh

<u>IKEA Singapore Sale @ Tampines &amp; Alexandra</u>
9 – 25 Mar 2012
Only Friends of iKEA get to check out the offers at the IKEA Friends Sale Preview on 8 March, 8am to 11pm.</font>

Petrina, maybe it's all genetic? But anyway, size is not as important as milk production...so I'm fine if my boobs are not increasing much. Just hope they don't shrink or droop afterwards!

Yay.. IKEA Sale.. good timing as I need to get storage for baby stuff.

At first, I thought maybe genes so I went to "interview" my mom on her pregnancy boobs. But she said no leh.

Really? First one will upsize so dramatically? The funny thing is ppl tell me - your baby bump don't look very big... Oh wait, maybe it's your boobs that distract me and make your tummy look smaller in proportion.

What's a good

I have came across this website that sell nice maternity clothes at very affordable price. The only thing is their clothes go out of stocks very quickly. I waited for quite some time till they have new stocks and I faster grab them while stocks last. Their designs are very fashionable and I really like them a lot. Will like to recommend to you all. It's www.*********. Go and take a look

Haha.. Smilezz then i dunno le.. Cause mine did. Then after i wean bf totally, it went back to pre preg size n even smaller.. So now my boobs r nice n round again. I still wer same size but tight. So to me, it grew. Just not that significant that i cant wear my bras.

hi Mihoger,

Yes, thats the diamond air purifier i bought. $288 during the fair. Quite ok. Planning to buy one more. There will be at the coming kids asia fair at expo. If you want, can buy during the fair. If not, is $488.

I bought their water purifier too. Is $1800 during fair. My friend bought it for $2460 normal price.

Nipple Cream

Has anyone bought this? Is it something useful for me to get just in case? Any good recs? I'm very particular abt the scent cos sinus so my nose very sensitive to certain heavy scented ones.

Stretch Mark Cream

I have been diligently applying twice a day after my shower but only on my belly. Cos the weather is so hot and apply on other areas make me sweat even more. I'm using the Galenic Elancyl brand for Guardian. Bought two bottles when it was offer. Like cant even finish first bottle. But it's easily absorbed so no complains. Anyway, if stretch marks do start to appear typically when do they start to show?

The weather is so hot today. I ended with heat rash and chaffing on my inner thighs after I came back from lunch. Sigh.
Have to apply those anti chaf thingy which i used to prevent chaffing while I was running long distance. It's going to
Sting like
Crazy when I shower.

Ssmilezz, you only need the nipple cream when you start to breastfeed to prevent soreness and chaffing. I think Palmer's has scentless ones.

Re stretch mark, they can appear once your tummy start to show. You'll feel itchy and see reddish patches/lines. If you apply the cream regularly, it should prevent marks from appearing... I apply on my belly, butt and thighs as well cos these are places where the marks can appear also.