(2012/06) Jun 2012

Baby Wipes

I only tried pigeon and J&J before, like both but prefer pigeon as I am able to use the hard case to keep it while J&J is too thick to keep into pigeon casing.

As for the cotton wool, never used it since number 1. Too troublesome to tear the correct portion out and going into the toilet to get a bowl of water each time baby poo.

Baby gender
Scanned twice and confirmed to be a boy, the hope of a girl gone. Haha.. So this time I have nothing much to buy except stuffs like pads and nb diapers, kind of save alot $$$.

I started my monthly gynae visit in JB last sunday, worried that I might not be able to get to sg in time when delivery. SO currently visiting both sg n msia gynae till i deliver. Got a 4D scan for free here. My hubby asked delivery charges too, 2.5k RM for normal delivery and 5k RM for c-sec including ward.

baby wipes:
I have been using farlin brand. pink packing ones. they are very good too. my sister got friend who is distributor. i always get from him in bulk.

Baby Wipes

That's a great review!!
very useful! My friend rec me to get Tollyjoy the light pink one. I think it should be the unscented one. She said JnJ light pink packaging is good too.

Even for Pigeon there's a few Diff types for the wet wipes right? Which ones are u guys talking abt?

Cotton

Hmm those facial cotton pads sounds useful. I should consider them.

Taka Baby Fair

I have never gone for any Taka Baby Fairs. Typically what type of good offers are available? Anyone knows the list of participating retailers?

Sorry to intrude.. Hv some emergency to look for wong boi boi.. Anyone has her direct contact number? Not the parentcraft centre.. Thk u..

petrina

Oh yeah I also tried the NTUC brand pull from bottle type. But it's very, very wet. End up leaving a lot of wet 'cream' on the butt. That one is cheap too!

\b[Asrias}

Hehe my son poo-ed a lot mah. Then some brands are just 1-pack samples haha

Audrey

Yeah I think better not to chance it, coz this is already your 4th right? May not make it past customs on time leh.

smilezz

I meant the alcohol-free Pigeon ones (Something abt chamomile). The lanolin ones are good too (light blue pack) but they are very expensive. I only used it for the baby's 1st mth coz scared butt delicate.

I use the hand & mouth ones for wiping my son's hands & mouth.

As for the pink ones, they're quite heavily scented. I don't use them at all.

Not sure abt the yellow Jap words ones. Can't read haha

Smilezz
I used the white and red packing pigeon to clean butt, usually i dont buy the light blue packing cause more expensive and selling it in individual packing with no discount.

I used the hand & mouth for wiping dirty hands and mouth lo.

Jul

U still remember so many pigeon brand types of wipes, i cant even remember what is the pink one for.

The yellow Jap words wipe is it the one with fruit pictures on it? If it is, is the same as the hand & mouth ones. I assume, haha.

Yup, this is my 4th already. Actually I didnt plan to see gynae here for backup but suddenly the thought of peak hour and jam in causeway make me think twice. I cant tell baby dont come out during peak hour and choose a better timing right? Haha

jul: i bought the NTUC bottle last week. haven't try yet.. cause very cheap.. hehe

I just came back from JL. managed to spend $180 and used $24 worth of vouchers for members directly deducted from total bill. So it works up to be 20% disc storewide on regular priced items + additional 12.5% on total bill. Then using robinson card I'll get additional 3% upon arrival of CC bill.

<font color="0077aa">petrina, i dropped a msg to mother &amp; baby on fb regarding the subscription gift but they have yet to revert to me. zzz... what sort of gifts do motherhood usually give? i am waiting for young parents fair to subscribe. hehe!

re: wipes
pigeon was good for me until i learnt abt paraben in its ingredient list and have since switched to goon which is paraben-free. during the feb 17-19 baby fair, i also bought another jap brand that is paraben-free but have yet to use it.

re: cotton wool
i use pigeon cotton ball to clean baby's face, particular her eyes as taught during mrs wong's class.</font>

hihi ladies ... just need some advice on those baby cot mobile.

Any one used before and which brands &amp; model did you use?
How long did you use it for and you reckon useful?

sapphire: usually motherhood mag is good. can't remember since it has been 3yrs from my last subscription.. hehe

Young Parents Fair usually in Marina Sq? I think i also ever subscribe 1 or 2 yrs. when is their fair this year? I am not attending their YP baby seminar this year cause the goodie bag not fantastic and the talk is way too long.

<font color="0077aa">petrina, last yr YP fair was on Jun 24 wkend at marina sq. the free gifts during the fair were pretty good. a lot of choices to choose from...

fleurfleur, i have the fisher-price rainforest waterfall peek-a-boo soother for my gal. it's actually only when she's about 1yo then she knows how to switch on and off. another one my friends recommend is the vtech mother goose cot mobile but apparently it drains battery very fast. </font>

audrey

Haha yeah I rem, coz I use 3 of the Pigeon wipes. Then very easy to remember the 2 that I dun use haha. I rem that time when I was preggie, me &amp; this other preggie lady stood at the Pigeon wipes counter n stared for a very long time. Then we asked each other what was what. We were both so confused haha

Yeah lor, we cannot specify when the baby will come out haha. Else I surely tell mine to come out on an inauspiciousd ate so that I don't have to squeeze with people in the hospital haha

petrina

yeah v cheap, but really leaves a lot of white 'cream' behind. End up I use it as multi-purpose wipes

Wah! What JL sale is that? How to get the 424 vouchers?

sapphire

Ooh.. what's paraben?

I also use Pigeon cotton balls to clean the eyes. But not until the baby staretd to get tears. Before that, I used sterile cotton balls. Copz that's that WBB said haha

fleurfleur

I nvr used one, coz I didn't manage to buy it before I gave birth last time :p

sapphire

I'd have popped by the YP parents fair
When is Motherhood Fair?

JUL: cardmember sale.
>$60 less $6
>$90 less $12
>120 less $18
i spent >$180 so i used $6+$18 vouchers to deduct total bill.
I checked Expo prices last week for Tollyjoy. JL sale is more worth. The refill pack going @ $3.50 less 20% then less the vouchers and less my Robinsons card rebate works up to be $2.35 per pack.

I bought alot of those. And the Carlson 30pcs travel pack. 3*1pk = $3.00nett after discounts = $2.50 per pk.

I also bought laundry detergent + Cleanser + Bath Gel. All 20% + 13% vouchers disc + 3% rebate.

Baby Mobile

I was wondering if I really need one. Realized that it's not cheap at all.

Baby care Products

How about baby bath &amp; other skin care products? Any good recs or reviews? I saw many ppl grabbing Mustela products at the fair but because I was too engrossed with the Babysafe stuffs I didn't check out Mustela booth.

Is it better to get those non rinse shower bath?

Petrina

That's quite a lot of savings ! How did you manage to carry all the stuffs back?

I think I should apply for Robinsons Card. LOL!

Chin, don't take the raspberry tea now unless you're going to delivery soon. Should only take during last few weeks of 3rd trimester or it may cause premature labour.

Re baby wipes, I got 2 packs of Huggies baby wipes from the previous Cordlife seminar and the Babycare fair. Also bought J&amp;J baby wipes since they were on offer for 2 packs, to share with my boss. BTW, yesterday went by JL and saw that the Pigeon items (leftover from their baby fair) like detergents, wipes and bottles are still on sale. Can get while stocks last.

Re tonics, I'm not taking any tonics or bird's nest since I've no need for them (I don't feel weak or anything) and there's no scientific proof that eating all these can help make baby healthier. If other mummies feel like eating, then just eat
I prefer to save money for other things.

Jul, Motherhood Fair is in late May if I'm not wrong..

This weekend can go to Mothercare and Taka baby fairs

ssmilezz, u can apply for the free JL member card. but u dun get the 3% rebate upon paying CC bill. u get the 3% rebate in card. then u need to pay in cash or nets. no pymt via CC is allowed.

Groovy: sale till 4th mar - this sunday. show ur member card and the cust svc will give u the vouchers. but can only take once per day.

baby mobile
i didn't buy. I rented for a mth the lights n music type. put by bedside. not hanging type.
there is projection which will have twirling stars on the ceiling.
quite nice to see but since baby's eyesight is only 10cm away, i think it's more for me.. hehe
so i nvr rented any further.
anyway if u want music, can play cd unless u want visuals for the baby which i feel isn't necessary since most of the time baby is asleep.

Baby Care Products
for #1 i didn't use much. mostly desitin creamy for butt and Ru yi oil for tummy.
Creams i seldom use. I don't like J&amp;J creams as i find tat their chemical level is very high. mustela is too exp for me.

<font color="0077aa">jul, paraben is a type of preservatives commonly found in the daily products we use, such as shampoos, cosmetics, etc... rumors have it that it can get absorbed into our blood stream and potentially cause cancer. hard to avoid totally for ourselves, but i try to avoid using products containing it on newborn babies.

not sure when is the motherhood fair and where leh... </font>

sapphire: yeah.. my hb's shampoo is paraben free. super exp!! tiny bottle $40. bleh... i heck care. whichever product is cheap i use. haha

nattan: taka fair confirm this weekend? i can't find it on taka's website leh.. don't wanna miss it! colleagues gave me taka vouchers for my housewarming so gonna spend all on my baby..

need to get the adaptor for maxi cosi!

Cindy, yeah, I saw on an advert somewhere (think it was Young Parents mag?)... 4-25 March. Lots of time to shop!

great! shall go shopping this weekend then!

bought so much clothes for my baby even though i know he can only wear for a while... but they're too cute not to buy!

Yup, I saw the ad for a cot in Young Parents too and it said "catch us at the Taka Baby Fair from 4-25 Mar"

Talking abt clothes, I feel a bit bad cos I haven't bought any clothes at all. I was planning to get all the hand me downs from my niece as she is currently 2 mths old and will prob outgrow her clothes by the time I deliver.

Did someone mention that baby mobiles can be rented? Where? Any website?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Cot Mobile
If you place it to close to baby, s/he may be scared by the "big" toys, etc.. If baby is strong enough to grab the toys, the whole mobile may fall.

If you place it too far away from baby, it defeats the purpose of simulating him/her.

In addition, many toys of the mobile look vertical when hang, so baby does not see the whole face of the "toys". There are horizontal version but maybe they're more $$$.

So my personal opinion is - it's not useful.</font>

Ssmilezz, glad I remembered correctly!
Memory is quite bad these days :p If you can save money, don't buy baby clothes. Hand-me-downs are good enough cos baby will outgrow them in a couple of months!

Re cot mobile, there's nowhere for me to hang it. Anyway I bought a baby gym already and it comes with mobiles, so no need to buy another one separately.

cot mobile > it was gd for my #1. Gona use bk the same one. Gt one w nice music, nt too heavy n bright n color ful. No nd to b expensive. I bgt mine for <$50 n he loves it. Esp useful if u r the only caregiver. Cn stop thm cryin for awhile.
jus my own experience.

ssmilezz > somehow i am more for organic items instead of mustela but its subjective. I am planning to try GAIA Baby (Someone one SMH does bulk purchase so you can try to catch the next BP since there is still time before we deliver). Otherwise i like California Baby.

Nattan> Which Baby Gym did you buy and how much? All these are so ex but when i check out the baby cot mobiles, Baby bouncers and Baby gyms i am sooo tempted to buy. Now just fingers crossed and waiting for hand me downs

For baby clothes i cannot resist as i have bought alot online already. Per piece after shipping approx 10-12bucks but i feel the cotton quality is nice and soft. I bought a variety of sleeveless rompers and short sleeve ones because i figured since we deliver in June and if don't on aircon so much i am worried baby will feel hot and cranky.

So far no one offer hand me downs ... some times really paiseh to ask and also follow up to collect.

Nattan

Don't worry , you are not the only forgetful one. :D I don't mind hand me downs. The clothes will be softer after many wash. Hehe.

Fleurfleur

I was thinking of California Baby too but recently there has been some reviews indicating that the company has changed their products ingredient lists nd the products had resulted in some skin or rash problems. Dunno how true.

I may just get Baby Sebamed. Prices are quite ok. I've some friends using it and it seems ok.

Fleurfleur, I bought it online as there was a 30% sale, so it's about $70 after discount. Brand is B Kids Play with Me Gym, can use for newborns.

For hand-me-downs, my boss was kind enough to offer me some baby clothes. Hopefully can collect when I visit her this Fri as she didn't have the chance to pass them to me before she went on maternity leave. I'm also getting other stuff from other colleagues like a brand new Avents bottle sterialiser and baby booties, so hopefully can really help me save some $$.

Re baby toiletries, you can try Earth Mama Angel Baby products as they are organic also. My boss just use J&amp;J and she says it's fine. I guess if can afford to buy better stuff for baby then go ahead and splurge, if not, then mass consumer brands are fine also since they've been tried and tested.

<font color="0077aa">fleurfleur, i am using GAIA baby. if u have friends going to Australia, can ask them to help u get. it's much cheaper over there. my cousin helped me buy 4 bottles of shampoos and 4 bottles of body wash recently, each at ard $12 only.</font>

Tried sebamed.. My son reacted to it. So i stopped. Cali baby only tried their rash cream n bath products.

I bought abt 10-15pcs clothes. Hope to get the rest from hand me downs.. Hehe

Ssmilezz, toyrentalclub.com or rent-a-toy.com

Chris
Hand me downs really not too bad.. like smilezz, i love them.. cos well, usually they are washed a few times, so makes it comfy for bb to wear, unlike those very stiff material feel found in new wear

sapphire
i also using gaia pdts.. body moisturser and baby wash.. i bring in from australia myself cos nobody helping me to bring them in =s i have been advised to use brands like J n J cos more cost saving, but been reluctant to do so.. cos i love gaia!

i'm now waiting for sales to stock up on pigeon milk bottles! i used medela bottles for milk storage of bm 2 yrs ago.. nw these bottles have to retire hor?

How long can we store the bottles for? I have a lot from 3yrs ago but seldom used.. Can use still?

Gaia is super exp.. Hehe when i buy from robinsons, i gasp at the prices of organic pdts.. But i'm still on cali baby for my 4yo. Cause i tried J n J top to toes wash and he developed cradle cap! When i tried to scrap off the skin, his hair came off along with it. After 1wk, i threw out the bottle.

J n J milk bath seems ok. My boy is using kodomo lavender body wash n cali baby hair shampoo.

Pigeon bottles
I tot someone stated earlier tat there is a disc for old bottles to be traded in right? Somewhere in this forum..

Jolene, u making regret my PISA local set decision! Argh... So kiasu, bought too early...

petrina
by right, i heard should just change every 6 months, also depending on frequency of use.. some more particular and will change often.. for me, i have not changed any bottles since birth.. nw 2 yrs alr, i only changed the teats..

think i read isetan having promo nw, to trade in old bottles, and rec 50% disc for new ones.. will prob drop by nex to check it out soon =)

gaia can be bought from aust online abt 75% cheaper.. who ask the kiddo.. got such atas taste.. but i also think buy these, more worthwhile than buying clothes lo! haha.. psycho myself! cali baby was abit dry for my bb.. so use halfway throw away alr =S

Is it better to use those rinse off baby bath? Or are those non rinse ones ok?

Talking abt Medela pumps, I know that the breast shields typically come in a few sizes right? Do we typically need to get a larger size to standby?

Morning mummies..

Wow.. first time I got to sleep 10hrs! Feeling better after my OT yesterday. Taking half day off today.

Fuyutsuki, I bought the baby gym from Brandsfever which holds sales for different items everyday on its site.

Jolene, what is the site you bought the breast pump from?

Re baby bath products, why not order from iHerb.com? They have Earth Mama Angel Baby, Nature's Baby Organics and Naturally Baby. Prices are much cheaper..

Hi Nattan; you can order from Ris who is apparently holding a spree in the forums not too sure where but can can contact her @ [email protected]. I paid $468 with $8 courier service.

The breastpump comes with:
Whats included : 
>1 - Freestyle pump
>1 - Black microfiber tote bag
>1 - Lithium ion battery
>1 - AC adaptor/charger
>1 - Insulated cooler bag and ice pack
>4 - 5 oz/150 mL BPA-free breastmilk bottles and lids
>1 - Double pumping kit
>2 - Medium (24 mm) PersonalFit™ breastshields
>2 - Large (27 mm) PersonalFit breastshields
>2 - Freestyle breastshield connector bodies
>1 - Set of tubing
>2 - Membranes
>1 - Hands-free accessory kit
>Instructions for use
>Breastfeeding Information Guide

<font color="aa00aa">jol82ene,
Does it include warranty?

Re: Medela Freestyle vs Pump In Style Advanced
Freestyle seems to be quite popular nowadays. How is it different from PISA?</font>