(2012/06) Jun 2012

Adeline
haha i see, yup i used freelance for #1, pretty good actually but need to wash the binder and towel daily, find it troublesome so opt for origins this time...

Anna
I paid 200 as deposit via internet banking, and their service is good and prompt, already sent me the invoice and ask me to text them right after delivery..

so i am taking the 5 days package as a start.. last time for #1 i only did massage for 1 session cuz was too busy handling baby and no time for it eventually, plus when i wear the binder, can't bend over to carry baby properly, he didn't like the smell of the oil and kept crying so i have to stop it..

that's why this time round want to start with only 5 sessions first, will top up if need to...

and package details are here:
http://jamumassage.com/packages-prices

I'm experiencing some gastric pain since yesterday. On and off coming back. But I didn't skip any meal n I don't feel hungry. Is it gastric that is pain or something else?

any of you know where can I get ppl to collect my old refrigerator, I wanna buy a bigger fridge but they dun allow trade in, i wonder where can I sell the current one.

I have no idea how come this morning I could not post any message.

Anyway to cut short, gynae referred me to pyschiatrist and was diagnosed with moderate depression. I refused to take medication and was referred to see the pyschologist with the counselling therapy.

My gynae told me just drink milk from supermarket, need not waste money on maternal milk as it is not effective. But for me, it is more like I can hardly bear to swallow the taste of it. Baby does not like chocolate at all so no no chocolate or chocolate products at all.

I must be 1 of the laziest mummies as I hardly walk when I reach home although I do walk alot at work to check on people & faxes. Baby is not a shopaholic like me & caused me discomfort if I shop more than 2 hours. But I am going to expo sales & Ikea this Sat. Hopefully my princess can be more co-operative since I am most going to buy stuff for her.

Adeline: I bought PISA. i used my fren's PISA for #1. then after weaning i returned to her and she gave away le. so i bought a brand new set.

Post Natal Massage
I'm not getting any cause #1 didn't do. so i believe #2 i also no time or chance to do.
besides i m tat type of person who loves hygiene. so won't maximize use of binder.
But I might go ala-carte massage occasionally during weekends while shopping with hb and kids.

After #1 turned 2yo, I heard of acupuncture from a fellow mummy. I used the TCM acupuncture for 6mths and it gave me amazing results. So i will go back to her after #2.

Keeping food
You need to cool food totally b4 storing in fridge. Hot food will spoil. unless u freeze it immediately upon cooking like those airplane meals.

Cot
I co-sleep with my #1 though I had a plastic cot. Cause it hurts to bend to carry baby every 2hrs. plus baby will wake upon putting down on cot to slp. so after 2weeks i decided to put baby beside me to slp. since tat decision, bfing was easy, i slept better, life was nice.
Our queen mattress is on platform bed against the wall. so there was no worries abt baby falling over or knocking on the wooden bed frame.

Chin
maybe not gastric pain, might be baby kicking ur intestine. i had gall bladder pain last week n gynae said baby is affecting our organs.
As long as baby is moving, don't worry.
Whenever u feel like munching, do eat.

Felicia, ya it's a good deal that why considering
I asked Origins about the binder. They said they will place a napkin before binding so it won't get too dirty, but you may still need to wash it if it gets stained by the herbal treatment.

Chin, did you go and see a doctor?

Petrina I also suspect is the baby mOvement or something like that cos I nv have gastric problem. And I have been eating well n putting on weight.

Nattan didn't see doc neh. Cos I'm Still puzzle what pain is that. Just ate also can feel the pain then disappear. Only seeing my gynea next week plus my detail scan.

Depression
I also think I'm having slight depression. Have been crying to sleep Everytime I think of his family staying with us. I really hope they will just leave us alone soon. My hubby don't even know how to comfort me well when I cry.

aiyo Chin, that doesn't sound too good.. i know sometimes it's hard to control the emotion, but it's better to take care and think positively..

why your hubby's family must be staying with you then? will they move out eventually or no concrete plan? or maybe they could help you out with taking care of baby?

Thank you hopecg and Petrina,
Looks like its going to be PISA, so far the best deal i have seen is $569 for the PISA with a tote bag.
I heard the suction is also better then the freestyle.
Anyone has a better deal out there?

I am very happy with the package and service offered by Origins.I signed up for the 10 course and most likely will be adding a few more sessions thereafter. Can't wait to experience my first pre natal massage! Hahaha....

Michi,
Thanks i have thought of that route as well.
However there is an issue with the warranty as it is not an international warranty,right?

Chin, if your baby is still moving then don't worry too much la. Sometimes pain could be due to baby pressing something inside. Also, if you suspect you have depression, don't keep to yourself. Tell your doctor and hubby about it. As for ILs staying with you, is this long term? If you really cannot stand it, then why not discuss with hubby if you can move back to your parents' place for the time being?

Michi, which website did you buy your pump from? I'm also thinking of the PISA as I want to continue feeding baby breast milk after returning to work. I thought of the Swing, but not sure if it would take very long to pump both sides? Also my colleague recommended get a dual pump. Other than Medela what other brands are good?

Felicia n Nattan
Anyway the house is not ours also. It belongs to my fil.
Is my bil. They already got their house key last dec. Premium flat so floor n everything all done up le. But they still taking their own sweet time. Actually they promise us to
Move out by this month but he said still got little things not done up yet. So change to mid next month. But they are still not packing or throwing anything! Somemore still said want to move slowly...... Damn piss. I need a room to put up my baby stuffs. High chance they did it on purpose because I'm not in good term with his wife.

<font color="aa00aa">If order from US, must get power adapter right? Where to get a reliable power adapter as nowadays, lots of adapters do not good workmanship. Any brand to recommend?</font>

Adeline: yeah, warranty problem onli. For me I tink warranty not an issue lah since i trust medela brand... hahaha... and so far not much complain abt the product

My hb know I'm piss. He himself also piss. But there is nothing much we can do. We don't want to show like we are chasing them out too. N his bro very witty type. Some more after they got the keys they cannot be bother to clean the house. Can I imagine a plate of noodle drop to the floor n his boy just use a cloth just wipe. Whole kitchen is left sticky m oily for the pass 3 weeks n still counting n nobody notice n care. I'm mentally stress. My house will only be ready in another 1.5-2 years

i tot of US ordering also but worry abt warranty.
i need it to last at least 3yrs.. so i can't take the risk of it being non-SIN.

Chin: let ur hb noe abt the situation. if house already done up, u shld start telling them to move out.
otherwise u can try to move into their territory bit by bit to show them that u mean biz. Are they alone as a couple or they have kids?
U may wanna occupy the living room if they don't get the hint. then if ur PIL ask y u clutter the place then u say baby stuffs. Baby is coming, u need to stock up stuffs. No space in ur bedroom and no additional room as BIL is taking up the room then u put in living room..

wah your bil really one kind leh, got own house liao most people sure get excited and want to move out asap.. dun understand why he rather take own sweet time to move out de..

anyway since it is confirmed that they will move out, don't think too much, it's just a matter of time.. and i guess they wont drag till you deliver anyway so you sure will have the space and privacy soon.. don't overstress yourself and your hubby.. things will get better and better!!

Petrina
My Pil not staying with us so the house only will left us after they move. They have 2 kids, all teenager le. I have the plan to start moving big boxes in after next week. We actually delay our baby plan till they got the house key. He promise my hb infront of my fil that he will move by mid next month. I hope he keep to his promise.

Chin: FIL moving in with BIL n family? Then i suggest u keep quiet and wait..
unless they keep delaying otherwise since the house giving u n ur hb to stay, i think it's worth the wait.

Felicia,
I also hope so. Praying damn hard. Everyday at home see them watch tv n sleep still wee hour n still no sigh of packing, throwing etc I really sian.

Thanks Michi for the suggestion but i am with Petrina on the risk of getting a US set, i cant risk on warranty as i intend to buy just 1 set to last me from #1 till probably the next 5 years while the production factory has just started. Hahahaha......

So Petrina looks like we got to scout around Singapore for great deals on the PISA. Do share when you come across any yea?

Ok moving along, i am thinking for nipple cream and milk storage bags would be either Lansinoh or Medela. Any experiences to share mummies?

Adeline: i already bought.. too rush.. sigh.. bought @ $599 free forehead thermometer from Mums &amp; Babe.

Chris: erm, i m pro bf. many researches have stated that there is no proof stating BM is only good for 1yr.
WHO suggest bfing AT LEAST 1yr. so many ppl stop at that.
SG Health Organization suggest bfing AT LEAST 6mths. So many moms in SG only bf 4-6mths...

Like what nature is made from, cows drink cow milk, sheep drink sheep milk.. so Humans shld drink Mom's milk for as long as they need. Right?
Of course unless those ppl who have circumstances that can't bf, otherwise every mom shld give whatever they can to their baby.

Chin: You mentioned that your own flat will only be ready in 1-2 years time? So this flat you are currently staying belongs to your in laws? If it is really your in laws's house, then really have no choice but to close 1 eye. Afterall, it is not your own flat. I am currently staying with my in laws and flat will be ready in another 1-2 years. Imagine there are roaches in the house which I am most terrified of. Sometimes, the utensils are not even washed or washed properly then put back into the container. And the whole family, including nieces &amp; nephews can just walk around in the house wearing shoes. Then they go around opening my drawers in another room &amp; my foreign currencies were stolen twice! :/ Sometimes, am really pissed but no choice, cos at the end of the day, it is not own flat. That is 1 of the reasons why I did not want to engage a CL as my in laws might not feel comfortable with it &amp; my mil kept saying she will take care when I pregnant. Let's see how it goes when I give birth. But you should let your gynae know of it since your husband cannot do much. My pyschiatrist made me ask my hubby go with me to see her after the 1st visit as I told her my hubby also was lost when I broke down.

Petrina/Adeline: Can try Mumsfairy booth tmr at expo. Last week at baby expo saw that they are selling Medela pumps at a lower price than others, e.g. 289 or < $300 for Swing w cooler bag + 2 medela bottles. < $800 (forgot exact price) for Medela freestyle + a forehead thermometer. All comes with local warranty lo

Petrina > gd pt! I don't knw hw long I cn bf. Last time I stop at 4 mth, cos was constantly sick n the flu n cough med dry up my supply. I was also going bk to work thn, so gave up lor. Nw tat I m nt working...was hoping to BF for at least 6 mths...hmmm hopefully even longer. Praying hard.

Chris, are you talking about Lansinoh nipple cream and milk storage bags?? Please enlighten me, thanks.

Petrina, i saw that deal at Mums &amp; Babes which comes with a warmer,correct? I didnt need the warmer so decided against it.
I saw that deal during CNY when i was at their main store as we bought the Alma Papa Bloom Cot for a good deal and it fits our requirement.

I have been scouting around from malls to babystores to hospitals and found the cheapest i could get for the PISA that comes with a tote bag and storage bottles and a storage pouch i believe for $569. The PISA with the backpack the cheapest i saw was $549 with storage bottles and a storage pouch.

I am hoping to be able to get it at a cheaper price during the Taka sale. So am gonna wait it out till the Taka sale.

Re length of bf
I think part of it is a mental barrier. For example, my gynae told me to bf fo a year, so I set that as my target. So subconciously, I let my supply decline towards the end, and when my son rolled away after drinking for a super short while, and laughed, I decided it's time to stop.

Now since I don't have plans to stop workin, I hope can tahan pumping for at least another 6 months when I head back to work.

Haven't tested my PISA. hope it's still working well.

Petrina
Nope my fil not moving in with them. They won't let him stay with him too. My fil staying oversea most of the time. So we will be occupying the house ourselves. My fil also don't like the idea that they are moving slowly n insist that he give us a date.

Zo
Is really such a pain. Ya my house only be ready in 1-2 year time. This house belongs to my fil but he doesnt stays there. Worst thing is the other siblings doesn't even help us talk to him. They always think that we are wrong bcos we are more "straight" kind of person n not as sweet talk as the brother. At least I get to have the whole house to myself after they move.

Hui000, thanks for the info but i have already check on the prices at last weeks fair as mumsfairy was also there but still cant beat the current price i have.

breastfeeding
i was not successful with breastfeeding #1, but i remember when i attend the class at TMC after my delivery, we were told it's recommended to total breastfeed our babies for 2 YEARS!! haha.. jiayou mummies!!

Chin
i can understand your situation cuz we are staying with in laws and our house will be ready by next year Q2 only.. but for your case i guess really no choice, since it's your fil's house, in a way not very nice to say much, just lun and hope they keep to their words ba..

Adeline > oh, sorry I m refering the milk storage bags. Bt anthr mummy here, Jul, had vry gd experience n the leakage problem cld b cos it was too full.

Felicia
Some people said that mil are horrible. But having bad bil or sil is even worst. Maybe I have a age gap diff with his family so they can't bring their eye level to understand my concern or simply they are too selfish to help. My hb is the youngest in the family. His oldest nephew is only 4 years younger then me.

Really feel better after talking it out.
thank you all

Adeline, u have to see the year of production. Mine's made in 2011. The tote bag version is 2010 i think.
Mums n babe only sell back pack version with bottles n sotrage cooler bag. The standard package.
No warmer. I bought last yr. I think price drop since then.. Regret buying so earlu. They say already 20% off their usual price. I think $549 is a good buy already..

Amy, yes. The line will disappear soon after birth.

Chris, i don't like pupsik pouch as it's restrictive and it is difficult to use when baby hits toddler. I prefer MIM sling. I bought both.

Hi ladies... I ve a preloved Babyplus set to let go at $250. Bought in Nov 2011. Comes in original packaging and excellent condition. Pm me if you are keen. Thank you.

petrina > is pupsik or mim more expensive? I was tinkin mim seems troublesome to use cos thers a huge piece of additional cloth hanging behind. If i jus wan2 use til <1 yrs old, is mim stil a better choice?

Chris,for my #1, i experienced alot of positions while i was home. The most comfy position for baby n me is kangeroo hold.
Stilling vertically in front of me, head resting on my chest.
That is best achieved by sling meaning u need extra cloth for the pulling and the snug hold.
Pouch is mostly for lying position and side sit position.

Tats y i strongly suggest sling vs pouch so u can experiment a few more positions till u feel most comfy. The extra cloth is so tat when u put baby in, not restrictive. Then after baby sits well, u pull cloth to hold baby tighly. U feel safe tat baby won't fall. I dun even need to use hands after using kangeroo hold on my NB. Which is very useful when u'll out alone with baby. Since head support is impt, lying position u need to constantly hold head.

Oh ya, u can buy 2nd hand sling. Just try out material in stores before buying.
I like cotton sateen. Cotton is too hard to pull. Silk is too soft. Keep slipping loose.

Chin
you are right i think.. relationship with bil/sil could be even harder to handle, at least for pils we know die die must respect them so a lot of things can give in easily.. anyway hope they will move out soon then, cuz it doesn't do them any good to stay here forever..

amy
i have that, got it since 1st pregnancy.. but hor never disappear for my case, just lighten quite a bit.. now 2nd pregnancy it looks the same as before.. my stretch marks from 1st pregnancy disappeared within 4 month though but dunno why this vertical line is still there..

my sis is having #2 now also but totally no line.. not sure if it's because i am having boy and she's having girl though..