(2012/06) Jun 2012

Felicia, yes, I'm still exercising, but only twice a week
Today did my usual exercises again. I dunno if it's true, but it feels shiok when I see on the machine the calories I have burnt.. hahaha.. Fortunately my workplace has a well-equipped gym or else, I wouldn't be so motivated to go regularly. I prefer to exercise alone cos need to focus and do it properly. I don't like to go for classes actually cos I find it a bit distracting having many people around. My other pregnant colleague has been going for weekly prenatal yoga, which she says is good, but I think 1 week once is not enough for me.

If you feel pain in the pelvic area, it's cos your ligaments are still stretching. You can try gentle stretching exercises at home. Walking everyday is good exercise also, but do remember to wear proper footwear. Nowadays I just wear my Fitflops to work unless got a function which requires covered footwear.. hehe..

Wah i guess I'm the onli one dieting now... hahaha. Cannot touch any sugary stuff, milk included. Then everyday gotta exercise. So envy u all

Michi, I exercise so that I can eat! Haha.. must have output then can have input.. I've been eating a lot actually.. going for buffet tonight, then tomorrow meeting friends at a chicken rice restaurant. On Friday, meeting another group of friends for seafood dinner... if I don't exercise, I'll balloon up like nobody's business! :p

nattan: i think even if i exercise, my food intake is still more than wat i can burn... hahaha

Haiz~ sad, now 1 meal split 2 time to eat for breakfast and lunch, juz plain bee hoon with veg, evening cook porridge for myself with veg/yong tau foo. Meat also limit to 1-2 chicken midjoint. Fruit like banana also cannot take whole piece, muz split half with my hubby cos' contain sugar also

Needless to say abt bubble tea liao.. a total NO-NO for me

AsRias
i bought the disc from amazon when i was preggy with #1, it's called Leisa Hart's FitMama. and it includes salsa dance, yoga, stretching and some other labour tips.. 2nd disc is the postnatal workout which i didn't use last time, haha managed to slim down naturally that time..

but i only follow the salsa dance cuz i used to go to true yoga often and found the yoga postures in this dvd set boring to follow... haha..

nattan
my office building here no gym lor, so sad.. my HQ hor the gym is right inside the office, go pass the reception area will first need to walk pass the gym before you see the office cubes.. wah see those angmohs exercising early in the morning so good life sia.. but here, we don't even have one within the same building.. so if i were to go for prenatal yoga, have to travel 1 mrt station lor, a bit rush during lunch hour.. still not decided whether to go on every friday or not..

where are you going for buffet?? me crazy, i had 13 times of buffet meals since I was preggy, that's on average twice a month sia.. have to stop, haha..

Michi
that's all you eat in a day? wah i think when i was on diet last time i ate that little lor, and always feel hungry actually.. dunno how you can tahan sia..

Just back from John little MS,

I stockup the tolloyjoy 1000ml laundry wash. Original price is 6.90. After 20% off is 5.52. Is still cheaper than the coming fair. For member, if u buy more than $100 of baby item, still got another $10 off. On top of that still got the usual 5% rebate.. Same to the veg and accessories liquid wash 900ml (pink). After all still cheaper after all the rebates.
And got free delivery, if u spend more than $150.
End up I spend about $500 there.. Buy a lot of things..

Michi, if you do a bit of exercise (30min - 1hr) everyday, you can still burn about 200 - 300+ calories. That all adds up and help you to lose or at least maintain your weight. Even walking around the neighbourhood after dinner is good lor.. Don't give up. But I don't think you should cut down on food. Instead choose more wisely, like instead of banana, durians or grapes which have a lot of sugar, eat apple, pear or orange. Instead of white rice, eat brown rice, etc..

Felicia, I'm going for a buffet at Chui Xiang restaurant at Changi Village cos got some coupon deal for it and it's expiring today! I don't usually go for buffets cos I can't eat a lot to make my money's worth. But I bought this coupon cos it's affordable and they have seafood dishes like lobster

Priscilla, wah.. buy so much.. is it too early to stock up? There will be other sales coming up and JL and Metro always have Expo sales too..

BTW, there's a Motherhood exhibition at Expo from 31 May to 1 June
Also, Carrefour and Watson's sales this weekend too...

Felicia

Ya lor, so poor thing right? Luckily i dun feel too hungry. If hungry, juz drink more plain water or eat 1 pc of julie wheat biscuit. Lucky my office got stock up on fruits like apple. So at least can fill the stomach also if hungry.

Have to tolerate like tat until next checkup. If next checkup the baby still very big or my weight still rocket, maybe they will suspect i got Gestational Diabetes... worst if gotta inject myself with insulin

anyone knows how to pack overnight food safely?? gonna cook tonight (coz too lazy to wake up tmr morn to cook) and pack to office for lunch tmr..

scared the food might spoil if i didnt pack well.. there'll be soup and rice and some plain dishes

Cindy, as mentioned earlier, you need to pack the food while hot in a heat-proof, microwave-safe container and ensure it's air-tight. Then immediately put inside your fridge. Many people like to wait till the food cools down before packing. That's not so safe. Then before eating, heat up the food thoroughly. Make sure it's steaming hot before you eat it.

nattan

In fact i think i walk quite alot leh, everyday walk to mrt 10min. Then working time also have to walk up walk down the stairs at least 5-10 times. I suspect maybe the maternal milk is the killer lah, but i told doc i onli drink once a day leh... so he suggest i dun drink at all for now.

Then also, after preg... i eat quite alot of rice. Last time always eat half or less than half the portion of rice serve, now can lick clean clean the whole plate of rice... hahaha.

So now better eat porridge which contain lots of water but little rice. All carb has to put to a stop. For snacks, maybe a few nuts like cashew or almond should be ok bah?

Michi, I don't drink maternal milk but my boss did. End up I think most of the weight went to her instead of the baby as the baby was lighter than estimated, even lighter than her #1!

I also eat a lot of rice :p But now cutting down already. Try to eat more high fibre foods esp veg as fruits also have a lot of sugar. As for nuts, they are high in fat and calories. Can eat a few pieces but beware that they can be addictive! Also, they are heaty. I'm not a fan of nuts, so I don't usually eat them. Besides, I 'm scared of getting constipation from heaty foods :p

BTW, studies have shown that eating calcium rich food like yoghurt can help weight-loss. Can try to eat plain, low fat yoghurt when you're hungry also.

Somemore hor, after we bought the Philip Air Fryer, my hubby everytime cook the french fries using tat and use tat to cook fried food, thinking tat it's healthier... But actually not really the case lor. It does lessen the amt of oil use, but it's still oily if compare with steaming

Michi, i think hor porridge is fattening leh, you just need to have more meals, smaller portion.. brown rice instead of white rice is a good idea but i rem porridge is definitely not a good substitute of rice..

actually can still eat rice, but cut down on oil and salt more impt.. so i feel that if want to go on diet, better just don't eat outside food.. LOL..

and yes the maternal milk, i never drink that, it's good for mummies for sure but for people like me who is already fat, rather don't touch that..

nuts are definitely okay, but no more than 6 pieces a day, that's when i was on diet last time, with baby can eat a bit more ba..

haha talking about the air fryer, sounds healthy right, but the processed food you use to fry with it, like fries, nuggets, all pre-fried with lots of oil liao mah.. haha so still very fattening and unhealthy...

I also think the air-fryer is not a good idea. Cos first of all, after spending a few hundred dollars on that, you will definitely want to use it often. End up eating more fried food frequently. Then as Felicia said, all the processed foods used for frying also contains fat. In the end, not really healthier.

I prefer to just go out and eat fried or fast foods once in a while when I really crave it, rather than do it at home. So I never deny myself when I feel like eating Popeyes, or Indonesian ayam penyet
But I only eat them 2-3x a month.

Talking about high fiber foods, I got a Philips juicer and have been making vege and fruit juices 2-3x a week. Then I realise that it's a waste to throw all the pulp away cos they have a lot of nutrients. So I went online to find recipes to use them and found out how to make muffins from them! So now I make muffins from my juice pulp to eat for breakfast
No constipation so far!

I think porridge makes u hungry fast also? But bcos i cook myself, i know how much rice i'm taking in. But still, will do as u all suggest, eat brown rice to substitute.

Initially, i tot wheat/wholemeal bread is ok, but doc say so long as bread, then cannot cos got carb... Haiz sometimes really dunno wat to eat leh like tat

Michi, last time when I was weight training and trying to lower my overall body fat %, I cut down my carbo to no more than 30% of total calorie input. I really used an online calorie counter to help me keep track - yes, a bit fanatical ;) As you're pregnant now, you still need some carb for energy, but maybe raise your protein levels and lower fat levels.

For breakfast, you can eat an egg or 2 egg whites, 1 small pcs of wholemeal toast and drink horlick/milo kosong.

For lunch, choose soupy foods like yong tau foo soup with more vege, without noodles and no fried item.

For dinner, can eat steamed fish or grilled chicken breast with half a bowl of brown rice and stir fried vege (i go for broccoli as it's very high in calcium and fiber).

Snacks, can have 2 a day - 1 apple or other low sugar fruit. And must drink 2L of water everyday. Try to cut down on coffee/tea unless you drink without sugar and milk.

The above was what I used to eat to lose weight and maintain a BMI of 18 and body fat 22% (besides exercising of course). Hope it helps!

Hi nattan,

Ya lor, stock up first. Anyway need to buy. Detergent will not spolit..they selling pigeon baby wipe also.. Pack of 6 @ 19.50
Buy up to 100, $10 off.. I bought the NUK sterilizer , nose cleaner, bed sheet set la, nail clipper la, comb and brush la, etc...

Only at jL at marina sq and jurong point. Until Sunday 26.

I checked with the sales girl there, she say not always got this kind of sale..maybe once/twice a yr

thanks nattan!
cooked and packed yesterday and brought to office today to share with a few of my colleagues.. hope they find it ok! haha

sian of food around my office area already

nattan
nice tips, i got to learn also, wahahaa..

michi
sorry i just checked with my sis, she's not expert but she managed to lose 10kg in 2-3 months last time by controlling her diet.. she said porridge is about 80kcal and rice is 200kcal, so it is indeed better than rice then..

anyway dun be too concerned, cuz i feel that you are already eating very healthy meals.. jiayou!

cindy
yup very sian to think about what to eat lor, rather cook and pack lunch.. nowadays i go home cook my dinner and next day lunch together, haha indeed very cuz just 1 person.. plus i am not fussy about food, can eat anything de.. if cook for in laws on weekend hor, very troublesome cuz fil dun eat this dun eat that de..

Morning mummies...

Michi, Cindy, Felicia, you're very welcome

I don't cook everyday cos too much trouble for just me and hubby. We usually eat out. I cook maybe 1-2x a week only and then bring the extras to work the next day.

Besides being sian of food around my workplace, I think it's healthier to eat homecooked food too. Outside food has too much salt and oil.

Calcium, even though never drink milk but must really watch out the calcium intake. The baby will be fine and have strong bones becoz they will take from your calcium reserve. And later you'll be the one suffer from osteoporosis. That's what I read in books and hear from the prenatal class..

Maternal milk, last time for #1 I drink twice a day until I'm in my 3rd trimester. In fact #1 didn't get too big lah, only 2.78 kg when she's born in 37 weeks..

But right now I drink less simply becoz quite lazy to drink them. Huhu..

ooo Grovvy2009, i don't have much knowledge on calcium but my gynae asked me to take, and he said it helps to control my high blood pressure, average 130+

i didn't take it for #1 and end up got induced due to high blood pressure.. so this time round i am keeping my finger crossed, so far maintain around 120.. and not sure if it's really the calcium that is helping, haha..

Felicia

I saw u post in May thread that isetan got promo on baby cot, cost $299 include bedding set and cot mobile, which isetan outlet?

Michi: I saw the cot in Nex yesterday. Not sure if other isetans also have. But then cannot upgrade the mattress to anti-dustmite, with holes etc. Its the standard foam mattress that the usual cot deals have.

Yes, calcium is important cos the baby will leach calcium from your bones and if you don't replenish it, will cause osteoporosis. Besides eating calcium rich food, it's good to do weight training too cos it helps to build denser and stronger bones. Of coz don't do heavy weights now, but after you delivered. I advised my boss the same thing.

Michi, you might want to consider the Shears cot on sale at the Babycare fair? I'm thinking of getting it. It's also $299 but includes 4 inch high density mattress, 4 pc Shears Deluxe bedding set, European Musical Mobile, delivery and installation. I dunno if Isetan will provide free delivery and installation?

nattan: yeah, i'm also interested in tat. Tat's why wanna compare the 2 then make decision on which one better

Size also one of the considering factor

Wow the thread has moved so fast! Have been busy with work and researching on baby items to buy for our first born.

So far we manage to buy the big items like cot for a great deal and a package deal for the car seat and iso fix.

For the small items, we have bought rompers,swaddle,thermometer,thermal flask and a set of layette outfit all with discounts and vouchers.
Am loving the discounts and vouchers!!

Have signed up for Cordlife too,so we have vouchers to spend on baby items now.

Have also signed up for post-natal massage as they were recommended and are currently having a promotion.

Can't wait for tomorrow's fair as i am off so i will be there! Any mummies going for tomorrow's fair?

Michi, the size for both cots are about the same, for 60cm x 120cm mattress. I like the Shears one better cos it looks taller and is white colour to match my room

Adeline, which cot did you buy? Did you buy at the last Baby Expo? I'm not going to the fair tomorrow but my hubby is.

Michi: The lady says whilst stocks last. So hubby says to go to the bb fair this weekend first then we decide which one to get.

Adeline
which postnatal massage are you getting? I signed up with origins jamu massage, not sure good or not though, didn't bother to search on reviews.. i know freelance massage ladies are way cheaper.. but since after #2 close factory liao, dun mind splurge a bit already, haha..

For the cot, I think last time I bought the Shears one, but without the bedding set/ musical mobile..
Sometimes I saw the bedding set they offer is not of a good quality.

Then I went Taka Fair and saw another brand sell cot at the same price with better bedding set.

Just to remind to still compare first. hehe..

The cot is quite a good quality though. #1 now 17 mths old still sleep on it.

As for the mattress I never top up. Then I realize those mummies who top up with better mattress (thicker mattress), got once their babies fall down from the cot because simply it's on their waist length becoz of the thick mattress.

Just to remind you thicker mattress doesn't mean better.
The baby can sleep anywhere and seriously they will prefer to sleep next to you compare to their cot!

Groovy, ya thicker doesn't mean better.. I grew up sleeping on the floor.. haha.. I don't recall ever having a cot. But ya, need to compare and do some homework before buying anything. There's another brand I saw at the Baby Expo called Vanille, anybody used that? It was also around the same price and offered similar freebies.

Felicia, Bay Bellies is offering massage packages at the BabyCare Fair. I was also thinking of signing up with Origins but Baby Bellies is offering 10 sessions for $500 which is really a good deal... so now I'm considering. Wonder if they accept a deposit first.

Hi mommies, yes I am going to the fair tommorow. The only shopping my husband won't complain.

About post natal massages. You can try baby bellies. Check out their prices online and make a comparison. Do treat yourself to Prenatal Massages too, check out their packages. I signed up $580 for 12 sessions of pre natal massages. I love it. The people there are nice and they don't "hard sell" their packages.

Cheers ;)

Hi Nattan,

You wrote that cooked food needs to be kept while hot inside the fridge?

How come I have all along heard that we must let food coll before storing it??

How about the others how do you do it?

deebee: my mum say put hot food inside fridge the fridge will spoil very fast... hahaha... dunno how true. But i saw before from newspaper that if put hot food inside fridge, the electricity will use more

Hi deebee, last time people say you need to cool the food first before chilling cos the hot food may cause the fridge temperature to increase and thus allowing bacteria to thrive. That may be true if your fridge is low power. In that case, you can cool your food first but still make sure to store it within 1hr or so. But nowadays, fridges are quite powerful, and so far, I've kept hot or warm foods in the fridge without affecting the internal temp of the fridge much. 1 box of food won't change the internal temp much. IF you put 1 big pot, then yes maybe.

Hi Felicia,

I signed up with Origins Jamu as well as it was recommended by friends and i read good reviews on them therefore my cousin and i signed up for it.

I initially was researching on freelance massage however had negative reviews their punctuality or they conveniently reschedule the timings, which i do not want that to happen. So i just rather play it safe and go with a company instead.

I prefer their package offered as compared to the other places. Hence decided on it.

nattan
wow that's a great deal, should get it, too bad i paid deposit for origins jamu massage already.. i am hoping that baby is easier to look after, then i sure dun mind sign up another package for more sessions to indulge myself, wahahaha..

Can anyone share their experience on Medela breast pumps?
I am looking into either the Pump In Style Advance or Freestyle.

Adeline
I have the Medela Swing and PISA.. PISA was a better choice for me at home, swing is easier carry out.. PISA suction more powerful, i love it!

Nattan & Jolene, it seems like the Baby bellies are offering a very attractive packages. However do they travel down to your house to do the massage for you? It seems like both of their store locations seems abit too far to travel down esp we need to take care of the bb.

Adeline & Felicia, how much did you pay for your packages at Origins Jamu?

Yes of coz. They do post natal at your house. Their outlets are pretty near the train stations. I have been travelling down myself for prenatal massages