(2012/06) Jun 2012

hui000, yes.. it has the programme details like the talk times on baby care, so it's useful. BTW, first 1,000 visitors get a goodie bag ;) I'm getting hubby to go on Fri on my behalf... hehe..

I had went to last week fair...nothing much pretty small scale. Just got 2 pkts of carter baby cloth (5pcs) per pkts and the baby bibs..planning to get baby cot but only 1 booth selling it. Hopefully, this week will be better and more various choices of baby items. :)

Moi, yes I saw the facebook pg, but they don't list all the prices for the star buys. The mag includes the prices plus other deals not included inside the star buys.

Hope to get a cot and stroller this coming weekend! If not, can also go to the Taime baby warehouse sale or wait for Mothercare fair...

Hi chris,
When I can't think of anything to eat, I will eat MOS burger...
Haha.. But I know not so gd la.. Once a while ok la..

Thnks mummies for all the info on the fair..

Michi:

Well, Usually the first few days too little milk to store anyway, and mainly just super thick colostrum. When u manually pump, can let it drip directly into a cup to store. So less things to wash and sterilize? though my real milk for number 2 came at Day 2, unlike number came at day 5 or 6.

Which is why I want to let my baby room-in with me more this time so that I can just let him latch on more often (say every 2 hours, or when he cries, instead of 3 or 4hrs if he stays in the nursery) to stimulate for me, instead of massaging or pumping which creates more work for me.

I am super lazy type who hates to wash, which explains my direct latch on all these years... hehe...
I was quite kiasu for number 2 in the beginning where I massaged and did the compression method while breastfeeding to stimulate more milk to come out.

Chris:
I chose PruGift only cos I am a PruSmart Lady and PruPrestige member. So entitled to 15% (?) discount for the first 12 months. And I just want to give my agent business lah... She's so hardworking for me, always updating my portfolio. Just give to her the biz lor. I hate having many agents to deal with from different companies, in the end no relationship with agents and those i only have one or 2 policies, they hardly contacted me. Which I totally regretted for my Number 1's Great Eastern...

Chris, I'm also sian of the food at my workplace that's why I bring my own food. Today I'm having rice, baby kailan with mushrooms and carrot, and sesame oil chicken with ginger
Made it myself last night. If dunno what to eat, I'll usually have tomyam ban mian or a salad..

Infant car seat

Hopecg, my gal has outgrew around 8-9 mos old. She always cried inside it when she was in it. But after we change to front facing child seat she din cry anymore. So i guess can only last you till 8-9 mos.

infant car seat, buy those convertible type. We just switched it to the front facing when the boy was bigger.

But recently he suddenly hated the seat even though he is still the same small size, so we went to buy another one, which is combi 3 in one joyride, which can last until he's 132cm or whatever. Only the booster seat would be left by then.

Bb cream: Any recommendation on bb afterbath cream? Saw the babycare festival that the star buy items are mustela brand. Any other brands recommended, mummies?

baby kick
Last night I just wanted to turn to my side when I was in the bed, then I think my baby kicked super hard or something. This morning my belly still hurts.

anna: creams no need to buy now. must test baby's skin first. plus you will probably get a lot of samples to try.
Up till now, I still have some samples never use. Need to throw them away.

Jenny, I used to have a very good Pru agent also. Even had his msn, he would update me and stuff. That time i bought travel insurance from AIG, went holiday got my stuff stolen, tho not buy from prudential he helped me do my claim.

But he left and now this agent quite lousy lor. Like ask me sign 1 plan then disappeared liao. Both my and my hubby under her. But sometimes when she send stuff juz send 1 person. Pls lor. u earn com from both, should service 2 customer cannot take it for granted we should be the one communicating the info. Dunno whether got any good FP. Maybe FP better... can recommend from different insurance companies

glass, my baby's been kicking me every night and early morning. I don't need an alarm clock cos he wakes me up! When I went for my detailed scan yesterday, I could see that his feet are pressing against my side. Wait a few more weeks, the kicks would only get stronger till closer to delivery...

Chris
i also pack my own lunch.. having kimchi fried rice, stir fried capsicum with onion and chicken meat today.. haha prepared last night..

my office is at CBD, long queue and expensive food.. so i've been packing my own lunch for quite a long time.. had been eating salad and bread for lunch but feel like eating hot stuff so started cooking, not too difficult anyway cuz just one person portion only, haha..

aiya, still don't knw wat to eat. I jus had Mos burger yesterday. My bb vry choosy, doesn't lik to tak food although she will kp mi whn hungry. haha. :p Wow, Nattan, u vry hanrd working to cook leh. Bt I heard fr smwher tat it is nt gd to tak ovrnight fd. Got sm bacteria nt so gd for bb.

Chris, if keeping food, you need to observe some safety rules. Food must be kept while hot or warm. Use air-tight containers and heat up food thoroughly before eating. I've been doing this for years and so far no issues
Happy lunching. I'm going to gym first before eating...

Jenny: we same type ppl.. i m lazy to pump or wash bottles. so i also latch all these years. but for FTWM, it will create abit issue when baby refuse bottle after 4mth ML.. hehe
So this time i will be abit more diligent n feed bottle during the day so baby knows the difference.

AsRias: I met up with my Pru Agent for lunch just now, I was just asking her y she send my family members CNY card individually.. hehe. Waste $ n paper..
So i told her just write 1 card n attention to whole family will do.

didn't know PruSmart Lady got 15% disc on new policies? only PruPrestige Cust bah.. I forgot to buy the maternity risk under PruSmart Lady.. till it was too late. so i muz buy this PruMum2be this time..
It will end up cheaper than #1 PPA since it's fixed at $100. #1's PPA premium is $130 per mth..

Glass/Nattan: this afternoon I drank Coke! baby kept moving around as if to avoid it.. haha
the last time i drank coke was last year already.. so I was quite surprised that baby will have such a reaction..

Sleeping
my baby quite pampered.. needs the daddy to hug before can guai guai slp. when i hug bolster, she won't let me slp properly. only when my hb hug me then i can slp well.
but when hb hug me i need to be lying on my back. so it's quite jialat for me in the morning..
Between restful sleep and achy back, which will u choose??

Hui: i am using Kodomo shower gel for my son since birth till now 4yo.
Used to buy Sebamed bubble bath but i found it too strong after my son's skin became abit rough.
For normal skin, i think any baby bath will do. I strongly discourage the use of J&J products though.. it caused cradle cap for my boy. even up to now @ 4yo. End up i bought California Baby Hair & Body to wash off the debris.. the flaked skin that peeled off took many strands of hair along.. lucky we found out early. otherwise my son will be the first semi-bald kiddo by shampoo!

Felicia: i had craving for salad at one period. now no more craving le for raw veg. but my baby still love veg in general.

Nattan: when i go for scans, my baby always wave! hehe so cute.. but hor the legs will close so tightly.. super shy lor... only managed to catch a glimpse of gender during detailed scan. then till now still can't see anything.. makes me wonder if baby is playing hide n seek with me. :p

Petrina: I dont even have cards lor =(. I'm refering to some of those investment plans we have. Coz just need to email and she only email 1 person.

Hello to all mummies,

Haven been active recently due to over whelming work at office.

Gynae asked me to cut on sugary foods & carbo as he is afraid that baby's head will even get bigger (since he said baby's head is at the biggest point on a chart although he did not mention how big it is) & body might be chubbier. He said I can continue to feast but I must walk more often to burn off the calories. Now my mum said she wont brew me any tonics till after delivery as scared I will have a gigantic baby girl.

I went to my 1st counselling on Monday. Psychologist made me do daily homework & am scheduled to see her in 2 weeks time. Then have to see my pyschiatrist. :/ More $$ involved.

I finally managed to down a 200ml fresh milk from magnolia after nearly 2 decades in my life! :/ Felt yucky when I drank it.

Hope everyone's been fine & well.

Zo hope you are ok. Why need to see pyschiatrist?

I used to love HL, then MIL say NO LOW FAT MILK, so i bo bian drink the normal fresh milk from marigold which I dun like. Prefer HL which has the nice vanilla taste.

Damn lazy to drink anything.. I like to plant my butt on my ofc chair as the moment i get walking, i wanna pee!
I try to remember to drink 1 glass of maternal milk a day.. but it's been 1 week since my last glass. haha

I bought the cold 3-in-1 milo packet. got free shaker bottle.
so i've been drinking 2 sachets daily. i hope it replaces milk that i missed. started doubling my prenatal n DHA vitamins since this week.
Been drinking Orange Juice - Peelfresh & eating Yogurt daily.. sudden cravings.

AsRias: no cards? email so lazy to cc u? tat's jialat.. even when i was in the industry, i have so many customers i also dun shortcut till like tat..

Zo: eat more protein n veg. then sugary stuffs u can change maybe instead of milk choc u take dark?
or sugar drinks u dilute with more ice?
try to take alternative foods tat taste good but lower carbs.

petrina
haha yup i rem you mentioning about craving for salad and that's why i started packing salad for lunch, but then feel a bit sick eating raw vege daily now.. haha..

i am drinking 2 liter of water daily in office, but so sian have to visit toilet non-stop lor, and always crave for soft drinks.. but my office is crazy, we have all sort of soft drinks, even got yogurt drink, marigold low fat yogurt, chocolate milk, red bull and stuff in the vending machine for free.. so it's pretty difficult to stay away from sugary drinks, LOL..

Zo
hope you are doing well.. my #1 has big head lor, but gynae said nothing much we can do, cant ask baby stop growing, so i guess no need to worry about it okie?! I can't drink milk also, and this pregnancy i still take milk+cereal for breakfast, for #1 that time, not even 1 cup of milk, but baby is healthy and strong.. gynae got give me calcium supplements lor so i guess it's not a must to drink anyway..

Petrina, your baby so cute will wave at you... Mine just wriggle here and there... maybe uncomfortable with the scanner pressing down. Some people says that if the legs are crossed tightly, more likely to be a girl cos boys cannot close their legs so tightly due to the penis. See how true is that...

Re drinking Coke, I think it's cold that's why baby is moving when you drink it. Sometimes I get a reaction from baby if I drink cold drinks too. Oh, I don't drink any prenatal formula for mums.. scared my baby will get too big..

Zo, do take care and eat more protein and veg as Petrina suggested. Although doc never advise me to cut down, I am consciously cutting down on sweet foods also as my mum's side of family has a history of diabetes so I'm also at some risk. Also, try to walk more during the day. If possible, exercise. I know I may sound like some exercise fanatic, but it really is the best weight management and anti-depressant!

Asrias, how come cannot drink low fat milk? I always ask for low fat milk when I order a latte.

i rem reading somewhere, like kids (infants and toddlers) can't drink low fat milk, forgot why but it's about them needing the fats in milk i think.. not sure if that's the reason that preggy mums can't drink though..

Re coke
I had bubble tea yesterday, so lots of caffeine. Long time ago, I drank coke just before scan, my baby was doing flips in my tummy.
The caffiene is a bit too much perhaps. But dunno why me this week got bubble tea craving. And nasi lemak craving (but chinese nasi lemak stalls I don't like coz too much processed food - can taste the preservative).

Nattan: The kicks will not be as strong during the last part of the pregnancy, coz not enough space. But you will be able to see huge movements, like waves.

Thanks moi/ioshita!

Any recommendations for dual car seat? those can accommodate infant and todd? also another difficult choice like strollers and cots! haha!

low-fat milk
i've asked before and my colleagues told me we need the fat during pregnancy.. so usually dun bother with low-fat, just the usual will do =)

Petrina: ya so lazy thats why i'm complaining. hahah...

Nattan/Amy: Honestly I also dunno whether theres any scientific reason for not taking low-fat milk. But I did hear b4 that babies need the fat lor. Anyway I just guai guai listen as long as I don't throw up drinking it. I hope baby take more of the fat instead of me. Haha

Felicia, hopecg, Asrias, I think I got enough fats from other foods already.. haha.. low fat is good for me cos I don't really like the taste of full-fat milk (unless in Europe cos their milk really tastes yummy).

glass, I still drink 1 kopi a day, sometimes with 1 more cup of tea and baby doesn't flip.. haha.. Maybe he likes it too... I don't really like bubble tea though, esp the milky ones. Too sweet and rich for me.

I'm having spotting for the first time. So scare and crying non stop.. gynae ask me to come down .. But his in operation room..so now I'm on bed at home and wait for time.. But feeling baby kicking me.. Hope is alright ...

Nattan: I love coffee and teh ping. But i've been controlling so hard. Coz I feel so guilty after drinking it, the guilt drives me crazy. The max I do is to steal a couple of sips from hubby when he is drinking.

Even now I try to cut down on cold drinks coz they say if not next time bb will cough alot. So tough lor. After a long day at work go home have a can of cold fuji apple so shiok. Hahaha...

mihoger, what kind of spotting is it? Brown or red? A little or a lot? Any pain? Don't worry first.. just rest and wait. If you can feel baby move, should be ok.. I also experienced some spotting in the 1st trimester. But it was brown... a bit like the end part of a period. But doc says nothing to worry about.

Asrias, I still drink cos doc says it's ok and my mum also had Yakun and toast everyday when she had me
It's ok.. but if you feel so guilty, then just abstain lor..

I don't believe in cold drinks causing baby to cough. All my colleagues and mums in the office never heard of such things. My boss often had bubble tea also. For me, it's more about controlling the sugar intake. Oh, I love the Fuji apple drink also.. but my favourite is still the new passionfrut flavour one.. hehe..

Asrias : going down clinic ..

Nattan : yup same as your spotting., like period coming and stain on it kind.. Brown color..

Feeling more calm as can feel his kick...

i love fuji apple too!! try the orange! yumsssss.. anyway i'm a sucker for cold drinks and had been warned again and again by my mom (she can nag the whole day non-stop when i steal a sip from my hubby's cup) and my colleagues as well..

really cannot take cold drinks???

mihoger, hope it's just excessive exercise on your side.
don't worry too much.. baby is moving, count the movements.

Felicia: u're working in US MNC hur? my previous company also like tat. whole fridge n cupboards stuffed with all sorts of snacks n drinks.. lol
Staff welfare. sometimes i eat their cup noodles for lunch.
abit sick to eat raw veg all day.. hehe. tats y i stop after craving was gone.

Nattan: funny lor.. can see from monitor tat baby's waving.. haha i think also true abt the scanner part. cause baby kept moving during scans.
my boy was very guai. lay there n let doc scan everything..

I seldom drink coke. but today ate MAC. didn't wanna top up so took coke. haha
not so much of cold drinks tat baby wanna avoid. i think it's just the gas. cause i drink lotsa cold milo n juices n stuffs.
i tried to drink ice cold water n lie on my side to count kicks. no use. haha
As I'm typing, baby is complaining.. she seldom kick me during the day.. hehe

I think low-fat for us is ok now. not for babies physically cause we already have fats. LOL
i also dun like those UHT full cream milk. quite yucky in taste. only maternal milk - vanilla flavour otherwise i'll opt for HL anytime.

Talking abt nasi lemak
I m yearning to eat mee siam n curry stuffs. but from last try, baby hates it! aww.. Baby just started to accept black carrot cake.. so i think i won't take my chances yet.
CNY ate too much bakkwa, baby made me puke

actually cold drink try not to take la.. cold drink as in liang drinks.. Got a relative, her 1st girl she took lots of cold drinks, everyday teh pengz, then this girl lungs no good health aso not so good. Then the 2nd girl, she abstrained from all these cold drinks, then the baby was so strong and healthy wor..

This is my real life example to share with you all .. so I also try to cut down lor.. but I guess occasionally its ok la.. dun take it everyday ba..

Yup, I think in moderation should be ok. Juz my guilt pangs lor...thats why i abstain.

Talking about food and drinks, I'm so craving for A&W!!! The root beer float, curly fries and waffles!! Yumzzz

mihoger
rest well and don't worry too much, you are feeling baby moving so i think everything should be fine..

cold drinks/caffeine
my gynae said 1 cup of coffee/tea a day is perfectly fine.. although i dun drink.. but i take soft drinks sometimes, cold one from fridge.. and it's old wives tale that baby will cough next time, i didn't drink any soft drink/cold drink during my last pregnancy, but end up #1 is coughing all the time de..

i also asked gynae if can eat half boiled egg, he said of course.. if want to follow the book and be so academic, then eat what? fresh air huh, LOL.. so i am not particular now as long as we eat/drink in moderation should be fine..

petrina
yup US MNC.. we have free drinks but snacks not free, so they try to bring in more varieties for drinks.. that's why i am shocked to see yogurt nowadays, haha hope they wont stop the supply.. cuz sometimes they want to bring in new drinks, but vending machine only got limited rows so they have to keep switching and changing flavors.. haha..

haha i drink all kinds of cold drinks.. from ice water to sprite to those herbal chrysanthemum etc.. and i just had slurpee during lunch! hehe.

not all cold drinks are liang right??

anyway have been having extremely good appetite! eating a lot leh.. is that healthy? my colleagues all say my face become rounder already...

Felicia, so lucky to have a full pantry with free food and drinks! My office only has the usual horlicks, milo, coffee and tea. Food wise very little unless colleagues bring stuff from their overseas trips. Or else will be the usual crackers. But then, having food so easily accessible will probably make us gain weight faster! Americans are mostly quite fat.. :p I also eat half boiled eggs and sunny side up eggs.. my favourite!

Ayana, I don't take "cooling" or "liang" drinks, but cold drinks. I know we should avoid some herbs cos they can cause spontaneous abortion and other problems. So far, I've been drink juices, barley, kopi, teh... baby seems fine..

Cindy, don't worry about the weight now.. as long as you're in the healthy weight zone. My face also became rounder.. haha.. just breast feed more next time and we'll lose weight.

haha you are right nattan, not healthy to have drinks/food everywhere in office lor, i hope they can provide us the same solution as what they have in HQ, GYM inside the office!!!! so shiok sia..

you are still exercising everyday? I do my prenatal exercise (20 minutes salsa dance) at home when i have time.. last night lazy didnt do it, today feel very clumsy somehow.. guess it's really necessary to exercise.. weekdays i only walk to mrt and then back home so in total walk for about 30-40 minutes, weekends sometimes go out shop for longer hor, will feel pelvic area painful lor.. anyway still putting on weight, LOL

Felicia: The salsa dance thingie u just search on youtube? The only exercise I get is also walking. Heng my office near my house, so I will walk home after work which takes me about 20mins.