(2012/06) Jun 2012

Petrina, what did the doctor say? Are you staying home on bed rest now? Better don't move around too much...

Jul, i think the plastic bag idea still seems more feasible huh.. hahaha...

I'm going for detailed scan tomorrow.. so long never see baby.. hope everything is fine!

nattan
haha no need to worry lah, if your baby is easy going type, can just continue feeding and wait till you finish, clean baby up lor.. my #1 is fine with soiled diaper for a while de..

anyway their poo poo not much smell de before we add solid food so at least for the first 6 months, should be pretty alright, haha...

Petrina > oh ya, tat reminds mi tat during my 1st preg, gynae ask mi to look out for too much discharge. Glad tat u r better liao. i hv got leaks too...hahah..bt its urine leaks. guess as bb grows, bladder can't hold liao. gotta start wearing panty liners.

Jul, it's ok. I'm btr now. Need to google y i m leaking so much discharge.. Not pee nor fluid..

Chris: previously gynae say yeast infection. Common amongst preggy..

Baby poo
Yeah. Just dun carry at bum otherwise soft stools will shoot up to romper.. My boy on day of discharge was carried by his granny. Then the meconium shot up to romper staining even her hands.. Keke

petrina > oh, cn b dangerous, rt? Last time i tot got infection too, cos feel itchy. Thn gynae sy cn infection cn affect bb. Advise me to tak cranberry n yogurt.

No itch. Just lots discharge.. No pain either. But first time had abit tightness. So it's different from now. Perhaps it was in initial stage so no other symptoms then.

morning mummies!!

petrina
it's the same case for me, just discharge and no pain.. when i checked w gynae, he said it's normal and told me not to worry about it unless it's spotting =)panty liners save the day!

jul
lansinoh milkbags any other if got expiry dates? i bought mine from amazon previously, but that was two years ago.. still left 2 boxes, thinking of replenishing stock!

I bought Ameda milk bags since I bought Ameda pump. Read that Lansinoh milk bags leaked quite bad. Not sure how true that is.

<font color="aa00aa">The NB Pampers promotion at NTUC is SOLD OUT. No stocks even at their warehouse! Promoter said they've ordered new stocks.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">My friend used Lansinoh and said no leak. She said Boots also no leak. But that was about 2.5 years ago.</font>

Moi: oh no... meaning i've missed this promo

I intended to buy tonight de...

Boots Milkbag I like. but hard to find. I went BKK n stock up tat time when i was preg.

Ah.. I when ntuc yesterday, but didn't know got such promotion.. Guess I am too late.

Went to marina square John little, 20% off for baby and kids product till Sunday.. Bought quite a lot of things. Very worth.

Jul, I saw the avent body/shampoo wash u use, $22 before 20%..u can go there stock up. Is it cheap after disc?

Actually the Baby Expo sales wasn’t that bad. Look what I have bought, my first shopping trip for my baby. Looking out for big ticket items next week,

Inside the Phillips/Avent box is a steamer+blender, bought it at $159. Should be quite convenient to make baby food. After steaming the food, you turn it round and blend the food. Hope it isn’t an impulse buy.

Heard from my friend that www.taising.com, a distributor of Combi, their price is about the same as retail but you can ask (bargain) for discount and you would get to pick 10% worth of misc baby products.

I did a comparison, shopping centres sales might have better deal. Eg.Combi Miracle Turn Stroller (TJT 350) cost $399 at the Istean sales and $498 at taising. I am looking forward to the Taka one.

You can also make a trip down to 514 Chai Chee Lane#06-06 Bedok Ind. Estate (S) 469029 before/after Expo this weekend, they are having a premium baby products warehouse sales (24-25February). Brands include Carmate, Lucky Baby, Capella, Pecan etc etc.

6702899.jpg

Baby Expo Fair

I onli bought those $2 romper ranging from 0-6mth, 6-12mth, 12-18mth

Hopefully my baby can wear those size and make full of it. Nv buy alot juz maybe 2 pcs each for the different mth. Then shorts and pants also 5 for $10.

Saw a Maclaren Techno XT Stroller which cost $398.00 (Free comfort pack, front bar, clip fan), is it worth buying?

Anyone know the price of the tollyjoy liquid wash? I saw from giant is 10.49. Not sure about other place prices..
If now is $8.40.. Can stock up?

Went for my detailed scan today finally... so happy to see my baby growing well. He's about 501g... a bit big? But doctor didn't comment anything except that baby is fine. So, I guess nothing to worry about.

Jolene, looks like you bought quite a lot of stuff at the Baby Expo.. I'm waiting for this weekend's fair as well as the one at Mothercare Harbourfront.

BTW, for those interested, details of Mothercare baby fair here: http://www.mothercare.com.sg/babyfair2012.asp There's up to 60% off on selected deals!

Priscilla, the Tollyjoy liquid wash you're asking about is for baby accessories and vege or for laundry? There are bargains at the Babycare Fair Booth G02.

Michi, the Maclaren stroller you mentioned is which year's model? 2008, 2010 or 2011? Cos each one has different price and features. I find that this model is too heavy for me cos all are above 6kg. But ok if you drive.

petrina

Not yeast infection right?

I also like Boots. Cheap &amp; good, but dunno where to find.

hope

Dunno leh. Mine was also from 2 yrs ago. Don't feel safe using them. And Hubs went to throw away the box, so I can't even check for expiry date. I use them as Ziplock bags for my #1's snacks now haha

Asrias

Didn't get leaks with lansinoh or Boots

\b[Priscilla}

It's the same price from Robinsons, JL, Taka etc. So I just buy wherevere got 20% discount.

I use Pigeon liquid wash. Tried Tollyjoy washing powder &amp; found it not as good as Pigeon.

Jul: Boots r from Thailand..
not yeast infection. previously i think so. now no. googled and found out that many women preg also have lots discharge. so now i'm not too worried.

Liquid wash is for the veg n bottle wash? i usually buy any brand tat's on offer. mostly Tollyjoy. Pigeon too exp.

Laundry detergent I buy Napisan or Tollyjoy. sometimes mix. cause napisan too exp. hehe

Michi: Maclaren XT is 8kg. u drive is ok.. like what Nattan said. it's too heavy for me to maneuver. i use Quest only.

I just blow $100 on Old Navy for my #2 clothes.. hehe so i am gonna use padlock n lock my wallet for the next few mths..

nattan, petrina

Dunno which year the Maclaren Techno XT Stroller belongs to. They printed the basic weight is 6.5kg, i also feel abit heavy but how light is consider light? Cos tat time i feel one 4kg stroller, i also find heavy leh... hahaha

Petrina, I also had a lot of discharge, esp in 1st trimester. Now not so much but it's thicker. So long as it's not smelly, and doesn't cause pain or itch, it's normal. You can drink barley water (with less sugar) to reduce the discharge. I learnt this cos last time I used to have yeast infection and it is a TCM solution to reduce discharge.

I wanted to buy the Old Navy clothes at first, then decided I need to set aside the money for other things, so didn't buy.. hope you got a lot of good bargains!

Michi, if 4kg is heavy to you then, I guess any model is also heavy.. haha.. ask hubby to carry instead. The price is ok if the one you saw is 2011 model cos usual price is over $500. But 2008 model can be bought for $398 online, so not much savings.

nattan: bought alot! esp those 3pcs one-piece romper sets.
after 20% it's about $10 SGD. of course i haven't add in shipping, but to me it's already very cheap since i know their quality is good. if i buy from SIN, brandless same quality is already about $7 per romper.
bought infant socks too. from my last experience, booties n mittens don't sit very well on NB. so NB socks r better for hands n feet. looks weird on hands, but it works.

Petrina

I also have discharge all the time. Sian, but just bear with it lor

Haha yeah I know Boots from Thailand. I meant that nobody seems to be doing spree or BP on them.

Heehee that time I blew US$80 on my #1's stuff too. Didn't think of getting NB socks. Hmm.. think I have some unused ON 0-6 mths socks leftover from #1 days. Is that the same as NB size?

Taka Baby Fair

Any idea when it is? I have some vouchers that I wanna use up, so it'll be good to use them for something useful instead of anyhow buying stuff haha

Jul: ah.. ya. nobody does spree for it. cause thailand not easy to get it plus there is no online to order. haha
0-6mths shld be same. u can try. if brand new, the elasticity shld be still good for NB wrists.

Petrina, sounds like good deals... maybe next time I'll buy. I already bought quite a lot of pcs already :p Later hubby complain that I spend so much :p

BTW, is it worth it to buy 0-3 mth baby clothes or go for bigger sizes? I usually buy 3-6 mth ones cos I think babies grow so fast.. But then, I saw that newborns are really tiny.. so not sure if I should invest in a few 0-3 mth pcs.

Jul, the Taka baby fair is in March. There's another one in August apparently.

Petrina, sounds like good deals... maybe next time I'll buy. I already bought quite a lot of pcs already :p Later hubby complain that I spend so much :p

BTW, is it worth it to buy 0-3 mth baby clothes or go for bigger sizes? I usually buy 3-6 mth ones cos I think babies grow so fast.. But then, I saw that newborns are really tiny.. so not sure if I should invest in a few 0-3 mth pcs.

Jul, the Taka baby fair is in March. There's another one in August apparently.

Michi:

Why don't you learn how to manually massage your breasts from online videos? Then don't need to wash/sterilize the pump in the hospital?

Diapers:
I realize no one mentioned Nepia (www.nepia.com.sg) which is made in Japan. I used Nepia for both my girls most of the time, besides Mamy Poko (nights). Good thing is can call for free delivery (Tel: 6226-2650) with min. 4 packs @ $15 each. All sizes are the same price, just different quantity. NB is 60, S is 54 etc. I like it cos it's soft and the cloth tape type, and even has waterline indicator to tell you it's wet. Good for first time parents who don't know whether to change diaper or not. BUT I must say diapers are all very individual cos of the cutting. It might be more leaky for those whose bums don't fit.
But it worked out fine for both my gals all these years. Can get at most NTUCs, but maybe no NB.

Nepia usually only has promotion at the end of May/June Motherhood fair for $14/pk +2pcs free. So if haven't given birth then, can buy to try try.

PruGift:
I have signed up with my agent already. One of the reasons I bought is in case my baby has pre-existing conditions, which would put exemptions in his policy next time and no need any underwriting. Anyway, before baby's birth, the plan is to protect me for death and critical illnesses. Since it's mainly death, critical illnesses (not including kids' additional illnesses) and some congenital whatever, I don't think it includes hospitalization for jaundice, which is considered too common and not critical enough?

petrina
Will check with hospital when I go their hospital tour

Jenny
Actually I'm thinking I can stimulate and store the milk at the same time if I bring the breastpump over. Instead of later I manual massage then the milk drip out

Jenny > y do u choose pru instd of AXA? Any particular reason? I got pru1st gift for #1 too. Thn nw AXA has it, so thinking to get fr wher.

Any mummies using HCP? I jus bgt mine. Heard cn mak muachi (or mochi), bt I can't find the recipe leh.

<font color="aa00aa">prisann,
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Anyone know the price of the tollyjoy liquid wash? I saw from giant is 10.49. Not sure about other place prices..
If now is $8.40.. Can stock up?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Tollyjoy Baby Accessories &amp; Vegetable Liquid Cleanser Refill Pack 900ml is selling at "2 for $16" (UP$17.80) during BabyCare Festival.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">christine77sg,
Mush chee is very easy to make.
Just google for Muah chee Happycall and you can find several recipes.</font>

Hihi mummies,

I saw you all posting comments on Prufirst Gift so I just add in. I am due in june 22 and also prudential agent. But dont worry, not selling it here. If u all want information, i can share it here.

Its a plan for mothers to be that cover the mother and baby. We can get it now cause this plan can only be buy from 18 weeks to 32 weeks. I try to buy for myself but my detailed medical report show that I have low placenta and block the delivery canal. So maybe not favorable.

It cover the mother for the whole of pregnancy and upon birth, the plan automatically cover our baby.

Minimum is $100 monthly and cover death and disability as basic coverage. Pay out lump sum of $5000 for cogenital illnesses and hospital care benefit of $100/ day.

This plan combine an investment linked plan (prulink protection account) and prumum 2 be.

Thnks moi..
That's cool..then I don't buy so much first.. 8.40 is in bottle form.. In this case, I will buy 2-3bottles only first then buy refill

How about the liquid detergent? I saw the refill pack at 6.90. After discount is 5.50.. Can buy?

I was thinking getting the quinny zapp xtra + maxi cosi infant seat from the coming babyfair..
Anyone have any idea where got better lobang?

For insurance,

I am getting it from AXA, they have similar plan. Just launch now long. Is call mum's Advantage
If you are considering, can compare before buying.

For healthplan, AVIVA shieldplan is good. If parents both buy, children free, but only the plan2. If you wanna get the best plan, then have to pay.
They also have letter of guarantee. Add the shieldplan rider to cover for the deductible/coinsurance to cover 100%.
All the shieldplan in the market are quite similar. I think AVIVA shieldplan rider compare to the rest, is one of the better one.

can any mummies enlighten how long an infant car seat can last? i can't rem hw long my todd was in there before switching..

should buy??

<font color="aa00aa">hopecg,
Check with the supplier or manufacturer. They will specify the max weight or height of the son for the car seat.

Re: Maternity Compression Tights
Does anyone know where to buy this?</font>

hi mummies, looking to buy bb detergent too, saw that babycare is selling NUK 750ml x2 for $10 and TollyJoy 1000ml x2 for $14++.

Which brand is better? How about Kodomo?

For wipes, currently Watsons having promo, each Kodomo 70pc for $2, buy 10 get 1 free.

Priscilla, u can check from their facebook, under "Singapore Mother &amp; Baby". They have a photo albums for Star Buys

Oh moi posted the fb link in the above too..