(2012/06) Jun 2012

changing table, i hv 1. Tot it was gd for me cos i had epi csec for #1. Cant stand n bend ovr to change for bb. Find it difficult to bend ovr even whn sittin, cos press on wound.

Zo, if it's any comfort to you, I think 5kg is very reasonable weight-gain. I already put on like 7kg at Week 21! :p Besides if you were underweight before being pregnant, you will tend to put on more weight and it's normal and healthy.

Don't worry about the placenta position.. as long as baby is growing well and you don't have any discomfort, everything will be fine. Think your doc is a bit paranoid to scare you like that :p

As for baby's weight, usually the doc will over-estimate... my boss' gynae also told her that the baby would be at least 3.1kg. In the end, the baby was only about 2.7kg. Quite a big difference.

Try to think positively and be thankful that your baby is healthy and growing well... your emotions can affect the baby

Ssmilezz, if I can get a cheap table then yes, I would get one cos I'm tall and cannot keep bending over the bed or cot. I don't have any table at home unless I change my baby at the study area outside! I may get a dresser for the baby's clothes and if it is wide enough, I can put a mat on top to change the baby. Some ideas here http://www.ikeahackers.net/search/label/children

hello, any mummies know where can i get cocktail dresses for D&D? Got one coming up & totally lost of what to wear.. beside asos online, any good websites to shop?

Zo

Hugs. hang in there. These dratted hormones will be gone soon and you won't be driven to tears by them when you're enjoying holding your baby in your arms.

I also have a low placenta but my guane also said it shd move up in the later months. Guess no need to worry so much.

My gynae also kept telling me to cut down on carbs coz my #1 had a big head. She was worried I'll need to induce if he got too big. Turns out he came out early by 3 weeks. His weight was also over-estimated from 2.6kg to 2.8kg at 37 weeks. Think it's the big head.

Changing Table

I didn't have one in the beginning. Nearly broke my back bending over the bed changing him. Coz he poo-ed really a lot, a lot! One day dunno poo how many times. Drink milk halfway, will poo. Change him, he poo again *faint*

After that, Hubs got me this cheapo Ikea chaging table. $59 only but of course it's very basic. It's just plain wood & cannot be folded, nor coems with fancy hanging containers at the eside to put wipes & dispers etc. But it saved my back. Except Hubs gave it away & now I have no changing table again haha

If you have a tall cupboard / bed / table etc, don't think you need. But if you'll be bending over all the time over a low bed, pls get one.

I just weight myself yesterday. Put on 3kg so far. I think my gal only fancy drinks n not really likes to eat anything. In order to have a nutritious meal I always boil some pork soup for lunch.

Jasmine,
U can try mother en vogue at centrepoint. Else is asos.com

Baby fair
Anyone going this Friday? I think I will pop by since I stay in the east. Haven't bought my baby cot. Hope to find one soon

baby fair
hw was the baby fair that just passed? Am thinking of going to the upcoming one just to look see look see... but am afraid of the crowd and parking since it coincides w natas?

i gave up weighing myself, unless upon request at gynae! have put on almost 10kg alr!.. gonna tip 70kg soon! jEez!

jasmine
i have mother en vogue membership.. if not wrong, can have 10% disc all nett price item.. they din issue card, think it was just based on ic.. if u planned on getting there, can pass u mine..

if taka baby fair is in mar, any idea when is robinsons 20% sale?

Waaaa so many posts liao. Was away in bkk for couple of days then was to busy catching up on work. Got my bag cut open in bkk =( luckily I wasn't hurt and the thief din manage to steal any thing from me.

Went for my detailed scan yesterday and everything was normal =)sonographer also confirmed that its a bb boy. Was so happy to see bb. Every month just wait for this day.

Now reaching 21 weeks and gained total of 5-6kg. Dunno why suddenly put on 2kg last month when I was supposed to be sick. Hope will only put on max 15kg till birth, otherwise dunno how to lose all the weight.

Will be gg to the fair on Sat to get a Cot and mabbe check out if there are cheap car seats.

Any idea what time the fair opens this weekend? The Natas fair will coincide with next weekend's Babycare Festival. I think the crowd will be horrid! Not looking forward to squeezing with the crowd.

The Baby Expo and BabyCare Fair both open at 11am. Can get the details at Expo website. I'm still going cos they are held at different halls from Natas, so won't be affected. Anyway I don't drive so parking is not an issue for me.

The baby expo fair starts at 11am - 9pm this fri to sat, and 11am - 8pm this sun. Most likely will drop by this Friday since I'm working around the area.

I have put on 8 Kg at 21 wks already. Can't imagine how am I going to reduce them after birth esp I'm over 30 yrs....metabolism have slowed down. Gonna for my FA scan tomorrow....can't wait to see my baby gal. Pray hard she is healthy cutie pie.

Anna, I also put on around 7kg at 21 weeks now. But I try not to worry to much. I think with breast feeding, diet and exercising, we can go back to our pre-pregnancy weight, or even more since having less time to eat and sleep due to taking care of the baby will probably make us lose more weight as well!

Last night I had a really weird dream...dreamt that I was trying to pump milk and the milk was coming out very slowly.. very thick like milk shake! Ha.. hope this won't be the actual case when I breast feed :p

Breastpad: for disposable, I usually use Pigeon for going out. 2nd baby I tried to "save the earth" and bought those washable type from Moomookow for home but very smelly leh... very hard to wash away the milk smell. I suppose I will still use them this time at home. I also used Avent Nipple Shield at home to collect the leaking milk from the other breast while breastfeeding so that the nursing pad won't get so wet... I don't save the milk cos didn't sterilize the shield so quite heart pain to see milk thrown away...

nursing table: I have one made cos my family is in the furniture manufacturing business but really I should have just made a dresser and then put a cushioned changing mat on top instead cos at least can use the drawers to keep things or baby's clothes. Must be the right height such that you don't need to bend your back.

In fact, I also put the bathing tub on top of my dresser which is next to the changing table so that I don't need to bend over to bathe the baby. I am overweight and had c-sect so very painful and uncomfortable if have to bend over.

Nattan, I try not to think too much esp when I'm hungry or I shd say she is hungry...I will just eat and eat...lol.

Talking about weird dreams, I have been dreaming alot ever since I know I'm preggie. Sometimes 2-3 different dreams a nite. Some can remember but some totally can't recall when awake.

Am total into sweet stuff like chocolate and ice cream lately...hate it during the 1st trimester but now super into it. Probably of the super humid weather lately, love cold desserts esp. Talking about milkshake, feel like having one cold vanilla shake now....slurps....lol.

I have changing table with bath tub. Usually I just use the bath tub. Changing baby is still in her cot as I always leave her there and I feel it's the safest place as she won't be able to turn and fall! :$. Bad mummy. hehe.. It creates quite a backpain last time though..

Breastpad: I'm using Pigeon disposable last time. My boobs is quite good though producing quite a lot of milk but usually won't leak. hehe..

Pigeon disposable breast pad is quite itchy when using them. That's why I don't like to use. When I go back office I bought all those sport bra with padding. It's good enough for me.

Paternity Leave

How many days of paternity leave are daddy entitled for? I'm wondering should I let my hub to stay in with me for the first 2 days after birth. I know that he is entited for 6 days childcare leave per year though.

tokin abt breastspad. Last time quite funny. Had b letdwn n i was wearin those washable pad. Thn my clothes gt stained n i didnt knw til ppl was lookin at my breasts thn i realise. Haha. It sure was embarrassin. :p

Anna, some people say that craving sweet stuff means you're carrying a girl and if you have a boy, you prefer savory food. I guess that's true for both of us ;)

Fathers get 3 days' paternity leave if I'm not wrong...

Felicia, my boss didn't crave sweet things, but got a girl. Not saying everyone would experience the same thing.. just saying it's kinda true for Chris and myself

I'm feeling naughty today. On mc cos of mild food poisoning but had Mac double cheeseburger, fries, Marble Slab ice-cream and Lay's potato chips :p Must go gym tmr!

I've the following to let go:

- BN Playskool busy balls patterns & colours $15
- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10
- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50
- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00
- BN Nuk Anti colic wide neck teat 1 0-6m $5
- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $10 each
- 2 tins of Similac 400g (exp May'12) $10 each
- 2 btl Gerber puffs (strawberry apple and peach, exp Sep'12) $7
- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks!

Nattan: Haha i'm the opposite. I'm having a boy but keep craving for ice cream.

Think after the confinement lady leaves will ask hubs to take 1 week leave to help me transition over. If not confirm cannot handle..... haha

Morning mummies...

AsRias, Bubblyval, I also eat ice cream and other sweet stuff, just no craving for it. Baby loves salty and spicy stuff!

BTW, ASOS outlet sale online now on till 8am Sunday (US Time). Key in code "OUTLET10" (without quotation marks) and get additional 10% off!

I hate sweet stuff but love savory food during the first trimester. Now I'm totally into sweet and savory stuff starting from the 2nd tri, esp double cheese burger. But I'm having a girl so does it means that my girl will be a tomboy? Hahaha :p

Oh god, I just weigh myself this morning. Have put on 9kg at 21 weeks. Oh no....I dun wanna exceed 15kg for my total pregnancy. I try to walk for 20-30mins arnd my premises everynite but dun seems to help controlling my weight. Wanna go gym but dunno what can I do in gym esp with such a big tummy?? What can I do now???

Hey! Just like to share my experience with the mums out there. Not an advertorial. I had my first pre-natal massage last week at Baby Bellies which was great, a total relaxation. It is a personal experience though. $850 for 12 sessions (1hour). Treat yourself well, you deserve it. You can book them for post-natal massage too.

haha.. the best way is the refrain from weighing yourself at home except at the gynae's. i dont even have a weighing scale at home now hehe!

im having a girl and crave for sweet stuff everyday. was so worried that i may get diabetes. need to control man..

I'm having a girl and I have not been enjoying sweet stuffs as much as before I was expecting. So the sweet vs savoury food theory for a baby boy or girl does not seem to apply to me at all. Haha. I definately prefer savoury food more!
I haven't been consciously keep my weight under control but the kilos keep piling on. Mostly concentrated on my boobs which went up 2 cups and my tummy.
I still am actively working out like I did before I was expecting. I do the cross trainer for 30-40 mins maybe 3x a week. Do stretches daily for 20 mins every morning. Hmm, caring for my 2 dogs also keep me active I guess. Hopefully all the activities translates to an easier labour.

Anna, you can go for prenatal yoga. I heard from my colleague that it's good.

ssimiezz, me too.. I still go to gym but not as regularly, only about twice a week for an hr. Trying to watch what i eat also, but not very strictly! Haha.. It's great to know someone else who is still active in this stage of pregnancy
Keep it up!

Jolene,
I can't swim if not I think it's a great way to work out with less impact on our joints!

Nattan
I have always been actively working out. I have a cross trainer at home so I have no excuse to be lazy! Haha. I also used to
run a lot and trained for long distance runs the last few years. Then I changed to cycling more cos I got bored of running.
Good to know that you have been very active too! Hopefully we can keep this up as we get bigger over the next few weeks.

ssimilezz, I probably will stop at the end of 2nd trimester... by then I probably cannot fit into my workout gear anymore. They're already getting quite tight! And I don't feel like spending extra to get maternity workout gear. So far, I'm still wearing my pre-pregnancy yoga pants to workout and a longer t-shirt to cover my bump. Are you intending to exercise till the end?

Swimming is great exercise but I don't really like it cos I feel that the water is not very clean somehow.. although I'm sure they change it very frequently. Also cos I need to buy a maternity swim suit.

Humm gd noon mummies,

Anyone know of low placenta? I went for my gynae visit today and doctor say i got low placenta and block my birth canal. Now i am in my 22rd week and my second pregnancy. I want normal delivery but if this still low, then no choice c section.

And baby is on the bigger size. At 19 week, she is 376g. Is it normal? Doctor did not say much also. But hubby scared baby is not ok.

Humm.....

<font color="aa00aa">Quite a number of us here have low placenta and it usually moves up at the 7 or 8th month. Don't worry about it for the time being.

I think your baby's weight is normal. Anyway, it's just an estimation. You can still try vaginal birth if there's no other issue. My colleague gave birth to 2 babies which weigh > 4kg vaginally.</font>

Now 21 weeks gained 5-6kg.... hopefully till due date max gain 2kg per mth. So total will be 15kg-16kg.

My weighing scale and the gynea's one so different. Everything i go there is 2kg more. So depressing. At home weigh 56kg go there is 58kg. Faint

Hopefully everything is fine. Cause hope for the placenta to move away from the birth canal.

I just hope i can have normal delivery.

Now 21 weeks gained 5-6kg.... hopefully till due date max gain 2kg per mth. So total will be 15kg-16kg.

My weighing scale and the gynea's one so different. Everything i go there is 2kg more. So depressing. At home weigh 56kg go there is 58kg. Faint

Haha Asrias, ya same here.. my home scale is not digital so I guess not very accurate.. But for me, I decided not to trust the scale. So long I don't *look* fat, I think I'm fine ;) Just glad I can still wear some pre-pregnancy clothes, even pants with belly band..

AsRias, you only gained 5-6kg. I'm even more depressing than you....put on 9kg at 21 weeks already. I'm not tall n small build....now become so round, fat and short....really gonna faint nor.

Nattan, I'm going for my prenatal lessons by Mrs. Wong Boi Boi in mid march and I understand there will be some exercises to be taught in class. So I think it will be a waste of money to go for prenatal yoga and esp I never like yoga too. Maybe will try some cross trainer at the gym as what you gals did....and some swimming. Hopefully I can be perseverance as before I'm preggie.

Anna, I met Mrs Wong Boh Boi at a prenatal seminar. She was quite humorous but I also came across some online remarks that she is always too busy to provide personal consultation to new mums trying to breast feed. Are you going to deliver at TMC? The exercises taught in prenatal classes are usually very light stretching and breathing exercises. Not really for burning calories. If you want to lose weight after delivery, better breast feed for a longer period and also concurrently do exercise and diet. Good luck!

BTW, read this article in ST today: Children's language issues tied to mums' low vitamin D. Better get some sunshine now and then ya...

Nattan, I will be delivering at PEH...same as you. Initially intend to go for the prenatal class done by PEH but my preggie friend highly recommended Wong BB and asked me to go together with her. I saw the courses which seems to be more comprehensive than PEH so I agreed. Yes hopefully my increased size big breast will have good supply of milk and can lose weight faster. Thanks ya. Good luck to all who intend to lose weight fast too.