(2012/06) Jun 2012

nattan

No prob. Actually personally, I find that one needs both types of strollers - the lightweight one & the heavy, steady bom-pi-pi type lol

Oh no, CNY travel between Msia-Spore sure mad house one.

Wahaha just saw your post abt tailor-make pants for my boy. Wah so high class, 2 yo need to tailor make pants liao haha

Sel, i think something wrong with my PM.. I don't seem to be able to receive.. maybe you can just email to [email protected]?

Jul, ya lor.. maybe if can convince hubby not to serve on Sun, we can go back earlier and try to avoid the heavy jam on Sun. Cos i think my BILs would do the same (they drive).

Re pants, actually not that difficult to sew your own la.. my aunt used to make simple pants for her son last time and they were very cute cos she bought nice fabrics. Could be cheaper also depending on the fabric you choose.

jul: my boy also waist thick. 3-4yr wear 4-5yr bottoms. try to buy slim cut type then buy bigger size. avoid khakis so tat it doesn't look baggy.
most clothes have the adjustable rubber. so u can buy bigger size n tighten.
GAP & Cotton on has good selection for fat boys. LOL
my boy always managed to get bottoms from there lah.
Fox abit tight usually.
Another way is to buy elastic board shorts. Fox has lots 3/4 cotton material elastic waistband shorts meant for home wear. sometimes i let my boy wear those out.

Nattan: can't dun go back msia? unless ur hb dun serve on CNY eve. otherwise u go then wait for him there u also can't eat in peace. worry abt him..
if u wait for him then will kenna the madhouse jam too. not good for preg woman..
maybe discuss with ur SIL. see if 2 preg woman can convince ur hbs to convince their father...

Petrina, I don't think can avoid unless I have real medical issues, I tell a lie or wanna be public enemy #1 :p My SIL is the people-pleaser, "shi er sheng xiao" type, she will definitely go back. Anyway BIL drive mah.. no problem for her. Now I'm just think cab+direct bus (2nd Link) or train+bus+cab (Woodlands) better. My hubby is the eldest son, I think he also faces pressure to "do the right thing". During the funeral, his relatives already voiced their fears that since we're both Christians, we won't pay respects to his mum's tablet next time. My BILs all follow customs closely so if we don't follow, it's like we're not being respectful ... :p

Nattan,

I will advise you to follow your bil's car if possible. I guess at custom there is a bit tough. Sure long Q. But I am thinking since Reunion dinner falls on sunday. Most probably all the ppl have rush back oredi.

Stroller,
I have a quinny buzz, yes it is good, very steady but my problem is it is so heavy, it is quite tough for me to carry up and down the car when I was alone.It is also too big to push into wet market. I have been making noise to buy a light weight stroller and hb has stopped me. This round I am going to buy no matter how cos I told hb I cannot handle 2 kids with a heavy stroller.

nattan
wah i feel you very poor thing leh.. sorry I am not Christian, but is it a must for your hubby to serve in church on CNY? cuz if not, it's better that you both go back together and since your BIL has a car, just ask for help and you can have more chat with your SIL on the way there some more..

i think this reunion dinner thing is quite ergh.. no choice but to follow thingy lor.. My dasao has a HUGE family so on CNY she's always super busy and for reunion dinner, imagine i am the one preparing it at my in law's house, and she only comes at 7 plus and leaves by 8pm, since she needs to attend her family side dinner with my BIL.. my mil always complain de actually cuz BIL is her elder son lor..

i personally feel that even if she's not able to come over for dinner, it's no big deal, it's just a dinner mah.. she has a lot of relatives to entertain at her side, my hubby side very simple de so why make things tough for her.. but somehow my mil who's actually a very understanding lady just can't get over it lor.. every year we are prepared that dasao and kor kor have to rush de so need to start on time and need to allow them leave earlier.. but mil still nag after they left de lor..

so when i see your SIL is the people-pleaser type hor (like me lah anything my mil say i also okay de), i feel it's going to be very tough on you lor if you don't go back..

of course i wish your fil can be more considerate and understanding lor.. my in laws never ask me to visit fil's hometown in Penang, got once planned to but i was preggy with #1, this time again, mil say the journey is too tiring for preggy women..

ahh.. nattan: different beliefs. in that case, best to ask ur hb to avoid serving on sunday.. all follow BIL car back. at least u r all together. if late or jam then ur FIL can't find excuses. if possible sat go back le. to avoid the crowd.

quinny very heavy.. plus not easy to fold. i almost bot it but not practical as the size fits 6mths up. baby can't sit. otherwise u need to get a infant car seat to attach.

best to have 1 heavyduty n 1 lightweight.. totally agree. i have maclaren volo & quest. volo served me till boy was 3. then i bought quest so he can slp flat.
basically b4 i was preg, usually i use ERGO whenever i go out. nowadays malls have stroller rentals. so if i really need, i'll rent. but now i prefer to bring quest as it's ok weight n my boy enjoy slping in it.

loshita, Felicia, Petrina, thanks for your advices.. I'll try and see if hubby can decline serving on CNY eve. Not sure if the other M'sians in our church will do the same then they may be shorthanded :p But I think it's once a yr thing, they can be understanding if he skips this time la. After all, he already volunteered 3 weekends straight for X'mas, NY and last Sun also...

Seeing so many stroller reviews.. a bit confused unless I get to try out the strollers first hand. Where do you all go and buy? I know there's this baby hyper mart somewhere in Ubi.. Anybody been there and is the selection there good? What about slings and carriers? Are they practical? Hubby was talking about how he would carry the baby when we go out. I think he didn't consider the weight when baby is more than 6mths old :p

nattan: ERGO is good n sturdy. can carry weight up to 25kg w/o much strain to your back due to the ergonomic design of the carrier.
suitable from 4mths up as the butt needs to be seated on the carrier, so the legs need to be opened like sitting on a chair. unlike bjorn where the *crotch is stressed on the minimal cloth of the carrier* so the baby's entire weight is being rested on the baby's spine.

*comparing sitting on big round stool vs sitting on thin bench*

Nattan,

Yes, baby hyperstore at Ubi has a wide selection, you can test drive there

This year I went back to Malaysia for reunion dinner w/o hb. At first hb didn't like the idea. He said my mil only have reunion dinner to hope for (their family members not really close). But I told him I wish to go back. In the end I left it to him, I told him how do you feel if our only gal married and forever not able to come back for reunion dinner? In the end, next morning when I woke up I received hb email on my itinerary. Haha he gave in and let me go back.
I feel that not every year I go back for dinner ma, once in bluemoon shouldn't be a problem wat, some more just me alone, my hb and my gal will stay. And I dun like steam boat as reunion dinner, every year i din eat, I just ate the rice with soup. There was once year mil forced me to eat when preg with no.1. In the end I vomit the whole nite till morning. MIL stil wanted me to visit relatives. On the way to visit relatives I still vomittd in the car.
Tot this year can skip reunion dinner here, who know mil makes it a day earlier, in the end got to join too.

sorry for not posting for the past 1-2 days, boy fell sick and been busy taking care of him.

Stroller
I have a Maclaren, Combi & a Peg Perego Pliko P3. Combi i used it when i go out alone as it is very light-weighted. Bought Peg Perego initally without Maclaren but as my boy is born slightly before full term (36wks+) so smaller in size so when he sat in Peg Perego, his head tends to fall to the side even when lying flat so bought Maclaren for him.

I only went to shopping centres to try them.

Sling and carrier
I recommend to try with the baby. I bought sling, thinking is easier to use but when I put my boy who is less than a mth old in, he cried almost immediately. He absolutely hate sling. End up i resell the sling away. Then I brought him to try carrier and he loves it. I like using it when travel in public transport like bus or packed MRT as I have free hands to hold on. It is very difficult to push a unfold stroller into a packed MRT.

Nattan
I am still thinking of whether to go back to my hubby hometown during CNY or not. Though I do not need to go through the custom but I need to sit in car for about 8hrs.

My mil had informed my hubby if we are not going back, they will be coming down. Hubby hasnt decide and we havent bought any food in fridge yet. I think I have to ask him again. But I didn't really like to go back as the thought of eating steamboat for 4 days straight (2meals a day somemore) just freak me out.

Jenny: I will also suggest that you just go to work daily, put on a brave front, you are just short of couple of days more before you fulfill 90 days.

Yumei: I think your gynae should be able to prescribe you medication to ease the nausea. I have been taking it ever since I discovered was pregnant and now 15 weeks. But of course the visit on Tuesday, gynae told me that I will b fine in another week or 2 & didnt further prescribe me medication.

Moi: Congrats on the result!

Sel: I felt the lady in the blog's very brave. Her entry is also touching with encouragement from so many people. I think I would have died of depression. I am having my detailed scan on Valentine's Day & hope that I will have good news.

Nattan: But I think your FIL should be more considerate. I do not think it is a good idea to travel to & fro, esp with the crowd. Then some custom officers will even ask you for "red packet" as my mum came across previously when she went back to visit relatives at the custom. Else, I would advise as what loshita mentioned, to follow your BIL's car. I live with my in laws so no problems for the reunion dinner but the problem is, have to go house visiting & temple with them throughout the CNY! Which I asked my hubby previously if I can dont go with them. His reply was "C how loh" & I knew chances were low. However, my boss today told me that it is a good chance to rest at home & to say "cos you never know who is sick & may catch cold virus easily!" I think I will ask them to go w/o me when time comes nearer. Afterall, I really dont wish to be like a moron amongst the whole bunch of relatives for a couple of hours and move to another relative's house.

Gynae mentioned baby is now 10cm (15 weeks) & can only see gender next month. Pyschiatrist did not talk much to my hubby, just that 1 in 5 women have depression & that I cannot help it when I snapped.... I refused to take medication & she recommended me to go counselling with a pyschologist now. More $$ to be spent! :/

petrina

I bought a Manduca instead. I was trying to decide between Ergo & Manduca. Coz both are abt the same, with the ergonomic waist, the shoulder straps & the nice deep seat for the M-shape legs. But my son was happy in the Maduca but not the Ergo. I dunno why lor! Ergo has much nicer & prettier patterns.

Why can't I open the spreadsheet?

loshita

Wah! Vomit whole night? And still gotta visit relatives?

audrey

Same! My boy hated the sling & loved his carrier.

Zo

I think you shd stay away too. I dunno how much the stress & crowd may aggravte your condition. Be brave & keep going for your counselling k? Just pouring out your woes could do wonders.

hazie: try prudential. u can't buy maternity risk after being pregnant as u need 10mths waiting period.
prudential covers cost of hospital for NBs if things happen within their coverage.

jul: ya. manduca/ergo/beco very similar design..
i bought ergo cause can bf in it.. hehe..
beco can't. not sure abt manduca.

i used MIM sling and put my boy in kangeroo position since birth till he was abt to fit in ergo.
very deep sleeper whenever i use sling on him.
i think they hate the lying down position...

loshita, Audrey, you're both M'sian too? As I'm the only child, I also wish to have reunion dinner with my parents here before going to IL's place, but most time have to skip. I thought this yr if we don't go over, I can take the opportunity to eat dinner with my parents instead. I also cannot stand eating steamboat. Every yr is steamboat!!! Eat until sian
kao_angry.gif
And worse last time have to endure my MIL's one-sided dialogue cos ALL the men and my SIL don't talk during dinner. I was also hoping this yr, maybe if FIL come over we can bring him out for dinner outside then less hassle and we can eat something different. Now hope at least no steamboat this time round.

loshita, your MIL so evil force you to eat till you vomit! If me, I sure would vomit everywhere for her to clean up lor.. hahaha..

Zo, not sure if we have to visit relatives cos 100 days not over yet since the funeral. If still need to visit, I sure put a black face for everyone to see.

I just messaged my hubby whether he can decline serving on CNY eve, he didn't reply me.. think he is really bent on serving la...

Jul, Petrina, how much weight can the sling/carrier take? You carried your #1 until what age?

Audrey: No worries. Small matter.

Jul: Thanks & I will hang on there.. Gynae pre-warned that post natal depression is trickier rather than now.

Still got another 26 min more before I can knock off! Cannot wait since baby is starting to throw a tantrum now. :/

jul
Haha.. I think partly I also not sure how to use the sling and made him felt uncomfortable inside. Anyway my hubby refused to use a sling also, saying it doesn't suit him. =.=

Petrina
I bought bjorn initially cause his weight too light and need a smaller type carrier. I felt Ergo include insert seems too warm so I only bought it after he weigh 10kg.

nattan: sling can tahan very heavy.. as long as u can tahan. but it's pain as there is no waist support and it relies on only 1 shoulder.
occasional use after child is 10kg is ok but persistant use will be achy.
ERGO can tahan up to 25kg at least. very weightless. up till 16kg i was still carrying him. then now preg so nvr use already.
i ERGO-ed my #1 till 3yrs 7mths.

petrina

I'm not sure abt the BF-ing for Manduca. I wasn't latching when I bought the carrier so it didn't occur to me to find out.

nattan

Hmm.. can't remember. Think it's 20kg or something like that? I carried my boy till he turned 14mths. After that, I went back to work, & I refused to let my maid use it to carry my boy. It's very close contact between the carrier & the 'carree' heehee

Zo

I had mild postnatal depression. Quite scary. Couldn't recognise myself in that weepy woman.

audrey

At first I dinno how to use. Then I consulted a few experts. He still refused to be in it, coz he wants to be upright. I think my son had lying down phobia or something.

When he could sit up, he'll aws cry till we raise the stroller so that he could sit up rather than lie down. Maybe they feel too vulnerable.

Loshita
I ate very little whenever i went back or I just skipped it saying I'm tired. However, I always get my hubby to bring me out to eat later on. Haha..

Nattan
I am not but my hubby is. If only eating steamboat as reunion dinner still ok but his family started steamboat a day before CNY eve and all the way until the 3rd day, not sure if they still continue as I am back to JB already. Imagine lunch and dinner is steamboat and using the same pot+soup for both meals. And there are so many people eating it, even relatives ate when visiting.

I used Ergo until my back cant take it, my boy is about 2 years old then. The carrier still can take more weight just that I felt too much backache and stop using it.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Slings/Carrier
I have Ergo too but feel it's a bit bulky and heavy. Hopefully can use it for this baby.
I'm hopeless with MIM's slings. Don't know how to use it.</font>

Gotten my Amnio result yesterday. Another false alarm of Oscar test. boo..

hee.. and i shop happily spending 200+ for 3 bottoms and 3 tops. all non-maternity wear.

Re carrier: I notice that some of you still carry your kid even beyond 2 yrs old.. Is that good? Or the kid gets tired easily from walking? I hope that when I have a #2, my #1 will be old enough to walk (2 or 3 yrs old) and no need me to carry liao, else very tiring if I'm the only one bringing them out.

Audrey, I know what you mean.. last time my MIL would prepare a lot of the steamboat ingredients and soup. We usually cannot finish and then it will end up as breakfast or brunch where she cooked mee sua inside the soup, a combination of 2 foods I don't like :p

Moi, I forgot to tell you that I got an ultrasonic aroma diffuser from Muji to diffuse the essential oils. It's good cos no flame so it's safe, and you can set the diffuser to diffuse when you're going to sleep then set the timer so that it switches off by itself. Very cool

Nattan, kids ard 2 still need afternoon naps. Unless u go out awhile, otherwise they need to zzz. If u dun drive alone, how to bring twin stroller? So baby will be on carrier while elder toddler will have to be on stroller..
First kid is easy.. Free hand carry or carrier or atroller. But for #2 n above u need to watch wat to bring out for best usage.

My fren with peg prego put both toddlers on it as it's huge enuff. So tat works for ppl with 3 kids.
2kids u need a sturdy carrier or sling which u muz be good at using in case baby cry in public u muz know how to adjust accordingly to allow least attention to be on u.. Hehe..

Nattan: Kid gets tired easily. Or they walk too slowly. Mine doesn't like the stroller, according to my fil, who wrapped the stroller up without asking me. Anyway, since my boy is still ikan billis size, i carry him esp when we are near the road or using the staircase. But now that i'm pregnant, i try to make him walk more. My husband does most of the carrying now. In addition, when you carry them, i think they get a good view, like penthouse, so they don't like to be on low floor and see legs only.

Thanks Petrina and glass for the explanation. I suppose need to train my kid to walk more next time when going out.

Very irritated with my hubby >_< He asked his dad whether want to come over instead but his reason is so that FIL no need to cook and also cos he might be serving in church so will be late going back. He never once mentioned abt me or SIL being inconvenient to travel. So FIL says no problem for him to cook or we can go out to eat if we want. In the end my hubby just agree so we're still going back after all

reunion dinner
every yr i hv to rush 2 pl for reunion dinner. Both pl serves steamboat. Bt i lik leh.
hopefully nw preggy, i wil stil lik. Tis yr gt roasted piglet! Courtesy of my hubby.

carrier
i feel lik buyin beco, bt heard it doesnt allow frnt facing. manduca gt quite gd reviews too bt i feel tat bb has to open their legs vry wide whn in it. Any one use these b4?

Argh! Feeling sick after walking in the drizzle for 2 minutes. Need to rush work. Woke up at 3.30am. Now need to prepare to go to work.

Hello. Spending 1.5 days with no maid. Preggy me forgot to ask what time new maid can come, thought can pivk her this morning in fact only tonight. If that's the case I suppose to adk to pick yesterday instead. Huhu. In fact hubby gets a call new maid has passed test on tuesday already. Agent said need to thumbprint today and the slot is in the ebening

Congrats redtea for your good results! Baby girl or boy? Happy for you! It's gonna be my turn later at 11am for amnio. Can't help but felt nervous!

redtea

Congrats! I think u shd have saved all the money on OSCAR &amp; Amnio for your 3 kids - can spend many times the $200+ on shopping lol

petrina

I already sold off my sling. Give up liao lah haha

nattan

Agree with petrina. Like my boy, he's already 2yrs 4 mths &amp; he staretd walking very early. But when he walks, he'll be dashing ard like a madman. Or he'll get tired. I dun carry him anymore since I got preggie coz gynae said cannot carry heavy stuff.

You really shd look at your lifestyle. For eg, if you don't have a car, do you live near MRT or bus? If bus, you may prefer a lighter stroler so that u can carry it up the bus. But if MRT, then a heavier one is better. Can hang all the things &amp; you have no strain.

Chris

Actually facing forward is not good. It makes the baby arch their back in an unnatural position, puts strain on the spine. Then those with small crotch area even worse! All the weight on the pelvis! Imagine if it's a boy!

The Manduca is good. The wide open position is actually more ergonomic, &amp; the seat is wide &amp; deep. The baby's butt can nicely sit inside the deep seat &amp; spread his legs. The thigh area also not so tight, which is good for my fat-thigh baby. I tried Beco, Patapum etc all cut into my boy's thighs. See the red lines so heartpain!

But get those with the waist support, else the strain on your shoulders &amp; back will be too much once the baby puts on more weight.

glass

How're u feeling?

jasmine

Don't worry! Everything will be just peachy!

Chris

Forgot to mention that Manduca cannot have front face. If you see the Manduca, you'll know what I mean. The shape of the seat area is curved to fit the baby's butt, so cannot front-face.

When the baby's older, you can switch it to side carry, or as a toddler, use piggy back carry.

Moi
I used a recycle bag to hold my Ergo, I think i got it for free last time from The Body Shop and keep it when I'm using the stroller.
Same! No matter how I tried, I just can't seems to use the sling, given up hope.

Redtea
Great to hear baby is fine.

Nattan
Young kid walk slow and sometimes u will rather carry him. Haha.. My boy who is 2 and half now, he still want his daddy to carry whenever we go out (I think is more of bully &amp; lazy than tired). I train my boy to walk on his own and of course both of us spend more time reaching destination because of his kapoh, looking around while walking.

My hubby's family steamboat is different from what I used to eat in sg. They like to dump everything in, even fish and prawn, and everyone will eat whatever inside. I used to enjoy the steamboat prepared by my family as ingredients were put on the table, we only cooked whatever we like to eat. Plus most of the ingredients they used i don't eat de like intestine.

Chris
So far only my bjorn allow front facing but it require baby to be 6mths and above. My Ergo can't use as front facing but can use as hip carry (side way) and back carry. Both of them can bf inside the carrier. I think jul has manduca.

audrey

Same for my MIL's steamboat! My family will also put the ingredients on the table &amp; we pick what we wanna eat n just cook that.

But MIL will dump manyb things in. Then her nature is the kancheong spider type. Quickyly pour many things in. Boil liao! Quickly scoop eevrything out &amp; disctribute all over! Quick else will be overcooked! Then the food will be getting cold on my plate. And bcoz she doesn't cook much soup, I have to keep turning power up when we're cooking, turning power down when not cooking. Darned sian leh!

Is this a Msian thing?

jul
Ours is never scoop up so those who eat later will be eating overcooked food. And they put alot coriander which I hate, the whole pot is filled with the smell. Their steamboat also need to turn up and down, up when people eating and down when there is no1 there.

I am not sure but I only experience 'dump all in steamboat' in msia and all of them seems to love it. Almost all his relatives prepare this type of steamboat on the 1st and 2nd day of cny at home so whoever is hungry can eat on the spot, no need go home eat lunch.

I also don't understand why the steamboat is like this.

In my family, I can sit there &amp; eat for 1 hr coz I will slowly cook 1 or 2 pcs, then drink soup, cook another pc etc.

At MIL's, within 15min, the 'setamboat' is over. I really don't enjoy it. I wonder why she doesn't just cook soup with rice, why need steamboat?

Jul
Same, i used to sit there and eat for hrs plus chatting too when i ate in my family, it was so enjoyable.

Over his family, the steamboat also last like 15mins. Once u are done, u r supposed to leave the table. Anyway there is no reason for me to sit there also. It doesn't look like steamboat to me too.

steamboat, both my parents &amp; MIL don't like to dump everything in. all on the table.
at most they dump the veg in first as we like them soft. *bai cai takes a while to cook*

We buy shabu shabu meat so all sliced. u just put watever u want to eat n shake abit can liao.. if all throw in very yucky..

we seldom keep the soup. usually we have big pot of stock on 1 side. so we just top up whenever not enough soup. so the base won't be stained with saliva...

Re Amino test
if gynae has doubts, best to test. unless u r certain u accept any baby.. so this type of $ can't save bah..

Re Carrier
can google to check on pros n cons of various carrier brands. i believe tat sitting on the butt is more comfy than sitting on crotch.
of course it's up to individual preference as i do have friends who survive on bjorn. which can only last them up to a yr max due to the limitation of weight.
so you can make your decision to see what u intend to do with the carrier after it wears out it's usefulness. sell or keep and also do u need a replacement heavy duty carrier after that?

audrey, petrina

Exactly the same with my family. You cook what u wanne eat. I hate it when people choose my food, cook it, then dump it on my plate *bleah*

<font color="aa00aa">nattan,
Thanks for sharing. Does MUJI only have one outlet? I seldom go to town leh. Saw from this URL that the diffuser looks like a big candle ya?
http://www.muji.com.sg/downloads/Essential%20Oil_pages.pdf
What is the estimated price?

Re: Steamboat
We do the "SG style" (except for eggs, leafy veggies), i.e. "want to eat then dump" and we definitely take > 15 mins during such occasions.</font>

Moi: haha.. SG style.. hmm, quite true! maybe is cultural then..

Jul: yeah. they cook they eat mah.. eat steamboat need long time.. slowly cook n enjoy. where got so fast all dump in. might as well cook big pot then ask ppl take their own share n sit down to eat..
1 dish meal type.