(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jul, you're going this Sat? Aiya.. I already brought the Topicrem to my office thinking I'll meet you during lunch or after work.. Now want me to lug it back home and bring out on Sat ah??

jul: i did try to bullshit abit.. hehe.. but mil suspected. so i say ard tat price. not confirmed. can't bluff them...

individual $125 then package from 20wks? u counted is more ex? but non-scheduled they charge or not.. if no charge then still ok so nearer to edd, u can see more often instead of 2wks. u can call to see 1wk say u dun feel well lor.. keke
but of course if u dun see tat often then bo hua already.

petrina

yeah I'm gog to ask them whether if I feel contractions or what.. can I see for foc or not haha If can, then I'll get the package liao.

Actually package is $50 more expensive if I deliver early like #1 haha

Haha my ILs didn't ask me abt price. FIL surely won't ask. But MIL might has asked Hubs. But he won't tell them haha

Jul, I need to take 45min public transport and then walk 15min to my house leh
Can we arrange to meet during lunch or after work? Any day this week is fine, except this Fri cos I have lunch appt.

petrina

Anyway bearing in mind my son's 'characteristics', that's y I chose this sch. I feel that it suits him. If u send him to PAP, he sure cry & dun wanna go to sch everyday. Now he feels like he's gog to sch to PLAy everyday haha

I think i will go for just 1 detailed scan by my own gynae.

Any recommendations on pre and post natal massages?
TCM or Jamu massage?

Jul,
I am not sure if Thalassemia minor carrier can store or not, that's y we pre-alert them, and they did check and replied with a letter that they can store my gal cord blood. We prepared to pay extra $200 for the tool to yield extra cord blood but too bad we dun have that much to store, so end up save the $200.

Petrina, if your no1 is born by wk 38, most probably your current bb cannot wait till week 40. normally no.2 will be earlier and easier to deliver. My coll who just delivered last Oct, her no.1 also born by wk38 so her no.2 oso week 38. the day time she just mentioned dunno when her bb wanna come out, then at nite she sms me said she admitted to hospital.

loshita: my #1 was induced. he wasn't due yet. no signs of coming out. so c-sec as gynae worry abt cord ard his neck. he say instinct tell him to deliver me.. dun ask me how he know.

Petrina,

If that is the case then may be the current one can last till 40 week, My case is induced by wk39 too due to placenta aging and amnionic fluid is reducing. But when induced that time I oredi dilated to 4cm. So if no induce my no.1 will be delivered by the same week too may be 2 days later.

loshita: yeah. gynae also say can natural. cause i didn't dilate at all. my body was so not ready for childbirth yet. baby also not keen to pop it seems. happily swimming inside. was gynae who insisted on me popping. haha

Guess what mummies, went for my detailed scan & was told my little one ish a GIRL. Woo hOo!! ^^
That chart we used to calculate sex of bb isn't accurate. Says i will get a boy but nahhhh. Even my MIL also has her own chart also NOT accurate. CHUIIIIII.

Think SHE wants a boy but i prefer girl girl. KAKAKA!!

adeline

I'm looking for massage too haha.

Actually hor, I prefer TCM massage. But seems like most massage ladies are doing jamu. Also dunno where to find TCM.

loshita

Oic, well since they said can store, then I guess no prob?

Mine came out at 37 weeks exactly. If #2 comes out earlier, it'll not be good. Actually if there's no medical reason for inducing/C-sec, I'd prefer to let the baby stay to 40 weeks if it wants to. Every day of growth is a day of maturity in the organs, brains etc. But too bad not within my control.

Angela

Congrats! The chart also not correct for BOTH my kids. Both times it said gal, but both times it's boy.

Congrats Angela!
The chart for me was accurate. I guess it is not accurate for everyone.

Both of our families are thrilled to have a girl as our first born so are we. This is due to strong male genes from my husbands family.

Jul,
Do you know the difference and benefits between TCM and Jamu massage? I always thought normal pregnancy massages is the Jamu kind. As i do not want to put myself at uneccesary risk since this is my first pregnancy.

eh ladies, i heard from a friend that to book the glens old price, we need to pre-admission.. true?
i didn't.. i let nurse handle leh..

Jul,
Hi-5, my #1 is born in 37 week too. I secretly hoping for this one to be born later so the age gap will be wider and wider. huehehe..

Let's see later.

My mom case, #1 at 38 wks, #2 (me) at 36 wks, #3 at 41 wks.

Seriously afraid leh most likely will be born early too though

if this bb born on EDD will be same birthday as my elder brother, if 2 day later then will same birthday as my younger brother. so far in my family only myself and my eldest niece share the same birthday.

adeline

It's more of Malay/Indo vs TCM. For jamu, it is the herbs/poultice etc, can help you expel wind, the binding of the tummy supposedly to help in the slimming. Also claim to push the womb back up. The jamu normally consist of things like ginger, maybe tumeric or whatever to help expel wind & give warmth to the body.

TCM also has its own benefits of expelling wind, improving blood circulation. With all the mix & match in Singapore, there would usually be the 'pushing of womb' thing. If you get meridan massage, they'll go along your meridian lines to improve circulation etc.

basically both are abt the same in that they are traditional, just Chinese or not haha

But honestly, I don't really subscribe to the pushing of womb thing. Coz the uterus naturally contracts & goes back into position esp if you breastfeed. And I'm afraid untrained people may injure the womb!

I sued to go for TCM meridian massage & tuina frequently before I got preggie & I find that it helps with PMS, water retention, blood circulation, etc. Just that I can't travel all the way with a newborn baby hence would want a homebased one.

groovy

I'm also afraid. I just have the feeling that it'll not go past 37 weeks. Boohoo how? If before 37 weeks is pre-term leh

loshita

Wah your family all have the same bdays. So cute!

haha i think baby born in 40 weeks onwards hor, easier to look after, heard some saying like one day in the womb = 3 days in the outside world lor.. so better keep them inside till 40 weeks if possible..

my #1 was born in week 38, induced due to my high blood pressure lor, and this time round blood pressure still high so i am guessing maybe have to induce earlier again =(

Cordlife Seminar

Anyone else gog for the seminar this Sat other than Priscilla, Nattan, Chris & me? Would be fun to meet up, unless got Hubs there lah.

felicia

That's a medical fact. Which is why I don't like to induce unless got medical reason like your BP. Older baby, everything also easier. Physically more developed, also not so easily startled, can BF better etc.

adeline > i wen for 2 detail scan for #1. 1 done by gynae n anthr done at nuh. Reason was tat i changed gynae n didnt wan2 ask 1st gynae for the records. Bt i m glad i wen for 2 scan. 1st scan fr gynae, result ok. 2nd scan fr nuh, my blood to bb too slow. Cld b due to small arteries n i m advice to tak aspirin, else bb growth mayb affected. I m so glad tat we found out early.

Petrina,
Yes your friend is correct. You have to go down to Gleneagles and do a pre register at the hospital registration counter. Do clariy if it is still the old price as it may change anytime without prior notice.
We have done our pre register in December.

Chris - so the 2nd scan uses a different machine, is that why it was able to detect? What is the difference between a 1st scan and a 2nd scan?

Jul - what abt for pre natal massage, TCM or Jamu?

Nattan / Jul - Why not I just collect the topicream from you directly? Since in the end, Jul will still need to mail to me. I pm you my mobile number. You sms me. We will liaise via hp

<font color="aa00aa">There'll usually be 2 detailed scan, one at around 20 weeks, and another at 32 weeks.

Re: DIY anti-stretchmark cream / oil
Is anyone making your own? Can share recipe?</font>

Jen, good idea.. haha.. dunno why didn't think of that. Maybe cos seldom see you here :p Sure, I'll sms you and arrange with you.

Moi, a lot of us here ordered the Topicrem via Jul.. don't think we'll be making our own stretch mark cream.. haha.. But I used to make my own massage oil cos I like aromatherapy. But now I've stopped using them cos may not be safe during pregnancy.

adeline/jul:

im planning to take up the combination package of meridian massage &amp; jamu massage for my post-natal care from origin jamu massage.

Jul, is meridian mean 'xue wei'? haha

by the way, just out of curiousity, anyone seeing Dr CH Koh from TPY Central?

Jul: The seminar is fully booked liao, cant join u ladies =(

Felicia: I'm an induced baby. Hahaha, Coz i was full term and still refused to come out. So no choice had to induce. My friends' hubby even worse. He was induced 1 mth late, that was like 30-40 years ago when medical not so advanced ba. The mom freaked out after reaching hospital and went home. No one realised until 1 mth later when the nurse called and ask whether or not she has delivered and asked her to come back to the hospital. Faints.

Angela: Congrats! I can't wait for saturday to come, Hubby has been talking to bb every day and asking bb to cooperate on sat so we can see. Haha.

Asrias, my Malay colleague told me one of her relatives delivered after 13 months many years ago in the kampung!! I dunno whether this is true or not, cos I didn't know a baby can stay inside so long. But she said her relative didn't know it was unusual and just let the baby be until it wanted to come out. Haha.. I think everybody will freak out today if such things happen.

In my case I was delivered by c-sec.. not sure if induced or not, but my mum used to complain that I took so long and she suffered haemorrhaging after nearly 10hrs labour so the doctors had no choice but to take me out and give her blood transfusion at the same time So after that, my dad said don't want anymore babies liao.. :p

Asrias,

me too an induced bb. How my mum delivered me was exactly how I delivered my gal. Induced at the same timing and delivered around the same timing! my mum said is my karma, my gal return to me on her behalf, haha

Adeline

Frankly, prenatal massage got no jamu/TCm etc. Cannot use too much pressure, cannot have too much blood circulation, cannot massage womb/tummy, it's more like a normal Swedish massage. Just relieve the aches &amp; pains from the weight of the BB

moi

I dunno how to make, &amp; I have no patience/time/energy lol I just bought Topicrem which worked ok for my #1.

Asrias

really? Fully booked?

Jasmine

Meridian shd be 经若 Alamak I dunno how to write haha

AsRias
haha yup i got an excolleague, his daughter is 9 years old now, and his wife forgot about her due date, he also blur type, till nurse called 1 months+ after due date to check on his wife, they rushed down to hospital and doc said it's indeed very dangerous, he said he only remember her daughter's hair super long when she was born, and got center parting already some more, lol..

Angela

Nope, I'm waiting for divine wisdom to strike. Seriously, my #1's Christina name was divine calling hee

I've headache abt the Chinese name though

Angela, congrats from me too! Ya.. I've already started thinking of names since the day I found out.. haha.. too excited huh..

Felicia, that really funny.. got center parting... haha...

nattan
yup i also find that very funny lor, he said his daughter dun have baby look, looked very mature as a new born, haha too good life inside mummy's tummy ba, but really it's very dangerous sia..

Angela
thought of many names but hor, gender not confirmed till next week, so i guess i can only know which name i want when i am sure about the gender, if not hor it's like must think of one boy one girl name, so tough sia..

Adeline: argh.. means i will kenna the new price

My hb already tot of girl name. but now tat we might have boy, we have trouble deciding on boy's name since we have tradition of following parent's initials.

Overdue babies - danger of meconium being swallowed by baby.. choking hazard. other than that nothing much in danger.. since baby is fine.

Nattan: 13mths is crazy lor!! Hahaha, how big must the tummy be??

Felicia: I like the center parting. Hahahaha.... my colleagues were wondering y i was laughing to myself.

Jul: Yes =( thats what is shown on the webby.

Angela: We were thinking of having a LONG in the last character. WHahhaha... coz now dunno gender but used to calling bb long long.. keke.

<font color="aa00aa">nattan,
Where do you buy your essential oils to prepare the massage oils?

I'm not keen on TOPICREM as it contains fragrance which I may not like. Also, the ingredient list seems intimidating.</font>

Asrias, I dunno how big is the tummy but can imagine a 3-4mths old baby inside?!

Moi, I buy my essential oils online, some from iherb.com, some from amazon.com and the carrier oil I bought from a local online store massagesupplies.com.sg. They also stock essential oils but much more expensive compared to iherb.com. But I buy the carrier oil and empty bottles/accessories from them cos they are heavy and more expensive to ship from overseas.

If you want to make your own massage cream, you can try massagesupplies.com.sg. They have free delivery for purchases above $50. I think the Topicrem fragrance is ok.. nicer than Palmers which is very strong (hubby says I smell like a bar of chocolate in bed.. haha). Now I just alternate between the 2.

Jul: My cousins is 22W and she is doing a pre natal massage with TCM for 2.5 hrs for $75, once a month. She asked me to join her but i am skeptical as you dont know if they are massaging the right points for a pregnant women. She said it is so she does not get water retention.
I would like to just for my back much later on but not sure if it will affect the pregnancy and the baby.

Petrina - They may have not made any price adjustments yet,best to call Gleneagels tomorrow and try to go in to pre-register if it is still the old price asap.

asrias

So sad. I wonder if u can gatecrash? There could be people who sign up &amp; dun turn up also? At most dun take the main goodie bag given by Cordlife, but there'll be freebies given by the other booths.

moi

Topicrem is ok. I don't like/wear perfume usually, but I find that it's quite powdery &amp; not strong-smelling.

adeline

Oh what's the contact? I'm interested! Will the therapist come to your home?

I have been doing foor reflexology after I passed 14 weeks. It helps a lot for me, coz I have bad feet. I wanted to go much earlier but they won't do for preggie women in their first tri, so I waited &amp; waited &amp; waited for 3 mths to be over. I did the same for my #1, but I didn't go so often then coz I didn't have a regular place with package.

I dunno how much of it is to do with the foot reflex, but I didn't have the swollen legs syndrome. My preggie look is mainly fat on the tummy n hips. Lower legs were still skinny

Moi, yes.. some oils like Rose and Neroli (which is also suitable for children) are very expensive cos they use tons of flowers just to make a few drops of the oil. Anyway, suggest you read up more about suitable oils to use during pregnancy. I found that very few oils I bought are suitable at this stage, some are even dangerous (like Clary Sage).. The safest is Lavender (properly diluted). I do use Peppermint but some sources online says it's not suitable for topical usage, so I only inhale to relieve my nausea and blocked nose.

Thanks nattan!!! Me too, haF a hard time choosing CHINESE NAMES. Boo!

I guess most of uUu going for prenatal yoga classes? I want to attend too! Was previously frm Trueyoga.