(2012/06) Jun 2012

Michi
haha yup consider very heng liao, my friend same situation as me kena emergency c-sect also.. that's why i die die stick to my gynae although he is expensive.. my friend's female gynae told her baby head high still, E C-sect.. mine told me baby head high, so increase dosage for induction to have even more intensive contraction to help baby go down.. he's super calm lah i think that's why can give me another hour to try before deciding if E C sect is necessary.. but then if 2k+ in cash still acceptable, haha.. i thought really will cost me 7k+ at least in cash de if i end up with E c-sect..

Groovy2000
yup my gynae told me about the double charge thing for delivery room, so he asked me to admit myself at 12am midnight so although i stayed in labour room for 17 hours, i come out before 10pm, so still consider 1 day usage, heng ah.. haha..

My #1 gynea consultation fee is super cheap only $550 for the whole, including consultation after delivery..

This time around I already kena chop $240 as I go to other gynea in my 6 and 8 week, plus the package is $660, $110 more expensive than last time. Plus consultation after delivery is not included.

Hopefully #2 delivery fee will be cheaper than #1. hehe..

Btw, mine last time is natural no epidural with vacuum but I paid $3000 in cash even though baby also no jaundice in the hospital..

i see Groovy2009, we exactly same lor but i paid 1217.9 only.. guess diff hospital also makes a diff..

but your gynae package is cheap so okay lah, my gynae alone think paid about 3.4k already lor..

Groovy, thank you for the info. Will check with Dr Ang when I see him after Christmas.

Anyone going for childbirth education classes in Feb at TMC (for first time mum-to-be)?

Ya lor. I think I kena chopped that around $700 that I am not supposed to pay if my gynea explained clearly. I admit myself at 6 pm, nurse ask me if pain or not of course I said pain, then they straight away bring me to delivery rm. in the end they call dr. Ang and he said to put me in the single room instead. It's around 9 pm. Dr ang said he'll visit me at 10 but he come at 11.30. In the end I go delivery room at 5 am and deliver at 6.51 am. Paid $1000 for 2 days delivery room that I used around 2 hours each. Some more the GBS vaccination dunno what's the price I kena 2 times. Hubby never asked in details when he paid the hospital bill leh

JOANNE

I think the fact that your diet is much healthier is more impt than weight gain lol

HOW MANY BEDDERS

I took a 1-bedder for #1. Nvr regretted it. I could rest without being disturbed. No need to share toilet. Got wifi. If need be, hubs can stay. N no need to totally draw curtains when feeding baby. Can just strip in the room then dress there without needing to bring stuff into the toilet.

I peeked into the shared rooms. Gosh! So noisy, door isn't closed, neighbour's family could be talkinh loudly if inconsiderate

MOI, JEN

Thks for the filet coupon. But i'm off fish boohoo. Wish they'd have a double cheese promo lol

WEIGHT GAIN

Aiyah my gynae was telling me not to overeat n overgain last round. But seeing that #1 came early. And that my total wt gain was 14kg. This time she relaxed liao lol

MAY

Wow! How'd u know your BP went up? Is that considered v high? Did the gynae say why?

SQUIRREL

i'm supposed to be due a wk after you. So i'm in 13 weeks now. But gynae said most likely late May instead.

squirrel12: i think i most prob will sign up for the class. Any idea how much is the class? Hubby should tag along also right?

Hi Petrina, just an update on the maternity package offered by Gleneagles as i just completed my maternity tour today.
Prices are still the 2011 package and no adjustments yet however there will be a price adjustment roughly around after Christmas as informed by the nurse conducting the tour.
The hospital will honor the current price so long as you pre register before Christmas. No deposit required.
My EDD has also been shifted to 21 JUN. 3 days earlier now.

im new to this thread here... seen like alot of #2 here?

me too hving #2.. my edd around early June, i got too many dates tat i dont know which is my exact edd date!

my gynae is lawrence ang..

i read the post abt signing up FBI.. can i know what is that?

Double cheeseburger attack round 4!

Ate quite a lot of pork loin cutlet, rice, 4 bowls of miso soup for dinner. But still need to have my double cheeseburger. Sitting n waiting for hubs to get back from macs drive-thru. My hubs is the greatest! *love*

Hello juski

FBI = first born incentive
SBI = subsequent born incentive

Basically a discount membership for mummies delivering at TMC. You get discount for oscar, detailed scan, hosp bed charges, delivery fee forgynaes who are 'registered' with them. Since yours is #2, u shd be looking at SBI

Hmm... I signed up at the booth at TMC. Paid $128 coz my first was born at TMC - some kind of loyalty disc maybe lol. If not, it'll cost $148, if i rem correctly.

You just need to fill up a form n pay on the spot. They'll give u a receipt for your temp card till the card is mailed to you. For me, i'm delivering at tmc n taking 1-bedder, so i get $100 disc off the room. Gynae's delivery fee is 5% disc. So it's already earned back so to speak.

R u delivering at tmc too?

Yeah i love to eat. N not eating makes me nauseous

Good morning.... all MTBs

Haiz... still having spotting at this stage.. quite worrying....
the weather didn't make my mood earlier...

Heard of depression even before you deliver???? I'm suspecting i'm getting it..

Gd morning squirrel12 & all MTB,

I can see that most of you are planning to deliver at TMC. Actually that was my choice too but there was once when I thought I m going to have miscarriage so I rushed to KK Hospital but turns out to be fine. It was a scary experience.

I am also having Morning Sickness daily. It definitely makes me depressed that I cried daily.. Initially I gained 4.2kg. Then within 2 weeks I lost 3kg.

My gynae mentioned that I seem to have slight depression too & referred me to another department, Women wellness. I think it's to see psychologist but the earliest that my appointment is 04 Jan 12. I will be seeing my gynae on the coming Tuesday, I eat 2 ice creams daily and also either a can of soft drink or bubble tea (yoghurt drink).

TGIF & I cannot wait for the day to finish fast so I can laze at home!!

Tan
did you gynae say anything? are you working or staying at home? possible to have more bed rest? Stay positive okay? baby will feel your emotion so do take good care!!

Zo
before seeing the psychologist, come here often and talk to us, we will keep you happy okay? Pregnancy is really not easy but when we see our little ones, the feeling is so great that you will forget about all the tough period you suffered at first.. till now i still miss my 1st pregnancy, even the painful labour that's why i want to experience these 10 months again.. This time round it's a lot tougher than my 1st pregnancy but i am still enjoying it.. When i tell myself everything is great, i do feel better somehow.

Morning mummies.. been feeling very burpy lately. Yesterday caught a cold and stayed home with headache.. suddenly lost my usual appetite, so skipped lunch. I realise I much prefer strong-tasting and savory foods like curry cos my mouth has this "bland" taste all the time, so I've been eating prata, thosai and home-cooked Japanese curry...

Can't wait for my next appt on 24th Dec... going for OSCAR. I will be in my 13th week by then!
I think I'll inform my boss a day before that...

Hi Tan, hope your spotting is not serious.. did you check with your gynae about it? Have more rest and don't think about it... it's true your baby can be affected by your emotions. Try to focus on happy thoughts! You can do it!

Hi Zo, your MS should go away soon... don't worry! It's notmal to have MS.. in fact some experts say it's a sign your pregnancy is healthy. Maybe if you feel up to it, do some light exercise.. go for walks, it helps to relax you.

Tan > Mayb try going to traditional chinese physician for advise too? Initially gynae sy my hormones too low to hold bb n I had to take quite abit of hormones pills n even recommend tat I tak injection. I took the pills, bt nt the injection. Thn I also c TCM n took sm med. N nw i m in my 11th wk n jus visited gynae yesterday. Gynae sy placenta formed n I cn stop taking hormones pills.

Zo > Ya, ther is post n pre natal depression. My sis had both. So at tat time my whole family gotta giv in to her. Watever her requests were n watever nonsense she gave. :p Think nd family support n esp hubby's understanding. try to kp urself happy, ok? Ur mood will affect the bb n it definitely true. Cos whn my 1st nephew turns out to b a difficult bb, even the confinement lady sy she has nvr seen a bb tat cries so much n cldn't gt to slp or eat at all. eventually she call it quit n asked her othr CL fren to cm n tak ovr.
U cn try to watch comedies n mak urself laugh more often.
Wish u well.

Tan, Zo,
try to sleep more, eat more happy foods, any foods that you like, eg McD Cheeseburger, and the MS will slowly go away. Is this your #1 ? Next year is dragon year leh, it's a wonderful blessing to have a dragon baby, SMILE OK

Groovy2009,
think this time you must check the hospital bill carefully, in case they accidentally double charge ? Your hb is more concerned about you and bb's health then to bother about the $ matters.

#1 - i had a single room, #2 - double room, noisy at times, but the good thing is can know the neighbour mummy and talk about birth experiences.

Felicia,
I cannot wait to deliver. Before pregnant, I thought of giving birth to at least 2 children. Now, I told my hubby, 1 is enough. I dont want to go through this phrase whereby I am behaving even crankier.

When I throw up, it comes out from both mouth & nostril, which causes me to choke at times. Then I will cry even harder and asked why this had to happen on me. (Although I believe there are more ladies that experience worse)

Nattan, that is what my gynae advised me too. It is a good sign. Sometimes I try to tell myself to just hold on. I hope I am not one of the unlucky ones that have MS throughout the whole pregnancy. My mother had a shock when my sis told her I am having slight depression but the appts are fully booked. She wanted me to see a private pyschiatrist but I refused. I am also scared of taking medication that will affect baby's health.

Chris, I always pre-warn my hubby before pregnancy that I will have both. He always tried to brush aside that I am just over-worrying. Now he is also treating me like a queen, even though at times I know he is angry. I am so afraid that the baby will be like me as what you said, the baby will be a difficult one as I, myself was a difficult child that no1 takes care of me apart from my grandmother.

I used to enjoy shopping so much but now the word SALES does not fascinate me anymore. I tried to go NEX less than 2 hours and in the end, I spent the whole evening and next day bedridden & throwing up. :'( With my job as a customer service executive, I get so worked up with nasty people and impatient to my colleagues at times. I am always trying my best to calm myself down.

Nonetheless, many thanks to all for the encouragement and advice. I hope we can all overcome these obstacles.

<font color="aa00aa">higgledy82,
May this just be a passing phase. You CAN definitely overcome it.

Try not to think or worry too much (I know it's not easy as I'm very stressful too). Take a walk in the park or somewhere with lots of greens, or a leisure swim, or having some light massage may help.

Try to have small meals or snacks at 2-hour interval which may help with your MS.

Cheer up! We're all behind you.</font>

zo > u r nt alone. Don't b dishearten. Apparently this depression thing is in the genes. So since my sis had it, I had it after my delivery too. Was crying everyday, which was nt gd for confinement. I believe it cn b control to a certain extent by our own will power. Try to tak things alittle easier. N always tell urself nothing matters more than ur bb's wellness.

joeey
yeah another Aug09 mummy here, actually quite a few of them are expecting, besides me and jul in June, i saw at least 2 of them in May thread.. haha wow yours is #3, i salute you!! i better stop at 2.. haha..

Zo
honestly i think your case is really quite serious MS, no wonder you are feeling so bad, just hope you will get better cuz usually 2nd tri is a lot easier.. and ask your gynae for medication, my sis had serious MS for her 1st one and gynae did prescribe something which helped her a lot.. do take care and rest well!! Yup doing CS job is not easy, but work is just work, don't over stress yourself too much...

Sian... now in 2nd trimester but MS still quite bad. Yesterday has McSpicy Meal at night, end up merlion part of it out... haiz~

Yup2 will ask hubby to really ask in details on what's being charged next time. Hubby is not fussy about money leh. I am fussy hehe

TGIF! Jia You!

I woke up today feeling much better than I've felt in a long time. The lethargic sluggish feeling suddenly disappeared. I'm so going out for fresh air today! I've been cooped up at home d whole week. It's been a hard week since hubby is outstation. It's harder at night cos dis crazy hormones makes me miss him more than usual

Juski, my gynae is same as yours.

Michi, I signed up for the class at $283.55, and will commence on 4 Feb 2012. The price quoted was before FBI discount. Spouse need or need not attend, but it would be better to attend as a couple.

Sel: have you done ur OSCAR? And also, will ur baby PD be the one in the list? Overall, I tink it's more worth it if you sign up early, cos' the OSCAR, Detailed Scan, ChildBirth Edu Course all got 10% discount. Also, then the room rate also got discount.

Zo: Yeah, you are not alone. I throw up everyday, sometimes up to 4 times a day. I got choked sometimes too, choked by the rice i had! I was throwing up hard and continuously until the tummy is clear of food, not like bit by bit. It's very tough! My 1st one only throw up like 2 times the most throughout the whole pregnancy so i felt sad but i know this shows a good sign that my baby is growing well. My gynae told me to be positive so i stay positive because i know nothing can beats the joy of holding the baby after delivery and see your child growing up. It will get better though. I'm in my 13 week now, it's getting a tab better (still feel nausea) but eating yoghurt (fruity flavored) helps me, watching funny videos on youtube helps me and hanging out with my girl friends helps me so by all means, go and do what you want to do. Your husband is your support. I'm sure it will turn out alright soon!
Take good care ok?

Sel: My gynae also not in the list. Somemore tat time i already done my OSCAR, abit regretted after i sign up cos' there's some miscommunication with the CSO. But i tink in the long run still worth it one lah

I've not done my OSCAR. I think it might be on d coming Wed but I'm still waiting for a phonecall from d clinic to confirm. I've booked for d hospital tour on Mon morning so if I decided to I can register on Mon. Should be able to get disc if I go ahead n take d OSCAR on Wed right? No processing time or anything?

Sel: U must sign up before you take the OSCAR or on the day u take the OSCAR. They will issue you the receipt to act as ur temporary card. The actual card will be mailed to ur house in 2-3 weeks time.

Hi all... Is there any FBI scheme for Parkway East Hospital? I've not signed up for anything yet... a bit clueless
kao_confused.gif

Hi nattan,
I also wanna know more about parkway east. I will be delivering there too. Prob will check with gynae next wk.. I am also planning to take the tour and the classes they conducting.

I am coming to my week14, but still feeling miserable. It took my like 1hr to finish my lunch.. Really eating is a chore , ESP lunch. Help!!

So envy u mummies, ur hubby can go buy burgers for u at night. My hubby working perm night shift. So I sleep alone every night. Have to take care of my dinner and supper myself...