(2012/06) Jun 2012

Ideas for potluck
moi: just need to bring one dish is it? how about honey mustard sausage if you do have an oven at home? a lot of receipts online.. maybe can use sausage+canned pineapple, kids like sweet and sour stuff..

Moi: I lost 2-3 kg this first trimester ah cos i keep throwing up everything i ate. So diff from my 1st one, only threw up 2 times. Dunno how many times i've throw up for my current one, 30 times?

I really envy those that can eat cheeseburger! I've been telling my hubby i would WANT to eat one whole burger if i could! I thought i like fish but recently, i keep rejecting fish, i prefer chicken!!! But because i keep feeling nausea, i just can't make up my mind what i'm craving for. Had mee rubus recently, hehe! Loved prata too with the curry. Actually felt better on Monday, was so hungry at night but vomit came back yesterday again.

Felicia: I also did my OSCAR last Fri and result is good. Phew! May i know why there is a low laying placenta, what causes it?

WEIGHT GAIN:

For my no1. I gained 20KG in total, the last few weeks I almost gained 1kg/week. But my gynae never stop me, she just told me to continue to eat, cos my pre-pregnancy weight is below average. This round when gynae saw me she was about to comment I too thin, after she referred to my previous record, she said now i am better than last round.

OSCAR SCAN:
I am unable to book any appointment, TMC said the whole Dec fully booked!!!!! For sure it is baby boom next year.

joycie
did my OSCAR scan on 11/26, waited for blood test report for almost 2 weeks actually, cuz doc already informed OSCAR result is normal on the day of scan, but blood test is the so called triple test checking on Trisomy 21 risk and some other stuff. only received report last night, haha..

low lying placenta means my placenta is covering the cervix, so if it does not move up with the womb expanding, then sure have to go for C-sect, might cause bleeding also so in fact quite dangerous.. think baby implant too low so caused low lying placenta, not good cuz the upper part of the uterus is the most favorable area for placental implantation because it is rich in blood and, therefore, nutrients and oxygen.

Loshita: So fast fully booked? I booked my OSCAR scan within a week at TMC. I went on a Friday. Maybe u can go on a weekday is better.

LOW PLACENTA:

My no1 also I have low placenta but it turned up in 8th month if I remember correctly. I have a fren who placenta was very low too, but she has bleeding due to this issue and need to bed rest.After she bed rest for 2 weeks, she end up had emergency c-sec for a pre-mature bb. 6 weeks before due.

Joycie,

Yes fully booked for the whole Dec. I called on last Monday. I actually tried to book weekday. Previously was done by my gynae, I only need to go to the lab for blood test, this round gynae just back from vacation and her schedule super tight, she is unable to do it for me.

Loshita
my gynae's clinic got another sonographer doing OSCAR scan and full scan so mine is not done at TMC.. dunno if you can just try to make appt with them lor, cuz OSCAR scan is not included in my gynae's package..

You might want to call Tow Yung Clinic at 67374433 just to ask if they can schedule you for OSCAR scan..

btw your friend's case sounds serious.. hope i will be fine then.. 6 weeks before due that's really quite early..

Felicia,

Thanks for your info. if in the end I can't make it I will try yours.

My fren is fine now, her son is 6mos oredi. so far so good

Drinking cough medicine with a little feeling of guilt. I know doctor said it's safe to be taken during pregnancy but still.. huhu..

My hand strength stops at 9 kg lor.. Very strange my #1 is usually OK with daddy carry her and be put in her stroller when she's sleepy. Suddenly so clingy.

Today feeling better, feels so sleepy in the office.

I've signed up for stemCord for my #1. The more benefit is if you have more than 1 child. Because usually if #1 normal, then siblings are not, we can use #1's cord blood for the siblings.

I still believe more in advance technologies, those cord blood might be a life savings in the future.

Hi mummies. Argh...flu again. This is my 3rd bout of flu in 2 months! Think the MS made my body weaker, so easier to get flu. Hope the little one inside is alright. Groovy, I'm also like you, I don't dare to eat my flu meds even tho i went to the doc. Shall only eat it when I really cannot tahan.

Cord blood banking
For my #1, I opted to donate. And even then, the S'pore Cord Blood Banking Association has very strict regulations, eg. need to have a certain white & red blood count cells in the cord blood, amount of cord blood collected must be enough, the bb's parents' and even grandparents' medical history must be good, in the lab they still have to test the cord blood for any other abnormalities etc. In the end, my bb's cord blood was not enough for the donation, so in the end still had to be discarded.
Normally you keep the cord blood not for the baby, but either for the bb's siblings or other family members, cuz if the baby is sick, high chance the cord blood that was kept also has that disease so can't be used for the baby.
I don't know the procedures of the private cord blood banks, so I'm not sure if they also ensure such strict regulations before collecting the cord blood, or just once you sign and pay, they'll just help you collect the cord blood and store.
I would think best is to check with them and see, then if you can afford it, and you are intending to have #2 or more, then go ahead and store.

Sorry for the long post.... :p

Sorry... Can I come in here to gather some bb dust???

There's a minimum blood count too for the private cord blood. If in the end the blood count is too low it will be discarded too, and you still have to pay half amount if I'm not wrong. You will get refunded only if in the end you deliver not in the hospital (at home/car etc) such that there is no doctor that can help you to collect the cord blood.

The bad thing about the private cord blood banking is you need to keep paying otherwise it will be discarded.
I heard still cannot transfer from private to public if in the end you can't pay anymore..

The good thing is of course your cord blood won't be used by anyone else but you.. Even though it's a very low chance even in public bank..
And for the stemCord they said they keep the cord blood in 2 places, in case of anything happens in 1 place, still have the cord blood in other place.

My in laws both are doctors that's why they very believes in future medicine and really encourage us to keep the cord blood.

Jul, me too. suuddenly put fish aside. I like pork and chicken ( breast only). no sure why the sight of dish makes me feel sick..
my BP went high since yestersay. 140/90. Got me a fright! head googly and vision blur. Went to GP alst night and he refer me back to my gynae.. Went to See Dr Yeap this am cos my limbs/palm all numb and my lower abd cramp up..

luckily, everything was fine and see little "man" inside wiggling .. Very busy inside. exercising his limbs and hands ans did a stretch ! must be thinking who is out there.. so noisy.. hahaha...

Thank u for yr welcome. My pregnancy had not been stable since I came back with positive result. Had been having bed rest n bad mood till now... I am really envy all mummies here...

Hope my bb can give me at least a good day to enjoy...

Hi Zo, my EDD is on 4 Jun 2012, so I am not sure whether my baby will be due in late May or early Jun.

My gynae told me I am due on 7 Jun 2012 on the second visit, then third visit, the date brought forward to 3 days ahead.

What is MS?

Hi Jul,

Thank you for your welcome message. When are you due? Need more guidance from you all.

I am about 14 weeks pregnant now.

Talking about my trip! I bought so many clothes for #1!!! Overweight by 6 kg, then luckily the officer is okay when it overweight by 4 kg.
Bad thing is need to hand carry those 2 kg.

The crazy thing is we brought our wedding album to SG this trip. It's 2 albums, each is like 5 kg!! Hubby need to hand carry 1 album in the end.

I also bought cloth diaper, pants, and home clothing for baby in tummy. Hehe.. All same design, fake Pooh.. Very cheap one, each one cost less than $1.5, some even less than $1 :p
Then now thinking I bought too much, should have bought 1/2 dozen each instead of 1 dozen becoz all duplicated design leh.. And my #1 has too much clothing already, all still look very nice to wear. :$
It's just my mom told me just bought a bit for this new baby lah, poor thing if all his/her clothing are just handover from #1..

Bought too much clothing for #1 too!! One set of cloth some are priced $3 (home clothing), some are $7 (for going out), hehehe.. So cheap. Really heaven for clothes shopaholic like me.. My #1 has so much clothes for her until she's 3 years old I guess :p

MS = morning sickness

Last time my #1 has like 3-4 dozens of newborn clothes leh.. But she didn't grow up too much so she can still wear some until now. huehehe..
She even has some clothes only worn 1 time or even some never been worn before :S..
I haven't handover all her newborn clothing to anyone, thinking if my sister ever get pregnant can handover to her. Never thought I have #2 in my tummy this early..

Hubby scold me telling me I bought too much clothing for her this time :$

Actually MIL prohibit me to buy anything for baby before 7 months but I don't really care :p. Last time my #1 I also sneakily bought some clothing around this time. hehe..

Hi Groovy, thank you for clarifying.

Zo, I had MS, or rather any-time-of-day sickness! The nausea is almost gone now, but I always feel bloated whenever I have my meals, sometimes feel like throwing up. I avoid prawns, crabs, some fishes and meat. Hooked to milk, fruits, yoghurt, ice-cream, soyabean milk, beancurds and ribena.

Michi, yes, but I haven't confirm the package, will do so during my next visit after Christmas.

Who knows we might bump into each other on our delivery day? Haha.

Btw, let's keep in contact. My email is sherrone . tan @ gmail. com (I purposely space out to avoid spam).

wow Michi / squirrel12,

me and my twin sis both EDD 02 Jun 2012, very close to yours.. we both delivering at TMC too.. quite miss that place cuz i had great experience with my #1 there. haha.. opted for 1 bedder room last time and everything was so great!

asked the nurses at clinic if need to book the room now since next year lots of babies, they said no need, they will arrange at the appropriate time.. LOL

squirrel12
haha fortunately nope.. that's the first thing gynae check for us indeed cuz got family history of many pairs of twins.. gynae also kancheong, end up me and my sis no such luck.. but okay lah twins not easy to handle, plus gynae said 20% of twins got complication during pregnancy/delivery so they as docs also rather see single embryo.. less worries..

and, our next checkup also christmas eve, LOL...

My husband himself is a younger twin, and everyone keep anticipating me to have twins. Luckily, I am expecting one baby! His sister gave birth to a pair of twin boys in 2009, not easy to take care, especially when one fall sick, the other kena too!

Btw, can you email me too? Let's keep in contact. Nice to make more friends and share experiences.

Which gynae are you seeing? Mine is Dr Lawrence Ang from Sun Plaza.

squirrel12: gynae also said tat to me, but my baby quite naughty + active lor, dunno will let us its gender or not... hahaha, but i got intuition it's a boy lah

Felicia: So u choosing 1 bedded this time round also? I tink I will go for 4 bedded, hoping to get free upgrade.. hehehe

How i wish i got twins lor, then can close factory liao... hahahaha

My gynae Dr Benjamin Tham

Did u sign up for the FBI? Cos' if i'm not wrong, Dr Ang is under their list of gynae, so u will have 5% off his gynae service

Michi, I am unsure of my intuition towards my baby's gender. Sometimes, I feel it is a girl, sometimes is a boy. But I have been dreaming of having baby girl most of the time during sleep.

Yes, just signed up for FBI.

squirrel, I thought Dr. Ang is going for holiday around 31 May until mid June?
He still accept you as a patient?
I'm being rejected leh.. EDD is 14 June but when he checked again it becomes 22 June.

I think he forgot that my #1 is delivered in my 37 week actually. If he remembers maybe he'll still accept me. (as more chance I'll deliver early again)
Or maybe he totally has too many patients already this time? In the end I changed to gynea link in Admiralty, Dr. Don Wong.
He has better USG machine and don't mind showing baby for quite some time. I think this #2 will have better pictures compare to #1..

squirrel12
wow i see, haha my #1 also born in 2009.. 1 is already tough to handle, if 2, think i will die sia.. LOL.. but then your sis in law can close factory also, plus double the bundle of joy.. cool!!

yup will email you and keep in touch..

my gynae is Dr Lim Teck Chye from Tow Yung clinic, guess properly i am seeing the most expensive gynae... LOL.. his package for normal delivery alone is already above 3.2k, not including oscar scan, full scan, blood test or supplements.. but he is extremely experienced and saved me big time when i deliver #1 so i am fine with his charges..

Michi
Me didn't sign up for FBI last time =(.. I sure choose 1 bedder this time again.. My sis wanted to save $$ so opted for 2 bedders last time.. end up really regretted.. cuz the other malay lady in the same room has 2 bigger girls and delivered another pair of twin girls.. it's super noisy when her family visit her.. and my sis has to go through another operation due to some clogged blood in her womb, but can't have enough good rest.. toilet is shared and it's pretty inconvenient esp when she needs to use urgently.. So i learned the listen and went for 1 bedder.. Such a great experience.. And since mine was normal delivery without epi, end up we paid 17.9 in cash only, cuz already paid another 1.2k as deposit.. we were shocked when we saw the bill.. Think if i didn't use the vacuum cup to suck my boy out, they got to refund me $$ as that vacuum thingy cost 100 plus already.. The bill includes PD charges and my hubby's 2 day stay there somemore.. to me really very reasonable..

My first visit to him is around 12 Oct, he hasn't told me that he's going for holiday. then visited him again in around 25 Oct, he said he's going for holiday around my due date, so he said it's better for me to change gynea otherwise it won't be fair if he can't deliver my baby in the end.

I think you better call his clinic again to ask. Maybe mid Oct he hasn't bought ticket yet.. As otherwise I believed he won't ask me to come back on that 25 Oct (waste my money) if he already bought tickets on that mid Oct. Huhu..
Because I know he's the "Save Money" type of gynea.

Felicia: Woooo~~ Like tat will discuss again to my hubby. But i scare the little one inside chu pattern, end up need to c-sec, then the bill will add up again

Felicia,

That is not expensive for 1 bedder.
I have forgotten my bill amount as I have a small operation too after delivery for blood clot.

Chris
yup mine oscar test and blood test both arranged by my gynae cuz he has a sonographer next door specialized in doing full scan in the same clinic, for blood test only draw blood and send to another lab for test.. i know for my #1, no oscar test for me back in early 2009.. but this time round the clinic add this..

Michi
yup honestly have to be mentally prepared.. because my case hor, got induced due to high blood pressure 2 weeks before due date, labour about 17 hours.. then dilate till 9cm but baby head not engaged into birth canal.. so operation room all prepared for emergency c-sect liao, last minute my gynae encouraged and helped me with natural birth... when he said 90% natural 10% emergency c sect hor, contraction pain is not the number 1 thing killing me, cuz all i was thinking was, gosh, my bill sure exceeds 7k liao, LOL.. i even thought about switching to 2 bedder at that very moment.. and felt super regretful that i didnt just schedule a time for c-sect, at least the bill wont be as high as E c-sect mah.. heng natural in the end.. maybe hor you book 4 bedders, if super smooth then change to 1 bedder lor (dunno can do that though), haha

anyone know where can I check the benefit of FBI/SBI from TMC, their website seems like didn't state the details or I look at the wrong site.

Felicia: Wah super heng lor u, my fren kanna E-csec, she already opt for 4 bedded liao and she got free upgrade to 2 bedded. She still paying $7k+ for the total bill. However, after deduct medisave, she onli pay $2k+ lah based on 4-bedded rate

I remembered I paid almost $3000 in cash last time. 1 bedded, natural with vacuum.
The reason is: I got to pay double days for my delivery room and deluxe room! My gynea asked me to admit myself to hospital in the evening. I thought he means to delivery room, in the end he said better go deluxe room more convenient, so I change. Huhu.. I stay 4 days 3 night in the end, with double days charged of delivery room.

Actually he said if I admit myself to Thomson at 10 pm I won't be charged double, but I insist want to deliver at Mt A.. Never regret it, just regret why my gynea never said clearly that I should just admit myself in the ordinary room and wait for him instead of admitting myself to the delivery room.
I kena charged additional around $500 for that.

In addition, I get injected with GBS vaccination twice where I read in the internet once just before delivery is enough. I get injected when I admit myself to hospital and just before delivery. I think that's also additional around $200.

I kena chopped in the hospital leh. But nvm since the nurses are all kind and I don't think I'll be successful in breastfeeding if I didn't go to see the lactation consultant in Mt A..

my friend said last time in Raffles hospital she stayed almost the whole 2 days in the delivery room leh. I don't know why my gynea asked me to move to the ordinary room.. Huhu.. Maybe to book the single room too as that's the last single room available on that day. I opt for single room but get a deluxe room instead. It's additional $70 per day if I'm not wrong..