(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jul: I also can't tahan hunger nowadays. If its last time i can just tong until dinner.... now hungry die die must eat something or I feel extremely terrible

weight gain
actually i know if i control, should be within 12kg de, before i am pregnant i was on diet and managed to lose about 6kg in 2 months. But i can't put myself on diet now mah just to maintain healthy weight gain, haha tough decision.. i see my food intake now and compare to 3 months ago, sure put on weight super easily now.. maybe got to cut down a bit on carbo and sweet stuff since i quite like sweet stuff this time...

i also dunno what is hungry.. just that i kept feeling nausea and puking saliva so i noe my tummy is empty liao. i need to refuel.
after i eat, no more puking.. hehe

I'm also scared of weight gain. My mom n my aunty ballooned after the 2nd or 3rd child! This is my #1. I don't know how much weight I have gained since the last time I went to see the Dr was at 6 weeks. I was already 68kg then. Borderline overweight lor at 1.65m. YIKES!

Maybe we can go exercise together when the time comes? I'm the kind who don't have enough will power to diet. But I do enjoy exercising

petrina
same here, if i feel like puking, i know i got to eat, but not because i feel hungry actually..

wah super craving for crystal jade steamboat now, how sia.. need to rush home everyday to look after my boy, when will i have chance to enjoy that with hubby alone.. sob sob..

Sel
my gynae will remind me about my weight gain during every visit so i super scared but i know nothing i can do about it.. i rem last time around 4th month i suddenly gained 4.6kg in a month, other than that usually it's about 1-2kg a month the most.. just have to watch out a bit ba although many of my friends also gained 25-30kg during 1st pregnancy.. my concern is it's not really good for baby otherwise gain also nvm, just work out harder to lose next time lor, haha..

Sel
forgot to say, if you are craving for sashimi, just go for it.. my gynae told me it's absolutely fine to eat that.. and i ate a lot during my last pregnancy actually.. no problem at all.. i know some might say raw meat better avoid but i think really there's no prob, just like japanese eats sashimi, indians eats curry, koreans eats kimchi and French eats cheese, there's no way for them to avoid such food also mah..

asrias

Actually, all along I'm quite greedy. But at least after lunch, if I have a gd one, I can wait till dinner. Now there's no such thing as wait. Jialat! Hope this doesn't mean t#2 will be as impatient as his gorgor!

petrina

Same! I will feel nauseous when hungry. If don't eat, will feel worse & worse! After eating, nausea goes away.

May, Felicia

Thanks for mentioning Macs cheeseburger hor! last night sent Hubs out to buy the doublecheeseburger. This morning, craving again!

sashimi

I will never forget the time when I was 5 mths preggie with #1, sitting in a small, local sushi shop next to the osaka fish mkt, eating the freshest & most ridiculously cheap sushi ever! When the shop ran out of a certain fish, they just popped next door to get a few more from the mkt. Can't beat that for freshness! Argh... super miss!

vomited dinner last night.. till i was out of breath and heartbeat so fast.. 1st time felt out of breath while vomiting..
sore throat started also.. coughing liao.. muz recover soon.. all the parties to attend these next 3 weekends!!

jul,
5 months preggie and in Osaka eating sashimi ! Good life !

petrina,
drink more water, all the parties and fiesta to look forward to, i also have a party this sat evening !

RE: craving
I love beef burgers nowadays, i've taken New York Cafe burger, Subway sandwich and Macs Big Mac :p

jul! i had double cheeseburger for 4pm tea break.. i so blur.. cause mcds nvr state ala-carte prices so i always buy hamburger @ $1.85. then i realised that cheeseburger is $1.95. then double cheeseburger is $2.00.
shld have bought dbl all the time.. extra 15cents niah..

and i'm drinking a cup of tea once a day, it can be teh-si, bubble tea or green tea. hmm, is anyone drinking tea/coffee nowadays ?

joeey: me! i muz drink pu er every day.. i use half a tea bag meaning i get the correct thickness then after that i'll keep adding hot water. so as i drink it gets diluted.. but i need a cup a day.

petrina

Oh you poor thing. I hate the aftertaste of puking. No matter how we brush, rinse, gargle, don't seem to have any effect to wash away the yucky taste.

joeey

Yeah lor. Those were the days! Went to Osaka, Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima & Kakunodate with ILs for the last trip before being tied down. Am so glad I went & so glad I ate the sashimi. Planned to bring my boy to Hokkaido before his 2nd bday but the quake happened. Boohoo!

I can't stomach the sushi & sashimi in Singapore, coz they're just so no standard compared to Japan lor

I drink up to 2 cups of tea a day. Sometimes it's Coke, chocolate, Milo etc. Think I exceed the 200mg caffeine per day limit *oops* But I did so for my #1, nothing happened. So I just drink lor hahaha

petrina

Alamak! I aws buy the double cheeseburger lor. the rest are like.. cannot even fill the corner of the tummy haha

Tea/coffee
i drink a cup of ice lemon tea per day. .but i let it cool down from fridge a little lo..
2 up shouldn't hurt as per feedback from my gynae.

Weight loss

do lots of breast feeding. Regardless of pumping out or latch on. I lost 13 kg in the confinment month when I hv my #2. I slim back to 40kg. my boy drink every 2 hrs.. me siong nia.. night time feed him with some formula milk also.

you know wat. I used to buy happy meal with cheese burger cos it is meald qty is small and do not out on much calories.. what more, got toy for my #1... hahaha..

Btw, any one start taking yr belly pic? i have a lot for #1 & #2 but gone when my HDD crashes...
haiz, hv to take all over again with the current one.

Petrina
What did u had for dinner? Maybe if u take soft food, vomitting might not be so straining to ur throat. I hope u do recover fr ur cough soon!

Felicia
Hubby will nvr allow me to eat lor. He's d protective kind of hubby n i think he is going to be d protective kind of father. Plus, I'll feel so guilty if somethg happened after consuming it. I've read that sashimi itself is safe but d handling n serving might cause some contamination.

Sel: i had usual rice, veg n chicken..

i am reading LiveWell mag now.. realised that i didn't consume folate till 6wks preg.. i scared my #2 have issues..

May

Nope, I didn't even take belly pics for #1 haha

petrina

Er.. 6 weeks preggie means actually only skip 4 weeks of folate. The first 2 weeks still got no baby. Don't worry so much lah. There are so many women who don't even know they're preggie till 3mths, also nothing wrong. I didn't take folic acid till 6 weeks also haha, coz I also didn't know I was preggie

Petrina
Don't worry! I started eating at 6 weeks too. I don't think it'll be an issue bcos some food that u had consumed has folate too. Plus, my mama told me she didn't eat any supplement when she was expecting. There's d 5 of us n we're all healthy. She n my father couldn't afford to go to d doc's. With one of her pregnancy she only started to see d doc in d 6th mth. With another pregnancy she only started in d 8th mth n got a gd scolding by d nurses n doc.

AWW.. the mag say until i so guilty!! i started folic for #1 ard 6wks too.. but he turned out perfect
so i was thinking it's ok lah.. then i not too diligent in eating pills. sometimes wkend nvr eat.. but gynae say folic muz eat till birth.. so wkday i try to alternate day eat dbl dosage to make up for wkend.. haha.. so stupid.

Likewise I didnt know I'm pregnant till 6 weeks and started to eat folic acid then. So it's alright....not to worry.

I noticed that most of you feel nauseous if hungry, but I'm weird cos i only feel nauseous after my meal. Why is that so??

petrina

Issit? My gynae says folic acid only for first tri leh *scartch head* That's what books say also.

Aiyoh pls don't eat double dose lah. If it gets flushed out in urine, at least it won't do any harm. What if it's gets stored in fat & in your baby's liver etc then how?

Anyway I think required dosage is something like 400mcg but the pill we have is 5000mcg. More than enough liao haha

anna

heehee maybe we feel nauseous coz the gastric juices start to come out. maybe you feel nauseous coz of indigestion?

folic acid
most of us start eating around 5th week onwards cuz before that dunno we are preggy, so Petrina i think you are perfectly fine, but just rem to eat daily lor till delivery..

Sel is right lor our mummies never eat supplements last time, but the big diff is, nowadays babies are way smarter lor, new born got hair and can open eyes immediately, some can lift up head and turn around even.. last time we blur blur gong gong eat and sleep only.. LOL..

i got a colleague, the wife only realized she's preggy when she's 5 months plus, started to see doc at 6 months only.. of course means started folic acid only after that.. then the new born was sent to ICU for a full day on the first day since he is not crying much like most other new borns.. I am not saying it is because his mummy started supplements late, but all my colleagues went for his full month celebration said the boy is very small (he didn't gain much weight after 1st month), and does not look smart and active like most babies we met.. so i think folic acid is really important as it helps the brain development i think..

I have following items for sale:

1. BRAND NEW Pigeon wipes with casing (multiple): $4.90
Usual: $7.90

2. BRAND NEW Tommee Tippee 0-3m Pacifier (x1): $4

3. BRAND NEW Pigeon Milk Bottles (x1): $13 each
Wide Neck, Peristaltic Nipple, BPA Free, 240ml

4. PRE-LOVED Organza Cloth for Maternity Shots: $8
White with Shimmer, 3M long, Used only once.

Collection at Sengkang MRT.
Pls email me at [email protected] for photos.

We need to engage baby very much straight after birth. We need to talk and keep them close, that is what I learned when I undergo my Dip in early childhood teaching and Masters of Education, specializing in early childhood.

I believe in after birth teaching to brighten the kids in 5 areas of development, esp in the area of cognitive. Most 1st month baby look gong gong one, for most of their time, they spend sleeping. but from month 2 and fro, get them to get engage you more. They will pick up.

Patience and ways to teach kids are impt

Folic acid
This is more for spinal development. Without it, the spine may not fuse properly. So no need to take until birth. My first one i started only after 5 weeks or 6, so it's not a problem. For this one, i think i started while trying, so maybe i started 2 or 3 weeks earlier.

For intelligence, take fish oil, but don't start now. I remember it is much later in the pregnancy.

Double dosage
Yeah, cannot take double dosage. Our liver cannot take it, and some may cause problem.

I had a feeling that i might have a boy for #1, but then the scans weren't conclusive, so i was hoping for a girl. Was a little disappointed when confirmed to be boy. In the end, after i gave birth and went to geomancer, he asked me why i kept thinking my son was a girl, based on his birth characters. So now, even though i hope to have a girl, so that can have both genders, i try not to think to much in case i project wrong energy to a baby whose gender is already determined at conception. My husband would prefer a boy as he has a brother and think boys are easier to look after.

Regarding old wives tales, my stomach was really pointed and it was a boy. Nowadays, with scanning, we can tell the gender before our tummies get that big for people to guess.

Re burgers
I only take macs fillet o fish without tartar sauce. Easiest to buy in the morning coz other stalls that are opened in my area only sell fried beehoon and other fried stuff which is a big nono for me at the moment.

Anna: i think feeling after a meal comes as the gastric juices are produced to digest the food, but our stomachs over produce them to the extent that we feel nauseaus.

May

How to see? Lunar age is calendar age plus 1? If conception is before my bday, I count the age before bday?

As for month of conception, I go by 八月初 something, although conception is in Sep right? is it? So it's Aug?

Oh ya this is confusing..... the month of conception is ang mo month or lunar month? cos i think i concieved in the 1st week of oct.

jul

if i rem correctly, lunar age doesn't go by birthday but go by year.. so for me say 1979 Nov right, i conceive in Sep which is before my birthday but this year i still turn 32, so Lunar age will be 32+1 = 33

And conceive month the same, look at chinese lunar calendar can liao, for most of us should be Lunar month Aug..

Jul,
month and age are all based on lunar calendar.
Age is lunar age ( calendar + 1 yr). So if you are born 30 this year, then yr age based is 31., regardless of BBday or not.
for month, for example, one's LMD sep11'11, then i should look at Aug.

Then if age 31, Aug, should be Gal !

haha this one hor, indeed not accurate for my #1, but accurate for a lot of my friends lah..

but i am hoping it's not accurate again, lol cuz supposed to be boy again according to it..

Looks like from 30-32 yrs v high chance of getting a girl. If the little one my tummy is a boi boi I will aim for a girl girl next round. hahaha

Based on this calendar I'll have a Boy. I also feel like I'll have a boy too. But someone else who predicts quite accurately says it's a girl. My family and ILs and hubby all want boy.

i hope it's accurate. cause #1 is accurate from this calendar. i'll have a girl this time

but my fren also 31 lunar age this yr having boy.
from this calendar those between 30-33 mostly having girls... so quite hard to say zun or not..

Me.. i have giddy spells too... drink more water. Remember that our bodies are changing to accomodate the little one. we will feel all these discomfort. But if it really bothers you, give a call to your gynae.

Yes. I am having serious giddy spells yesterday and serious sore throat. The whole house is spinning and I got to take MC. Today, the giddiness not so much but sore throat remains. Haiz.