(2012/06) Jun 2012

groovy

Apparently many Asians have an allergy to Palmers cocoa butter. I know 3 of my colleagues who are allergic. But if you have no probs, Palmers is cheaper for sure

asrias

Hi there

nattan

Don't massage your tummy when you're pregnant please! Can trigger 'contractions'.

Topicrem Spree

The nett price for Topicrem shd be ard S$32. The cheapest shipping is direct to me by the company (takes abt 5 working days to reach me)Will let you all know when I get my exchange rate by the credit card co. Hopefully it'll be cheaper than $32. This is cheaper than half price from my gynae's. Gosh! I shd have been a gynae lol

Let me know if anyone's interested? This is the one : http://www.leguidesante.com/topicrem-ultra-mlsion-ultra-hydratante-flpompe-500ml/products_6458.html

Interested in Topicrem 500ml :
1-3) Jul - 3 bottles
4) Nattan - 1 bottle
5) fuyutsuki - 1 bottle
6) Anna - 1 bottle
7) Angela - 1 bottle

Last time I eat fish oil forgot which brand, definitely a lot cheaper than the one from gynea. And it turns out my baby comes out with a very very beautiful hair! Hahaha.. Because the fish oil has Vitamin E inside too..

Maybe I'll consider buying this again. Huhu but I throw away the container already dunno which brand leh..

Last time I bought in pharmacy in Mt Alvernia Hospital. That time got 20% discount some more. A super good deal!

But I read the contents is indeed different from the one from gynea. Maybe that's why it's a lot cheaper. But that time there's a lady in Mt A who recommends the fish oil for me that's why I buy..

Chin, so nice to be a SAHM... I also wish I can be, but currently cannot do without my income... I also enjoy baking. Was going to bake cranberry bagels over the weekend but have been feeling so lazy and lethargic recently, I didn't even bother to cook lunch or dinner. Hope to build the habit of cooking more often instead of eating out.

Jul, don't worry... I just massage my hips and thighs only and gently rub a bit of leftover cream on the pelvic area.

Hello Asrias and baywater

nattan

Er.. I didn't really research the amount of dosage of DHA & EPA in cod liver oil vs fish oil. The DHA, EPA etc is needed for the baby's brain development, so I eat lor! My gynae's fish oil was HUGE & tasted gross!

Then I was so happy when I found this Nordic Naturals with strawberry flavour. You need to take 2, but it's small capsule, sorta like Panadol extra size?

This is the one I eat :

Original : http://www.luckyvitamin.com/p-5555-nordic-naturals-prenatal-dha-with-vitamin-d-500-mg-90-softgels

Strawberry : http://www.luckyvitamin.com/p-5643-nordic-naturals-dha-from-purified-fish-oil-strawberry-500-mg-90-softgels

it retailed for ard $58 in Singapore in 2009. I get it for like.. at least $10 cheaper online. My gynae's fish oil is even more ex. $60 for 30-day supply. This is 45-day supply.

I'm using mustela, recommendation from my friend, abit pricey but it smells really nice.

Btw, do any of the mummies get this stitch like pain at the side of the abdomen near the hip? The pain is not sharp and goes on and off even when I'm sitting down or lying on the bed. Started having this pain 2-3 days back, not sure if its normal.

Hi Asrias, yeah I get that sometimes.. it's actually a bit like menstrual cramp? I read that it's normal... the womb is expanding and so is the ammoniac sac, so no worries, unless you have severe pain or spotting.

Jul, I guess I'll eat the fish oil when my doc prescribes it... maybe I need to set an alarm to remind me to eat my supplements everyday.

BTW, must the folic acid be eaten 1hr before meals? I'm usually very hungry when I wake up, and just take the folic acid about 15min before my breakfast.. is that ok??

Fish Oil Spree - URGENT!

Quick quick! Just saw that iHerb has 10% discount on top of the already cheap prices. Shipping is US$12 direct to me, abt 6 days. <font color="0000ff">nett price approx $31 max</font>

Anyone wants? I have to cap at 12 bottles to make it within GST limits. For simplicity, I think I'll noly take in the pre-natal DHA, wither original / strawberry flavour. No time to wait coz the discount ends on Wednesday!

Original : http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Prenatal-DHA-90-Soft-Gels/22736?at=0

Strawberry : http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-500-mg-90-Softgels/7051?at=0

1 - 3) Jul - 2 strawberry, 1 original
5)

asrias

I also get that. Think it's called round ligament stretch or something? Sometimes, it's like cramps, sometimes like small electrocution feeling? If no spotting, severe pain, &amp; it goes away after resting a while, it shd be ok.

nattan

I'll eat when I git 12 weeks, which is next Friday. So I have no time to wait. And I dun wanna pay double for my gynae's not-nice fish oil lol

Oh btw, you stop folic acid at 2nd trim. Erm.. I eat my pills anytime I like, no fixed schedule.

Oh gosh! I'm so auntie

Hi Nattan, thanks. Not so much of menstrual cramp, more like stitch. So far no severe pain (cross my fingers) Ya i keep checking to make sure theres no spotting.

I tot folic acid is after meal? Hmmm, mine is supposed to be taken after meals. I guess as long as you do remember to take it, it should be fine whether before or after?

I think Hubs is really going to kill me. But then, the fish oil is 1/3 the price of my gynae's. How not to buy right? besides, I'm buying necessities. Not as if I'm being frivolous.

Ok, someone support my justification for spreeing k? Lol

Asrias, oh... cos the instruction on my folic acid says 1 hr before meal.. haha.. I guess anytime can also, as long as I remember to take it..

Jul, I also have iHerb account and since 2nd trimester is still 1mth away for me, I won't be ordering now but will keep in mind the Nordic Naturals brand..

Yo AsRias!

I do experienced such 'stretching' near the side my abdomen. But i guess its normal as long as NO SPOTTING/BLEEDING huhhh...
Me too, keeps checking my undies whenever i go to the loo to relieve. Stress sia. Argh!

Yaaaa folic acid ish to be taken AFTER MEALS eh. Once a day only. Mine instruction no say time frame.

nattan

No prob
Mine a bit urgent coz I'll hit 12 weeks in 1.5 weeks time. Then there's a 10% discount now till Wed. I am so cheapskate lol

Oh btw for iHErb, it's 12USD flat shipping for min 80USD purchase. Make sure you buy 80USD worth k?

Jul,
This is my first and I'm now at 8 weeks only. I'm only taking folic acid and calcium pill prescribed by Gynae. I was not told to take any other vitamins or fish oil. When do I need to take them?

Asrias,
I have the same problem as you and make me worried. So I went to see the gynae today and he told me it's normal. Just don't make big movement or turn your body suddenly. It will go away after awhile. Most importantly, no spotting which you will need to see yr gynae right away. Btw, my EDD is also 28th June. Heehee....

Jul, I probably will... just buy a few more bottles of DHA and supplements can reach $80 already.. hehehe.. I'm also keen to try out some of the eco-frenly detergents which would be safer for cleaning baby's laundry next time.

Thanks mummies, I feel better that I'm not alone. Pregnancy can really quite stressful.

Only at 8 weeks and already have problems fitting into my work skirts cos of the tummy, and I haven even been eating alot more. I tot can tahan till 12-13 weeks b4 i need to change my wardrobe, looks like I have to start now.

Hi Anna, actually I'm hoping the bb will come alittle sooner, so that it will fall on my bday =). But then I dun really want to induce, heard its more painful. Can only pray. If its still 28th, we can Jiayou together! haha.

Asrias, don't induce, but you can try to eat more pineapples and drink red raspberry leaf tea in later part of 3rd trimester.. I read these natural methods can help to speed up labour... You can also try to have sex (if doctor says it's safe) cos the semen actually has hormones that can also induce labour.

Anna

Take them when your gynae ask you to. But fish oil shd be a MUST, just like multivits. Others like iron pills is more individual.

If you want, you can stand by a bottle of the fish oil. But if not, you can also take the ones precsribed by gynae.

nattan

Oh I just used Pigeon baby detergent. I tried Tollyjoy - cheaper brand. Don't waste your time with this.

Fish Oil Spree - URGENT!

Quick quick! Just saw that iHerb has 10% discount on top of the already cheap prices. Shipping is US$12 direct to me, abt 6 days. nett price approx $31 max

Anyone wants? I have to cap at 12 bottles to make it within GST limits. For simplicity, I think I'll noly take in the pre-natal DHA, wither original / strawberry flavour. No time to wait coz the discount ends on Wednesday!

Original : http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Prenatal-DHA-90-Soft-Gels/22736?at=0

Strawberry : http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-500-mg-90-Softgels/7051?at=0

4 - 5) fuyutsuki - 2 original
6)

Nattan I want to go out work neh. Everyday stay at home very sian. Maybe after birth I will try looking for a job

I love Iherb! I always buy from them until I VIP Liao. What other vitamins can take? Now not taking anything as no advise from doc. I didn't take any multi vitamin even before preg.

Hi all! I'm new here.. Expecting #1... EDD on 26 Jun

Think i'm really lucky so far... no MS... just always feeling sleepy and tired.. Weekend naps are now my favourites! Hee...

I have my dating scan today, baby is only 1.63cm, my EDD is corrected as 1st July. A little bit disappointed as thought baby should be bigger...

Chin, true la stay at home everyday can be sian, but if your other kid is old enough, can go out mah... go to the library, shop for grocery, visit museum, etc.. can be quite fulfilling. Or pick up some hobby like scrapbooking, knitting.. or teach cooking/baking at home

I think you should only take vitamins that your doc advise you to take.. don't anyhow eat..

HI Charmaine... I also feel sleepy and tired often too... I love weekend naps too..
kao_sleep.gif

Hi Chloe, you should be in your 8th week too right? The baby will only be the size of a kidney bean approx. 1.6cm, so it's normal size...

Just now while I was preparing dinner, I suddenly felt very light-headed...
kao_dizzy.gif
Wonder if I was dehydrated or too hungry already...

Hi Chris, I just really wanted to eat meatball pasta and decides to cook it since I already bought the ingredients. Besides, I'm trying to eat out less often...it's not so healthy...

nattan: not really semen that induces. it's when we orgasm that creates contractions. our body produces endorphine / oxytocin

i did induction for #1. at 37.5weeks. cause gynae say i lost weight. baby might be in danger. but i didn't have contractions. i didn't feel anything throughout the 3day induction. then finally 4th day gynae say muz c-sec le. cannot wait anymore.
then my baby was born on 38th week exactly.

chin

Don't anyhow take vitamins without supervison. Normally, the standard would be to drop folic acid, &amp; take multivit &amp; fish oil from 2nd tri onwards. I can't recall the correct timing to start calcium coz I had some cramping issues so gynae prescribed me with calcium earlier than normal. perhaps the other mummies can advise. If you need anything extra, the gynae will prescribe to you.

Hello charmaine

Oh we have 2 charmaines here now

petrina

I don't know if I'm being paranoid. But I've not heard anything 'good' about inducing. Seems like most of the time, the labour is very long, the cervix normally doesn't dilate enough, &amp; it usually ends in emergency C-sec or having to vacuum/forcep the baby out.

Perhaps it's bcoz it's not 'natural', as in forcing the baby to come out when it doesn't want to?

Anyway mine was very eager to come out. Presented itself exactly on 38 weeks. I was totally unprepared! Really had depression during my confinement days. Hiaz..

Fish Oil Spree - URGENT!

Quick quick! Just saw that iHerb has 10% discount on top of the already cheap prices. Shipping is US$12 direct to me, abt 6 days. <font color="ff0000">Just saw that there's an additional 8% discount, so nett price is now ard $28+ max</font>

4 - 5) fuyutsuki - 2 original
6)
7)

Nattan I also hope to have my kind of lifestyle that I want after birth. Not only kid kid kid only. Now enjoying going to my cooking class first. When bb pop out most probably I won't want to leave her alone. :p

Jul> ok noted on the supplement. Will be more careful.

I was still thinking of going to dye and rebond my hair. I got plenty of white hair popping out. Damn sad. Then CNY how?!!!

jul: yes. induction is not good. baby not due better dun force. tat was 1 of the reason y i was angry with gynae. but he c-sec me and said cord was indeed around my #1's neck. so he was glad he made that decision.
since i can't see beyond my tummy, i can't tell if he was telling the truth. but my hb didn't seem to bother. he said as long as both of us r fine, it doesn't matter if we took him out earlier. so this time i told gynae i muz natural. so i will do whatever it takes to go natural including bd-ing till i hit contractions. haha

petrina

Your gynae doesn't have any issues with VBAC then? My friend had to have an emergnecy C-sec coz her cervix didn't dilate for her #1. The 2nd time round, she was so determined to have VBAC, but her cervix still didn't dilate. Ended up emergency C-sec again.

But her gynae was very supportive. She really let my friend wait till the last moment before giving up. Hope your gynae is as supportive &amp; is aware of your determination too. Good luck!

for my case, I dilated to 4cm before induce, Doc insisted to induce due to my placenta was aging and my amnionic fluid was reducing, therefore she didn't want to wait. mine is dripping not inserting tablet. I have no reaction during the first hour, so the nurse increased the flow. Then in 1 hour time, i dilated from 5cm to 10cm, can you imagine how painful it was to force it to dilate 5 cm in an hour time. After fully dilated to 10cm i can't deliver yet.I have my epidural when i was dilated 9cm+. Then need to wait for another 3 hours, my gal only willing to come out. I hope this round I can purely on natural.

loshita: at least u got to deliver... sigh.. though i was induced by pill for 72hrs, my cervix refused to dilate. stuck at 1cm. so a fren said that i was definitely not ready for labour..

jul: yes. gynae is supportive. tats y induce 72hrs. until cannot liao. gynae say already 3pills inserted. cannot insert somemore. so afternoon c-sec. not emergency. cause i totally no feeling. he said he will try vbac for me since i wasn't the type tat push can't come out for #1.
no complications. so he allow vbac for #2.

Hi fuyutsuki, it's generally considered safe to treat your hair and scalp (even colour/rebond) after the 1st trimester. You can ask for vegetable-based colouring and organic-type scalp treatments if you wanna be extra safe. I'm planning to colour my hair again next month (in 2nd trimester) for CNY in Jan

Hi Chin, wish I can be with my baby when he/she comes but for now, I still need to work. Fortunately my hubby's time is more flexible, so I guess the baby will have lots more time to bond with daddy.

loshita, petrina

Actually I'm quite confused. If induce, can epidural still be used?

Jen Tang

I replied you

Re Dye hair: many of my relatives n friends dye hair during pregnancy. either 2 or 3rd tri. their baby's hair will end up similar to the end product

so i have a lot of "ang mo" nephews n nieces

jul: epidural can be used whenever u want. but i only chose to use when it was time for c-sec. so my hb can cut cord n film baby's birth. otherwise i'll opt out of any painkillers.

petrina

Oic. I definitely need the epidural. I'm hopeless with pain. I think I may not have survived my boy's birth without epi. I had tears pouring down my face, was sobbing, trembling etc with pain. I couldn't even walk, had to be wheeled into the delivery room. I think the nurses were all quite amused by me *blush*

Morning everyone!I am new here and am expecting my #1. EDD 24 June. I am currently in my 9w.
Am super excited!!
Currently everything is fine, no MS, heard the heartbeat at 7wks. Just feeling extremely tired after work.
Would like to know more about what i should and should not eat?
Thus far i have been eating loads of fruits,vegetables,soy milk and warm water.
Look forward to all your advices.

Hi Adeline, welcome
Food-wise, just steer clear of raw foods and some veges like bittergourd and you'll be fine. You can go to Babycenter.com.sg for more info on what to/not to eat..

Petrina, hahaha... nowadays even kids dye their hair to be like mummy/daddy... just think of giving them a "head"-start.. hehe

Hi Adeline,

Congrats =) Good that you are soo disciplined in your diet. I can't resist unhealthy snacks =( Been craving for chips, macdonalds, fried chicken. I think my baby's food preference seems to follow daddy.