(2012/06) Jun 2012

re confinement lady: If there is really nobody to help you at all, its better to hire a CL and to get recommendation from your friends or colleague instead of going thru the agency.

My CL charges early this year is 2K but she mentioned she will increase to 2.2K for the next assignment. Hopefully she wouldnt increase anymore :0

Oh, just spotted a mistake in my post. I meant my #1 is turning 3 this Nov. Keep thinking it's still October. Haha.

Thanks Loshita, was just telling my hubby I'm looking forward to dropping all 3 at the same primary school in future. Haha.

Hi Tinggi, that's also one of my concern cos my body hasn't been good for my 1st two pregnancies, both my babies came out less than 3kg. Also, I do realise after breast-feeding, my whole body feels dehydrated, hands and lips feel very dry.

It's like a struggle because I'll like to know that breast-feeding is okie, yet it's also a gamble, not sure if there really is any effects. Guess I'll try to wean my girl off asap ba..

Just got back from my holiday trip in gold coast. Was do tired after touch down and couldn't even open my eyes for the 1st day of tour because of no sleep in the aeroplane. Rest of the days were yawning away lol. But luckily it's a relaxing trip at the beach..
Funny thing is over there my nausea is gone but after returning from the airport I got nausea all over again.

Saw the Gynae and got a check up .. Bb is now 7wks + ... Going for oscars next mth

Wow! So many of u here are experienced mums already. So must share more with the first time expectings

It's nice to see this post. It's my 7th week now. Gonna for my 8th week check-up next week. MS since 6th week though no vomit, but feeling nauseous throughout the day n nite. Hardly have any appetite...hate all food smell...can only eat light or sour food. Forever feeling bloated especially food is in. May I know when is the actual week that the bb is stable and can make announcement? Only my families and bosses know about my pregnancy.

Coco: I'm sorry to hear about your loss. Please take good care of yourself and have a speedy recovery.

Anna> Most people will announce after the 1st trim because during the 1st trim that's when the baby is considered the least stable.

I'm quite lucky don't have to spend so much on hiring CL as my mum will be helping me out. She's quite experienced as she worked as a nanny for a couple of years when I was in Pri Sch. So I know I'm in good hands

I suppose travelling o'seas should be fine as long as you clear with your gynea. I cleared with mine too as my hubby and I have already planned for a short trip to HKG with my parents way before I knew I was preggy. I just hope that the MS don't haunt me throughout the whole trip.

So happy to see that so many are expecting their #2 or #3 and its also very encouraging.

Would like to ask if its normal for our body temp to surge during pregnancy? Been feeling feverish lately but it comes and go and I don't dare to take any paracetamol.

Re : Confinement Lady

I really regretted not getting a CL for my #1. My MIL did the cooking & laundry etc. Her cooking was pretty good. But I camped at her place during confinement, & it wasn't as comfy as back home. The bed springs dug into my back, the flat was really hot coz they were in the afternoon sun, etc.

Plus I had to bathe my baby bending over the tub perched on the toilet bowl, change him myself by bending over the low bed... gave me bad backaches. It was inconvenient not having access to the MBR bathroom - the other toilet was in the kitchen. #1 was a challenging baby too - had issues with breastfeeding, day-night reverse, reflux etc. I had to take care of him at night coz MIL said that Hubs had to work, while I could rest at home in the day etc etc. All these extras that can be handled by a CL - But cannot expect MIL to do. I had pretty bad postnatal blues then. Guess it didn't really develop into full-blown depresion, but I was crying every time I had to feed #1, crying when Hubs left for work, crying when I see him in the evening, crying in the middle of the night coz I was so tired. I wasn't suicidal yet, but I did feel like throwing #1 away for a few times!

For my #2, I will definitely stay home & get a CL.

Just sharing my 'hard earned' experience. For those whose mums can help out, or if you've already had good experience with MIL, by all means save the few thousand dollars. That can buy a lot of diapers & FM! But for me, I definitely have to hire a CL. No choice!

venitia do take care! I juz recovered from fever too... think flu bug going around. Gynae says its ok to take the plain panadol. Not the Flu max or extra strong type. But I also tried not to take, juz drink lots of water & take vitamins.

But better to see GP if u feel unwell. Then tell ur gynae wat medicine u r given to confirm if it's safe for you to take.

I've never got a CL for #1 nor #2. I am still in dilemma to get a CL or not cos MIL not going to be here most time. I am most worried about infant care when I get back to work. #1 and #2 now in Primary and mil said she is too old to help out. Any suggestion?

Any one got a fetal doppler.. Was thinking of getting one to use at home. is it safe? I had a miscarriage in jun'11 ( 14 wks then and heartbeat stopped). So wanted this to soothe myself.. hehehe..

Envy those can go holiday! My hubby say no risk allowed. So no holidays till baby stable!! Best is no trips.. Lol!

Wow, I didn't know CL so pop. Think I will start looking for one.. Also start looking for a maid. Cox both my mum n mil very busy. Sure no time for me. Lol.

Actually I read quite a number of miscarriage - baby heartbeat stop at week 8 or 9. Why is it so?..make me kan cheong only! My gynae only will see me in my 12 week since my last appt at 7th week plus. Does any mummies encounter this as well? Like so long the wait....

mine was at 14 weeks..heart stop, seen the gyane a~4 days before and feel real unwell with real bad breathe, doc said baby " bu hao Le".. my heart sank and she said died 2 ~ 3days back. Got plaecenta for test but no results of why fetus died. So sad..

Now, I am looking for fetal dopppler.. heard angelsound was good but i look through website and quite skeptical about them. Do you know if Robinson or anywhere else sell?

merydith: nice to know u had a nice trip to Oz.

Anna: eat whatever you can.. i had horrible merlion everyday every meal from 4wks - 7wks. i'm feeling btr already as i can control the nauseating feeling now.

jul: poor gal... for me i moved a small tall sq table into my room. then i bathed my boy in my room. so i can put him on my bed and dry him and change him after bath easily. i am living with my mil. so our house very old.. only have 1 toilet n 1 bathroom. the really mini type. so no space for bathtub either.
perhaps i was lucky since no space so i moved everything to my bedroom.
it muz have been very back breaking to bath your baby bending over all the time...
hugz!!

Venetia: wah. i suggest u read up well on baby handling so that old school thoughts n new school thoughts don't clash.. eh, i had an offer for Ryan that time. but i'm glad i did it all by myself.

May: thanks for sharing! Appreciate it lots. Great ur little one is back for u again, it's ready!!
now I don't know if I should see my gynae or wait till 12 weeks. I kan cheong.. Lol.

You make me wanna buy the fetal Doppler also!!! Hehe, I will go do a research also. Don't know Robinson got sell a not. But sale is coming up, they just mail me a toy voucher, toys on sale.

May

I had a m/c with a d&c in Apr/May this yr too. In fact, I had a biochemical pregnancy in 2008 before I had my #1. I can say I'm 'full of experience' haha.

Oh you poor thing *hugs* And we always thought the safe period is after 1st tri.

For CL, er.. guess you need to know if you can handle it yourself? I know I sure can't.

cleopatra

I'm not allowed to fly, exercise, carry anything beyond 5kg, have sex etc till 1st tri is over. I was on Duphaston twice a day too, & I just staretd taking only once a day now. Gynae's rules coz of my history *sigh*

I think week 8 or 9 is the critical period. If the pregnancy is not viable, that's when it starts to be rejected by the body.

petrina

Yup, it was really bad. The worse was the almost-depression. I could have killed my #1 & myself.

I think this is very personal too. It depends on the baby's characteristics. I know friends whose babes are so angelic! Eat & sleep. Sleep through by 6 weeks. No problems with BF-ing. No day-night reverse. I'm praying very hard that my #2 will be good, to make up for my suffering for #1 lol

Jul: wow u really full of experience.. But nice that no2 is on the way!
ya I always thought first trimester over means stable.. May case wasn't. Think we all still have to extra careful.
jia you!!

My dr also say so.. End up my fil still help me take my handbag cox quite heavy. I taking utrogestan. Is there a diff? No jabs though. I can't wait for first trimester to be over at least.. Hehe!

Yes! It's all depends on baby.
All those breastfeeding videos sometimes are LIES!
They give a video saying it's natural thing baby will crawl towards mummy's breast and start sucking!
And it's maybe only 1 in million babies..

I didn't know about baby that don't know how to latch too before my baby is born! I get very depressed about that!!
Some more everyone start questioning did I have milk or not! Until one day I pump out and show them HERE! 50 ml of milk from 1 BREAST! (which is a lot for newborn)
Then they stop.

Everytime the Lactation Consultant come to my room she always said "Mummy has lots of milk but why you don't want to latch baby.."

I'm also quite lucky my supply didn't drop on the time my baby cannot latch..

That time feels really really depressed then finally luckily I asked my friend. Actually she said her baby also same problem, doesn't know how to latch from the first days.. So I know, all those breastfeeding videos sometimes are not true.

Also afterwards my mum said wa lau your baby didn't get to drink your colostrum then because she didn't want to latch in first week. I get depressed for that too.. You know what!! Actually the colostrum never gone leh!! After 1st week it's the transitional milk that contains colostrum as well! How come your colostrum can be gone like that hehehe..

Next time if your baby cannot latch, don't give up easily..

Mine is at first time seen lactation consultant after I was discharged from hospital, baby can latch from 1 breast only. Becoz the other breast has shorter nipple. So I pump out milk from the other breast if baby doesn't want to latch. After that see her the other time then can latch both side.

The best Lactation Consultant I think is in Mt Alvernia, Sister Kang. My LC at first is Wang Yan, she didn't succeed in latching my baby. In the end she called Sister Kang and finally successful in that! (Why didn't they do that during my stay in hospital. huhuhuhu)

Btw, also, remember you need to work hard for supply. Need to make your baby latch often to get more and more supply

Cleopatra

Think duphaston or ugest-whatever are just different forms of the progesterone hormone thingy to help support our pregnancies.

I had jabs for #0, #1, n #1.5 too. All spotting. Only managed to save #1. Trying very hard to be careful for this one. Really can't go through all these again. I told my gynae that i don't need a c-sec to add to my experience, thanks very much!

Groovy

Sigh i'm one of those not blessed with milk supply. My son latched perfectly but he was very very impatient and greedy. He's latch, suck a while, throw his head back and arch his back into a C shape and scream. Every feeding was a nightmare.

It didn't help that my supply wasn't great. I even went to TMC parentcraft 5 times for help! Ate doperidone, fenugreek, drank papaya soup, ... All couldn't keep up with him. I finally gave up latching and exclusively pumped from 8 wks to 1 yr old. My last symbolic pump was on his bday lol. Nothing left by then actually.

I can't do this again if #2 repeats the cycle. I think i'll just give up n feed FM. I'm getting too old for this lol

I heard that Mt A Lactation consultant is better than TMC. But not too sure though..

My baby case she really doesn't know how to latch.. Put breast inside her mouth but she cries instead of sucking.. That's what happens when she cries for milk.
When she's asleep is worst, put breast inside her mouth, no movement, can't wake her up. If wake up, sure cry then doesn't suck since angry..

In the end I know the guidelines must feed every 2 hours can't be fulfilled lah.. Need the baby to be awake, but not crying, maybe when peeing/ pooing, that's the good time to latch them. Otherwise difficult.

But my breastfeeding (latching) career ends when I start work! Suddenly she doesn't want to latch anymore. I realize might be becoz I straight away use Pigeon bottle size M..

But she actually in the end also hates bottle, need to be half asleep before feeding her.. A very fussy baby..

When I start work in the end I pump 4 times a day and that's it.. Luckily still enough for her, until 1 year old I only open 2-3 small cans of Similac and those cans are only used 1/3 only each. Becoz can't keep for long, and I only use them when supply decreases during menstruation. hehe..

The saddest thing is I throw all my Frozen EBM that I accumulated since maternity leave. It's actually occupying half of my whole freezer! Huhuhu.. Becoz people keep saying fresh one is better, so I always give the fresh one. In the end supply is not enough anymore but that time my excess frozen EBM all has expired already (more than 3-4 months in fridge). Huhuhu..

Now I realize everytime actually better to give 1 frozen EBM a day in order to always keep the new frozen one for later use..

So many are talking about their breastfeeding experiences. I've conveniently forgotten about the terrible times of my first pregnancy and taking care of my son. That's why I want to have the second one now, and just realized that I am very miserable about being constantly hungry with no idea what to eat.

I had breastfeed for 13 months until my son looked at me after sucking fir a while, then rolled away from me and didn't want anymore. So I stopped after 2 days. Supply had been low and he had been drinking fm since birth anyway. Usually it's pump and drink almost immediately coz I didn't have extra.

Groovy

I envy your good supply! I had to pump 3.5 hours a day to maintain enough. Drop one pump - supply immed drop. I'm classic small boobs, small milk lol

Glass

Oh your son self- weaned. Actually i'm quite sad that my son didn't want to latch. So inconvenient going out. Gotta bring chilled EBM n a metal container to warm the milk. And couldn't go out for long coz it'd be time to pump soon. I never went anywhere for the first 6 mths coz there was never enough time to go out then rush back to pump. Super tough!

Hi all MTBs,

I am 7 weeks+ pregnant
am a first-time mummy so feeling excited and anxious. hope to get lots of tips here from those experienced mummies

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/testsandcare/dopplersafeexpert/

http://www.bellybeats.com/product_info.php?cPath=1&products_id=1079

http://www.mummysg.com/forums/f32/want-sell-fetal-doppler-76422/

http://www.expatsingapore.com/forum/index.php?topic=29603.0

may, some said it's pretty useless. Can get from motherworks. This lady selling 2nd hand. Hope the link helps! 2nd dec so long...by den which week are u in Liao? I also can't wait for dec-13weeks! Counting down...

I read up about baby plus, prenatal education system. Any mummies buy before?
it's so expensive! Lol!

Welcome fuyutsuki01!

Selling Capella S230 premium cony stroller @ $250.
* Used less than 10 times. Bought this year!

-

Selling Avent electronic/manual single breastpump @ $190
100% Brand new in packaging!
Comes with Free breast shield!

Prices can be negociated!
Sms @ 98899784

jul_04.. Huhu I also envy those babies that want to latch.. I actually last time at first always pump before we go out and bring the EBM (can last 4 hours)
Then when she's almost 3 mths old, I go for Christmas shopping with her almost the whole day and find out it's so much easier just to latch her..

But then, after that, she started to not wanting to latch anymore.. I don't know what happens.. She only want to latch when in half asleep state..

Then at 4 months she really stopped latching. Half asleep also cannot latch anymore. huhuhu...

In the end I didn't really enjoy the convenience of latching when going out.

Hopefully next baby will want to latch longer..

Last time I really drink lots of soup to make lots of supply.. And always drink milk too.. Just some tips.. And don't let yourself so stressed out.

But I guess supply is really established when you exclusively breastfeed because they will suck maybe every 2 hours, even though only suck a while..

Sunny Girl : im going korea tomorrow le for 8days.. for 8days.. will need to miss out alot of event.. just be extra careful..

was reading about CL and is scaring me!

see ya all next week.

Groovy, Thanks for sharing your BF experiences. Think must really be mentally prepared for it.

Fuyutsuki, Congrats & welcome here!

Mihoger, Enjoy your hol! Take it easy. Rest when u feel tired.

I find my energy levels very low nowadays. Just a short lunch outing & window shop for abt 1 hr, start to feel tired already. Once I reach home, I can nap.

Been having headaches recently & occasionally wake up feeling hand go numb. Wonder why? Anyone with the same probs?

back from my HKG trip. so tiring. and hor strangly my MS oso go away on holiday. but when i touch down in sin, it seem to be coming back but not as bad as perviously.

i got this watery and not smelly discharge for 2 times in a week le. dunno if it's ok anot. maybe i will email my gynae abt it.

I just came back from my first gynae checkup! Can hear a steady heartbeat of my baby. Glad that everything is ok

Last Friday after talking after CL I quickly called the auntie that my Fren recommend. Lucky she is available. Now just hope that everything will just fall in place by itself.

About breast pump, do we get it before giving birth or after? What happen if after birth no milk then how?

Are u mummies getting any music for the baby to listen?

Cleo, 2 Dec is 11 weeks.yah, seems so long. the links was useful but maybe have to discuss with my gynae to tihnk to have one or not. I've been having lower abd pain on my two sides .. sort of tinkling type and goes on and off esp when I laze around, hahaha. Not sure of this is normal or it is just round ligament pain? never had those whwn I hv #1 nor #2 though.

Red Tea: I also hv this numbness of my fingers as well esp i left it there without doing much stuff like in a car ride, nap, or jus lie there to watch tv.

Chin : I get my pump lst time after birth. My son then very impatient to latch and suck. so I have to pump out. I use the pump for more than 4 yrs
. My daughter can't, I hv a C-section and i did not let her hv my BM, then BM stop after days.. so never got a chance to hv pump my son. I got a NUK. good to use and it is lasting.

I am thinking whether to get a CL.my hubby said no need coz we have a maid to take care of bb and he said get catering for confinement meals. I want max rest and min stress during confinement. Any advice from experienced mums here?

Red tea,
Same as me hehe went holiday and MS was gone. Was quite worried. When touch down at airport straight away MS. I think our body in holiday mode do MS also went on holiday

Any of u feel like suddenly v cold? I don't know why I kept feeling cold but not having fever leh

merydith: i also very cold. slp cannot use fan. then ofc muz wear jacket. usually i wear skirt, now wear pants.

Chin: if you're not bothered abt prices then get after birth. if u r then u'll probably need to search for motherhood fair in mar next yr to catch good bargains.

Mihoger: enjoy your trip!

welcome fuyutsuki: as some of us have discussed earlier, it depends on whether u need an extra help or not. a CL is a stranger no matter what. if she does not do things according to your wishes, will u get mad? do u want to totally hands-free from your baby?
A maid will help with chores n if necessary cooking. but baby unless u wish to handle yourself, you will definitely need help.
Do you intend to bf? can u be sure ur CL is bf friendly? eg - try to persuade u to use FM so u can rest better etc..
Do you intend to let baby slp in same room as you? if so, what do CL do in the night? If not, do you wish to pump and let CL feed or ask CL bring baby to you every 2hrs or so to latch?

Ladies - my next appt is 11wks. but my gynae haven't arranged the Oscar test.. shld i be worried?

Petrina, thks for the advice
i have 2 maids at home currently so 1 will be doing chores while the other will be solely taking care of bb.most likely will not get a cl, coz hubby said mil can take leave to help out. Hope everything go smoothly and stress free.

Petrina, I've booked my OSCAR scan for wk 12 when I went for my 1st hb scan in week 7. went for the blood test when I went for my 10th wk scan. Cos blood test need processing time, so results will be ready straight after the detailed scanning in wk 12. Maybe u're young, so gynea din recommend?

My gynae recommends oscar scan for all regardless of age, maybe he just wants to play safe. I requested for this scan myself, so Petrina, if u r worried, can request for it too.

Ya i also heard preggy should feel hot. Last preg now I remember I also feel cold.. Maybe our body is very Yin?

Tmr gg back to work after long vacation. So sian dunno how to fight off the sleepiness. Been taking naps at home so frequently.

Looking forward for all of us to enter 2nd trimester soon!

Thanks May and PetrIns for the advise!

How is Oscar test being done? Is it just scan or have to poke a needle through the tummy?

Hello... I just went for my first doctor's appointment today and found out that I'm in my 7th week, going on 8th
EDD is 27 June 2012. Currently, I have no morning sickness but slight nausea which gets worse if I'm hungry. I need to eat every 3hrs or so :p Worried I'll put on too much weight... Also I feel tired easily...

The doctor said I can consider doing a nuchal fold test... anybody here done it before? Any idea how much it'll cost and how it's done?

Anyway, all the best to all mummies-to-be here

If you are looking for Maternity Clothes, you can look thru FB - Little Collections ([email protected])

THey changed their Pre-Order due date to this coming wed, so if u gals are still interested in ordering muz be fast.. =D

Breastpump you'll need to get before birth if you want to find best price and doesn't want to leave your hubby in buying one.. Unless if you want to do online shopping..
I have both Avent and Ameda pump. Dual pump is best if you really want to totally give EBM because dual pump stimulate if one breast is being pumped, the other one sometimes also can leak.
I like my Ameda pump because it's dual pump, price is more managable than Medela, and it won't grow fungus as the tube is sealed. I heard from my friend her Medela pump's tube grow fungus because milk goes inside the tube..

Avent pump I found not really good quality (not very reliable) because in less than 8 mths I've gone twice for servicing.
The problem is milk keeps getting inside the pump and I think it causes problem as the pump is a machine, not supposed to be wet