(2012/06) Jun 2012

Petrina : I agree with you. I'm relying on my hubby for all expenses too and some times, I wish I was more financially independent. Especially when we get caught in heated arguements, this issue comes up occasionally. Horrible words like,"I'm the one providing for the family ok!" tend to be heard.

My friends are working and climbing the career ladder pretty steadily.. looking at them, at times, I do admire that they have their own spending/earning power.. but like what most ppl always tell me, sacrifice for our kids first, the harvest we reap is monetary-non-exchangable.

Just when I thought i'll stop at #2 first and go back to work, #3 came along.. really resign to fate... haa.

Hi Jen, congrats! Our EDD also very close.. mine's 28th June 2011.

Am in China now, just ordered supper...Dunno why this pregnancy's making me eat like a glutton. Everytime I feel the urge to puke or a lump stuck at my throat, the only way to curb it is to eat something. hurhur.

Anyways, take good care mummies. may our pregnancies be a smooth and uneventful one. ;)

Fiona: u're good! haha.. whenever i have the urge to puke, i'll need to puke otherwise i can't sit still or slp. even burping i need to go toilet.. cause i'll burp up white foam. lol

now u're having #3 so great! i guess if the hb can earn, and the wife can be stingy, everything will be fine. but most of the time we female can't seem to control ourselves hurhur.. afterall, we weren't housewives from the beginning.. after tasting earning power, it's hard to just drop all spending abilities instantly.

Congrats Jen! I think we can have a gathering after everyone passes 1st trimester. to be safe

Hi Jen, you have the same EDD as me
How's it going so far? I'm trying to get back to my fitness routine. Have signed up for yoga and will be going for my first lesson today... hopefully everything goes well. I need to eat every few hrs so kind of scared I'll put on too much weight if I don't exercise a bit. :p

Hi Fiona, I'm also super hungry at this stage.. always thinking about what to eat next.. hahaha.. But I try not to eat too late at night in case of indigestion. I usually eat cereal or fruits if I'm hungry at night.

For all working mummies...how soon did you all inform your bosses about your pregnancy? My boss is currently pregnant also and I think I'll be going on maternity right after she returns to work next yr... I don't know when is the best time to break the news to her. Any suggestions? Should I wait till the 13th week? Or should I inform her immediately?? :-/

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Food to avoid</u> - continue from previous post

4th month
1) 不可滥用补品补药 (do not abuse tonic)
2) 4 types of fish - Shark, 鲭鱼, 旗鱼 &amp; 马头鱼 - contains 汞 (mercury), can harm baby's nervous system &amp; brain development.

5th month
1) Food that are too salty - affect Calcium absorption
2) Oily food - may combine with Calcium to become insoluble, affect Calcium absorption
3) Cold drinks - 多吃能使胃肠血管突然收缩,胃液分泌减少,消化功能降低,从而引起食欲不振,消化不良,腹泻,胃部痉挛,出现剧烈腹痛现象,而且还会刺激宝宝,使他在子宫內躁动不安,胎动会变得频繁。
4) 少食 spicy food - irritate stomach, increase intestinal movement, bloatedness, cause or aggravate 痣疮, constipation, or even baby's health development

6th month
1) Spicy food, coffee, concentrated tea, alcohol, etc. that excite nervous system, overly salty food to reduce kidney load or cause hypertension
2) Some fish but avoid fish oil as fish oil may affect coagulation, excess may cause higher chance of bleeding (鱼油会影响凝血功能,吃多了可能会增加出血的几率)。</font>

Joanne - Yup. I'm in the 8 weeks already.

I already told my boss because if I am not feeling too well, he will allows me to work from home. This is the benefit of working in a smaller organization as compared to MNCs bah.

Moi, thanks for the trouble and for the informative post. Can I check with u something regarding ur previous post for the 1st 3 mths? Was it mentioned why cannot eat you tiao? What's the ingredient that's not so good? I like to have you tiao with soya milk :p

Hi Jen, that's nice of your boss to allow you to work from home. I prefer to work in the office if I can la.. got colleagues to lunch and chat with.. At home, I will feel very lethargic.. hehe..

Hi Petrina, I am also choosing names
Created an online spreadsheet so that when hubby and I think of nice names, we can add to it and share with each other.

Am 11weeks plus &amp; I had my Oscar Scan yesterday.
Doctor spotted WHITE LINES between the waterbag &amp; the womb. Was told that it could be blood clots or the waterbag isn't big enough to connect to the womb. Said eventually by Wk 13-14 or even Wk 16, when the waterbag gets bigger, it will be joined to the womb, meaning the white lines will be gone.

Does any of you encounter such thingy b4? Am alittle worried here. ):

Hi Angela: most of us haven't gone for the test yet.
perhaps u want to ask the May MTBS? they probably already passed that stage.

nattan: i have this family tradition of following parent's initials.. so i'm stuck at names now. i'm liking those not related to our initials. aww... how?
I like how Chloe sounds. or perhaps Dawn.. but it will break the tradition. super headache..

Petrina, if you must stick to the parent's initials then how about giving a middle name with a different initial? Personally I prefer not to stick to the same initials..

Do you have any difficulties to get back to sleep after waking up in the middle of the nite to pee. I have not been drinking much water cos of nauseous but every nite arnd 3-4 am will still wake up to pee. Have you encounter the same problem?

Moi,

I'm surprised that low fat milk is not encouraged. My gynae told me is ok. Plus 酸性食物 is a must for me cos been feeling nauseous. Is it really harmful to drink n eat those?

nattan: my hb is R i m P. my #1 is boy so it was easy to get R. but i checked n realised that there was no more nice R that ain't a repeat of my friends' kid's names.. haha
i dun wanna go out with them and call while both kids turn their heads in weirdness.

if i break the tradition, the kid might feel left out in future? cause #1 is same as daddy. maybe it's not a big deal.. hmm

Thanks Petrina! ^^

BUt if any of U encounter such thingy let me noe Kk! Heh!

By the way, anyone stays CCK? Gynae Dr Adrian?

I stays at CCK, initially I wanted to visit Dr Adrian too but since I have this spotting since week 6 so I go to KKH and will follow there. It is much nearer to visit Dr Adrian!

Petrina,

You are right, I was SAHM from pregnancy till my gal turn 18 months. You know that you are sacrifying for the child. However the feeling of being a dependent really not good. Though my hb never said any nasty word before and every month will bank in my pocket money on time. But the feeling of being dependent really make self esteem lower and feel less secure being not able to have own income.

Do not know what is the plan for no.2 yet. I really hope that I do not have to quit my job but if there is no choice, I guess I have to do so.

Hi Chloe, when my mil suddenly couldn't look after my girl anymore, we had to urgently look for an infant care centre, so we didn't have much choice in selection, cuz a lot of infant cares were already fully booked. (parents normally register months in advance to secure a vacancy for the baby.)

We managed to find one near my hb's workplace, went to visit the centre, found it quite okay, then just registered my girl there.

Price-wise, my girl's infant care is mid-range. About $600 monthly after working mum subsidy. I've heard of better centres, but they can cost up to abt $900 after subsidy.

The best is to arrange to visit some of the infant care centres at your area, then see how comfortable you are with the environment and the teachers there. Normally we look at the teacher-baby ratio, hygiene of the place (eg. do teachers wash the toys after a kid bites it?), the cleanliness, whether the food is catered or cooked in-house, and the security system (whether if the centre's entrance is locked at all times unless someone rings the bell). Some infant care centres may be under an organisation eg. Learning Vision, My First Skool, Montessori, etc, but different branches have different standards, so ultimately it's best to visit first (maybe with your bb so that you can observe how bb will react to the place), then see how comfortable you are.

today for the first time i felt alittle fluttering in my lower abdomen..

might be blood flowing though... hehe
it's been going on occasionally for the whole day.

Hey Chloe, so do you still haF the spotting? How come got spotting all go KKH? Hmmm...

Today 1 of my colleagues said, her FRIEND, who was afew weeks preggy, had heavy discharge 2days ago. Her gynae is Dr Adrian. He didn't even see her immediately but direct her to KKH instead. KKH gave her anatal-jab(安太 injection) &amp; tablets thats all. No hospitalization too. Of cos confirmed miscarriage. My colleague was furious with her FRIEND's gynae-in-charge. She feels that Dr Adrian shld at least pay a visit no matter what.

However i personally feel that Dr Adrian isn't an irresponsible person. But who noes rite? Hmm.....

angela: heavy discharge shld go hosp immediately.
but as to why no hospitalization it's up to individual doc-in-charge. if it's my gynae, he'll admit me and observe to play safe. but anyway kkh is well known for it's slip slop ways. unless u book gynae there, u can't expect good advice from them.
Dr Adrian should admit her immediately to her hosp of her birth choice and see her, instead of directing her to kkh and leaving her in hands of a stranger.

talking about gynea.. I'm still left with no gynea..
Haven't called other gynea yet. :$
Thinking to go in week 12 which is 2 weeks from now.

YaAa Groovy! Coming to 12wks yet u haven't haF a gynae in mind! Waaaa~~~ Where u stay? U prefer female or male? U don't haF any friends who can recommend uUu??

groovy: no gynae yet? keke.. steady lah u.. muz call for appt lor.. otherwise they can't see u at ur chosen timing n date.

HI Petrina, I think your "fluttering" is called quickening.. but it can be mistaken as something else since it's quite subtle before the 2nd trimester. That's great.. you can sense the baby's movement now!

As for naming your #2, if it's a girl, she could follow your initial instead?

when i was having no.1 at around week 7 oso have spotting, I also went to KKH ER. Doc on duty oso gave me some an tai medicine and I got the doc on duty to write me a letter that I am not fit for travelling, he was surprise, he has asked me was I asking for fit for travel or not fit for travel for few times. Cos the next day I was suppose to travel to Italy I just got the letter on standby and I didn't even notice hb. But when next day morning hb back from beijing, mil told him my condition, immediately he cancelled the trip, all money gone cos too last minute....

I feel that some gynaes they do not take extra effort and precaution to try to help to reduce the risk of MC, such as giving the correct advise &amp; medication.

Because most MC is kind of unavoidable, some gynae will only see you when your pregnancy is viable, and earn the package &amp; delivery fee.

But of cos there are some gynaes who will try their best to help keep the baby for u. Really appreciate these gynaes..

yah i agree. I went to pte gynae although costs is higher because the docs at KKH seem too busy to care. I dun feel that the doc is genuinely concern about my well-being.

Really appreciate my current gynae. When i had bleeding at week 6-7, we gave me injection, medicine, then took blood test. He even ask nurse to tell the lab it's urgent so I had the blood test results the same night at 9+pm.

He didn't let me leave the clinic until the bleeding stop.I lie down at the spare bed &amp; nurse check on me every 15 min. It's these little things that makes me feel reassured that i'm in good hands!

Angela: I still have spotting till today, it's like a very little each day, I visited KKH 2 times ald and they just gave me duphaston, however each time I came they did the u/s and saw the strong heartbeat so they told me not to too worry. I had spotting on Saturday afternoon so Dr Adrian is not at clinic, I called other clinic and they to me to go to KKH.
Yotsuba: Thank you for your detailed advice. We will visit the center after 12w test. I'm on Student pass so I don't have the subsidy, the price then should be around 1200-1500? So expensive!

Hi Angela,

I did my oscar scan today. Dr did not mention anything about white lines between womb &amp; waterbag.
Think u shld not worry too much if Dr does not find it's a problem. U can check with him further if u r still worried. As long as the test results is ok, shld not be an issue.

I have following BRAND NEW items for sale:

1. Pigeon wipes with casing (x8): $4.90
Usual: $7.90

2. Tommee Tippee 0-3m Pacifier (x1): $4

3. Pigeon Milk Bottles (x2): $13 each
Wide Neck, Peristaltic Nipple, BPA Free, 240ml

Collection at Sengkang MRT.
Pls email me at [email protected] for photos.

Huehehe.. I'm stranded with no gynea becoz my gynea said he'll be on holiday around my EDD and ask me to go to others lor..

Just called 1 other gynea, he said he's not planned for any holiday yet but not sure. Argh..

How how..

I'm quite afraid now leh.. I remember after giving birth to my #1 I once dream my gynea won't be able to come during my delivery, and in the end only the gynea in charge come last minute go and deliver baby and it's really like a nightmare for me. Becoz the gynea in charge is like stupid gynea like that. ARGHHHHH.... How come dream like that and now??? I thought luckily it's a dream after giving birth. Huhuhu.. But then now :S:S:S..

I can't underestimate my dream some more.. Last time when preggy with #1 I dream my #1 born in 29 Sep and in fact she's born in 28 Sep leh.. Only missed 1 day!!!

Hi mummies, 2 more days before I leave China, the place is super smokey and I totally hate it! Ppl here smoke like nobody's business!

Groovy, can try my Gynae from private suite KKH, Dr Tan Tiam Chye. I feel he's quite good and responsible.

Earlier this year, the next day after I delivered, he was supposed to go for reservist but he bothered to make a trip to KKH first (in his reservist uniform) to check on my condition before booking in. I got a shock when I saw my gynae in his green uniform. Hahaha.

And just to share, mummies who wanna buy breast-pump, if u've CDA accounts for your elder kids, can use the card to pay for anything at KKH's pharmacy, including breast-pumps.

Chloe, there's still non working mum subsidy tt u can try applying. Although it's half of working mum subsidy, at least still got subsidy.

Have been quite busy so didn't have time to check in.

Hello &amp; welcome to all the newcomers

Anyone's tummy started itching? Mine was itching with little red spots 2 weeks ago. Talk abt kiasu. My tummy's really big now. It looks like I'm 4 or 5 mths preggie
Anyway, I guess that's why my tummy was itching.

I got this cream from gynae &amp; have been applying it to the itchy parts. Works like a dream, as per the last round. No more itch &amp; red spots. I do wonder if that's why I don't have any stretch marks lol.

The thing is, the cream's rather expensive. Something like $33 from my gynae. Wondering if anyone would be interested to share order &amp; shipping from US or Europe? It's called Topicrem or something like that. I actually ordered 1 bottle during my last pregnancy. Even for 1 bottle, the cost including shipping was lightly cheaper than what I get from my gynae.

i've heard of topicream. i used it on my granddad when he's bedridden. it's very moisturizing.

Jul: itching cause ur tummy is stretching. don't scratch lah. then no marks. it will stretch normally.. if u stratch then the marks will come out very fast..
tat time my #1 i tahan till 7mths then scratch so badly.. end up ard 8mths i saw all the stupid marks starting to appear.. i tot can have no marks. but i just didn't bear 2 more mths. hehe

i also like my current gynae. though he keep selling me vits. as long as i didn't buy, i dun feel he's any worse than others. so i decided to stick to him eventually.

Hi Jul, is your tummy itching cos you're developing stretch marks? The cream you applied probably helped to alleviate the itching caused by the stretching. I'm interested to find out more about this Topicrem... where to get it in Singapore? Can only buy from the gynae?

I went for checkup yesterday. Gynae told me the baby was a bit small,it looks one week smaller, which is not good. Either the baby is jus slower in growth and will catch up later, or the baby will just become smaller and not growing. But the baby has a strong heartbeat, which is very good. Now, can only rest more and eat more n pray.
Haiz... Anybody having the same remark from dr?