(2012/06) Jun 2012

Chris

Don't think too far la. Your sons will grow up and have their own family one day. Rather than consider it as losing a son, you may gain a daughter u never had instead.

So glad the work day is over for me. Meeting an agent friend tonight to discuss some insurance stuffs. Wondering if we should start looking out for a plan for our child.

I had one bean curd tart (soya tart! Yums!) and one pork floss bun. Tea break. Lunch felt somewhat lacking.

Ssmilez: I'm only looking at hospitalization and medical plans for my baby. Still doubtful about savings or endowment.

Chris: we do our best as parents to love and nurture our children. One day they will leave the nest to start their careers and family. The only person who will stick by us is our significant other half. I base on this thinking to be more positive

Fleurfleur, what you said is true. I went for a parenting seminar and the speaker said the job of parents is to help our kids become independent and be ready for the world around them from the day they are born. In the end, children will marry and leave the family, and you'll be back to square one.. couplehood with your spouse. So actually your spouse should be the most important person in your life. Never let your children become the centre of your lives or else you'll feel very empty when they leave the nest.

Insurance
for my #1 i bought fully covered hospitalization plan from prudential. they r the only company with letter of guarantee for the hospital so upon discharge we need not pay anything. just go home from ward directly.
I also bought a life investment policy cheapest available $100 per mth.

so this baby since they have the prufirstgift, i'll get this and the hospitalization plan only.
the PFG is the same plan as #1. only difference #1 plan can only buy after 30days whereas #2 plan can buy now.

Chris: i told my hb i will be a bo chap MIL. haha
as long as the wife is good to him i heck care liao. worry so many years still not enough meh.. let the wife worry. haha
most impt i don't wanna stay with them. this thing i put in first place liao. i want my own privacy. even if i m all alone at old age i also dun want to stay with them. too much restrictions.
"ji ren li xia".
like what i m doing now.

but my daughter will be different. LOL
i'll scrutinize the man till he headache! then check his background make sure my girl dun fall into the same trap as me. :p
best is no PIL type.. haha

Petrina.

Haha u double standards ah between boys and girls. :D girls need more tender loving care issit? Plus more to lose as compare to boys.

When I went for Engaged Encounters long time back before we got married, I rem the presenters telling us - men! Your first and most impt person in yr life is your wife. Never forget that. Not your mother or your children. Hehe. Very very true

Children will eventually form their own family. Anyway right now that's the last thing on my mind. Haha one thing to worry at a time else my brain will be overloaded.

^5 Petrina, that's what I think also... I told hubby that when our kid is 21 yrs old, I hope he will move out and leave us alone :p If he wants to continue staying, he needs to pay rent. After all, my hubby also came out from JB to stay here after graduation, paying both rent and study loan. I don't want the kid to think we will support him forever. If we have a daughter, of course, we can let her stay since it's not so safe for a girl to stay alone outside.

LOL.. smilez, no dbl standards. girls at losing end always. I m a good example lor..
As long as my son is capable, I am not worried he kenna bullied. But daughter married off liao.
If her MIL or ILs bully her I can't interfere..
So i muz find a proper husband for her. Love is blind.
I don't want her to be in the same situation as me. My mom used to tell me nvr be like her. slog all her life for the family. in the end nvr get appreciated.
Then, i become like her. super diao!!

So i muz make sure the hb she choose muz love her more than she love him. so she will be able to defend herself after she's married.

Petrina:
Haha the way you put it very funny! Love is blind indeed.
I always think when the man is after a woman he loves her more and after that it gradually tapers off so its a downward sloping line.
Women tend to let the love grow with time so it becomes upward sloping.

I think whether girl or boy they will need to be independent at some point (after graduation) and not expect us to support them forever.

Me also catholic usually go our lady star of the sea in yishun. Hubby is very devoted he goes church everyday and joining opus dei. We practised nfp, once break the rule accident happens huehehe. Hopefully no more accident. I can't imagine my age if accident keeps happening dunno how many kids we can have!! Still 27 this year still have another 13 years before menopause. Argh. So scary. But then thinking this baby is becoz I break the rule suddenly forgot got such rule. Looks like God's gift and interference too. Huhu some more last time the nfp center never calls us for the class!, I only done 1.5 mths charting before wedding and that means only 2.5 mths charting before I conceive my #1. Pretty scary. But thinking back after my #1 born we have 1 year successful nfp.

fuming! Sorry nd avenue to rant. My boy til nw doesnt wan2 slp. He doesnt wan me n kp wanting his daddy. Bt daddy super stone, everything dont knw although i hv tld him many times hw to mak my boy slp, hw to carry him, rock him, sing to him n so on. Stil he vry stone. Nd me to sit by the side to repeat to him step by step. Bt if we tok, thn my boy wil also nt wan2 slp n tok together w us in his bb language. Dam! Wonder hw we r gona manage whn #2 cm along. Dont knw y my guy lik tat one. Always lik a stone. Giv one instruction do one thing, no instruction no nd to do. Dam! So vry frustrated! I m nvr violent. Bt dont knw y at tis pt of time i feel lik hittin him or throwin things. 我忍…

Petrina

Love is blind indeed. I always say we can't chose our own parents but ILs are definately within our control. Depending on who we chose as our spouse. Hehe.

Fleur

Hehe no la, I'm a free thinker but I attended Methodist school all my school life. My hub and entire family are catholic. My hub is a lost sheep and does not attend church. :p His family typically attends Church of the Risen Christ at Toa Payoh and we were married there.

Men are more physical creatures and are attracted to the exterior looks which unfortunately fade over time. Women look beyond looks and are more into emotions and feelings which get stronger over times.

Chris

Are u feeling less angry now? Is your hub always less expressive? Or maybe he's tired last night and didn't react as fast?

Was prob ur hormones making u more emotional than usual.
. It's the weekend. Don't think too much aldy and enjoy the weekend with yr family. Jia you!!

thks smilez, feelin alot better. My hubby has always bn lik tat actually. Ya, u probably r rt, cos i m usually more patient last time. Had a tok w hubby aftr tat, tld him tat he gotta wak up his idea n buckle his belt. I cant b ther all the time whn #2 cm along. Tis mornin he is slightly better, tak more initiative. We wil c hw long it last. :p

Chris, your hubby was probably very tired last night, so do cut him some slack ya... Men cannot stand women nagging them so we need to control ourselves esp during this time when we tend to be more emotional

Morning Mummies!

Chris: Glad to know you feel better now. Always good to communicate! With #2 coming along, it will be more challenging and you will need all the help you can get.

Pre Natal Yoga: Anyone has attended before or attending now?

Groovy: wah you very fertile eh ... hehehe just kidding!!! We never attend the NFP class or follow it. Yet it took us many many many months after getting married to hit jackpot

Fleurfleur, one of my colleagues is attending pre-natal yoga. I don't really like classes, but given my growing belly, I'm not sure how much longer I can go to gym. So I'm also exploring yoga as a way to keep fit. Are you looking for a class to attend?

Re fertility, I always thought it would be harder for me to get pregnant cos my previous gynae told me I have a retroverted uterus, meaning it's tilted back and so harder for the sperm to meet the egg. Nevertheless, we always used protection cos I don't want surprises and wasn't ready to have a kid. But just that 1 time we decided to take a chance, we struck lottery! Haha... I guess it's really God's will...

Nattan: It's always nice to hear people sharing about their good news;) yes I'm thinking If pre natal yoga. Time Flies and 3 more months. I hv been lazy and never swim or do yoga so thought I shld.
Which one your colleague attend?

Fleurfleur, I can't remember which studio she goes to, but it's at Tanglin Shopping Centre. A bit out of the way for me, so I didn't sign up with her. Actually I'm not really into classes :p So I'm also looking at getting DVDs to practise at home.

@nattan & Fluerfluer you can borrow the yoga videos from the library. Make the best use of your tax. If you don't like one, you can always borrow another one.

thks mummies! Felt really gd tat thers a pl to share.

nattan > i hate to nag too. Cos i always feel tat if smone doesnt wan2 do tat, no matter hw many times we nag, thy most likely wil stil nt do it. Lik fluer sy, we r really gotta nd each othr support in future. So i hv to gt him prepare lor.

Oh no.. I failed my GD test
my results were 8.1 which is slightly above 7.7.

Sigh. Thinking of how to follow dr Tham's diet cause 6 meals a day. Meaning I have to wake up at 6am for bf? Anyone can share?

Need to diet cause my girl is slightly big. 1.4kg at 28weeks.

amyyeo
sorry to hear tat... tat time Dr tham also ask mi to control diet. My bb weigh 1.55kg at Week 28, last week juz took Glucose Test also, luckily passed.

I guess u need to control ur carbo intake liao. Imagine i eat bee hoon and porridge for the whole of last month leh. Avoid all sugary stuff including fruits like durian, longan, mango, banana, grape. Replace it with apple and orange. Bread, Rice and noodle also cut down by half or totally dun eat those.

Amy

Sorry to hear that the results were on the high side. What's the recommended diet like? Easy to follow if you don't cook at home?

Nattan

Your case definately super lucky. Haha. One time hit jackpot. For us, we has always been using protection cos not willing to take any chances. When we started to try for one, 3rd month lucky. I count back and I think conceive on my birthday. Hahahahaa. Biggest birthday Present from my hubby.

Chris

Dont keep it inside if u are upset. Talk to him. Once u keep the unhappiness inside and let it fester, it's not good. Can end up having resentment towards yr hub and that will show in yr actions whether intentionally or not.

Just come online to rant. Many of us here to lend a listening ear.

Amy: hard boiled eggs for breakfast. Fish soup less rice. Stir fry/hot place chicken/beef/pork half bowl of rice. Cut down on High sugar drinks fruit juice ice cream. I guess eat more meat less rice will help.

Chris, everyone will have their low days... just have to give and take. Sometimes when my hubby forget to do certain things, I just bite my tongue, then when I'm calm, I'll ask him if he can do it when he is able to. Anyway, men usually will step up when women act manja or like a damsel in distress with them ;)

Amy, I think the point about 6 meals a day is just to break down your regular meals into smaller ones so that your blood sugar remains stable throughout the day, so that you don't end up over-eating or snacking. It doesn't mean you need to wake up at 6am for breakfast. You can eat breakfast as per your usual time, but eat half, then eat the other half a couple of hours later. Same for your lunch and dinner. That way, instead of 3 meals, you have 6 half-sized meals. Also, try to eat less carbo and more vege and lean protein like tofu and fish instead. And drink lots of plain water.

ssmilezz, yeah I am very blessed
I thought we'd only try for one towards the end of the yr, but I guess the blessing came earlier than expected. Fortunately, we had already finally made up our mind to start a family. My hubby said he felt something was different with me when I kept wanting to visit Mothercare before we conceived! Haha...

Chris: It is good to talk it out, would feel much better than keeping to yourself. I would also have the tendency to nag, girls' nature.ha

btw, anyone thought of taking maternity shots? Wonder if there is a cheap and recommended one around. Ok with those freelance kind..

Organic bb shower / shampoo

I'm looking at ordering organic products online. Was wondering which brands are good? Gaia / Earth mama angel baby / California baby? Any recommendation?

To increase milk suppy

Heard about GNC fenugreek capsule, Motherlove milk plus capsule and sacred tea. Which is good?

Hi ladies, it's been a long n tiring saturday for me..

Try eating yong tou foo instead of rice n stuffs. I've been eating it past week. Got variety n healthy n good for baby since toufu n yellow beans r good.

Chris: vent here. Btr than shouting match with ur hb. Sometimes when we preg got emotional roller coaster, we flare thinking that men shld understand. But we tend to forget that our Man is also human.
Like my hb used to tell me, his emotional bank running low on funds. Shld bank in more in order to withdraw when u need. Make sense?

Groovy: hb n i also do NFP, but i kiasu, my nfp very short.. So if need be, i'll insist condom in case of accident. So this baby was late according to my expectation. I wanted march baby to coincide with #1 bday.
I was too engrossed with shettles method so we only have 3 consecutive shots per mth. Then muz abstain or use protection in order to have the gender we want.
I'm glad all the effort n praying paid off

I tot it would be easy but we tried for 6mths..

Anna, I ordered Everyday Shea bubble bath with calming lavender and lemon essential oil from iherb.com. It's highly recommended by reviewers on iherb and suitable for babies and adults, but I'll only use it after baby is a few weeks old as it's not advisable to use any soap on a newborn baby's skin. I also ordered California Baby's bottom spray for cleaning baby's butt after he poos.

Re supplements for breast milk production, my colleague highly recommends sacred tea, while my boss said the nurses at TMC offered her a capsule, think it was Motherlove. So far it works so either one is good. Not sure about fenugreek although the midwife at PEH recommended it.

I'm soooo tired. Just finished sorting through n packing my wardrobe. Gosh i nvr realised i had accumulated so much useless clothes lol

Also bought the ceiling fan for the kids room.

Wonder if i'll be able to sort the kids clothes 2moro. Or shd i refrain from pushing myself too hard?

Actually I don't really eat alot but junk on fast food and fried stuff. Guess have to stop that for a while and go to soupy stuff. But nowadays so hot! The thought of going hawker center kills my mood!

Amy

Tell me abt it man. This type of weather really tough to enjoy soupy stuffs considering we are perpetually so warm!

Jul

So late still not in bed? Get some rest!! Dont push yourself too hard!!

I hate to pack and haven gotten round to throwing my old stuffs away yet

Anna

Quite a few popular organic brands out there. Depends on yr budget. I would suggest you get smaller bottles first cos dunno if your baby skin will take to the products. At least if it doesn't work, u won't end up with one big bottle to finish up.

I'll prob be using either Baby Sebamed or Baby Gaia. Haven't bought them yet though.

Petrina

At least all yr planning paid off and you got yr desired gender! Hehe. Your emotional bank theory is definately true. We cant always take and take, need to give and give too to maintain a good balance and harmony.

I'm planning to rest at home today. Bought some food to make lunch n dinner. Bought some huggies diapers from NTUC last evening as SIL said prices were ok. got a bag of hand me downs from SIL friends. Need to sort through.

Not looking forward to the upcoming workweek. Month ends at never good for me. Argh.

Jul, take it easy and don't overdo the packing. Haha. I think my hubby is the one in the nesting mood! I came back on Fri evening after my facial and saw him going through all the kitchen cabinets. He was sorting through all the condiments and dried goods, repacking them and even labelling them! Omg... I don't think I'd ever find the motivation to do such things. I just cook and leave things around which annoys him no end :p He even reconfigured the bedroom to create more space for baby's stuff and cleaned the floor! I bought some space bags online and will ask him to help pack some of our lesser used clothes in them and box up stuff we can give away.

Last week of 2nd trimester for me!

BTW, decided not to join my office for the BKK retreat. Hubby is relieved and I guess I didn't really want to go without him. At least I'll be enjoying a few days of peace and quiet (read "bo zheng hu") at the office...

Organic products and milk supply supplement

Most likely gonna purchase california bb super sensitive shower/shampoo and a mixture of kodomo/pigeon for trial. Won't know which one will be suitable for my bb if I dun try. And most likely the bottom spray as per Nattan recommended.
Saw all the reviews on the milk supply supplement. Been popping so many pills everyday since day 1 of pregnancy. Really very sick of it. Will give sacred tea a try since so many good comments of it. Saw a promotion now selling at S$ 30 per pack for min. purchase of 2 packs. Have a look at the below link if you gals are interested.
http://sacredtea.weebly.com/

Jul, take it easy. Though it seems very fast but you still have 9 more weeks to go. Dun over-strain yourself, esp now you are in your 3rd tri. You will hurt your back easily. I already having my backaches now at my 2nd tri.

Nattan, I'm also having my last week of 2nd tri. Still taking things easily...will take out all the passed down and newly bought bb items for washing in May only. Lots of things to buy and buy...spending money happily now...hahaha. To be honest, it's also good not to travel in our 3rd tri. You will be really very tired and won't be able to fully enjoy yourself. Enjoy the "bo zheng hu" in the office is the best retreat.

It's such a hot and humid sunday afternoon....had 2 ice-creams already but dun seems to be able to lower my body temperature. Gonna retreat to my air-con room now.

Thanks for the concern everyone
hee so touched.

I was so shacked i slept till 10+ am n discovered hubs hadn's given my son his breakfast! Norm it's 930 but i guess it's not sooo bad coz my son woke later n had milk later. Hiaz my hubs is very gd at everything with my boy except he sucks at remembering feeding times n cooking n making sure he drinks water. Guess it's his nature cozhe's the dun eat wun die type, opp from me!

Me gog for massage later. Hubs says take cab so i'm cooking boy's porridge now before gog out. Back's killing me! Strange thing is with pregnancy, my neck n shoulder aches are better. Is it just shifted downwards?

Anna

Tell me abt it! I just showered n now am sweating up a storm!

I din like cal baby soap. I bought Calming but found it v drying when i tried it so din let my son use. Same went for the super sensitive n the swimmers defence. . So i stuck with avent for my boy.

Nattan

Hey staying in office with no govt is even better than gog to BKK! Gd choice lol

Amy

Oh no! Hugs! Nvm treat is as a way to force u to eat healthy. It'll help control your weight gain too

I passed my GD. Whew!

Chris

Hmm hubs r all like that! They've been spoilt n babied by their mums till they can't function lol. Nvm come n complain to us lah. We're your listening ear!

Nattan

Ive moved into the 3rd tri.
time really flying past very very quickly.

Enjoy yr peace n quiet time in the office. There will be other opportunities next time.

Oddly enough it's pouring cats n dogs now! Yay! I can't seem to sleep in the afternoon anymore. Just relaxing at home with hubby and our dogs. Shiok! Going to do a short workout later and then make dinner. ;)

Thanks ladies
I don't feel so bad about missing out on the retreat anymore. In fact, if the whole office shuts down, I may even get to spend it at home or work from home!

Weather stinks today…so humid and stuffy. It's not raining where I live yet so I'm holed up in my bedroom with the aircon and fan on. Thinking of cooking pumpkin soup again for dinner with pizza bread.

Ssmilezz, ya time flies…now counting down to the remaining 10+ weeks. Very soon we'll all get to see our babies
exciting isn't it? Maybe baby is also excited about the birth since he's kicking a lot more frequently and vigorously nowadays…;)

Nattan: No govt good! You can surf net ... do online shopping ... nap ... plan baby shower in advance

I am in my 27th week now. Is it considered as last week of 2nd tri OR beginning for 3rd tri?

Just wondering ... How come you all need to go for the GD test? Is it compulsory for all?

Fleurfleur, yeah
Can just relax and take time to do my own thing... hopefully don't even need to be in the office! Are you planning a baby shower? I don't think I'll be doing that... no such practice among my circle of friends, except the usual full-month party. I'm thinking of doing a smaller one at my parents' place since my mum can't travel much, and then a bigger one at a chalet for friends and colleagues.

BTW, 27th week is the final week of 2nd trimester.

Xena, my baby is moving a lot now in 26.5 weeks. If you're in the 29th week, it could be that your baby has very little space to move around now in the 3rd trimester. If you're concerned, can visit your gynae and have a check.

Nattan: Hehe so next weekend is my 3rd trimester. I am planning Baby Full Month. Baby shower more Ang Mo Style not commonly practised here.

Was sorting out hand me down clothes ... as mentioned before i see alot of yellow stains (is it coz keep too long?) Anyway there are some tops without matching bottoms that i can find so i ended up only sieve-ing out 1/3 of the items which i think can still be used.. Spare room is 1/3 filled with paper bags of things i need to sort & clear before my cot comes in early May!

Question: How often does a baby change their rompers in a day?

Michi: thks! icic my baby not big and so far no known of diabetes in family maybe that's why.

Xena: my baby moves alot only at certain times in the day. Not major movements. Only major movements is at night before i zzz OR when i take ice cream or cold drinks

Jul: congrats that U passed your GD test!

Fleurfleur, I also got some hand-me-downs with yellow stains. Can try Vanish O2 and see if they can be removed. I'll probably only use them at home so stains don't bother me so much. I'm not sure if I need to return all the hand-me-downs when I'm done with them? :p Most of the things are pretty old already such as the reusable diapers which I will not be using.

I think you change the baby's romper as and when it feels uncomfortable for him or if it's stained by pee/poo. If your baby is going to be in an aircon room, then he probably won't sweat as much. Actually for the first week or so, I'm thinking of just swaddling the baby and not clothing him cos he'll be so fragile and soft.. I'm a bit scared of putting clothes on him :p Is it ok huh?

Nattan: For mine i was told she may need it back so i rather return most of it a month after my baby is born so that it doesn't take up space. Just realised with a new additional the house gets cluttered easily and the storeroom space is maxed out. Now i understand why those with more than 1 kid always say they have no space at home with all the clothes, toys, books etc.

Swaddling without clothes is ok if the room isn't too cold. Plus we are giving birth in Jun (hottest time in the year)
How about using those sleeveless romper?

fluerfleur: yellow stains could be milk stains. and anyway, white clothes turn yellow quite easy. just wash.

nattan: baby won't be fragile and soft. They are quite robust, even the tiny ones. They definitely need to wear clothes, if not catch a cold.

re maid
Finally hired one. Picking up her tomorrow afternoon. Wish me luck! I ended up with a 43 year old maid with 2 teenage children and a 2-year-old. She has HK experience, but her track record in Singapore is quite sketchy. Felt comfortable with her, so I really hope this will work out.

Tomorrow going for my gynae visit! Baby having big movements these 2 days.

Just looked through some of my photos when I was 45kg 10 years ago. Look quite chio IMHO. Now look like shit. Damn depressed. My face has changed to ugly angry look with sunken cheeks. Not just the pregnancy thing. Before this pregnancy I looked even worse and bloated.