(2012/05) May 2012

Dolcevita> yes. Amnio mostly test for down syndromes. Whereas detailed scan test for any defects in the baby's organ, check the heart n all is properly developed

Yumii: Mi too, i havent bought any stuffs yet..scared buy too early collect dust haha..only bought a couple of cute clothes hehe

There are a few places that you can go: baby hypermart at Kaki Bukit, Baby avenue (previously was at Balestier but not sure of its location now, seems that their website is down), Cheong Choon at Chinatown..

You can go Cheong Choon's website, they have a checklist for download ;p
here you go

http://www.cheongchoon.com/Checklist

Micteo, my gynae didnt charge me additional for 3D. Perhaps u can try asking. I knw some charges quite exp for 3D scan.

Yip, I bought the Avent 120ml bottles for newborns. Think can last for at least 6mths depending on bb's intake. Coz even when i use 120ml bottle, i can feed 150ml too to the brim. Best not to buy too big in case take in air. I usually buy 3-4 bottles so can switch.

As for plastic or glass, i know glass is definately better but its very heavy. I have mummy friends n SIL complaining after using n end up switch to plastic. Maybe after u popped, u can request premix Similac formula milk from hospital, its in small glass bottles. I knw some teats can fit coz my friend does that.

Dolce, good luck to ur results! It will turn out fine!

Sunflower, Chloie, congrats on the gd news! Dolcevita, praying for ur gd news too! Amnio is a genetic test. u might clear it only to have problems with the organs structurally.

BabyL, erm no, my baby is of the right weight.
at 22 wks they shd weigh abt 500g. not too big, not too small.. next couple of weeks will see them gaining weight very fast. Yes my tummy is bigger than with #1. its all the excess fats i didn't manage to lose the last time around.. haha..

Mic, no additional charge for 3D scan for me. Doc and sonographer just switch modes from 2D to 3D lor. i nv asked for it and will also not pay extra for it. cos 3D scan, to me, only see the appearance of the baby, which more often than not, look squashed. :p 2D scan still better as it can view the organs transversely, i.e. into the organs itself.

Yip, I won't use glass bottles also. when u are goddamn tired with lack of sleep, the last thing u want is to smash a glass bottle. or losing a whole feed of breastmilk cos the bottle broke while heating up. using BPA free bottles are gd enough for me.
for me, since i pump exclusively, i have the 4oz bottles.. 8 of them in fact cos i will prep one full day of supply ready in the fridge.
I have 8 small bottles and 12 pump bottles to store EBM. :p in this way i just need to sterilise once a day.

Back from detail scan..

Bb not cooperative.. No matter how e person shake press push bb jia wouldn't turn up.. Haa.. Den I was told to go lunch den come back..

Den come back bb only turn up awhile den turn down again.. E person toh long lo.. Keep calling baby baby.. Dun like tat.. Turn up.. Whole process took us 1 1/2 hrs lo.. Haiz..

Den I say u sun turn up den i dun give u chocolate Liao.. Den bb turn side way.. Lol..

Well, bb Is good.. Everything fine.. Edd still same.. Length 16cm, est weight is 338g.. Which I thk bb is slight taller and heavier den avg.. As compare to e chart I see in e bb bump.. Haa.. So I'm quite happy tho I didn't really get any tonic ever since I'm preggy except once my mom Cook bird nest for me.. Other den tat, no more.. So bb can grow bigger den avg I'm so happy and bb is healthy!! =D

As for gender, confirm BOY!! Haa.. We decided to name him Castiel.. Well as least for now tats what we short list first now.. Maybe later will change.. Dunno.. Haa.. =D

Vanilla, bb must turn sideways then better for detailed scan is it?

Tdy I went baby hyperstore n baby kingdom in kaki bukit shun Li industrial..really like warehouse type..I think big ticket items like cot, car seats, playpen, sterilizers n strollers are cheaper but the rest like detergent, milk bottles n shampoo doesnt have much diff when compared to Kiddy palace or Tom n stefanie. Add petrol to the cost of these things, maybe just buy nearby your place or along the way bah..

Oh btw medela pumps are much cheaper as they have promo now..same for sterilizers..

No harm gg down to take a look n joint down prices n compare elsewhere..have not checked out bb ave n cheong choon yet..maybe another time..still quite early to buy lar..

Anyway got bb fair in expo during 24-26 feb

Candmix.. Hi5!!! Where will be u be at? I'm at TMC, Appt at 2pm... Hehe! I tot usually 20wks can do 3D already?

Piggy... Hmm.. Last time my #1 3D scan included in my package (din get my 3D also, cos baby back facing all the time, free also no use.. Hahah)... But not sure if it's in this time round... Gotta ask.. :D

Wooo... Happy new year everyone!!! May all mummies be blessed with good health and a healthy n beautiful baby!

DolceVita, dun worry, ur result will be good..

Piggy, thanks! Its indeed a big relief hehe..

Vanilla, my bb also likes to turn down! I had to scan 3x before we got everything hehe.. But i wasnt told of the weight of the bb leh... The sonographer said will only knw in the later stage...

Micteo: wat time is your scan? Cos I think my scan is around 1.45-2pm, then seeing dr Tham at 3??

Did u sign package with dr tham already? Cos the package now doesn't have 3d Liao..

They told me 3d scan better after 28 wks when face fully formed..my friend said actually not much use lar cos everything looks squashed lol

Sorry to interupt.

Looking to sell a almost brand new Aprica Cookie DX - Lilac Purple colour. Colour only available in Japan and Europe (http://www.thinkbaby.co.uk/product-news/aprica-cookie-pushchair/2115.html). Bought in Japan and used less than 5 times. Condition 9/10.

Will throw in free gift for use with the stroller. Looking to sell at $525 (Cost $700+).

Please refer to the following site for some reviews (http://www.babypushchairsonline.co.uk/en/aprica-cookie-dx-26.html).

PM me if interested.

Candy, I thk r bb muz turn up for easy scanning..

Sunflower, e sonographer measure e length of e legs n arms Hands etc and gave a est weight of e bb..

I told hubby I gain 7kg Liao... Den he Eyes and mouth open big big.. And said, bb only 400g and u gain 7kg??!!! Den he shake head.. Kns.. Den I told him, u cannot like tat count.. Still gt water retaintion leh.. Placenta etx etc leh.. Lol.. He shake head and said all these Add up give u 3kg laZz.. Still, u put on 4kg.. Lol... But I noe he is jus kidding la.. Haa

The weight of the baby given from the scans is only an estimate based on the volume measurements okie. The margin of error is very big. Can be more than 500g difference okie. This is also why some gynae will not bother telling you estimate, especially at this stage.

[Advertisement] If any of you want to get clothes for baby/children cheap, got clearance sale here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6271088.html
p.s. I am related to seller so my opinions are biased.

Hi mummies, just wanna wish everyone a happy new year ! Next yr same day we will have our little ones counting down with us ;) similarly we are "bringing" them out to celebrate today! Have a happy countdown!

Hi all, im a Jan 2012 mtb and Ive a Preg Prego Pliko P3 2010 Java to let go at $380. Info on stroller is as in the following link: http://us.pegperego.com/babyproducts-catalog/2010/Pliko+P3+2010

Bought it back in early 2010 for $700+ but it was rarely used as we have another stroller. and now ive a twin stroller as this is my 2nd child. In good almost brand new condition except for slight scratch on the front bar due to putting of tight fitting toy once, which has since been taken out. Do pm me for details and pics.

Candymix, My appt at 2pm!! Seeing Dr Tham after scan too! I think we hv a chance to meet! Hahah!!! Ya I sign my package with him way before my detailed scan... Din go check got 3D or not though.. Anyway to me it's good to hv.. But don hv also nvm la.. Hehe! Maybe I'll post wat colour I'm wearing tat day.. U look out for me arh.. :p

Sigh,Tues blue..

halo gals,have any of u bought infant car seat?we are shopping for car seats now..expensive considering it will only be used only for e early months..what brand did u buy?

Pretear,
I got the Combi car seat. Easy to use n can use from infant till 4 years old. Good investment.

Going for my detailed scan later. Hopefully all is well. Can't wait to see the little one again after 4 long weeks! Excited to confirm the gender too. Then can start to shop shop shop.

good morning all.. ya tuesday blue.. =( last night couldnt slp at all. Dunno why. And i think baby as well cos he kept kicking too. =( so tired!!!

For the infant car seat, i got it passed down from my cousin. Too ex to buy one. But hers can be attached to the stroller-type. Can sit till toddler age. But i think i will get another one cos it seems like this infant car seat is face backwards. I prefer face front once he is bigger.

hi mommies! happy new year!! may everyone is healthy and our bb are healthy and happy too!

its really tuesday blues.. after resting for 3mths, coming back to work is so sian.. last nite couldnt sleep too well..

infant car seat: i will be buying car seats that are suitable from 0 - 4yo.. cheaper.. unless your stroller needs a infant car seat to fix on.. if not, really not worth to spend $200-$300 on a car seat and only use for only the first year...

Morning gals..mi too!!didn't sleep well last nite

Yip,xin,zara:thanks..there is taka member sale this thurs with 10% off ,hence we r considering if wana buy stroller cum infant car seat (to fix to e stroller)bundle.. Yupz was thinking if its impractical since e carseat can only last a few months..shall source again..

hi mummies!!!HAppy New YEAR!!!!!
Wa after my detailed scan on 28th, i fell sick with stomach flu, caught bug from my boy who had vommitting and diarrhea for days.
But thank God baby girl is fine, a bit on the small side, time for shopping!!!WOOHOO!!!!
and also weight gain mission for me, so far only gain 3kg, this fri gynae appt so what he says

infant car seat:we bought one that can be used from infant to toddler -20kg.
has an insert and faces backwards for babies < 6mths.
that can change to forward facing when baby able to support his own head.
cost us about $399?bought at UBI babywarehouse sale,

Baby carseat> my #1's carseat can use from birth till 20kg or so. Will hand down to #2 and buy a booster seat for #1. Mine is britax royale. Quite a good brand, u all can go take a look. Cos me 499 but I bought at 15% discount at robinsons

michelle:SAME model as mine

u know where to get the booster seat?cos i got the carseat from the babywarehouse, but seems like booster seat not that ez to find

Morning everyone!
I already started shopping..so happy!
Actually if you think about it, we only have 4 more months.. I heard usually will be 2 weeks earlier than the actual due date. Wow!

I was thinking to buy most of the stuff now, as I thought during the 3rd trimester we'll be more tired and big to walk around shopping..

And I also wanted to ask you all... Is walking consider exercising? So lazy to exercise leh. Recently found that my legs are more tired from walking, more achy after walking zzz..

Esther> dun think I saw britax booster seat before. For booster seat, think I'll just get another brand. Those that just makes him taller and can tie seat belt should do

Ayana, I am a lazy mom so yes, i consider walking as exercise but i wont walk much. hahaha. cos my butt hurts if i walk more than 2 hours (of Xmas shopping). I was thinking of buying after my 2nd detailed scan, just to make sure things are right.

My friend gave me a buying item list, and I am thinking of cleaning the list up first before uploading. Anyone has any list already so lazy mom can get a break? hehe!

I know there is a Feb fair. Anyone knows when there is a Philip one?

If i get a seahorse thick mattress for my CL, do u think it is quite bad of me?

I've the following to let go:

- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 3 tins of Similac Mum (exp Oct'13), $12 each (*$30 if taking all 3 tins)
- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder &amp; Wrist Rattle Set @ $10
- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks!

pre-owned medela mini electric single pump $90.00nett.

hi mummy... i have a pretty new set for sale. used only 2 weeks... m a oct 2011 mummy. item purchsed from robinson.

pretear:
Consider getting those combination seats that can be used from 0-4 years instead. Basically these are the ones that can place back facing and recline for 0 years, gradually back face but not so recline for slightly older and finally front face once they are stable. Britax is a good brand.

esther:
Booster seat are plenty. Most are cheap but importantly, how old is your #1 huh? Coz if too young and not tall enuff, cannot simply get those normal booster (less than $50 kind). You will need a carseat but can get those that is smaller and less bulky (1 year up). Price is less than $200 if I din recall wrongly.

If you all want Lucky Baby or Capella, let me know. If can combine a few people, I should be able to get a deal for you all.

Fifi: my no 1 is turning 2 in march,by the time no 2 arrives will be 2y3mth, can sit booster?u have lobang for Capella?COOL!

mommy828: a lot of CL were booked up according to my friend cos its dragon yr, u better do it the next few days

Piggy:aiyo!my hubby and no 1 got that!they will prescribe Klacid for a 5 day treatment duration, think it was $2/antibiotic pill.and yes this cough will take a while to clear up, so take care!

I just went gym!!Spinning class!and weighed myself, 51.2kg, so far gained 4kg, wonder what gynae will say this fri..4kg normal right?we are all hlafway through adey, hehe, so fast!

Yip: i had a list for my no. 1, i'll try upload here, maybe we can all compare list and see what we might miss out or...go over-crazy buying!!!HEHEHE
mime_msexcel.gif
baby list
baby list.xls (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

pretear: i was considering the peg prego piko p3 stroller which has to attach a peg prego infant car seat.. stroller is $758 and infant car seat is $468 (prices before discount). but in the end i got the peg prego piko switch which i can siwtch so that bb can face me.. and get a separate car seat from infants until 20kg..

i heard britax is good! my fren said her son was still sleeping in the car seat when someone kiss her car backside! m considering that as well..

yip: phillips fair usually in may and sept..

Yip, not bad what, the CL get to use a brand new mattress leh...

Mommy828, better quickly book yours now.. I booked mine already..

Hello everyone! Happy New Year! Wishing all a healthy and smooth pregnancy!

So far I have gained 8kg already I think....hope I wont exceed the 17kg I had during my #1 pregnancy. But tummy still small, so strange....so scared the weight is on me instead of bb...

By the way, there is Mother and Baby fair at Expo Hall 3A from 24-26 Feb, 11am to 9pm. Can go check out the baby stroller or car seat by then if you all can wait.

Anyone experiencing Braxton Hicks contractions already? Last weekend I have been feeling the contractions, called clinic and they just asked me to switch my lying position or monitor if its too frequent.

Mommy828, I think u have better call and book CL now coz alot have already taken up. When i called my friend's CL when I was 3 months, she already booked. Luckily I have another recommendation from a friend and quickly book her liao. Next yr dragon year so sure quite hot one. Better dun delay already. Even massage lady also better quickly book...

BabyL, how does your Braxton Hicks contractions feels like? How do you differeniate it from baby moving?

I felt some tightening but I thought its baby moving cos the tightening sort of confined to an area only. And sometimes can feel a bump raising up and down.

Ayana, if baby movement, I can feel the poking or wriggling inside. If its contractions, it tightening feeling at a confined area. I read that it can be caused by full bladder but after I empty, I can feel it too both lying or walking. During #1, its started at 4th mth, now it started later but quite frequent interval lately. Guess cant walk too much liao...

BabyL: my hubby got the peg perego pliko switch on Monday.Spring had a 20% sale. was decideing between this or bugaboo bee, but since peg has a discount we went for it instead. Zara ^5. i got the red. hehe hubs was saying to get the 0-4 yrs car seat, instead of the 0-9months then switch later. additional 300+ expenditure, but whatever is safer for the baby la, we need more research into car seats!

Bee, how much you bought the Peg? I am considering to get new stroller too. My current one worn out liao. Dunno to get those with 2 seater for #1 and #2 or just get a normal ones. Peg is good but heavy right?

Can i join in? I'm supposed to be a jun mtb but gynae said be prepared for earlier baby so here i am!

babyL: peg perego is 9.9kg cost $879.20 after 20%. We chose the switch compact, baby can face in or out. and its collapsible even w the seats in. the link is below

http://us.pegperego.com/babyproducts-catalog/2011/Pliko+Switch+Compact

btw, those looking for philips, spring maternity had this philips promo for $179 i think. baby bottle warmer and steriliser together, plus bottle cleaner, 3 bottles etc. very worth it. but need to check stock, pls pop by and check! buying the items individually will cost about 79 for the bottle warmer and 159 for the steriliser i think

Called my gynae just now regarding my results and he confirmed "perfectly normal baby and confirm its a boy"...
Phew..end my anxiety and I can really have a HAPPY CNY....

Thanks all for the well wishes and prayers...

Car seat

Saw u all talking abt britax royale. I have that! It's very good! My son loves to sit in it. Plus the fabric is v cool, feels cooler than the rest of the car. And it's v sturdy n safe. Only prob is, it's up to 4 yrs but my boy shd outgrow it b4 3 yrs. He's quite big sized.

Now i wonder what booster to get him. His height's only 93cm so dunno if can fit into booster

I saw britax booster at mothercare before

Oh one word of caution abt 2nd hand car seat. Car seats hace expiry date. Usu abt 5/6 yrs after date of manufacture. So pls dun play ard with your baby's life n use a 10 yo seat or something. Can see manufacturing/expiry date on a sticker at the back

Bee, wow! So steep! I think I am looking for a cheaper version....hahaha! Btw, I have the Philips steriliser with the bottle warmer. I feel the warmer is not so useful coz it takes longer to warm than putting in a cup of hot water. But I like the sterilier though. If the overall package is cheap, can consider. Else can do without the warmer, my personal view.

Dolcevita, congrats! Finally can relax your mind liao!

Noticed my tighs getting bigger n bigger even though i barely put on 3kg at 20w. Is it due to water retention etc? Arms also getting flabby. Diet is same like pre-preggy and not even eating more. I thought metabolism rate increases during preg but cant explain the extra flesh all over.

Dolcevita> congrats on the good news. And now u have 1 boy 1 gal. Lucky!!

Jul> yep. Dolcevita is from aug09
congrats to u too