(2012/04) Apr 2012

Hi cayden's mummy,
Oh i heard of that shifu before.
How is his charges like n wat else does he see? Or he only choose bb's name?
I already have a name in mind so actually just wanna check whether the name is suitable. Haha i scare some shifu will insist u use their selection. Delimna leh cos see shifu is wan best name for bb but yet hope to use back wat i chosen for him. Lol
The one at tpy my friend recommend do take ur choice into their calculation n also provide some "plan" for bb. Like wat age to learn swimming etc. N which name is good for parent career etc but not cheap.

Abt insurance i din research wor :p
Just let my friend propose after bb is delivered. Oopz.
We got to decide now? Den i beta ask him to send me some plan to compare lor...

Mine was 1.9 kg at 34 Weeks. obs said average size but did not ask about percentile.
Viv- did your gynae suggest anything? I hoping to increase baby's weight too.

lilcatus, your labour for #1 sounds very very similiar to mine for #1. suspect we have the same gynae.. yours dr lawrence ang?

Hi fantasy,

They actually do calculations for everything.. Move new house la, rom, wedding, all these. I think u can drop them an email or give them a call to check if they do calculate ur chosen name isit suitable anot. Think should be ok.
they r the ones who have a weekly column in U-weekly magazine..

Nolah insurance u can choose later but I feel better to
Confirm it ASAP, when bb is out just sign and plan takes effect. If wait until very long then *touch wood* how to claim the hosp expenses?

I heard walking alot helps too! Really hope it will work for me.. Wahaha!

tangerinez> mm.. i'm not sure leh.. he jus told me mite end up big.. then i realise even i control wat i eat aso no use. cause last visit i gained 200grams, but my baby gained 400grams. act i'm quite glad to see that quite a few babies are around the same size.. at least not so not normal..

actually we havent had sex since i got pregnant. cause hubs has this impression in his mind that everytime we do it, baby is having a tsunami inside, or we might shake her too much. hte last time we tried to do it, we went out and we got into an accident (which happen like once in 10 yrs). so after which we've never attempt.. lol

gingerbreadger: so funny, equating sex to accident. but yep, totally understand, better play safe right...

i remember when we still do it now and then in trimester 2, the bb will kick violently after the deed. think he doesn't like the 'tsunami' hahaha...

looks like mine is on the big size... 34 weeks scan @ 2.9kg and my gynae asked me to cut down all sugars & high carbo food. Yesterday went for 36 weeks scan, relieved that bb not gaining much, not yet 3kgs.

Gynae advised to walk more after 37 weeks, will help the delivery.

tangerinez> yeah. an expensive car accident.. lol. so trying to save some $$, beter play safe. act for us, its difficult not to imagine wat the baby is doing inside while doing the deed.. lol. so difficult to concentrate aso..

bubuya> u're quite close to full term already! 1 more wk to go! so ur wt shld be quite ok rite..

gingerbread: yeah, going to 37 weeks.. quite worry as the D-day is nearer.... but bb has not engaged.

So far my weight gain ok, coz i'm not very slim before preg... under gynae advice to control diet, managed to maintain at ard 6kgs weight gain.

cayden's mummy
the $20.80 offer is for jumbo pack. shengsiong one is not. need to calculate the per piece price to see which one more worth. :D

Wahh bubuya..ur baby really big ley. I went to see gynae ytd he said my bb head much lower now but not fully engaged too , me now 34 weeks . gynea also encourage me to walk more.

Anyone at isetan private sale today? Any good buy?

Bubuya,
ur baby is really big. everyone asked me to walk more but im just too lazy to walk. I'm like, does it make any diff if i were to do c-sect? is there anything i need to do or prepare for c-sect?

yeah, tat's y i'm quite worried might end up c-sec... other than control my diet, everyday will talk to bb telling her dun gain too much, lol.
So those who want bb to gain more, can try eating durian... i'm now totally cannot eat durian liao...

i heard abt eating durian.. it really does work.. den if eat a lot of meat and cheese can make baby big?? im always eating cheese and steak whenever i can.. dun really like to eat rice ... but my sweetooth has diminish since i got pregnant

my hubby also not willingly to do because of BB inside... think he is worried... only tried 1 time in 2nd trimester n for me is not very comfortable

but i told him maybe should try do once i hit wk 36 to induce labor.. haha!

anyway, i need BB to be co-operative to turn downward. if not no point inducing labor! dun wan c-sect!!!

mine is 2.4kg at 32 weeks, gynea said average is 2.1kg, so mine is above average. and he say for my size (1.56cm) i really need to control if not will end up having C-section. strange thing is i didn't really eat a lot just like normal, only gain 6-7kg so far dun know how come bb so big.

i thought sex in third trisemester can lead to early labor? so got to ask hubby to tahan for now rite. silvery gal, great idea !!! i want to do it also, so tired of going to work nowsaday, just want bb faster come out...

Havent been on this thread for quite some time. Went for my gynae appt on wed for 34w checkup and BB is now 2kg. Might start to eat more durians for d last lap of pregnancy, hoping baby will be at least 2.8kg at 38w.

Deals at isetan: pigeon and avent 20%, nuk 30% - they have the bundle consisting of 2 big and 2 small bottles (premium range) at $42 only! But the design quite ugly. Avent sterilizer only is $99. Bought pigeon towel for bathing baby, nipple shield, 1 mattress sheet and 1 nuk premium choice bottle in Winnie e pooh design only..

Sunny: yaloh muz go ncalculate.. I forgot how many piece is the ntuc one already..

thinking of hitting isetan sale tomorrow
anyone knows if taka sale is still on?

re horizontal mambo jumbo:
i can't remember which talk i attended and one of the mummies (probably nudged by hubby!) asked if it was safe to have sex cos he was afraid his *ahem* would poke baby in the head. and the speaker said "please tell your hubby not to flatter himself... cannot reach baby one la!" i found that to be really funny!

got the cordlife done today for baby. also went to isetan sale and only brot wet wipes (and SKII for myself, heee). now only left with breastpads that I really need to get. i think i should be pretty much done with the shopping needs then.

hmm, sex life is definitely not as active (and big tummy does pose some restriction) now but still going on. Although hubby do think we should try to abstain from now, but I think all the more we should try to be more "active" before the actual delivery! coz after that it will another recovery period before regular sex life can resume, no? =P

Hello Mummies!

Can someone pls enlighten me?
My doesnt-really-care brother commented my tummy seems to be lower than usual. Im currently at week 33 going to be 34 soon, anyone experiencing this too? Does the 'dropping' occurs this early?

Btw, ive been to khakit bukit's baby kingdom recently, i haven got the chance to compare the prices but i understand tat they are supposed to be more pocket-friendly.. Stock up all my wipes, powder, breast pads etc there.. You might want to check out the place. ;)

for 1st preg, i was very active. i dunno why i was very horny when expecting a girl. then this round, its totally diff. no mood at all, so not active.

gohstan: yes yes Lawrence Ang! Are you still using him this round? I'm not...

my yesterday week 34 checkup, bb is 2.5kg! i'm happy to have big bb!

Ms tan: oG sales brochure like nv promote any baby brands like nuk, avent hor.. Think I'm not going coa I bought most of my stuff alr..

Gary: combi wet wipes were going for $9.90 per pack when I bought it at $10.60 per pack at the fair at expo! Sianz!

Shuhui: wow bought so many things.. I think some items are not cheap there, same as retail price.. And bb actually not reccomended to use powder as it may cause nose allergy. If use also better to use cornstarch ones

Pinkbunny: I think still ongoing but no more members only exclusives as its one day only. The nuk promoter told me 30% only for yesterday dunno how true.. But u can go see!

Forgot to mention I bought this black silk PJ, it's dress with buttons all the way down. Looks quite comfy! $13.90 only

According to mrs wong, pointed tummy, low tummy, all no diff as long as baby is healthy. Sounds like you're not very close to your bro. If you want to "thank" him for his comment, maybe you can ask him "and how did YOUR tummy look when YOU were expecting?"

Cayden's mummy
I'm a bit confused. Apparent taka sale starts on 11 mar, but baby sale is still on? I'm confused. Anyway went to isetan sale
for thos who are not members, I found out it's actually quite cheap to be member - $10 for 2 years! Worth it! I bought some toys for baby and for my #1. There are also some activity books at good price!

Those with #1s, what big plans are you making for march hols?! We are going to be busy busy busy until....

I wasn't even so excited when I was a student! Hehe

i like d cakes and pastries from swissbake. din know they have full mth packages. Am always looking at choz or sweetest moments so now 1 more new choice to choose from.

Pinkbunny: I also confused.. Which baby fair u referring to? Hee. Let me list down those I know!

Taka baby fair: 4th - 25th march
Isetan: 9th march (member only), other promotion for jewelry etc on other dates please check their webbie for more info.
Mothercare: 1st march (members only), 2nd to 11th march (public)
OG: 14th march (member only), 15-18 march (public, 20% off)

Btw is there still 20% off for pigeon and avent at isetan? Coach also having sales there this weekend.. Hehe

cayden's mummy
sorry i got you confused! i think i must have been mistaken. taka fair is simply the baby fair that lasts from 4-25 march as you have pointed out. i thought it was 2 separate fairs, baby, and something else. hehe.

ooooh OG (uh oh, the auntie in me is emerging)'s prices are already quite good, plus 20%? yay!!

just to share, i saw this at isetan today, and if i had to choose a really good buy for kids ready for solid foods, this would be it. it's usually $50, which is quite a pinch cos it's not very big *but enough for a child's meal, and even my 3.5 is still using it now*. it's now $36 at isetan. super super good deal. i only saw spongebob and some other design (can't remember liao, sorry) but if you're not particular about designs, really, go for it!!!

it's lightweight (i used to carry the tiger thermos food jar around and while it's really good, it's also SUPER heavy) - can hardly feel the weight, and keeps food hot for about 3 hours, and warm for about 5.

description:
http://www.thermos.com/products/hello-kitty-funtainer-food-jar.aspx

Oh, I got that for no.1, I would say price never change much in the 6 years!

Yesterday, I went to Isetan sale too! I've bought a 0.8 thermal flask, 400ml thermal mug and a thermal lunch set, all in, around $100, good deal.

Pinkbunny: The hello Kitty food Jar is so so cute!
hahah. Actually i think May or June will start to have GSS.. by then we can shop shop shop again hohoho! So sayang.. i notice i can only shop for about an hour and i cannot tahan anymore... both legs and my backbone super pain..last time i used to shop for whole 3 to 4 hours.. hmm...

I'm in may2012 section, wondering if Any mummies here needs taka voucher for the taka baby fair? I have vouchers to let go at 10% discount.

Please pm me if u r keen.

Bbliss,

its at isetan scotts! actually I have seen the same brand and same PJ at OG departmental store, forgot the price already. Cos last time was searching for nice open-front PJ dress to wear during wedding day mah (during makeup).. LOL..

pinkbunny:
haha no worries! I thought I type wrong or what also.. Hee. U know la. preggy liao become very blur. wahaha..

Oh I like the hello kitty food jar too! But I have also seen people selling in SMH BP forum @ $35! Hehe. I also wanna get one 1 big one just to put soup (currently I have a tiny small one and 1 baby one with 2 inner compartments).. btw did u see those kids shoes on offer? SO many mummies were crowding around see kai run section!

MEinME: haha good buy!! normally 1 pc already costs $50 bah! btw are those for baby use? what do you normally put inside if its for baby? Sorry I dont have any clue, am having my 1st baby only.. hehe!

Ms_Tan: yes agree! haiz.. now no energy to shop..

pinkbunny,
i will be bringing #1 for Dr Suess The Lorax movie, Disney On Ice, cable car ride (again) and i got her more canvas and painting so she can do some painting at home. she loves it, we have her first canvas painting (more like doodling!) up on our living room wall. And my mom thought we bought it from an art gallery/shop. hahah...

my sis has the HK thermos, really cute! i have a plain one with a little pink/purple guess i will just use that for #2 and try to stick some boyish looking stickers on it! haha...

Cayden's mummy
Haha ya preggie brain got a lot of slap forehead "doh" homer simpson kind of moments

Yes! I intend to bring #1 back next week to buy shoes! She suddenly declared "I like kitty cat" (hello kitty) and I saw really cute checkered ones. Does anyone know if isetan tamp has a decent kids shoe section?

Ms tan
Ya lor. Now not only stamina lousy, but speed also not good and memory also kok up. I'm not a good shopper these days!!

But today I'm sacrificing nap time again to cheong another sale! Robinsons!

Another good buy for those with #1s to consider:
Infantino has a "when I grow up" round shaped (not ball, still flat) jigsaw puzzle that focuses on occupations. After discount, it's just over $20. I bought yesterday and told #1 it was from meimei

Update from gynae visit!
Baby is 2.3kg at 35.5 weeks. Mummy's waist has hit the big 4-0! Haha
The food jar is excellent! $35 at BPs seriously? Wow that's really good.

Happy that I have accomplished sth today! N that is cutting away my long hair...
Last wk I bought a food jar also by thermos but under thermos cafe series. Hope will be as good as thermos as it was a cheap grab.

Cayden's mum, I bought those for myself! My mum will be cooking for me. Usually, she will use the traditional tingkat 3 tiers metal container, therefore, I got this to keep my food warm and no need to rush over, already have 1 at home, just getting another set since is 3 meals.

This time, I had intended to do longan red dates drinks and sacred nursing tea, therefore, I'll need the 0.8l to keep my longan drink hot and the drinking mug is to keep whatever inside warm. I already have a 1l flask to keep my sacred tea hot.

For baby on the go, I would recommend the 0.7l porridge jar, that is, you can cook your porridge by putting rice and hot water in there! I have that and will be using it for soup for myself during confinement.

You may need a hot water flask if you intend to feed FM or warm your expressed breastmilk while outside. I always do direct latching, therefore, never use this.

Oh yes meinme! The tiger thermos food jar is great for cooking porridge! But tooooo heavy for me cos no car+always ergo baby+diaper bag. Jialat, back always pain pain!

Yay, byebye silvery girl's long hair!

Haru
Thinking of disney on ice too cos so cheap right, $18? Hehe.

We're checking out tampines water park, going to healthzone, library, watching 3 little pigs, botanic gardens, and hopefully, bowling! Pant pant. Mummy must have pm nap everyday at this rate!

silverygal,
i am so tempted to cut my hair short too!! but hubby thinks i would regret it coz that would mean i may not be able to tie my hair during confinement. haha..but i think after confinement i def wanna have a nice cut!

pinkbunny,
actually i spent like $150 getting 3 tix (hubby, daughter and myself) near the front row...since its her first such show...=P expensive so i hope she will enjoy it!!

i was thinking of 3 little pigs too! but not sure if i am being to ambitious with too much activities, haha..so gonna go with the flow for the other free time. =) my girl recently changed her routine and now skips her nap (we try to give her some down/quiet time instead) so she goes to bed earlier which mean we do get to do more in the day.

Hi cayden's mummy, mind share e brand of tat pj u juz brought ? Me be gg to e OG sale this week so can go recce.

Nid to get 1 more set of e pj
thx !

Btw, can I chk wif mummies here, wat FM are u ladies giving to ur bbs in addition to BM ? Thx.

haru
gulp! i'm only thinking of going cos i saw that the lowest range ticks are really cheap. will let my #1 bring her binoculars! hehe.

3 little pigs - i heard most shows sold out liao!!

if she skips naps, will she be cranky? this week, we're planning all morning activities, then nap after lunch :D

bbliss
if you go to OG at the one opp centrepoint, look for an obscure basket of FOX items. today i managed to get 3 t-shirts 3-6 months one at only $3 each! score!!!

i have a 20% off Avent voucher and a booklet coupon with many vouchers inside for first month baby package from sweetest moment/swissbake.., confinemt food etc, but i dun need them. will give them free. anyone wants please pm me to collect or to send me SAE

MEinME: thanks! That's useful to know! Hee. Ooh the porridge food jar is thermos brand? It sounds very cool! Can u share more info with me? Teehee.. I thot people cook e porridge and just put in a thermo food jar to keep warm that's all..

Silvery gal: pei fu!! No way am I cutting my precious long hair!! Very bu she de leh.. Lolz..

Bbliss: the brand is "the slip", its at the lingerie section, just look out for the PJ section..
bought it at $13.90 at isetan but iirc, last time I saw it selling at oG was $17.90..

Rgd FM, think I will follow e same brand as what e hosp will provide, as long as bb does not have any bad reaction to it.. My first bb so don't really know what brand is gd, was adviced to stick to the same brand as hosp..