(2012/04) Apr 2012

chalis: yes there is huggies, and pampers too.

should I get medela spare parts from Taka or frm SMH forum? Dunno which is cheaper..

lilcactus: for me, just bought 2 boxes first so if need then buy, if not very wasted. as we do not know how our milk supply will be like..

silvery_gal: actually this time round i wanted to try Mt A too. but heard that its doing reno... so decide to stick to TMC which i'm very familiar with already.

cayden's mummy: u didnt check the price when u were at taka fair? i also need to order some parts, but mine is ameda brand. think only smh bp have. but so lazy to go collect.

lilcactus: the leaking will happen more at early establishment of milk. Cos body still lost as to how much to produce, so will tend to over produce. After the milk establish, the leaking should lower significantly as long as you latch or express at regular timings. Will leak again if you miss the timing.
this time round i bought only 1 box of tollyjoy nursing pads to standby. Cos for #1, i wasn't leaking very badly after the first 3 weeks, as long as i remember to latch or pump, most of the time no need the pads, unless going out, den i will put to prevent nipples showing, hahahaha... and in case leak.

BTW, I did see Ameda diaphrams and parts on sale @ Taka Baby Fair. But never take note of the price cos I'm not using.

oh thanks cheekyduckie for the tips.

oh is it? i didnt notice that day when i was there. but wont be going again, so still got to order from the bp...

Cayden's mummy
It's the tiger food jar. I'll try to find link to post for you

Mrs kang
I'm always craving for stuff, preg or not

Lotusmum
It depends. If you have transport then not so bad but I found it very cumbersome and back pain inducing cos I don't drive around, plus ergo-ed baby everywhere! Very heavy. Use it when go out with hubby hehe. Or at home, just boil everything when got time, then by dinner, baby got nice porridge to eat
very useful

Lilcactus
Gasp, deliver at office!! Whoa. My sister almost got delivered in the car!

Cayden's mummy/starrie
My food jar has no inner compartment. One hollow thing for food, and one top compartment (very small) for condiments. I used to put fried egg yolk there to top off meesua/porridge when my #1 was small

Silvery gal
Wow RH is cheaper than Mt A? That's surprising! As we are nearing our EDDs, Mt A's renos seem to be still going on strong... Perhaps that's one point for u to consider too

Lil cactus
I honestly don't remember when I stopped leaking (I breastfed for 16.5 months) but it wasn't long. Less than 3 months I think.

No air purifier for me... Will just magic clean everyday :S

This time I have stocked up 5-6 boxes of Tollyjoy breast pads and 2 boxes of pigeons from friends! You need to change at least 3-4 pairs a day cause I confirmed leaked whenever I latch even later stage cause I slept through after 2nd mths.

Food jar has NO inner compartment, it's 1 big hollow.

Cayden's mummy: won't be going so early to grab d limited items. Somemore public transport will b too crowded.

Grab durians at kovan area. Need to pump up more wgt for BB before delivery.

Cayden's mummy
I also wanted to get freestyle spare parts previously.. compared the price for the breast shield, the one at taka fair comes with the connector (which I don't need) cost $32 each, and on the smh without connector is around $20 per pair.. If can wait, I feel that the overseas spree is the cheapest..

Medela spare parts are cheaper in the BP as compared to Singapore even with discount. Oversea spree probably cheaper by another $2-3, not significantly cheaper. What is the best deal is you order directly from oversea yourself and ship in.

But the thing is I dunno how to ship in.. heard shipping from US is also quite ex..
blah!

super uncomfy and tired today! my tummy like expanding out kind, plus bb pressing down and kicking the top of my tummy.. arhh!!

Lotusmum: sorry I missed out ur post! Hee. Then I shall get it from SMH instead.. Hee. Think some are ready stocks..

Anyone gg to oG sale tis morning?

Cayden's mummy: D Q at OG is super scary long. It been going round n round. They r limiting d no of ppl into d store hence moving slow.

Qiqi: haha im eating at centre point now! The q is really horrendous! Cannot go le.. Need to make my way to work soon.. Boohoo!

Is the OG sale opened to public today already? Till when? All outlets right?

Robinsons sale was good yesterday,card members enjoyed 30% off a lot of brands!

Nope today is members only for OG.. Only at orchard branch. Public is frm tml to 18 march at all outlets, 20% only.

I went robinsons centre point today, only 20% off now..

1.25 hours!!!?? Lucky I din queue if not confirm no time.. Lolz! Update us the discounts k!
like pigeon, nuk, medela.. Teehee!

Bbliss: My visits are always in between weeks, so I can't accurately say. My estimation is that my bb was about 2.7kg at Wk 37.

For no.1, she was 2.3kg at 32W, 3.3kg at 36W, 3.545kg at 37.5W (birth).

Now, no.2 is 2.3-2.4kg at 33W.

Finally went to the taka fair today and stocked up on huggies big time! And I saw the scary OG queue winding around the building! Were discounts good?

I think the discounts were not very cheap but aunties always go for OG instead of isetan etc so confirm queue v long! In fact when I was in the mrt saw many aunties holding the OG booklet, I alr know CHAM Liao.. Q confirm v long. It will be open till 11pm today! Saw someone post on FB, queue still v long at 4pm...

Hi kexie,

I prefer medela freestyle, easy n fast to use. ;)

My opinion for dieper, i prefer pamper brand rather than huggies or mamypoko. I feel pamper more thin and not that hot for infant. ;p

Back from the sale. Pigeon is 20% off. For Medela and Nuk, I think should be 20% as well as I didnt get to see all. Baby Bjorn & Babysafe also going at 20% off.

Most toys are going off at 30% like Vtech, Lamaze. For Fisherprice, the bouncer (Limited 50pcs) which is selling at $98 is still available at 3:30pm.

The most crowded area is the household dept where all cookware, bedsheets and luggages are. If never see wrongly, I think i saw a package deal of Tiger Food Jar with Endo flask at $48. But can't confirm as I could not manage to squeeze into the crowd.

Pajamas (Karmys, The Slip, Inpression) are going off at 30% so not bad of a deal. For me, I bought alot of toys and bedsheets.

Thanks for the info, Qiqi! Hee. So in e end how long did u take to go in? The bouncer isit really gd deal? Hmm..

Chalis: did u happen to see how many % discount medela is having at Taka fair?

Kexie: I think medela is highly reccomended but ex.. Depends on ur requirements also.. Some are heavy and some are lightweight meant for u to take to work.. Some are left side breast pump den right side then back to left side pump.. While others is both sides pump together. Also hav to consider if it's quiet enough..

What some ladies do is to see how is their milk supply aft birth then buy.. As some do not intend to bf for long (heard its v Tiring and many give up!)

i took 1.25hrs to get into d store. Bouncer seems like a gd deal as original price is over 200+ but i really have no strength to carry back. For me, I prefer those 3-in-1 swing as can change to rocker or toddler chair. For free delivery, it takes 14days..

Bot a luggage and a nice OG staff help me to put all my stuffs inside and carry up the stairs.

Bbliss
My little one was estimated to be 2.3kg at the 35.5 week check

(Closing my eyes re all the sale sale sale talk!)

Wonder how many people are beo-ing the tiger food jar now hehe

pinkbunny: Tiger food jar seems like a gd product. Used to put porridge in the thermos food jar so now thinking if shd spend $$ to buy d tiger 1.. Today will be d last time I Q up for any sales.. Dun tink my legs can withstand anymore.. Too tired.

qiqi
it's just very convenient cos don't have to worry about jaga-ing fire (cos porridge must be done over slow fire and stirred occasionally). so many times i had to struggle to fight sleepiness and give up nap time just to make porridge! i really wish i had known about this 'magic pot' function back then

ya, last leg of our pregnancy liao, better not strain ourselves too much ok?

think i will head to take fair to have a look for a suitable swing/ bouncer..see if there are any good deals.

was showering today and I realized i seem to have some cellulite now especially on butt and thigh areas. =( suddenly feel damn motivated to go running with hubby after confinement, hahaha!!! i definitely put on more weight for this pregnancy, hopefully i can lose it as fast as i did for 1st pregnancy.

Qiqi,
i am still craving for durians but so hard to find now! Kovan is really far for me, so I am thinking of gg to Geylang to get some before I pop, hahha..

re:breastpump
i used Avent Isis Uno (which also functions as manual pump) for #1. I preferred the manual to electric. Suction was stronger and I find i can pump faster. i kept my Avent manual pump for my back up this time and bot a new Ameda dual pump after reading quite a lot of good reviews. looking forward to try it. Never used dual pump before so i am keen to see how much faster it is!!

Kovan area (near to Punggol Nasir Lemak) is selling 猫山王 at $18 per kg and D24 at $12 each.

Suffered frm 1st leg cramp in d middle of night and now leg calf there is aching. For #1, I suffered frm leg cramps at second trimester so this time considers lucky liao. Lol.

try not to eat durians now as it is not the season, so they will add chemicals to make it ripen quickly, which is like not very goood...

Hi kexie, the high end medela r good but ex . I suggest freestyle or Pisa.
Ameda is cheaper. Though it does not look as fancy as medela, it worked well for me and I think it is value for money.

Durians!!! my FAV.. but cannot eat now as baby is very big already. 35.5wks 2.874kg!

also difficult to find nice durians as is not the season.

All of u are talking abt durians. Im craving for tat last monday and i still do till now... Lucky near my block theres this market and fruits stall which always sell durians and they open even after midnite.. yummy..!!

i dun think im going for the Taka sale coz im always too tired.. my leg always got cramps and my baby bump feels very tight most of the time. Not easy for me to sit or walk oso.. so uneasy doing anything now. I got the feeling tat baby is bit heavy this time.

i am thinking of going to Goodwood Park hotel to get the durian desserts!! since durians are so hard to get now! hee...

lilcactus: I used breastpads+++. I had them on virtually all the time,even after breastfeeding is established cos can occasionally leak. Got to change a few times a day and the disposable types are most convenient. I stock up whenever they go on sale.

Re breast pump again: Think electric dual pumps are the way to go esp for working mothers. And after my last experience, I think that all new mothers should have at least a pump for standby. For my previous pregnancy, I was advised to decide after delivery if I needed to buy a breastpump. Being KS, I bought a manual pump for standby(cheapest ones I guess) and when my milk came in, I regretted not having a proper pump. My hands ached from the frequent use of the manual pump and in the end, I had to borrow and put up with a pump (with weak suction and kept malfunctioning) cos I could not go out to buy one while on confinement. Almost gave up breastfeeding from all the difficulties I encountered.

Durians - I want some too but too bad they are not in season!

Went to gynae last night and baby weighs 2.7 - 2.8 kg at 37 weeks! And I gained 3kg in 2 weeks! Goodness! Doc says its normal and by the time bb is out should be 3.1 or 3.2kg..

He says the pain at vaginal area (ard pelvic) is because baby is trying to engage with the bone. Terrible pain! He says bb is almost engaged.. Still gt space..

Haru: think that bouncer / swing can buy after bb is born.. Later people gift to u also during full month celebration.. Hee. And some babies do not like swing / bouncer / playmats! Also u can take a look on FB, there is a group where mummies sell their preloved and BN items.. Hee.

Cayden's mummy: think it was 15% discount. and they werent selling spare parts. I was looking for spare parts for my freestyle.

Ya, i went past OG at abt 4 pm and the queue was snaking all the way round.

Had my dr's appointment today and baby is not engaged. Sigh, feel so heavy and i keep getting shooting pains in the pelvic/vaginal area esp when I go for walks.

Dr hasnt done scan since 31 weeks so I dont know how much baby weighs. Do you guys have a scan at every visit?

Some random salesperson asked me if i was having twins. Rest assured I didnt buy anything from her.