(2012/04) Apr 2012

MeinMe,
Ya, since i already have a Beco i am actually looking for a sling which is more for newborn - 6 months.

pinkbunny,
well, as long as not those frumpy looking ones (hubby hates those and so do i)! problem is i am on the petite side. 32B normally and even after delivery i was still around 32B/C. But most nursing bras start at 34C. I will go to MumsNBabes and Mothercare to check out their bras.

siti,
it is really much easier to latch when gg out. As you as you get suitable clothings, not necessarily nursing clothing (nursing bras are handy tho). I personally find soft t-shirts are easy to nurse. just lift your tee and drop down bra cup to nurse. oh, do get a nursing shawl (i use bebe au lait) to help u nurse discreetly. if you are shy initially just head to the mall's nursing room. once you are more comfortable can really nurse anywhere. =)

Haru : We went Novena to try it on at first, cost $79 . Was very convinced by them as it really fit newborn bb nicely inside n they can sleep better, also adult can hav a more balanced shoulders. We went online to buy instead as I mention is about $10 cheaper lor
we bought the olive green in color.

Haru, I was 32B or C too then, now, 34B liao. I can fit into Mothercare 34B. Alternatively, you may try Mum's & Babes Emma Jane's range, some models has 32, YOU MUST TRY the different model available because I wore both 32B and 34B for the 3 models that I have. Emma Jane, you pay a little more for the extra miles and comfort. Also, I don't like those nursing bra that is hole in the center, your nipple and my nipple maybe different in postion, I prefer those that open and drop down kind.

I wear nursing tops, you may consider nursing cover or even the sling.

Sling, I would suggest for your to "practise" in front of the mirror, after a few times, you will be fine.

mummies, need your advise on choosing bedding set. I am trying to buy a few sets of bedding, but when i saw the various bedding measurement i am really confused on choosing one. There is none that suit my cot measurement le. either the bumper size is too small or too big for my baby cot. i brought the baby cot at baby kingdom and it is 75cm X 135cm..

Hi mrs kang, for bumper I couldn't find any suitable designs so bought half length bumper in end. Anyway it's to protect their head and limbs.. When they know how to crawl flip or stand already no use Liao. Haha. Bed sheets can buy bigger as just tuck in the extra parts can le.

Btw any mummies bought insurance for their babies already? Am deciding which one is better.. Any feedback??

Boba wrap look nice.. I wanted to buy tat sling also..

I guess i will buy the nursing bra after i give birth so tat i won't buy the wrong size.. heheh.. open n drop down ones look easy.. coz if hole at the nipple a bit scary coz wait ppl can see the shape of ur nipple....ewww

cayden's mummy: can buy insurance already? my agent told me only when they are 1 month old then can buy.

re nursing bra. i wanted to buy too, some designs sold in bp is so nice! but i worry if i'll get wrong size leh. once milk comes in, cup size might change anot ah?

Ms Tan,
could you share the website u ordered your baby wrap?

MeinMe,
i prefer e drop down too. will def check the Emma Jane range, looks nice n comfy like a regular bra.

cayden mummy, lil> if not wrong you can buy insurance once hte birth cert is ready, after 2 wks when the newborn is born. thats the best period, because the longer u drag.. the bb mite develop illness which will then be not covered. but now u can discuss with ur agent wat kinda coverage u wan, ur agent can prepare the documents ready. once the baby is out, can jus pass the birth cert to agent and finalise it.

Haru,
I think will change.. like mine last time.. feel so tight and uncomfortable wearing my usual bra.. the nursing bra tat i had was like auntie2 kind of bra.. so i did not feel sexy.. hahaha.. after my confinement i will start to buy..

Gingerbreadger: ya I know.. Hee so now doing research on which insurance company is better. So far heard of great eastern, prudential, aviva.. Heard frm an agent aviva offer a v good plan but haven't go check the details. So check with u ladies first.. Hehe.

Is blue turtle adding people in the FB group lately? Am still waiting..

Cayden's mummy. Thank you! I am really going crazy while finding the suitable size for my bedding. Hehe

Little dd
If you direct latch then don't need to bring any bottles. Or pumps. Just bring boobies
and wipes, hand sanitiser, tissue, diapers, change of clothes, changing mat and maybe nursing cover, depending on location.

Siti
I have a few nursing tops and have found them to be useful. Moms in mind have some not too pricey ones. I'm not a fan of big loose t-shirts when out of house, and button down tops can take a while to work thru, esp when baby is crying and you are kanchiong to feed. Nursing tops, when you know how to use them, are the quickest

Haha re auntie auntie nursing bras. Aiyah with leaky boobies and all, plus leftover rolls around the tummy from pregnancy, hard to feel sexy initially la!

Hi mummies.. I'm an April mummy too! Currently 33 wks preg with my 1st bb & it's a boy..

Anyway, I'm selling my BN Boba Wrap in Olive Green. In box, just opened to check contents but never used coz my bb is not born yet. Hehe. Whatsapp me at 93803050 for pics. Selling at $65 inc free delivery.

Mrs kang: no problem! I also had problems with mattress size, in the end a mattress that is 3" bigger than the cot, we still can squeeze in -__- LOL..

pinkbunny: the nursing tops are they spag strap tops? Want to get some of those as well! hehe..

by the way, how many bottles do you ladies have for ur bb? currently i have 1 small and 3 big bottles.. is it enough? although i am intending to latch on but worried if change to pump or formula milk, will the bottles not be enough..

Siti: I preferred nursing tops because there is coverage for stomach when lift top to nurse. I bought nursing cover too as very worried of accidentally showing skin! But my nursing cover is not poncho type, just covers the front. I think that you will appreciate more coverage when baby gets more mobile and curious about surroundings. They tend to move around! But no need to commit to buying too many nursing tops first as you can always buy as you go along.

Mummies: have suddenly been buying lots of stuff for my older kids, especially clothes online! I wonder if it is nesting instinct kicking in, or guilty feeling that won't have time to help them buy after #3 comes.

Hospital bag also not finished packing but everyone tells me belly has lowered. Next gynae visit on mon@36 weeks. bit panicky now that not everything ready. Cot sheets not washed etc and it doesn't help that it has been so busy at work!

Hey i think babybjorn carrier seemed to be good. Mothcare is having sales, and its 50% discount. Not sure if it is for all range of baby bjorn carrier, but 50% is definitely worth buying.

Cayden - in case you need a agent for Great Eastern, i have one to recommend, he is very good and will find one that suits you the best. Not those who only push the 'expensive' yet low coverage type to you. He will also help you compare the existing one and analyse whether the price you are paying is worth or not, trustable. That is how i feel, as my friends had saved alot by giving up those low coverage, high premium ones and got a better one at a lower rate.

Hi MEinME,

thanks for sharing the thread.
Can i ask another qns. between EMU & Aloe Vera, which one work beta for dry skin & itch? sorry for so many qns. =p

hi cayden's mummy,
my friend told me prudential have insurance plan that cover the unborn baby. i dunno the details though. oya and i'm still waiitng for your pm. did i miss it or u forgot..LOL

hi pinkbunny,
where have mums in mind? haha i only know that few shops.. oopz

oya.. i asked about finding a shifu for bb's name.. so far no feedback from anyone.. haha.
no one have the same thought?

Fantasy, in general, oil-based is better that is EMU. EMU is safer in the sense that you can "consume" when you can apply on mouth sore or ulcer. Aloe gel has cooling effect and good for as diaper rash prevention too. Now, both of them my saviour! EMU for stretch mark prevention (after I've finished my Clarins) and all over body moisturiser after shower and aloe gel for night time itch!

Prudential plan is the only plan that cover mummy and baby, but mummy has to be 32 weeks and lesser, afterwhich they wont allow you to buy. That's what i heard from the fair.

Hi mummies! I've stopped working. What about you guys? My next gene appointment is tomorrow at almost 37 weeks. wonder if I'm ready to pop.

Caydence mum- can share your research on insurance providers?

I went to the mother care fair yesterday. A lot of the clothes for o-9 months sold out. Was quite disappointed. Was the taka fair any good?

Was wondering if any mum's are interested in sharing to buy the gaia bath and body wash online?

Chalis, I've stocked up GAIA during the recent baby fair at expo. 10% off everything and free 1 bottle of wash for purchase above $100.

What I know is Prudential and another AIS or something offers insurance from pregnancy till delivery, however, need to sign up before 32weeks. After delivery, during my time, 6years ago at GE, AIA offers free 6-month coverage. I think some post natal massage place also offers this 6-month thingy.

morning mummies, any one's tummy big until most clothes cant fit in anymore? its the case for me. work clothes limited, casual clothes also getting shorter. but not worth to buy anything now, cos will be full term in just 3 weeks.

counting down! although still not prepared yet! haha

Fantasy: have leh, that day I already PM u.. Haha. Let me know if you did not receive it will send u again..

Will be asking shifu to calculate bb's name too! Hehe. Going back to e same one which calculated date for our ROM and wedding
I feel it's better to have name which suits him (ba zi).. Have u thought of which shifu to consult?

Insurance: yes prudential has one for mum n baby but must sign up before 32 weeks. Im already 36 weeks! Anyway looking at more of hospitalization insurance for my bb which is very impt! So many friends ard me tell me it's a must as children get sick easily and hospital billls are really high.

Great eastern has 1 also which most of my friends are having, but it seems to cover certain illness only. AIA also have. I'm also trying to get more info also.. Will be contacting aviva to check..

AIA offers free first 6 months coverage. if u sign up for baby bellies, they give it for free. if u delivering in Glen E, during pre-admin, they will give u a form to fill up, also offer free first 6 months coverage. but its best to get it ready asap, cause the longer u drag, the chances of baby having illness is higher, and certain insurer will have exclusion clauses for those exisiting illness.

Aloe Vera is good for night itch? i shall go and get one.. my hands will feel itch during the night and i tend to scratch.. my gynae say this will go off after my pregnancy. Seems like alot of mummies is giving birth in early april. Mine is end of April hehe.. so still dont feel kan chiong yet. maybe when end March arrive i will feel kan chiong already. haha

Pinkbunny & EI,
Thanks for sharing. I will get a few nursing tops and a shawl or nursing cover too..

Mrs Kang,
mine is a scheduled c-sect and tat will be on 18th April. im not too sure if i need to be kianchong now or not coz my body everywhere is aching. I haven't wash baby clothes yet and still having this mix feelings and emotions. And I don't feel like going to work. Makes me feel irritated at work. haiz..

Siti, my baby clothes all also have not wash hee.. But things mostly brought already. I am also so lazy to go to work now.. But still will work till the date I give birth so as to have a longer ML with baby

Ms Kang, me too, end apr but will be c-sec 2 weeks before.

Yes, it's hormonal changes, will get away after delivery, gynae did gave me some medication but sometime it works, some time don't, I gave up. I'll apply oil for moisturiser then gel as instant relief!!! I need to use the word "buttering" aka just pump and apply, let dry. I've used up like 250ml in 1 week!!! I've just ordered another 1 litre bottle since we used it pretty often at home for insect bites, redness, etc

Bbliss: yup after bb is born ur hubby can pass them the details, it should be quite fast, max 2 or 3 days bah

Sianz.. Just got call frm Kkh, am tested positive for GBS. Haiz!

chalis: just like MEinME, I have stock up GAIA products during the baby fair. Heehee... KS me stock up alot on the Bath & Body wash n Hair & Body Wash.
i think u can join the overseas spree in this forum or Guardian, BUY ANY 2 FOR $35 (Gaia Natural Baby Bath & Body Wash, Baby Shampoo, Conditioning Detangler, Hair & Body Wash).

I just LIKE GAIA NATURAL SKINCARE in FB so saw their promotion.

Btw mummies, we are suppose to use baby shower gel while bathing for baby at home right? My friend told me don't so early use those shower gel, just bath with water say because baby got a natural baby smell.. But bath with water only will clean meh?? Really confused..

just went for my check up this morning. baby is 2.2kg @ 33weeks. can't believe its just another few weeks to go! went to get the flexi tub too, gonna let my daughter try it too. looks fun to shower in it.

shall finish up the load of laundry hopefully by next week and get the cot from ikea too.

Mrs Kang,
I used shower gel from beginning too, but can be very sparing since babies are actually pretty clean. i am using california baby, same as my #1. now my #1 mainly uses Earth Baby and California Baby.

Mrs Kang: normally newborns are pretty clean, they dont perspire much. but if you want, u can drip a very little amount of shower gel into the bath tub and just clean baby with the handkerchief.

Mummies, thanks for your reply! I am thinking to get pigeon baby shower gel or other brands. Any recommendation?

Silvery gal I also think so.. Maybe I just stand by one bottle then I double check with the nurses when I am in the hospital to use or not to use hehe

siti: oh sorry if i've not been clear. the brand that i've been using, i think its tollyjoy (i always recognise the bottle only), is not specifically meant not to be rinsed off one. but i heard that if just drip a few drops only into a big bathtub of water, it shouldn't create much bubbles. therefore no need to rinse off?

i haven't tried this method yet, cos when i had my #1, my mom also blur blur, just do a normal bath for my #1, that is put the shower gel directly on her and lather. which people says its drying for the skin.

so this round, i'm bearing in mind to drop the shower gel into the bath tub instead of direct on skin.

any other experienced mummies care to share how they bath their older kids when they were NB?

Haru,
u same with me in 33 weeks now but my baby was 2 kg already wen im 28weeks. That is why im very lazy to prepare for my new baby. heheh.. Take good care of urself. avoid over-exertion coz we both got toddler to take care of... so lazy to go to work..

I bought both California Baby and GAIA products. Yet to try. The non-rinse one is from GAIA. They have a new Hair & Body (2 in 1) wash for newborns. The bottle is slightly smaller than the usual Shampoo only bottle or Bath Wash only bottle.

Organic so I bought 2 bottles of that. Will use California Baby after GAIA when it's easier to handle her cos' CB is not non-rinse.