(2012/02) Feb 2012

Jen, Teoong - Most welcome mummies

Rocco - Eh actually i also got no idea y they r so cheap. Perhaps they wanna go for the masses? I rememember the brand of the machine is Philips. If i'm not wrong when scanning, its just like doing a normal ultrasound but just tt they have a program inside the machine to convert wat they see into 3D? I believe its safe la.. & u will love those pics u get. Hee

I hv spinal scoliosis... My gf asked me why I nv tell my dr early!, I thought wait till near edd then inform him....

Hazel, u should inform earlier abt your spinal problem so gynae will take note n check your spine on visit. If u planning for epidural, must remind the anaesthetist too due to cervical alightment.

Hi Rocco,

I have bought the prudential plan for my BB. Not sure about the AXA plan.

I asked Gynae on the 3D scan last saturday, he actually recommend to scan if you can afford, just take it as phototaking while doing your normal scan. He never mention any side effects.

We will be going this afternoon, hopefully can get to see BB as we are near week 30.

Hi Rocco, Ive considered both plans before but really they are pretty much the same. Decided not to go for it in the end after looking at the details of the plan with my insurance agent friend.

Hazel, thanks for sharing that link... i think have it too...

whenever i sit too long, i get pain standing up and walking for awhile... at night, i'm in pain just to turn side to side or to get out of bed... i never had these with my #1...

hazel, that's the pelvic pain i'm talking about. I had it for my #1 but it only started when i was near 8 months pregnant. Now much earlier....the pain will get worse, it will not get better. The 2 weeks before i delivered my #1, i was on clutches. Bathing was a torture. Simple things like putting on underwear, or wearing my maternity pants took me ages. Getting up from the toilet bowl was difficult too. It was nearly impossible to leave the house as i was walking too slowly & cannot walk too long. So please do your baby shopping now. You wont be up to major shopping in weeks to come. CNY cleaning? You better start now also...I've started to pack bit by bit already. Some gynaes call it ligament strain. It won't kill u but it sure is painful. Embarrassing too actually. I always don't know what to say when male colleagues ask why i'm walking so weird.

Morning babes!

Rocco, I also brought my plans from Prudential like Maxiblur. I would suggest that you hear out the plan and then decide.
How's everyone's Tuesday? Am alr craving for some meat liao.. heehee :p

Buttlerwaffles, yes, I am planning to complete buying most things In next 2 wks coz I will be on block leave. A shopping trip of 2-3 hrs last wkend I already can't take it! But, I still plan to leave buying the bb cot till the last part, ie near cny, since I hv no intention to set it up until bb is born. I know wat I wan already n where to get it. So in Jan, I will make payment n when I am in hospital, will call them to deliver n fix it up coz it takes 1 day only to deliver.

Last wkend I bought most of the small items. This wkend I need to buy bulky items like car seat n stroller. Then, next wk I need to make a trip to buy in bulk those cheap cheap bb daily wear for home use. Still need to wash them n those going out clothes I bought online n yet to arrive.

I need to pack my spare room n store room to make way for all these things. Now, I just leave them one side. V messy. Cny spring cleaning all done in October already by mil's maid!

I dun feel that endowment plan is necessary if we can set aside money/assets for bb. I computed the returns versus the premium, not worth at all. The policy that I will defintely get for my bb is a comprehensive medical n hospitalisation plan since that is v expensive here. Start young n next time after she is grown up, she can continue from there.

I saw the AXA plan recently, but not sure what's the premium like, anybody know? For my first boy he got free medical insurance that cover medical and hospital fees since hubby and I both took up Aviva Myshield plus. On top of that we purchased an investment linked policy for him. Think will do the same for this one too.

Maxiblur: you going today too? i went down for my 3D scan this morning as well!
baby was naughty facing down despite me telling him to face up early in the morning. haha. he managed to flip upwards and took some pictures. but he has one hand covering partial of his face. no suck thumb pics.

BluCryst: What deter you from buying? can share?
For me i am hesitating cos i dun realli like ILP savings plan, i prefer the traditional endowment plan, plus a whole life, which was what i originally planned but of cos its subject to baby's condition when born.

Rocco - At least ur bb's cooperative and managed to flip up, do u like the pics?

Insurance
Actually was considering prufirst gift. But i m not so keen on the monthly $100 premium after birth of the child. Agree with Hazel tt i'll rather invest on hospitalisation n medical plans aft he's born.

Insomnia
Do u mummies suffer frm insomnia? I find it so diffcult to fall asleep at nite... was still wide awake at 4am yesterday. To make matters worse..i wake up nearly every hr or 2 aft tt to pee! Super disrupted slp!!!

I have following BRAND NEW items for sale:

1. Pigeon wipes with casing (multiple): $4.90
Usual: $7.90

2. Tommee Tippee 0-3m Pacifier (x1): $4

3. Pigeon Milk Bottles (multiple): $13 each
Wide Neck, Peristaltic Nipple, BPA Free, 240ml

4. Organza Cloth for Maternity Shots: $8
White with Shimmer, 3M long.

Collection at Sengkang/Newton/Serangoon MRT.
Pls email me at [email protected] for photos.

Rocco, Maxiblur, you all went today? Haha! I was supposed to go down but last min changed our appt. Going nxt week instead. SHare your experience here ok!

I went to gynae for check up this morning. At 28.5 wks baby is 1.2kg. Doc said it's a good size. Phew! My tummy not really big compared to other mummies so I tend to be abit worried. But baby is already upside down. Yay!

ging3r> Yes, we can still do normal dental works without anesthesia but just inform your dentist that u are preggers.

Re: bb insurance. for mummies who have not signed up for pru first gift yet. do get all the details first before signing. initially i thot it was very good as it was the only plan that starts before bb is born. BUT the hidden side is that for the hospitalisation coverage portion, maximum can only claim up to $5000 (which is not much), and its limited to certain illnesses only.

having said that, eventually i did get the most basic pru first gift ($100/mth), because we found out that Pru is the only one that covers bb for TPD/death if they are born with congenital disorders that leads to bigger issues. without pru first gift, if (TOUCHWOOD) bb is born with some kind of congenital disorders, it might be hard to get insured at that time. then parents will be stuck with large medical bills.

pru first gift is also good because the premium paid from now on can be converted to bb's education plan. your agent will probably tell u that $100/mth plan is not enuff to cover bb's education with inflation blah blah blah.. shld go for 200 or 300/mth. but i feel that u can always compliment this plan with other plans later on. dont get stuck with a large premium for pru first gift cos the returns is not really the best.

lastly, i feel that the more important plan is to get an enhanced shield plan for bb once they are born. all newborns get medishield by law, but we shld add on with either prushield or aia shield or whichever your insurance company. that shield plan (paid by cpf) will cover much more AND if you pay a couple hundred more in cash per year, it even covers outpatient type of fees.

sorry for the long post! hope this helps. =)

Rocco> how many pics did u take? and how long is the process? shld bb be active or sleeping when we take the pic? (i.e. shld i drink lots of sugary drinks before going down? hehe)

Planet, yes! That is the enhanced shield plan that is a MUST to be, coverage is alot more, some with no life time limit. Myself has one, with a rider, i do not even have to pay for excesses n co payment. I hv made 100% claim a few times. So, I stay in the best ward

Same reasoning as planet on the pru first gift. It's more for the critical illness part. Also, if touchwood, baby has any conditions when born, at least he has a basic insurance in place already, cos with a known condition, it will be difficult to get insurance later on. For hospitalization plans, eg prushield, got to get it after baby is born.

Happy tomato, I go toilet every 1-2 hrs at night too. Very tiring.... Think it's quite a common thing....

i think its more impt to get a hospitalization/medical plan than endowment/investment plan during the initial baby years. i spoke with my insurance agent (also a friend of mine) abt this cos i wanna get endowment plan also, and she advised to settle the hospitalization/medical plan before u think abt financial planning for baby. if ur budget permits, den we can talk abt the saving/investment portion. afterall, delaying the financial planning for a couple of years wouldn't make a big impact to us/baby, but the medical one will make a big impact.

another point she said which makes sense to me is that we shld take good care ourselves also. cos who going to take care of baby if we are sick/down (touchwood). so might consider upping my coverage to ensure family is well covered. but that's of cos depend on my budget la..currently my personal insurance already quite stretch. so my priority is medical insurance for bb. got extra money den think abt extra coverage for myself or endowment/investment plan for bb

one more thing, we need to take into considerations that hospitalizations / medical plans can only kick in effect 30days after bb birth. this is one reason why i buy the Pru-first policy now. Like GHK mentioned, at least baby has any conditions when born, at least he has a basic insurance in place already.

nice?

bought online at a cheaper price compared to here n best part shipped free from UK to SG! books that can "sound", "rattle" or bb can "feel"! can hang on car seat or stroller somemore...

6377967.png

planet: after i went for breakfast, bb faced upwards
not sure about what you want to eat though. i took quite alot of pics but eventually she burnt only 7 copies for me (think there is a limit of the number of pics they can give us), considering how much we paid.

For me i will definitely get the shield plans. Because its very essential! esp kids early years touchwood they fall sick easily.

i cannot decide leh for the prufirst gift
by week 32 must buy already!

lavlyn: for AXA, they claim to be better than prudential. They cover additional 1 more congenital illness and pregnancy complications.

But i think prudential has a longer history in the industry. AXA previously specialised in general insurance before going into life insurance. so i guess more confidence in prudential products.

Rocco: The most attractive of the plan was the initial part where it covers the child if there is anything that normal insurance won't cover (touchwood). And if there is a need to claim, there is also a limit to how much can be claimed and limited to the type of claim. And it's not a lot. Like what planet said I think it's about 5k.

If all goes fine, the second part will kick in, in which the plan will be for the child and most people will take it as an education plan for their child. However the part that deters me is that the returns are not attractive at all. In fact, there's not much of a return. Moreover, this is a payment for life plan. Like you said it's ILP vs traditional life plan so it's up to how one weigh this.

According to my friend, both plans are very similar. The single premium is also the same if I'm not wrong. Just that Prudential is the first to have this plan and AXA just came up with this plan only very recently.

BluCryst: I also think the initial period coverage is not attractive at all. So after deliberating I'm not going to buy it since my bb will be covered by default under our shield plan after the 30 day period. After that I'll still get him IPL plan like his bro, so that when he grows up and starts working, he can decide for himself what he wants to do with it. Who knows what changes there might be in the insurance industry by then, so I don't feel comfortable committed to whole life policy.

Rocco - I also faced the same problem as you. After you open the CD u try clicking on the:

IHE_PDI folder ,
00000000 folder ,

Should be able to view the pics

Hi Planet, same as Rocco, my BB face was cover with his little hand but he never let go to let us take the full face photo.

But we manage to see BB kicking during live scanning.

The nurse claimed that maximum photos given is 5, I got 6, more also no use as most pictures are blur.

Hi Rocco, the lady shown it to us as we request to zoom out to see the whole BB. The lady said whole is not possible but when zoom out, manage to see BB kicking.

Try using PmsDView_R1.2 to view the picture instead of viewerlite2.

Hi gals, i hav to take leave to rest at home. The KKH nurse say I do not hav fever but I got it when I reach home. Doc refused to give me hospialisation leave so no choice hav to take 2 days leave. Feel terrible. Can't sleep cos of whole body ache and cannot find a gd position to sleep. Hope I can recover tmr cos really finished up all leave liao.

Jas - oh dear... it sure is terrible to be ill when we're preggy... a normal flu took me more than a mth to be completely well... y'day took mc for my UTI problem... always get it when i'm preggy... i had to be admitted for a few days the last round i got it... so once i feel something is not right y'day, i went to doc imme... so scared i'll end up in hospital again...

effie, I finished up all my leaves and MC for the yr.
Mich, take care too. at lieast u hav MC to take. I also jus recover from UTI few weeks ago. Have cough since CNY till now. I'm bf tat time so can't take strong med too. Tis pregnancy, I keep getting fever, flu, coughs, gastric flu, UTI and fungusn infection. Sian! So I finished up all my MCs. Hav been taking med almost everyday. Hope it won't affect my bb's health.