(2011/12) Dec 2011

Fruit Tree: Did you test the flow of the teats? Some baby reject bottles coz of the flow. Mine is so fussy, we changed at least 10+ types of teats and bottles before finding 1 that he likes.

Yoyosan: Dont let bb rely on swaddle lah, bb will soon grow out of these (reflex and the swaddle cloth).

We stop swaddling when bb is 2weeks +, he wakes up so often i literally sat beside his cot and standby to pat him incase he startled. The only time i move is to go toilet fullstop

The next day he cant be bothered liao.

And yes - use bean bags! Mine loves it! My dad then decided to make a dozen more....-__-"

Finally my boy decided to let me cuddle him to sleep - i guess its becoz of the heartburn everytime he lies down. So now after activity, will cuddle him to sleep, when he is sleepy then lie him down on bed to feed.

Oh and jialat - my bb haven poo! This is the 3rd day! Sheeeet! Howwww???

Ejunko: Rhonda says it's ok for babies not to poo for 5 days! She said can try giving some water. Are u feeding the rice cereal already? Maybe that's the reason?

Fruit tree, yup, #3 did spit out some of the milk initially, then looked at me and cried. Machiam scolding me for giving her poison! The other 2, can't remember already. Memory getting worse and worse after each pregnancy and childbirth!

Ejunko, my longest record is 5 days without poo. The first poo after the 5 days was heaps!!!

Just came back from pd. Baby weighing 5.78kg. Told pd that baby doesn't like her high fats fm. PD said tak boleh already, needs to start rice cereal to help baby gain weight. She gave me a box of Holle organic rice cereal, lesser chance of developing allergy. So I'll also be starting solids in 2 days time.

Yoyosan, my baby doesn't startle in his sleep alr. I half swaddle him just to keep him warm. I let him slp on his sides for quite sometime to help him slp better, now he will move to slp on his back after he fell asleep.

Ejunko and Yi Chin: mine also record 5 days no poo and on 6th day massive poo twice. Can do tummy massage and leg lifts to help baby poo.

Yi Chin: hope yr baby gains weight once u start solids. She doesn't look underweight in photos, her cheeks quite chubby.

ejunko, in the end what did u use?

Yi Chin, okie.. thanks a bunch for sharing.

My memory also terrible now. My massage lady rec me to drink yang ming tzu (smth sound like tat), she said aft she drinks that, her mem improve. I haven't tried though.

BTW, how often do you feed your baby? what was her birthweight?

BTW, you all starting on solid food already ar? Tot supposed to be on the 6th month? this is my 2nd child, but somehow feel like 1st. Can't rem how I did with my first child :D

Tangerine, Yuet Sim & Yi Chin: FIVE DAYS??? Omg i cant imagine the poo on the 6th day man....

Yi Chin: Oh you also starting cereal? Let us know if the cereal works, i also hope to beef bb up.

Fruit Tree: Pigeon ones - the standard neck size i think. Bb rejected all wide neck until now.

My memories also damn bad now...maybe coz it has been too long since i last played mahjong sigh. Anyway check this out:

http://www.onlineuniversity.net/20-foods-that-will-increase-your-studying-effectiveness/

Fruit tree, I feed/ latch every 3 hourly, except at night. She wakes up once at night for feeding.

Birth weight was 2.3kg. The pd is very concern about her weight cos she was diagnosed with intra uterine growth retardation and was taken out at 37 weeks by emergency caesarean. Pd said once baby hits 50th percentile, then she should be fine.

What is that drink ur massage lady recommended? Is it Chinese herb?

We all starting cereal based on pd advice. See what ur pd say on ur next visit lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirley, I recently tried sacred tea, effective for me. Never try mother milk tea before.

Fruit tree: I saw pd yesterday and she said baby is growing well on bm, no urgency to start solids. I plan to give full bm till 6mth. But she told me to try giving some rice cereal mixed in bm by spoon maybe a week before the 6mth review, just to see how he takes to it.

Shirley: I'm taking fenugreek. Not sure if it really makes a difference but I've been taking it since ard 6 weeks when baby's appetite was big. So far he's been getting enough milk so I just keep taking. Never tried mother milk tea.

Seems many people recommend pigeon. Think I'll get 1 and give it a try.

Shirley: Mother milk tea is to increase bm is it?

Yi Chin: Yeah I think it's some sort of chinese herb, my mil know, let me ask her later.

Tangerine: Owkie, I also plan to full bm, but with my boy refusing to drink from bottle, not sure whether need to start on solid or not.

I'll ask PD on his coming checkup.

Hi Shirley, you can stop taking when your supply is good, this is recommanded by my gynes.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirley, I start fenugreek whenever I return to work. Usually by then, supply will keep dropping, so will keep taking fenugreek to maintain supply for as long as possible. So once I start, I will continue to take until bm supply dries up. If ur supply is good, maybe u can try stopping for 1 day and see if it drops?

My girl got her first 5-in-1 jab yesterday. Today keeps sleeping and keeps wanting to latch. She felt a warm, so I took her temp, was 37.6 degree. For babies who had fever after jab, how high did their temp go up to?

Yi chin: my boy didn't get fever this time. His is 6-in-1. No change in behaviour also. But the first time he had a low grade fever. Think hovered ard high 37-38 deg. But only lasted a day.

Mommies, thanks for sharing ur succss on swaddling or lack of swaddling. Lol. Yup, using beanie pillow on chest. Maybe not heavy enough?!

Tangerine, the website babies on the swaddle wings thingy looked like angels, cute!

Yi chin, does it mean ifc will hv to break ur gal's sarong habit? Share how they succeed ok. Thx!

Oh today start cereal? She likes it? Use bottle or spoon? Btw if bb dun like the high fats fm, can u use other brands which might be sweeter n easier on taste?

Ejunko, bb's grandpa's first grandchild? V involved granddad. How come u din say wan give beanies away? Hee.

Yoyosan: he's been waking up very easily this week. Last time he would sleep at ard 9.30-10, and only wake up for milk at 2+ and 6+. Now he will still sleep by abt 9.30, but will stir in his cot like every 2h or so. I'm a very light sleeper so once he moves his legs or head I'll wake up. Then try to get him back to sleep by giving pacifier before he's fully awake. Sometimes he'll go back to sleep. If not I've to nurse him to sleep. Think it's what the website described- the light and deep sleep phases he's learning to deal with.

Yoyosan: yah baby looks very cute when his hands are in the wings. The thing is that once their hands are in that position, they can't put them down. So I don't know if it's comfortable to be like that the whole night!

Yoyosan, pd said start 2 days later cos baby will be fussy after jab. So only starting on Saturday.

Tangerine, hopefully she'll be fine by tomorrow like yours!

Shirley, I took fenugreek before and it didnt seem to have effect on me. So when I stopped taking, my supply maintained.

Hey mummies, how long later will the fever occur after the jab?

Yi chin, hope bb's fever will b gone today! Shoo...

Snowyotaru, usually in a day or two wil occur.

Bm

-My gynae previously prescribed domperidom for increasig bm. It's aactually a motion sicknees pill. Effective for me. Engorgement till I din dare take for my #2 this time.

hello mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

its black friday today! wahahaha! ;p

tmr (sat) gg to bring bb for her long-overdue vaccine.. tis time not gg to tell her we gg to c doc, jus say we r gg out.. cos 3 weeks ago she decided she dun wanna be jabbed & so, she fever jus as we were leaving hm & when reach clinic, she was 38.7deg! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

YiChin:

usually i jus feed her panadol drops after she finish vaccine, instead of waiting for e fever to develop n she will zzz..... sometimes missing her feeds, but i let her rest.. but wil not drag her feed beyond 5 hrs... i oso standby pigeon fever pads & stick on her forehead when e fever comes bac on-and-off... but usually after 3 days, she wil be bac to normal.... bubbly & active again.... not so blur blur....

ejunko:

i started wif pigeon wide neck teats.. then after 1+mth to 2 mths, i switch to MAM anticolic bots & teats... i tink i m e one to switch fr pigeon to other brands wahahahaha.... bought so many pigeon bots, haiz... now all sayang.... put 1 side liao..... but stil using e bots to store my ebm..... :D

mums:

my bb loves to kick her legs whenever she zzz... or shld i say, even when awake, she loves to raise up her legs and kick... she is so strong i tink i m gonna let her learn soccer or taekwando! wahahaha.... haiz... now no longer gg into deep sleep.... she always fidget, and slant her body during zzz until like a worm..... head pointing to 1 angle, body another pattern, hands n legs all spread out, super unglam.......... ahahahahaha..... n can shift until her pillow is above her head! "-_-"

last nite, i laid her on the playgym to play while i warm up ebm for her.. only take barely 5 mins n when i came bac, she was flat on her tummy! n she was trying so hard to lift her head... but keep facing down into the mat... wahahaha... see liao duno to laugh or cry.... but realise cannot leave her alone to play now.... gotta check on her every 5-10 mins...... dangerous....

yichin:

my bb was 2.6kg at birth, now dun even noe got 5.5kg bo... cos last measured at abt 3 wks ago, jus barely hit 5kg only......... i tink ur girl is meatier than mine... hehehe.... i shld be e one trying doubly hard to beef her up.... hope tmr when i measure her, she is at least 5.5kg or more!!!! *keep fingers crossed!*

any mums giving teething toys to babies? other than sophie? my girl jus loves her fingers, eat until damn shiok, but i scare she scratch her gums.... always gotta rem to check her nails...

mums, wat toys r u playing wif ur darlings now? care to share? i hv yet to intro flashcards......

bubbles: my boy also likes to raise his legs up and hit down on mattress during sleep, don't know why... somehow wiggle until head off pillow like yr girl.

yay, yr girl can flip on her own, that's another milestone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Let her have more supervised tummy time, she'll be able to lift her head better. I think my boy too chubby, not able to flip on his own yet.

He puts anything he can get his hands on into his mouth. Other than sophie, bought pigeon brand teether, the one that looks like it has 2 flowers on each end, the handle is small enough for him to grasp. He loves it but his fingers still his favourite. Other toys, he likes anything that makes a sound or plays music. Have not started on flashcards too.

Mummies: how do you all clean toys? just wipe with water or ???

Yoyosan: LOL if i give away the beanies my dad will slap me! Ya super involved...he is making bb a wedge pillow coz of his reflux...god knows how. -__-"

Yi Chin: Mine has slight fever - 37.7degree for a while on the 1st night then after med soon went down already.

bubbles_c: I opp from you, i bought all types - all buay sai, then ended up anyhow grab a pigeon and he likes it. wahrao waste marnie. I think my bb also hates wide neck.

Is mam good? Meeting them next monday, maybe can buy and try.

Yuet Sim: I clean with cooled boiled water only. But i clean very often lah. Lol your boy looks damn fit to me can?? His body like super solid lol.

Mummies:

When can bb successfully crawls ah? Mine wanna crawl forward but he duno how to, end up pek cek lol. How can we assist bb here?

I use to take 1 tablet of fenugreek everyday, stop for a week plus when i find my supply is enough. Just 2 days ago i realise my supply drop drastically. Maybe because i miss in pumping out my milk for a few time. Now i resume back taking fenugreek this time i take 2 tablets a day. Hopefully my milk supply will come back. GUILTY ME!

Hi Bubbles,

how old is your girl? can your girl flip from tummy to back? Do you monitor her regularly when she sleeps?

My girl is now 17weeks, she can flip from back to tummy when we put her lie flat but not from tummy to back. Initially we have the intention of letting her sleep in baby cot but now we are afraid she may flip over and sleep on her tummy at night so we have no choice but to still let her sleep in cacoon-a-baby mattress still though she is actually too big for it.

Snowyotaru, mine had fever the next day after jab. Today is day 2, no more fever already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan, my gynae also gave me domperidone. Will try it in may when I start work! But he said to take for 1 week only. Cannot take long term.

Bubbles, ur girl so clever, know she's going to see dr! Urs is the first one here to be able to flip to tummy! Mine can flip from tummy to back, esp when she doesn't want to do tummy time.

Yuet sim, I rinse with baby soap or bottle cleanser before giving. No need to be so strict, cos they'll be putting everything they can grab in their mouth and we can't sterilise the whole house. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ejunko, crawling at about 8 months.

Shirley, drink more fluid too!

Shirley: When your bb flips from back to tummy is she able to lift her head well and turn her head sideways to sleep? When mine first flipped over he didnt know and always head down when tired. I think only that period needs to monitor, once passed then should be ok, right?

I think bb just need space to do all these stunts, cot can only do one set of rolling right? Lol i dont know, mine roll from back to front then front to back but wanna do another back to front - he reach the end of the cot already hahaha.

Oh but you can try placing a bean sprout pillow over bb and see if she flips. Mine stops immediately and "surrender" - hands up. =D

Yi chin, did gynae mention y only short term domperidom taking?

Ejunko, bb will sit unassisted first then crawl. Heard some skipped crawling, go straight to standing. Anyway if u wan assist him crawl forward just for fun n relieve his frustration, just put ur hands behind his feet, as he kicks u, he'll move forward lor. Cheap thrill for us all. Haha.

Mine still trying to flip...use leg push push, then fall back. Yest I pretend help her flip over, she tot she did it by herself, open mouth laugh so wide. No heart to tell her otherwise.lol.

yuet sim:

yeah, my girl likes to eat her fingers and her fist lor.... cant stop her... but at times i will pull her hand out.... hahahaha.... i clean toys and my playmat (those huge mats from korea) wif water & my bottle cleansing liquid... then final wipe wif jus clean water n let it air dry..... certain items i throw inside laundry mat n into the washing machine... hahahhaha....

ejunko:

MAM bottles are with those flat teats... i m using their pacificers too..... pigeon teats r round teats.. n becos my girl sucks quite hard & loud (she is not a silent eater), if i compare pigeon teats wif MAM teats... definitely MAM teats r softer n seems to fit into her mouth better.... n she seems to drink e milk wif ease.....

who r u meeting on monday? MAM stuffs can buy online or from spring maternity shops (vivo, nex, suntec, hoi hup building)..... :D

actually i like their anti colic bottle system lah.... and my gal can burp.... previous on pigeon bottle, she cant burp so her stomach bigger than her head.... hahahhaa... n so coincidentally i realise my avent breastpump can pump directly into MAM bottles.... wahahahha.... another plus point! ;p

shirley:

my girl was born 4/12/11, so she is 17 weeks already.... so far i hv yet to see her flip from tummy to her back.... she needs us to help her... hahaha... today she din flip leh.. maybe tired or lazy.... hahaha... will monitor n see when she flip again.... tis morn i try to help her flip to her tummy then push too hard, she flip to tummy n then to her back... hahahaha.... so funny....

during nite time n even her day-naps, i hv to monitor her cos she likes to rub her face into the pillow, duno y.... so mus hv constant checks on her......

yichin:

babies r really smart leh.... tats y not gg to tell her gg to clinic tmr... hahahaha... i m so anxious to noe her weight n height now.... ;)

Ejunko, it's good that it is still a long way to go! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Once they start crawling and walking, you'll hope that they stay immobile!

Imagine always going after them to make sure they don't "kill" themselves by pulling wires, touching sockets. Mine crawled to the newspaper pile and bookshelves and DVD shelves then pulled everything out!

Yoyosan, he said nothing beats latching, not good to take medicine for long term. So only gave me 1 week of med to boost supply for short term.

Yi chin,

my girl also slept a lot and didn't drink much after her pneumococcol jab on mon.. till wed night still a bit cranky. but she didn't have any fever. last night revert to normal liao..

Bubbles,

mine also can wiggle until the pillow above her head and she rotated 90 deg.. she loves kicking too! hahaa..

I only use rattling toys, then tell her abt the toys, like this is an orange tiger, a blue dog with spots etc..otherwise will just sing to her, my mum always sings hokkien songs to her and she laughs so loudly.. hahaa..

yoyosan,

so cute that she thought she did it herself! hahahaa..

ejunko,

ur baby is super de loh, trying to crawl!!! he everyday lift weights n run threadmill is it? super developed loh.. hahahaa!!!

Yoyosan: LOL ok later i try to put hands behind his feet haha

Bubbles: Whoa mam will be super delighted to know your praise lol, am meeting the owner on Monday for a discussion then maybe shunbian shop abit.

Anyway i thot bb sucking hard coz the flow too slow? No ah? Mine used to suck quite hard until i changed to M size. Less gassy also.

Yi Chin: You're right man, that reminds me to clear my home abit. I have 4more months to "spring clean"~ sian max.

Curry: hahahahaha no lah he is trying to reach for his toys, machiam swimming liddat, so i wonder when can bbs crawl.

Wld like to join this thread. I'm initially was from jan 2012 but DS born early in december.

Do everyone chat here or fb?

Ejunko, yup, need to start baby proofing the house! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hanging wires, socket, sharp corners of tables etc.

Anns, hi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we mainly chat here, but go fb to see baby photos. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my edd was in jan 2012 too, but baby taken out by gynae in dec 2011. From oldest in class become youngest in class.

Hi Anns! Yup we chat here...they very low profile on fb one lol.

Yi Chin: I have no idea how to get rid of those ugly wires...you got tips? I wanted to buy those covers from gmarket but i afraid insects might hide inside lay eggs or store dust/fur...*sulks*

Yuet Sim, my baby has similar behavior as yours...put things in his mouth, legs hitting mattress...head off pillow. He can rotate himself 90 deg in the cot till his legs are hanging out from the bars. If I put him on my bed, he will move n move till the bolsters can drop off the bed. So I can't leave him unattended if he is there.

I suspected that my baby is teething now with almost all the visible symptoms I read of. He has been very fussy and that's what keep me busy these few days. How do you handle your teething baby?

ejunko:

u power leh! meeting e owner of MAM... so wil hv discount for their products? hahahaha.... if so, i would love to buy thru u too..... kekekekek... ;p

i guess e softer e teat, definitely it helps baby to a certain extent.... i was told nuk teats r gd too... but cos i bought MAM already, so i jus bought a trainer cup fr nuk to try later stage.... i will go get a stage 2 mam teat later n see if it helps.. now my little girl takes more than 15 mins to finish abt 150-160ml of milk.... a few times she took abt an hr to finish!!!

hi anns! nice to 'meet' u here... :D

snowyotaru: my baby wasn't extra fussy when teething. Noticed he was sucking his fingers extra hard and drooling a lot. Sometimes just give him teething toys. They say can try to put teether into fridge as it would help sooth baby's gums, but I haven't tried.

Good morning mommies!

Busy busy week for me..

Yuet Sim, thanks!! After we decided on the name Emma, we realized it's a very popular name since 4 years ago.. We love it cos it means "complete". She completed this family.

Fruit Tree, I went to TMC Parentcraft Centre, the LC advised me not to as poking will cause scarring and may have more clogging in future. Sigh! Anyway, I already see scarring, the blebs are getting smaller but the contant "lumping up" from pump is really making me an unhappy mom. I will be taking a one moth course from 20th and I am not sure if I will be able to pump enough for her while I am away. I gave her fm on Thu night and she took 2oz out of the 4 and after that, she rejects the bottle of fm, and wanted to latch. I think she was sleepy and meeded her MOM pacifier.

On the note of spitting up, Em has always been a small eater, she only takes in a max of 3 oz (150ml) w/o spitting up, if I give her the whole breast (normally about 4-5oz), she will spit up about 5-10mins after that.. So difficult to feed her.

Yoyosan, Emma dislikes being swaddled with arms wrapped so I swaddle her from armpit down. It works well too!

Tangerine, Yuet Sim & Yi Chin

RE: BB Constipation

My experience with my #1 was 3 days. Esp if bb is on bm, 7days no poo is ok. My son owas on partial fm. According to the nurse, there's soemnthing they will do that we can do at home -- lift up bb's legs like as if we are changing their diapers, wet a cotton bud and insert into bb's anus, stir and when u pull out, the poopoo should follow.

I also learnt to massage baby's tummy to help them poo. It's a circular clockwise motion. you sweep theheelp of your palm downward for about 5 times, then place on hand constantly and sweep clockwise, only lifting one of your palms. I use the Ruyi oil when I do the tummy massage.

gtg, princess summon liao!

Ejunko, for sockets, can go Ikea and get those plastic socket covers. Wire can go fix it shop and get cable tie to bunch them up.

Bubbles, ur girl drinks quite a lot! Mine can only take 120ml.