(2011/12) Dec 2011

curry,

thick & easy is an instant food & beverage thickener. u can buy from watson or guardian. is recomeded by pd should be safe for baby.

My psycho-ing didn't work. Am stuck at home too.

Didn't know NATAS is also at expo, thought they always have it at suntec.

Have ur baby change over a new set of wardrobe from first few weeks of birth? Cos I packed and sorted all my older kids' baby clothes in stages, according to sizes. These few days, found that more and more of the stage 1 clothes are getting smaller and no longer fitting. Have to unpack and start washing the stage 2 clothes soon. Babies grow up so fast! No more tiny infant clothes!

Anyone upgraded to size M diapers already?

Wonderland, is it those powder that is used to thicken fluid? Is the thicken milk able to stay in the tummy better?

@yichin im still at s for diaper. was left with half pack of tesco diapers which hubby bot cos was verry cheap and used one just now. the poo overspill everywhere on my ger. back, thighs everywhere, my clothes kena too! $%&^%*&^*

save $0.10-$0.20 per pc diaper= waste time, washing on baby, me & clothes -_-

Yi Chin,

my bb's wear size M now.

yes,that's the one. i will mix one scoop into my 4oz EBM. It works, bb doesn't vomit anymore.

I also bought Enfalac AR, special formula for bb easily regurgitation.

Went to bb fair just now with a fren. A lot of things but I rushed thru cos breasts were bursting! Worth gg I thk..

I'm finishing up S size diapers stock. Will be using M size probably next week. Baby is already 6.8 kg at 11 weeks.

Bunny: agree with you, just pay a bit more, no leakage & time wasting. Hang in there, I'm also alone taking of baby. Have help only when my in-laws or parents come visit from M'sia.

Clothes already wearing 3 months one, soon cannot wear and must move on to larger ones. First few months growth rate is fast, after that will slow down right?

Its so hot today!

Whats everyone's favorite diaper brand? Am currently using Dryers, but my boy dont seems to like it much. And why is these M size diapers so long one?

Dear mommies...

I was at baby studio fair @ chai chee... Worth going.. Their strollers, baby car seats r really going @ gd discounts... Other than nett price items, all other items stil hv further 20% n some 40%!!

those looking for toys, go down! My 2 frens bought so many toys for their babies... I bought wet wipes fr lucky baby & disposable breast pads... N a thermal bag fr jujubee... I m so tempted to get another stroller from capella (hope i spell correctly).. Existing one is combi....

Now heading down to expo.. The car queue is MAD!!!! Weekends confirm worst than today! Y did they cramp so many exhibitors together???!!! Haiz....

Sqin:

Me too! I was in pain!! Lucky in-laws stay at bedok central.. Came bac to pump first....!!!

My bb stil can fit in 0-3 cos she hasn't reach 5kg.... Diapers wise trying out mammypoko S size.. Before, she was using pampers NB size.... My little gal stil petite so a lot of rompers on her stil too big on the neck area....

My boy has been wearing size M pampers for some time. We only used S for a short period, then switched to M cos only M and above were on sale! Weighed him today and he's 6.3kg. His rompers are either 3-6mth or 6M (carters), and he's not even 3mth yet!

Prefer pampers followed by mamy poko. Received many drypers M size but have not tried. Also tried PetPet which is not as absorbent but good for day time if change every feed.

we bot a few brands & passed downs ; drypers, huggies, tesco, pampers, mommy poko, goon.

Might want to try nepia but hard to find a small pack for nepia.

in preference what i love: 1- pampers 2- mommypoko (sadly these 2 are the most ex)

still in search for a cheap & good diaper!

Am using pampers, and perpet.

Pampers for longer time duration n outing, cos slimmer n more absorbent.

petpet for at home when changing time more frequent. Not so slim, bulky feel.

Any sahm here or most are ftwm?

Most should be heading back to work soon?

I'm sahm and taking care of two gals myself. Help when my parents come over (in-law seldom or rarely see) or when hb's home.

So most prefer pampers and mamypoko. Anyone tried Nepia? Is it bulky too?

Anyone getting Sophie the Giraffe?

Yoyosan: Am a sahm looking after bb alone too.

Just to share.. Waston expo sale..the pampers active baby is damm cheap!!

M size diaper only $9 for 40 pcs!! hee i bought 2 carton...

Sale until this coming sundae..

using pampers and drypers.. drypers for day usage since it is cheaper..pampers for night and outing..

but now i bought tons of pampers for a gd price..i am going finish up existing drypers and use pampers all the way liao.. =p

Wonderland, where to get enfalac AR?

Bunny, the tesco diapers u got from JB?

Where to buy Nepia diapers?

Poseidon, 2 cartons how to carry?! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Got delivery?

Mummies using mammy poko and pamper for night time, can the diaper tahan the whole night? ie no need to change diaper till morning if baby doesn't poo at night?

I'm still on S size leh, using pet pet in the day and huggies at night. Wondering if I change to M size, can no need to change diaper at night? Baby last measured was 4.7kg last week.

Ejunko, I got Sophie the giraffe from mothercare. Too cute to resist! My #2 had it when she was 6 months, but spoilt already. Saw it again at mothercare, so bought already.

Me FTWM, will be extending maternity by one more month till May, now contemplating if I should extend till June when baby hits 6 months then send infantcare.

thanks poseidon, i will be heading down to watsons too... pampers are really good, my fav too..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i used to start off wif huggies NB but a little too small size than other brands of NB... then tried pampers, it was good i must say...

then bought petpet but no NB size so bought S, but too big for my bb... now stil stuck wif 3 packs.. but i tink can start to use pretty soon.... recently a fren pass me her mammypoko S size as her bb outgrow them.... it is not too bad but feels wet during night time when bb pees a lot...

ejunko, i will be getting sophie for my bb too.... been thinking abt it before she was born.. now 3 mths down the road, i tink i dun wanna wait anymore... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

today is exactly 7 days my bb hasn't poo.... anyone know if pharmacy like guardian or watsons can get any medication for bb to poo?

Yi Chin: When should we get sophie the giraffe ah? Its so cute i wanna buy now but duno when to let bb use lol

I think i saw Nepia at NTUC last time.

Wonderland,

So I can mix e thickener w EBM?

I like mamy poko. I use drypers during day at home n mamy poko during outings n night time.

Bubbles,

Mine lil one same as yours, small size. =)

I'm ftwm, going bk to work on 7 mar. Will send bb to infant care this Thursday.. Very bu she de. But no choice.. Sigh..

curry,

yes, mix the thickener with EBM. I doing it too.

I will send the bb to nanny on next monday too. Same feeling as urs very bu she de and worried too. but i only back to work on 2nd Apr.

@yichin ya jb. but erm no good. i threw the remaining pcs in anger yday LOL.

@bubbles i do not know abt poo. but there are many self medicine for bb at guardian, unity etc. Flu drops, fever drops etc which were exactly the same as what my PD prescribe to my bb. BUT do chk with ur pd bah.

IMO if ur bb is on bf, looks ok, peed enuff shld be ok. I used to be scared stiff cos my bb poo alot. can have 1 feed 2 poo, turn out its i worry too much as its ok cos she growing well. my bb now is every feed 1 poo. -_- that explains my continued search for the best diapers.

im a FTWM too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] took million pix of my ger to see at work. Hows all ur workplace environment on BF? are u mommies gg to religiously pump ur milk at work?

Curry & wonderland, so fast! Nanny not so bad, more worried about infantcare, cos so many babies, scared will fall sick easily.

Bubbles, try the flexing hips and knees exercises, and also the pedaling exercises for baby?

Ejunko, Sophie the giraffe for teething. I got for #2 once she can grasp objects in her hands and put things into her mouth. U want buy now also can, got the squeak squeak sound, can play with baby.

Bunny, u must be very angry! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunny, there is a bf room in my company, but very popular, many mummies booking it. Need to walk to HR, get the keys, walk to the room, pump, walk back to HR to return the keys. Too much hassel. End up no time for lunch. Sometimes I use the interview room when no one inside, but everytime pump halfway, someone will knock on the door. So most of the time I use the disabled toilet. Big space and no one knock on the door.

I will pump twice, once at lunch, once at end of day.

Yi Chin,

Enfalac AR can buy from NTUC. Actually i prefer nanny as my elder son placed in infant care really fall sick easily. somemore my elder son got chicken pox when he was 15 months...very bad experinces... so this younger one decided for nanny.

@yichin yes. i change before her bedtime ard 11/12 and it last till morning 8-10am dependin what time she wakes up. get the pampers active though, dun get the normal pampers. pampers active is better in material, absorbtion and bigger/ longer in size. i use mommy poko for her sleeptime. pampers when shes out cos pampers thinner. both dun leak for my bb and is comfy for her esp mommypoko as she can sleep with her poo in mommypoko.

sophie giraffe-- i do see there are some spree/ bulk purchase in the forum selling 30++. i prolly get it down the road when she starts teething.

Wonderland,

Oh.. But y send her to nanny soon when u r starting work at 2 apr?

Bunny,

Yup, will pump at work.. There's a nursing room in company but in different level. I guess I'll pump in meeting rooms instead. but I don't think I can pump every 3 hourly liao.. Hv to slowly stretch e hours to 4hourly. I hope supply won't drop..

Yi chin,

I got not trust in nannies leh.. My sis is working in that infant care, so I'll be more fang xin..

Wonderland, I thought chicken pox vaccine given at 1 year? Still can catch chicken pox? I never got chicken pox b4, but vaccinated. My 2 girls also vaccinated. So scared to get chicken pox, esp the scarring!

Curry, u so lucky! Got staff discount? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Curry,

I would like to let bb get used the new place & nanny first before I go back to work. I dun want to just leave him 12 hours at nanny's house once I start work. At first, I just let bb go nanny' house 2-3 hours then slowly increase lo...

Yi chin,

I never gave him chicken pox vaccine at that time. intend to bring him next week but this week kena already.

Poseidon,

I managed to get pampers active at expo too! Seems like its cheaper today. 1 carton, 160 pc at $32. I bought 2 cartons too.. =) But it's soooooo crowded!

Yi chin,

Yes, got 20% discount! After discount will be $680 a month. Yup, very lucky.. More fang xin..

Wonderland,

That's a good move.. Baby will gradually get used to it rather than having 'culture shock' Hehee.. How did u get a nanny that u trust? Through recommendation?

Ask u all hor..

If ur baby's last feed became earlier, like 9pm n starts waking up twice instead of once in e midnight. Will u all wake baby up at 11pm plus for one more feed before u go to bed? (so that baby will 'last longer')

I leave it to bb. Cos firstly mine dun do dream feed, not hungry dun wan drink. Secondly I scared wake her up for feed later don't sleep then I asked for it.

ejunko & yoyosan: decided to be sahm for this year to look after my boy too. Am also alone most times. Look forward to when his grandparents come for visit. To keep sane, will bring baby out walk walk downstairs at least once a day. Go buy lunch and have some time out of the house.

just to share, started to let baby cry to sleep instead of carry & pat to sleep. today 2nd day. 1st day he screamed his head off for 1 hr at first nap i.e. didn't nap then after that knocked out for next nap, feed then immediately sleep. then next one screamed 10 min. Today first nap screamed 20 min then sleep. But not easy letting him cry quite heart wrenching, but long term benefit (no koala baby) for short term pain.

Just realize Dec11 mummies thread is getting active again.

Hope to join u gals, my baby was born on 7/12/2011.

I am going to end my ML and going back soon. Can I check how to store de EBM? And how u all find times to pump de milk? Was thinking if pump at wkplace den not much time for lunch.

Curry, I cannot dream feed cos baby latches on. Nipple not as firm as bottle teat, hard to shove into the mouth when baby sleeps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if baby sleeps earlier, I try to sleep earlier also, cos she'll wake up earlier too.

Yuet sim, there are opposite methods of putting baby to sleep, crying it out, no cry sleep solution etc, all fanciful ideas from the ang mo. Heaps of books to support how good each method is. I think ultimately, it's which one the parents prefer and choose. Just stick to to your choice, for a better night sleep. Whichever method, the main point is consistency, cannot soft hearted! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't worry, u'll be able to bring baby out more often and longer by yourself when baby is older. Once hit 6 months and can sit, can even bring to restaurants, sit on baby chair, give baby biscuit and u can enjoy your soup of the day and nice steak. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jas!

I transport the ebm using fridge to go. There is a fridge in my office, so I will put my ebm in the fridge after expressing. But must label with baby name, cos there are a few nursing mothers in my dept, better don't mix up the BM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I express during lunch, so will ask colleague to buy food for me. Cos after expressing, only 30 min left for lunch. The next pump will be end of day.

Yuet Sim - I m going to be SAHM too. May I know have you tendered your resignation yet? How you go about doing it?

As ML finishing on 6th March, I plan to tender on 7th March, but I m still on AL till end of the month. So I may not need to go back to work for my 1 month notice. Can I do that? Serving notice with all my AL immediately after ML? Any mummy can advice? Thx

Yoyosan / ejunko - How old are your children now? Have you ever regret to be a SAHM? How you adjust and adapt to the new role? You have any maid to help you with other housework?

Yi chin,

Thanks for de advise. I was also thinking de most can pumP 1 time in office le den maybe come back will latch on

Nov mummy: My employer (civil service) allow application of no-pay leave to look after child. So I applied NPL from end of ML to 31 Dec.

Do u put ur ebm in the freezer with other food? Cos I put ebm in milk bags in the freezer which my mum puts all the raw fish and meat (she puts in plastic bags or containers though)but I thk not safe leh. So thinking of getting a chest freezer to put ebm for hygiene purpose.

Yi Chin: Thanks for encouragement. Consistency is the key. Cannot soft hearted, aiyo so difficult especially first child and he cry till face red and no sound come out.

Hi Jas!

Nov_mummy: Erm 10weeks? No leh, pretty happy to stay home looking after LO. The only thing i miss is sleep and travel lol. Im the maid loh lol

Hi jas,

My girl is also born on 7 dec.. =) which hospital did u deliver at? I think I'll pump 3 times at work. Will die of engorgement if pump only once!

Yoyosan, Yi chin,

Ok loh. Think I better don't wake her up also.. Feed only when she demands it..

SQin, I got a chest freezer for ebm. My normal fridge only has ice cream hot hot dog in the freezer, cos we don't cook, so I put ebm in both fridge.

But better don't store with the raw food.

Jas, if ur work is the flexible type, good to keep up with the 4 hourly pump. By the time I waited till lunch time to pump, it's more than 6 hours already, that's why my supply always drop drastically once I go back to work.

So now trying to stock up as much as possible during maternity leave.