(2011/12) Dec 2011

Girltradester: Does Ridwind or Gripe water helps?

SQin: No lah, sometimes we cannot listen to old folks too much lol. I am on EASY, so baby is only taking 7feeds per day. So far so good. If hungry, baby will ask for more so dont worry.

Yi Chin: Lol mine also easily stimulated, so now when its nap time i'll draw the blinds, on white noise and pat bb to slp. Perhaps you can try, baby sleep super well in a dark cosy room!

Yuet sim: Ohh so any planning for #2?

Mommies, any of your baby starts drooling? Mine drools like tap liddat. Cant be teething so soon right?

Yi chin,

Ya mine de also leh mittens or my clothes . Tat y my clothes also always wet wet esp when using de carrier.

Yuet sim,

My total feeds also abt 7 a days leh is it too little? For bm is every 2 hrs and fm is 3 hrs .

ejunko: i only feed him ridwind when he cries super hard..trying not to rely on medicine so much.

My boy feeds less frequently and less in volume too in the day. But i lose track of the amt he feeds at night (after 7pm) cos i will latch him. Then he will want to latch 1-2 hr interval, until he finally sleeps for a good 3-4 hrs.

Hello all!

Yup agree that baby is more fun to play with.. Sleeps longer at night though I still need to wake up once to feed her.. N e best thing is no longer colicky! YAY!!!

My lil one also sucking on mittens leh.. Hahahaa.. Thought that's a cue for being hungry leh.. But she does that even after a feed..

Shall we add each other in fb? So that we can see each other's baby photos? =)

I have been following the thread but haven't posted anything. Think this is a great support channel, so just want to join in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My girl was born on 9 Dec at Mt. A, so she's coming 3mths soon. Tried to bf her for a while, but her latch wasn't good and I ended up bleeding. Although it healed after a while, I had a phobia and couldn't bring myself to latch her on again. Now that I see so many of you being able to bf exclusively, I'm determined to try harder for my no. 2 (not anytime soon though!).

Any of you do tummy time? We tried a few days back, but she couldn't lift her head. But her neck is pretty strong. When we carry her koala bear style, she can support her head on her own for quite a while. And when bathing, she also lifts her head high. So we were surprised that she couldn't lift her head during tummy time.

Girltradester: Ah true also. Anyway super envy you guys who can latch-on. Keep it up. Soon baby will sleep longer at night le.

Curry whats your email add? =D

Hi Nacho! Yup we do tummy time, but once every day only. Also cannot lift head yet leh dont know why.

For babies who go 6 hours or more without feed, do they take in more milk before or after the 6 hours? Or do the milk amt stays the same as per other feeds? I also notice my baby having lesser feeds but volume/ latching time is still the same. Don't know she having enough or not.

Hi ccs, mine also not lifting head too much during tummy time, but can lift head up when on my chest.

My email for fb: [email protected]

Yi Chin: Mine takes in the same amount of milk. Only when we increase activity time then baby seek more...but also 10-15ml only.

Oh i download Whitenoise app. Both android and iphone also got. Yup, on aircon bobian, but only for awhile when the room cools down i'll change to fan.

Ohoh and your baby sooooo cute omg!

According to the health booklet, at 3mths they should be able to lift their head 45deg up. My girl couldn't even lift her head off the bed so I was a bit worried. Next week going to see PD, will ask him then.

Going back to work on 12 Mar. After spending 24/7 with baby, very difficult to go back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My boy does latch longer before he sleeps. Usually about an hour at least. Then he can sleep up to 5-6hr.

He doesn't like tummy time very much. His face will be pressed against the mattress then I've to help him up. Think his head too big and heavy for him. His head circumference is in the 75th percentile! He can lift when he's being carried only.

Sleep training update day 4 29/2. Wake up 7 a.m. Total 6 feeds. Cry before nap after 2 feeds - late evening (no nap in the end) and night (35 min cry). The training continues, not 100% no cry at every nap and cry duration varies, plus point no more koala baby =)

Yi Chin: I'm not sure whether my boy takes more before or after the long naps, cause latch on + supplement. But he suckles more vigorously after and takes more supplement before.

Tummy time: I do it on my bed, but it may be too soft so he also ends up sucking on the blanket I put him on. but if I hold his chest up he can lift his head for awhile. Also tried to roll him over yesterday, so he gets the idea of flipping. Mummies can also try to use colourful noise-making toy or face them while their on their tummies to encourage them to lift their heads up or turn their heads.

ccs, so fast going back to work already. who will be taking care of baby?

tangerine, latch for 1hr! wah, so long! nipples can take it? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ejunko, ur boy got so much hair! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]nice smile on camera too, how to capture? every time i take out the camera, she stopped smiling already,

yuet sim, your boy's tummy time looks good, can lift head up quite well! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi nacho, welcome! yeah i had been letting my bb practise tummy time when she was abt 2mths or so... we started by laying her tummy to our tummy, of cos she cant lift up her head, she jus keep bury her head in our chest... slowly she began to turn her head left and right.... she was so busy turning her head left and right tat i almost got dizzy... hahahaha... ;p

now when i carry her upwards, she can self support her head and look at things in different directions.. we are also still doing tummy-to-tummy and she is slowly trying to lift up her head.... sometimes she bend so much i got worried if she will strain her neck...

i hv a Lamaze tummy time air from a fren as a gift, and i bought Tiny Love 5-in-1 playgym, yet to open and try, but I guess i will do it next week... I even bought the huge playmat for her so tat she can zzz, drink milk, and play on it.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tried latching baby again yesterday, the feeling was great....!!! I hope I can keep up with latching her more often... less washing now, i seem to have more time to attend to her.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now she is getting really fun to play with, she smiles, she raise her eyebrows, and she reply u with her baby language, hahahahaha, its really nice :D

Yuet sim, u r good with ur sleep training... i am too lazy to train her... but so far she's been an obedient baby, so I think I can still live with it..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yichin, my bb is accumulating her poo again... haha, been peeing only..... but her farts are really killer..... i can suffocate!!!

thanks ejunko for the whitenoise app, gonna try it on my bb tonite!

curry, i used to be like u.. tot baby is still hungry when she is sucking her mittens.. stress me out.... but then i realise after bottle-feeding also same scenario then i know she is actually jus being playful... recently she started a new game with herself.. she will look at her right fist and debate wif herself if she wanna eat it.... damn funny to see her self entertaining herself... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dear mommies, dun feel guilty about anything as long as u r giving ur baby the best tat u can.... i used to be so focus in bf baby tat i tot ebm is only 2nd best & fm is 3rd best... i got so stress up tat it affected me, affected bb, affected everyone in the house... there were disagreements as family told me not to bf, feed fm is better, or i shld simply jus express, so on so forth..... then i started to realise spending time wif bb, bonding wif them is e most important, so i decide to express bm instead of forcing myself to latch her on.... as long as bb is growing healthily and strong, who cares if its direct latch, ebm or even fm.... my gynae told me, dun let bf affects ur rship wif hubby & ur life.... it is gd if u can latch baby on, but if u cant, its alright, it's not the end of the world... everything has to be balance.... so watever it is, everyone's situation is different and unique..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tangerine: An hour of latch...thats alot of milk intake sia!

Yi Chin: Lol bb hair dropping liao. I always have the cam on standby mode, so snap whenever playing with bb, so you see all images got zero composition hahaha =D

Bubbles: Thats very true! I still miss latch on moments...also worried about bm dropping, but like what you said - nothing matters more than spending time bonding with our LO. =)

Yi chin and ejunko: 1hr is already a vast improvement! It used to be more like 2-3hr almost non-stop! Now nipples seasoned already, so no more pain. Last time was really sore, with whole body aching from being in the same position for so long. I vividly remember new year's eve (31 dec), at midnight when people were doing count down on tv and my hubby zzz away beside me, I was still bf. Felt so exhausted and mentally tired that I just broke down! So glad those days are over.

Any of your babes having acne? My poor boy still has whiteheads and pimples, since the beginning. The pimples keep popping out, the big red ones with pus. Doc said don't have to do anything. It'll clear up on its own. But it's taking so long! :-/

ejunko,

y is ur bb dropping hair? dun scare me cos my bb hair yet to grow back since i shave off her bb hair.....

as for latching, i tried it back yesterday as i got badly blocked milk ducts... so i went to clear the blockage n after tat i try latching baby to see if she can feed better.. indeed she does! haiz, i hv an impatient bb, so when the milk ducts are blocked, she cant suck much so she jus sleep away... n when i move her to her cot she wakes up screaming for more milk...

i really hv to make a gd effort in expressing out or latching her on more frequently... really hates blockages!

tangerine, i wish i can be as patient as u to let bb suck on for so long.... yesterday at vivo nursing rm, i latch my bb for almost an hr (alternate breasts), n she stil drinking away but i unlatch her cos i was hungry wahahahaha!

hmm, do u wanna consider seabamed facial cream? tink it cost $20+ per bottle, heard its good from my cousin who use it on his girl... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Did doctor says what's the cause of it?

Tangerine - I think that could be due to your food intake as we are Bf. Cos my bb has that too when I have durian, too much heaty stuff(CNY goodies). But when I drink some birdnets then ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies - Hw about your hair dropping? My hair drop so much till I m worry that I may become "botak". When it will stop dropping ha?

bubbles, small world! Hui Hui is my colleague. Did u attend their wedding last year? It fell on the same day as my daughter's childcare concert day, so didn't go.

Ur daughter very rich hor, so many ang baos around her! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tangerine, is that acne? I always thought it's heat rash, cos will become lesser when I on the aircon.

ejunko, bm supply will drop sooner or later. we also don't want to spend such a long period of time wearing ugly nursing bra and rushing home to pump because of engorgement. I used to spend so much money on supplement to increase bm supply. Looking back, I should have spent those money on fm instead and give myself less stress.

Nov mummy, my hair hasn't drop yet, but I think soon lah, cos usually around 3rd or 4th month, mummy's hair will start dropping. I heard used 霸王 shampoo can help, don't know true or not.

Jas, mine also 10 to 15 min each side usually, unless she is using me as a pacifier.

Yup it's baby acne. Not heat rash cos got pus and air con doesn't help. I also read that it's cos of maternal hormones and it's supposed to be pretty common for newborns, esp boys. Just that I thought it would go away after a few weeks, but it turned out to be months. The pedi said if want to apply anything, can use any type of antiseptic cream, or just leave it alone. So we chose the latter. Some websites say it may take up to 4mth to clear. Patience...

Tangerine: 2hours?? The LC at Mount A told me the max we should let baby latch is 15mins/side leh...if 15mins of pumping can get 200ml+/- then your baby is drinking alot ah~~~~~

Or is he suck-for-comfort type?

Anyway, baby acne will go away very soon, just clean baby face more often to relieve the itch will do.

bubbles: Your baby eyes so big! Kawaii ne!

Oh they say if baby hair drops then mama hair wont loh lol. Thats why ppl shave bb hair during the first month mah, no meh? If info salah means my dad dua me hahaha.

Yi Chin: Ya i know, but just wanna let baby drink bm for as long as i can supply. Anyway, im pretty stressless one, just wanna give what i could. And yes, how you handle 3 kids sia?! Super mama!

Christine, i m seeing my hair strands dropping liao... Trying to comb as lightly as possible... Hope e condition wont get worse or persists.. My fren told mi to get the phyto serum $108!!! To b applied 2-3 days la but hor i yet to buy so ex....

Yichin! Yeah i went for their wedding... How can i miss it... My god parents were so worried my bb wil pop out before e wedding date n i wont b able to attend.. Glad my girl finish e banquet dinner then she pop! Her ang paos ok la... We went house visiting ma... Heeee!!!

Ejunko, she close eyes she look like daddy.. In fact she resemble daddy a lot... Only her eyes look like me wahahaha!!!! Think her look wil contd to change! Since i shave her bb hair e whole world tot she is a BOY! Wahahaha!! Anyway my parents n in laws wan mi to shave her bb hair so tat it can grow much more than before & smoother???

Jas i tink my bb slow drinker tats y she latch so long... I oso impatient mummy.. Cannot sit stil for too long.. Sometimes hope she can drink faster hahahaha!!

Ejunko: I don't think I can pump 200ml leh! Maybe my milk supply wasn't enough that time. There was a period when after sucking for 2hrs we still had to supplement with fm. And he could still drink 120-150ml of fm before he was satiated! Then one day he just stopped needing fm and he could sleep after latching. So prob he was gg through a growth spurt.

Talking about growth spurt, today he's suddenly wanting to eat like every hr again! May be another one coming. Sigh, just when I thought life is getting easier...

tangerine: hang in there, the growth spurts like back to back. but 2 hrs is really long leh. my boy used to take 1 hr total to drink when newborn cause he keep falling asleep, now he takes max 15 - 20 min total. Day time faster, not sleepy.

by the way, just back from mothercare sale at harbourfront center. It was a mad house, so many people. But there's some good buys though, 15% discount storewide. Clothes at 50% off got some shorts, bought a pair of see kai run shoes for $18.90 and swim pants & sleepbag (15% off).

I also very tired of expressing milk. Thk if I can tahan till bb start on solids alr very gd. Thk I will take ebm from my fren cos she can pump out 400ml each time from both breasts!! Then I dun nd to pump... Haha!

Hi mummies, my fb email add is [email protected].

I find that im starting to drop hair too.

bubbles_c: you went shopping with bb at vivocity alone? Did you take the train? I hope to be adventurous enough to bring bb to go out shopping too..Need to get new clothes and shoes for work!

During pregnancy, our body produced hormones to make us grow more hair. After baby born, about 3 to 4 months, we will start to lose the extra hair that we gain during pregnancy. So normal for mummies to drop hair one.

Nov mummy, first 2 kids attended infantcare since 3 months old. Will be sending this one in May. Everyday after work, rush to pick them up before 7pm lor. Then go home, feed them, bathe them, then time to put them to bed. Bonding time only on weekends, but that is also the time for housework.

Lay leng, first few times stand in front of mirror and get someone to help. Make sure baby in good mood too. Cos will be slow at initial stage, won't want baby to be crying and struggling.

tangerine, ur boy so smiley! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u brought him baby swimming already, how was it?

girltradester,ur boy sits up so well on the pillow!

Yi chin: yup he's been swimming twice. He liked it, as I expected cos he likes being in water during baths. He just started kicking away the moment he was put in the tub! The staff there say shd bring when they're still young, like 1-2mth. The older they are, the more likely they'll be scared.

SQin, I think ur boy's going to have sexy lips when he grows up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tangerine, need to get package one? pay by timing?

Added every mamas le~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bubbles: Now that you mention....she really does looks alot like your hubby! And her eyes are huge~ so cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tangerine: Oh did you try to pump and see the amount? So long as he is not suck-for-comfort half way doze off kind can le. Else you very xing ku ah...

SQin: Your gf can pump 400ml? Thats an awesome lots of amount! Envy envy~

Lay Leng: I sit down and put on the carrier one. Like this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIqDNAgtdTE

Tangerine, yar and same as urs, the rompers are gifts from friend.

Girltradester, I actually attended ur wedding!!

Yi chin: u can pay for just 1 session, or package. Of cos package will be cheaper. I paid for a 10 session package. Each session is unlimited timing, dep on how long your baby can last. First time maybe only 15min, then gradually increase.

Tangerine, unlimited timing? That's nice!

SQin and girltradester, aiyoh, the 2 of u so funny! Linked somehow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SQin: Pam is my ex colleague wor =)Tangerine: My bb like water when he's bath... haha.... ejunko: how many attempts before your bb willing to accept the carrier? Thanks to all mummies who's adding me =)

Lay Leng, mmm one time? We brought him to try, when he ok le then we buy. So far he never reject...he better dun since he is the one picking it lol.

Does your baby likes carrier or prefers something else?

Yi Chin: I took 12 weeks ML initially then extended 1 more week. The last 3 weeks I will flexi, for vaccinations, rest, go gaigai etc. Once I start work my mom will take care. She has been helping almost everyday since bb was born. She comes to our place in the morning and take day shift, then when my hubby comes home, we take over night shift and she goes home. Her house is along the way to work, so I will drop bb off every morning, after work go there for dinner, then go home with bb.

One problem we have is that my girl is still not 100% ok in the car seat. So we're worried that she might cry on the way to my parents' place in the mornings. Then the car seat is at the back and I won't be able to pacify her. Plus I'm always caught in a jam so that makes it worse coz I can't stop at the side or something. The only thing I can think of is temporarily put the car seat in the front passenger seat, at least I can give her the pacifier if she needs. Against the law but no choice, I would rather have that than she screaming in the back seat. Anyone has any ideas?

Dear Mommies, added all of u on my fb!!!!

Liling:

I bought a carrier online... Not tat tough jus nid to practise & makes it perfect! Initially my fren n hubby helped mi... Then slowly i realise how best from my angle to carry bb in & adjust her... Jiayou!! Practise more often!! Din hv much pblm using carrier on my bb...... So its really gd at times... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Girltradester:

If i intend to bring bb out i wil drive e car out.. N bring my mum along so tat there is someone at e back of e car looking after her.. Then use stroller push her while we shop.... Nursing rms r available easily so no nid to worry!

Yuetsim:

I was there too! Q fr130-4pm.... So amazed at myself hving such endurance!! Went in shop for less than 15 mins n gotta q fr 420-530pm jus to pay $$$! I mus b out of my mind!!!?!!!

Sqin,

400ml is really super power!!! I wish i can hv tat amount too!!!

Ejunko:

Very alike hor... But heng heng her eyes r big... If small like her daddy i wil faint.... Hahahaha!!!!!! ;)

Any mamas used the Wake2sleep method?

We tried yesterday and baby slept from 11pm - 6.30am.

Is it ok to let him skip the night feed at 3am? Or is he too young to miss that meal? Any advise?

Ejunko: what's the wake2sleep? Last night my boy slept from 10-4.45, which was a record already.

Is the mothercare sale worth going? What did u gals buy?