(2011/12) Dec 2011

@Jasline: Thanks, i think $2.3k is pre-CNY rate. CNY quotes i've gotten so far are $3.3k!! i'm not sure what the market rate is [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

& the thing is chances are we would give birth earlier than edd right? which means we might just miss the CNY period

Just done with staff meeting.. so tired and cannot concentrate on what was said..

Ms Carpe Diem, I wasn't given any brochure so, really thanks for sharing the info!

Chan PL, don't worry too much. I rmbr when I had my #1, the doc told me that there are cases of those women with 1:20,000+ had DS, while those with 1:<300 had perfectly normal kid. I am sure your baby is in this category.

Qn is what is yours and your hb's take after the Amniocentesis? Like one of the moms here said, if you are planning to keep the child no matter what, then don't go for the test. This is what I was told by many gfs when I had my #1 too.

However, I advice is, it is your (both of you) decision and you have to be open and honest to each other, there may be disagreement along the way before you reached the final decision. No matter what, this decision shall not be used at a weapon to "attack" each other anytime you have an argument in future.

I think I am "old" enough to give this advice and hopefully you will accept it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_smile.gif]

RE: Durian

moms usually say no to take too much heaty food cos baby will be difficult to care for. Usually phlegmish. However, during my last preg, many moms with tiny babies tried to beef up the size of the baby by taking lots of durian and beef.

It's true that babies that are at least 3kgs are easier to handle, easier to carry and they are faster in their neck development.

durians::

i heard taking them in your last trim can get you a chubby bb. i dunno how true but not gng to try cos i'm not a durian person. i get turned off by the smell. HAHAH!

angbaos for CL::

yup, my mum told me that too. need to give the on 1st and last day.

KK>> i juz came out from a mtg and in a daze cos really too tired to focus. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Wendy n stellar,

Hope u gals are feeling better today! keep us posted!

Hi piggy, my work doesn't req me to be in office wear, just casual, so I bought my tops fr cotton on, cheap n comfortable. For bottoms, I bought 3/4 length types fr spring maternity n the shop in amk hub call sianlanders, they have these stretchable pants of diff lengths which has this fold down part or I can fold up to hold tummy.... But heard they phasing out these pants, not sure if got anymore. Hey chan, thanks for the link, I need that too!

Hi jasline, as far as I have checked, it's safe to eat durian, just dun over eat as the sugar content is rather high n it's very bu for bb, so if bb grow too big, very hard to give birth. I love durian too!

@KK - thanks for your advice. Hubby is actually still in denial over the oscar results so we've not moved on to the discussion of keep or dun keep if have DS. In fact he was upset that i decided to do cvs. He felt we shld have more faith in bb rather than subjecting the little one to miscarriage risk. The thot of caring for a DS child has yet to sink into his mind..... but i know I won't keep, that's why i took the cvs in the end. Plus coz i can't take the "suspense" for next 6 mths.

Chan PL: i can understand your concern, i'm going for my OSCAR in less than 2 weeks time. Just hope to encourage you from another POV that there's 247:248 chance your child won't have DS.

@zmama: haha... yup, normally they say we might pop earlier... just keeping my fingers crossed..

its rily rily ex to get a CL esp if it cross-over to the CNY period...

@Chan PL: thanks for sharing the link! i juz have a browse, and i love the clothes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kk, thanks. Prayers r indeed impt n I thank God that i'm able to stay positive in mind n spirit despite the bad results n i dont really think much abt it now. Of cos when I do think of it, still a bit worried sometimes.

Chan, ur ratio is not that bad, mine is 2 digits! Quite shocking for me cos I'm also going on 32 in few mths time n I didn't hv

any problems on Oscar with my first child then.

@jasline - i like the clothes at the site too but refrain from buying for now till all my non-maternity doll dresses can't fit. Now not working so have to watch my spending...

@carpe diem / cloud - thank you for the encouragement. 2 days countdown now. I try to keep my mind occupied with k-drama & part-time course, can't keep mind too idle else wander off to bad thots...

on a lighter funnier note, hubby (who doesn't know anyting abt DS), thot the bad NT scan result was due to us doing "it" on the morn of the scan. He almost wanted to ask the doc if it's due to it! Altho now he knows it's not, he's keeping to his side of the bed these days ;p

chan & jasline>> me like the ASOS dresses too but in pound leh, veri exp.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i oso watching my spending now. esp 1 check up not cheap plus my hse is coming. dare not to anyhow spend. my frds told me, if wanna buy (anything), buy now. cos when the bb is out, whatever you buy are meant for the bb.

on the hse reno thingy, i will not go down to take a look esp paint is not good for bb and us. but hopefully the hse will be ready b4 edd so that i can have my own bathroom during confinement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@missus_BL: omg.. blur me, i thought its euro! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anw, its too late!! i bought and paid for 2 dresses! pray hard that i can fit, and it better look gd on me!!

wah, double happiness ya! pray that ur new place will be in time to welcome ur bb!

hello all

juz had the energy to climb outta my bed...

down with flu... sianz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

joanne, yeah i sleep on my sides now...its more comfy for me...i put a bolster behind my back for support...

littlefren, i also like to sleep tummy down...sometimes i wake up finding myself in tha position also...opps! haha

chan, ur cvs results will be fine...dun worry!!

yallo, abt abstaining... actually its "business as usual" for us even in first trimester...haha (maybe its #3 liao...for #1 we really did abstrain)... what ur mil claimed one patch one patch is untrue la...

gretel, dr ang's good! can confirm tha its a gal for u liao...i hope he can tell mine in 2 weeks time when i go n see him!! congrats on ur HAO!!

wendy, hope u are feeling better by now...jia you!

tiny bubu, i already started on the bird's nest from eys too

jasline, yes its ok to eat durians now la...so dun worry!

zmama, think cl without crossing thru cny will cause abt 2.2k to 2.3k

jasline>> thks! actually i'm more concern with the well-being of the bb now than the completion of the hse. hahah..

any of you got your diaper bag alrdy? i wanted to get one from either kate spade or coach but not nice leh. so thinking maybe juz use normal bag for it.

missus BL,

Re: Diaper bag

I had both a kate spade and allerhand diaper bag last time, but I sold them off in the marketplace. The kate spade diaper bags are rather big in size, so i find it a hassle when my kid grows older and I don't need such a big bag. I was checking out kate spade website on and off to see if there are any good buys for diaper bags but seems like the design are not that nice now. I sold me off cos I prefer a zip top one as my previous bag is a ribbon tie opening. Alternative, you can get a diaper bag organizer and use any bigger tote bag, such as Agnes B or Longchamp or Naraya bags as a diaper bag.

Verene>> ya, i find kate spade diaper bag not veri nice. i used to like Naraya but not now. And longchamp dun have any nice colours lately. HAhaha.. veri choosy hor? :p

Dear all mtb...thanks for your support n encouragement..truly appreciate..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I am not feeling very well now with all the medicines as well as e jabs too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]having constipation as well n I tink it is due to all e medication given to me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..really make me haywire n restless now..dun dare to even use strength to do my business coz scared e bleeding cum back again..well,tink it is never easy for me from day 1..reAlli hope time passes fast[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy: Mummy is a fighter, so is the bb. My colleague has super heavy bleeding plus amniotic fluid leakage at 3 months. With veri strict bedrest for several months, she gave birth to a healthy big bb boy. Keep your spirits up. Surround yourself with reading materials or drams to pass your time ya. We are rooting for you. =)

wendy: Jiayou! I second TIE's suggestions, ask your hubby to bring you books to read so can pass time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We'll also try to keep you company here! Rest well yah!

Wendy, hang in there k!

missus, u can wait for next season's longchamp colours. Usually their fall/winter colours nicer. Ya it's common but it's super light, imagine with the things u need to bring out. I have one of it but currently using a prada nylon bag hehe... also quite light. I find kate spade n coach diaper bags pretty heavy.

Tie,yallo,cloud...thanks for yr support[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]my backside is swollen now bcoz of e jab so can't sleep well too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope bb is fine though.,,

Tie,lucky dr Roland response is fast..I inform him abt my bleeding n he ask me to bedrest m take my medication..but again,it doesnt help much so got to come to the hospital then...sad..it seems like I am a regular here as most of e nurse was asking y I am back again..haiz.I felt reAlli bad that I spoilt his weekend n he got to come down n c me during sat nite..he is indeed very accommodating with me..stress..dun knw when I can go home n reAlli hope bb is fine...

Hi Wendy, so sorry to hear all that u r going thru now... Be strong, hang in there for yr bb, jia you!!! Come in here n chat often! Hope all will be well for u soon!

Littlefren..thanks 4 yr support too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]well,motherhood forum is a place for me to share my worries,sufferings n happiness here..

Wendy>> indeed motherhood is nv easy since day 1. Whenever I hv cramp now, I told myself, stay calm & rest more.. So u must stay calm & positive too. Rest more & keep talking to the bb. Sometimes I will touch my tummy to "sayang" it indirectly.

Cloud>> my frd gng uk this week & is asking if I wanna get it anot. I feel this season's colour not as nice leh. let's wait & see.. Else maybe join spree..

looks like i only have time to read thru posts at this ungodly hour n to do any posts too...

missus,

re diaper bag

i gave up on getting a diaper bag after realising that many r too small for my needs! in the end i ordered an adidas sports bag (with a stiffer body) and use that as my diaper bag till now...

i realised its impt that ur diaper bag must have a "shape" n holds tt well... if it is flimsy, u will end up having all ur items all over the place even if u put a diaper bag organiser inside... tested n proven by me... n the last thing u want is to rummage thru all the stuff to find what u want.. also if u r alone n trying to change bb or what... u also no hands to hold the bag in place while taking ur items...

u might wanna put on hold on getting a diaper bag first bcoz sometimes when u buy bb stuff, they do give out diaper bags as freebies.. i got a philip avent one... not bad but its still too small for me... LOL! also if u r giving birth in tmc n sign up for the FBI, i think one of their welcome pack items is their very nice diaper bag too.. even if u din sign up for the FBI, tmc and i think mt A too also give u a FOC diaper bag when u discharge from hosp after delivery... breast pump sets sometimes come with their diaper bags as a freebie or bundle too... i got my medela diaper bag like this... so u can only imagine how many diaper bags i ended up having! LOL!

if anyone of u wanting to get longchamp bags, i have a fren who is selling that... she bought from overseas n sell here... not too sure abt her prices n local store retail price bcoz im nvr a branded bag fan but if interested, can pm me i will give u her cont...

jasline,

re eating durians,

usually heard from elderly folks that durians are very "bu" so its good for preg women but do rem that durians r very high in sugar n we wanna avoid gestational diabetes... so it's ok to eat but eat in moderation n for those at risk of getting gestational diabetes, best not to eat...

piggy,

re maternity clothes,

i like to get mine from this shop in united square, i think the shop is called modern maternity, its located at a corner n next to the bumwear store... nice designs (not auntie looking like most maternity clothes) n the pricing is reasonable.. i dun quite like getting spring maternity clothes esp tops bcoz i find that they r a bit short esp after the tummy gets bigger... i also got buy online from various local online shops but none really impress me bcoz of either limited designs or material not good...

kk,

bigger babies r easier to hold (bcoz more solid) but not true that neck development will be faster.. my gal born at 2.5kg... tiny n skinny but her neck was very strong.. i rem at just few days old, she would attempt to lift her head slightly off the bed... in fact her muscles development has been strong thru'out compared to her peers.. she holds her own bottle at 4mths plus n lotsa 2nd/3rd time mummies in my #1 thread were very amazed bcoz nvr seen b4! LOL! bb too chubby also not too good bcoz i find that those slimmer ones motor skills seem to be better... not so clumsy leh... not sure if my observation accurate bor bcoz i compare only among those babies in my #1 thread...

wendy - feel better! and hang on there...

gbh - i agree with you on the baby size VS muscles/motor development part. I too have seen many small babies whose motor developments are better if not the same like big babies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sporty, get well soon.

Wendy, jia you, jia you, hang in there yet. Like what TIE says read more, listen to music or watch drama [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, can we do scaling & polishing?

Wendy - dun feel bad tat Dr Ronald has to visit u over the weekend. This is his duty and we are glad tat he is such a nice & responsible gynae isn't. You play yr part by having a good rest and soon u can go home. cheerful!!! Hugz Hugz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gbh>> yup, my frds oso told me no pt buying as there will be diaper bags given as freebies. so maybe i will give this a miss and save $$$ bah.

littledarling>> i heard our gums are veri fragile during preg period so best not to go dentist first.

@wendy:

i know its really not easy for u.. but pls stay positive ok!

try to keep yourself occupied with books, music, dramas, so that time pass faster...

i'm sure with the medications + bedrest, ur bb will be fine!

Jia You!!!

wendy & sporty,

hope both of you are feeling better now.

littledarling,

dun think it is suitable for us to visit dentist, esp if going for polishing/whitening.

who else knows the gender of their bb already? usually during detailed scan or during the routine scan?

hi morning mummies...

Wendy... jia you ya... rest well and take care

sporty... hope u are getting better, get well soon!

Diaper bag - currently we are not using diaper bag for #1. We are using haversack bcos shoulder will ache after carrying for long time using diaper bag and we are not use to bringing stroller when go out.

Any mummies experience nose bleeding? occassionally my nose will become runny and its actually blood lor...

I’m getting the thermometer from Amazon and would like to invite you to share the shipping cost with me. 

Kindly leave your email address and I will contact you ASAP. 

Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology 

Model: IR4520 

Shipping: Direct Shipping from Amazon 

Link: http://www.amazon.com/Braun-Thermoscan-Thermometer-ExacTemp-Technology/dp/B001FWXKMM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1302227652&sr=8-1 

Waiting timing: 2-3 weeks 

Item cost calculation: USD38.54 + Shipping USD6.40 = USD44.95 @1.35 = S$60.70 

* Please note the exchange rate will be adjusted if it is higher. 

Collection: 

- Ang mo kio ave 10

- Register Mail (Postage TBA) 

- Normal Mail (at your own risk, I’m not responsible for lost mail) (Postage TBA) 

I hope to close by 18th June. 

Email me at [email protected] 

Dear all mtb..thanks for your support n care..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I just hope I can go back soon..had some pain @ my left ovary n dr Roland mention tat it is due to my ovaries which are still big nw are trapped inside since my womb is growing now to make space for the bb..I dare not tell him e pain is really unbearable..but just pain..I knw he will keep me here for a few more days if I tell him such..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] e pain is just like e pain when I first had my oocytee retrieval during ivf..really sad..it seems that I am having so much problem here

hello all!

re: diaper bags

I use any light weight bag! usually its my lesportsac cuz its very light & waterproof!

wendy, i think u are a very strong mummy...hang on!! jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlefren/bb n gg/dacylet/krist , thks for all ur concerns [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] feeling slight better but had to drag myself to work...

littledarling, scaling & polishing of teeth is fine...juz let the dentist kno tha u are expecting...i ever had my wisdom tooth removed during pregnancy also...so its fine! actually its best tha we take care of our teeth during pregnancy if not we are prone to gum disease during this period also

krist, nose bleeding is caused by the hormones...i did have such experience during my no 1 pregnancy...