(2011/12) Dec 2011

thermometer: have been using ear type for #1 even before she reach 1 year old. Guess diff doc have diff opinion bah.

sporty.. im also having good appetite for breakfast and lunch. However dinner, no appetite at all.. but can eat titbits and fruits hahha...

Sporty > the PD told us not to use ours at home as we are not supposed to be putting anything inside the baby's ears. so, in the end, we used the normal type under armpits for my boy until he turned 1 yo. But funny thing is, he was using that when we were at his clinic. My dhb asked him and he laughed, said he is trained..

Counting down to going home now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Btw, mummies, where do you buy your maternity clothes? Need to buy new ones liao as I gave away all mine to a friend just only this yr[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Missus BL..how come you got to sleep by side now?? My tummy is quie big now because of my swollen ovaries during IVF so when i sleep by my side,my back will be painful..so whole body paste with salonpas..if you sleep by side,you can put the pillow aso at least raise it higher then you feel better..

missus bl, dun be too paranoid, bb shd be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wooo...ikea chix wings, nice!!

krist, same!! dinner i eat abit nia cuz really no appetite!!

babybunny, ur PD v double standard leh!! hahaha...no need to be trained to use ear thermometer ba, juz put in n press only! my maternity clothes all from #1 & #2, gotten from old navy, gap & asos...all online stores!

Dawn, hugs to you.. Sorry to hear about what you are going through. I suspect it's hormonal imbalance. Nonetheless, may I ask if you are a Christian? I was given this prayer and confession book by Jackie Mize. This is the small version. condensed with prayer at every stage of pregnancy, from TTC to delivery. and there are also verses for most situation, anxiety, prayer for protection etc. I recommended to many Christian moms in my previous SMHF thread when I was expecting #1. I know some non-Christian moms are also reading it.

If you are Christian, I rebuke your depression in Jesus mighty name!! He died on the cross, and took all the pain and suffering from us. Our body is in perfect pink of health!! Father, put Dawn in the company of the right people and send the medical personnel that has favor from You to deliver her from the condemnation pit. In Jesus loving name, Amen!

But if you are non-Christian, please do not be offended by my prayer, I want you well and wish you happy and healthy.

RE: Staying cheerful]

My playdate mom told me she was unhappy during her 2nd pregnancy, and indeed her #2 is always sulky face, and give people the chill when she look at you. Imagine her face looking at you down and eye rolled to the top of the upper eye-lid.

So, be happy!!

Mummies, can you sleep on ur side?

I feel so weird thinking that I might just lie on my baby hence only dare to sleep facing up.

Joanne, I was constantly worried when I had my #1, and I can understand how you are feeling.. Even until he was born, I sometimes have thought of what if a bad thing happen to him, e.g. if he fell from my 11th floor apartment?

RE: Thermometer

I have always use the rectal type. Nurse told me it's most accurate. It will be about 0.3C higher that the ear type. I love the Chicco brand, inexpensive (only $13 or less), and fast (<10sec). Soft flexible tip, easy to insert.

joanne, it's good to sleep on our left side to for better blood circulation. If sleep on back, i'll tend to hv backaches..

KK, i'm a Christian too and yes i have the book too, it's really good book i must say. I read that when i had 1st bb too.

Joanne - I got the deat belt clip from Autobacs. It is situated at Ubi Avenue 3 and has lots of design. I bought a pinky one. :)

MIssus BL - Chicjken wings from Ikea and shrimp salad taste good too. oh ya,wonder if i can eat the shrimp from IKEA ?

Shasha, what does the belt clip do? sorry I missed your earlier post.

I think Shrimp should be ok right? My mom says cannot eat crab and lobster.. But I still eat when I had #1..

Cloud942, I am quite radical in my belief... So the rest of the play date moms already so used to my prayers... I pray for everyone on anything..

Kk i m not christian but thanks for ur prayer

Will be given some med to help me slp hope will b better

Currently only regain a bit of appittie but mood still unbalance i can suddenly b moody n cry haizzz

missus_BL: I also don't dare to cross my legs! Yah it's just as you described, feel a bit pain / crampy, but sometimes I forget and still cross, then REGRET haha.

kk - Seat belt clip will create for room for yout tummy by keeping the seat belt loose. I also feel terrible when the seat belt fixed itself tighly towards my tummy(aka bb) and create gastric for me. After using the clip, i felt much better and can concentrate in driving.

ikea shrimp is cold cold leh. that's what i am worried about.

Joanne , ling

When i had no1 i can only slp on the left heard not very gd coz hinder the blood circulation

But now thisno 2 i totally cant slp on left side i would wake up feeling breathless n heart racing n have this scared feeling n later feel depress liao haizzz

I osi heard left side is better for blood circulation.. Some mummies feel backache when slping front. For me, I juz feel more comfy when slping on side. My tummy feels strange when I slp front wor. But I think most imptly, we must feel comfy whether it's side or frt.

Yallo>> ya, sometimes I crossed my legs unconsciously then feel regret when the pain comes. Did u find out why?

missus, i feel discomfort when crossing legs.. but tend to do that unknowingly when i realise i faster put straight but after 1 min, back to crossing legs..

Indeed lying straight is not that good for blood circulation esp in late stage. it is better to sleep sideways and feel comfortable too. nowadays i need to lift my legs and put on pillow if not cannot get to sleep.

Now my daughter chicken pox so everyday she lie on my hand in order to fall aslp, my hands everynight numb for at least half hr.. cant really sleep well too..

Dawn, hope you are feeling better and will recover soon. i didnt scroll up to see the thread but i guess u must be feeling down.. rest more and think less [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] smile more and happy baby..

my gastric is acting up again yesterday i went toilet diarrhea for almost 10times.. was hell pain..

i was thinking is it stomach cramp or stomach pain.. sighz.. for straight 3 hours i had difficulty lying down and walking..

Hi Adeline, I hope u are feeling better today, pls take care n recover soon!

MissusBl, Hmmmm, I can sit cross legged, cos very used to it Liao. I can use squat toilet too so far....

As for sleeping, I used to sleep tummy down (my fav position, is this what sleep front means?? :p) but now I can't, I can only sleep on sides, both left n right alternate so that I won't get backache. I sleep face up also will get backache.

Sporty, hope u r feeling better fr Yr stiff neck...

Shasha, thanks for the tip on the clip, I was going to get a clip for books for the seatbelt. ;p n also the assurance that it's possible to drive till full term. ;)

Re: thermometer

I use the underarm type. Kk is right though rectal most accurate. I tried e ear thermometer but reading is inaccurate wen compared to underarm. But it shd depend on individual bb. Some bb hv bigger ear canals so ear thermometer can b accurate. my son's ears r small n I dun dare squeeze the thermometer in. Newborns docs do recommend underarm thermometers, especially since newborns dun wriggle so much.

Dear mummies, Sorry to interrupt.

I am from Feb 2011 thread & have the followings to let go:

************* SLEEPY WRAP | AVENT BOTTLES | AVENT SEALING DISCS | NUK TEATS | NUK TEAT SPONGE **************

1) *Brand New* Sleepy Wrap -- $70

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389275&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

2) *Brand New* Avent Feeding Bottle 0 month+ 2 x 4oz/125ml & 6 x Sealing Discs -- $20

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795523478&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

3) *Brand New* NUK Class Anti-Colic Teat, size 1, S (thin liquids) -- 3 for $5

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389277&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

4) *Brand New* NUK Premium Choice Anti-Colic Wide Neck Teat, size 1, S -- $6/pair, $10/2 pairs

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389279&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

5) *Brand New* NUK Teat cleaning sponge -- 1 for $4, 2 for $7.

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260795389278&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

**************** HOTELS DINING VOUCHERS ****************

1. 50% off voucher at Brios' (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 to 8 people for lunch from Mon to Sat, or dinner from Sun to Thu. Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

2. 50% off Main course @ Pontini (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Wed. Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

3. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Grand Shanghai (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 4 people for lunch or dinner from Tue to Sun (Except for Sat). Valid Till 30th June - $40.00

4. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Grand Shanghai (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Valid for a dining party of 6 - 12 people for dinner from Tue to Sun. Valid Till 30th June - $60.00

5. 50% off Buffet @ Princess Terrace (Corpthorne King's). Valid for a dining party of 6 to 8 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Thu. Valid till 30th June - $50.00

6. 50% off a la carte meal order @ Tien Court (Corpthorne King's). Valid for a dining party of 6 - 8 people for lunch or dinner from Mon to Thu. Valid Till 30th June - $30.00

7. $100.00 dining voucher @ Tien Court (Corpthorne King's). Minimum spending of $400.00. Valid Till 30th June - $50.00

8. Complimentary Juf of Beer and one dozen Satay @ Connections (Corpthorne King's). minimum part of 6 people. Valid till 30th June - $10.00

9. Waiver of cover charge for 2 people @ TOPPS ( Corpthorne Orchid). Valid from Sun to Thu - $10.00

10. Complimentary First House pour wine or beer for two people @ Limelight (Corpthorne Orchid). Valid from Mon to Sat. Valid till 30th June - $10.00

11. Complimentary First House pour for four people @ J Bar (M hotel). Valid from Mon to Sat. Valid till 30th June - $15.00

12. Complimentary Bottle of House Wine with A La Carte Meal Order @ Hua Ting Restaurant (Orchard Hotel). Valid for a minimum dining party of 4 people. Valid till 30th June - $20.00

13. Complimentary Combo Snack Platter @ Bar Intermezzo (Orchard Hotel). Valid for a min. party of 4 people. Valid till 30th June - $10.00.

* Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

* Keen or any enquiry, please PM me.

hi mummies, i'm a first-time mum, EDD in mid-Dec (Dr didnt give me exact date). Just did my OSCAR test on Monday n was immed told i'm high-risk based on NT scan. So depressed n lost, duno wat to do next. Googled whole day abt OSCAR results, finally decided to go ahead with CVS ydy. Now waiting for results next wk. Very worried. We talk to bb everyday to give us gd results. Hope I can happily join all of you here for discussion in weeks & months to come.

TIE,

its normal for the areolas to turn dark in color during preg. in fact most pple will also develop this dark straight vertical line from the belly button down as the preg progresses..

joanne,

if i rem correctly, its better to slp on the side (left better if i rem) than to slp on the back...

dawn,

hope u are feeling better now. come in often here to chat with us.

chan,

dont worry. i have a fren same the scan results not good n went for the comfirmative test. ended up her bb ok. her bb now is alrdy abt 7 mths old n very chubby!

Hi Chan,

i'm also high risked but it's based on my blood test n i'll be doing amnio test mth end, can understand how u feel... but pls continue to stay positive k!

hi cloud, my NT result was high-risk so Dr told me can skip blood test and consider CVS but we couldn't accept risk of miscarraige from CVS. So next day went back do blood test to be doubly sure. End up blood test also show high-risk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I try to stay positive but mind keeps wandering off to pessimistic side.

Hope your amnio test results give u good news and next year we can discuss about our little prince/princess!

hi kimiko & gbh

Thanks for your encouragement. BB survived the 24hrs risk period of CVS, hope we get gd news soon.

I have the following to let go:

1) Babybjorn Baby Carrier Active (Dark blue/blue) at $180 (usual $249)

2) BabySafe Sling at $45 (usual $55)

Self collect at Queenstown MRT

Both items are almost brand new, tried less than 5times at home.

Pls PM me if interested. Thanks

Chan, as for me, my gyane didnt mention abt doing cvs, only advised amnio... so will wait to do that. try to keep ur mind occupied with other things meanwhile and hope u'll have good news too!

littlefren,

re squatting in toilet, that time when i was having #1, i think was still in 2nd tri, i tried the squatting toilet outside. i was able to squat down but couldnt not get up!!! almost stuck inside cubicle bcoz no one was there! n the floor was dirty (so cleaniness freak me def wont wanna put my hands on the floor!) n nothing on the wall for me to hold to pull myself up.. in the end, mian qiang got up after exerting quite a bit of strength... after tt i dun dare to use squat toilet anymore... LOL!

for mummies alrdy got #1, #2, anyone knows where to get those windows restrictors in SG? i found some online but its in UK wor... it looks something like this: http://www.handlestore.com/products/R01-Window-Restrictor/NA/

i wanna fix these to the windows at home bcoz no grilles n i dun wanna install grilles bcoz tt will be a major major proj for me n i dread the cleaning up after all the drilling... if gotta install grilles, i need to remove all curtains fittings n install the grilles n then re-install the curtain fittings... just the thot of all the work after that scares me... not to mention, with grilles, extra thing to clean regularly... any other ways that u all keeping the lil ones safe at home?... i stay on the 11th floor...

Hi chan n cloud,

Stay positive! Most of the time it's false alarm! Hope all will turn out well for u! Jia you!

Hi gbh,

That's a scary experience! Cos ever since preg, my toilet break is very very often n didn't subside even in the second tri! Is this normal? So sometimes I couldn't wait, I'll just take the squat ones! Okok, I ll try to stay away fr squat so that I dun put myself in a situation like yrs! Thanks for sharing!

Glad I'm not the only one having discomfort when crossing legs. I can squat but dare not to cos scare cannot get up if squat for too long.

Chan & cloud>> dun worry too much. Everything will be ok.

Littlefren,

Re driving,

No prob as long as u feel comfy but do take note tt some pple will be more blur n can't concentrate well during preg. My #1 thread mummies call tt preggie brains. So if u start to realize tt u can't concentrate well, best not to drive bcoz dangerous. Tt time I kena accident when I was preggie with #1. Lucky nothing serious but the fact tt I got into an accident scared me tt I din drive for very long. Couldn't believe tt I got into one.

Gbh: window grilles is the best opt, window restrictors may give way n glass may break too, u nv know when accident n what accident may happen

Mayb run run n hit the window? The impaact may cause glass to break etc or kids takes things to throw at window? Glass may also break n without grille they may b curious n stick their head out n get cut

Hahaha preggie brains!!! That's a good one :D yeah I tend to be more blur and forgetful nowadays, like forget to switch off lights lah, left windows open when go out lah, damn jialat. Good, now got official term for it liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Got smth to ask all mummies here. Any of you stopped abstaining already? My gynae said not to do it for at least 3 mths, now I just crossed over into wk 14, but still a bit worried, dunno if will hurt baby if we do it? My MIL claims must abstain throughout 9mths, else baby come out skin will be stained, one patch one patch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] any advice?

missus - i hv same prob, cross leg liao v pain n feel crampy, But my leg short leh,,,so I tend to cross to giap myself in position....sigh...I used to hv dull pain if walk or stand too long too, but it stopped after 1st trimester, In any case, gynae kind of ID that my cramp was due to too much gas in stomach. After I was prescribed probiotics, I seldom hv cramps liao.

Dawn - hope u r feeling better. If you need pyschiatrist contact, can PM me.

yallo - wah, u not bad.....I no mood for tat leh...hahahha...altho i heard some mummies hv even higher libido when preggy, My gynae say safe aft tri 1 leh just dont b rough [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yallo: stains - pantang lah my 1st one my gynae say no prob from 1st trimester till end also can but we careful a bit nia lor

Stardust: mood swings alot waiting for doc advise

yallo,

re erhmm... u know what..

not true must abstain lah... i read up a lot during my preg n everywhere says that it is safe as long as ur preg is not high risk or ur gynae says otherwise... i also ever got asked gynae b4... he says ok... but best wear condom bcoz scared wait got infection from external environment...

Yallo: One of my friends abstained in her pregnancy, turned out her opening was too tight nearing her delivery date when her gynae was amused to know she had abstained and told her not to in order to loosen below. That's the wisdom she had passed to me.

But having said that, when I was having spotting in my first trimester, my first gynae had advised me to abstain until I'm no longer spotting.

I've been having very bad sharp lower tummy cramps for a few days already. I dunno if it's becoz of my horrible constipation, Over carrying my boy or something else. There's no bleeding or spotting. Anyone hv similar experience?

Hs in pregnancy:

Usually fine in a normal low risk pregnancy from first tri, jus dun be too rough I guess. When I was preggers with my boyI hs in e 3rd tri coz first n second had bleeding. No patches on my son when he came out.

Stardust>> the gynae said cos ligament pain and uterus stretching so will feel pain. He asked me to sit and rest when I feel cramp after walking or standing too long. I'm still in my first trimester so hopefully all these pain will be gone by sec trimester, which is another 1.5 weeks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, i'm new here, EDD in 31 Dec (when Dr told me the date he laught). My gynae is Prof John Tee @ KKH. Anyone know about him, he is less word. My 1st visit is on 6 Jun wait 30 min but go in less then 5 min come out liao. He just told me my EDD and everthing is fine ask me to go back next month. If anyone know about him can share experience with this gynae.

Thanks all for the advice! Ok now at least got ease of mind, know it's generally ok haha

Ms carpe diem: that's the exact same logic my hubby gave!!! I thought it was quite gao xiao, but a gynae actually thinks the same way too?? Haha can't believe it

Stella: I also experience like sharp pain sometimes, lower abdomen area, on and off, usually ard same location. Not sure if that's the same as cramps you are experiencing?? Also no spotting. But I got no constipation. A bit worried sigh.