(2011/12) Dec 2011

kimiko: juz warm like we have our warm drinks... not piping hot... will burn bb ah.... haha...

mama ash, suddenly i get reminded of what had to be done in nov/dec this yr...hahah

kimiko, yeah...ML is not a holiday lor, we will be bz looking after/feeding bb... actually u can feed bm in room temp....too hot will spoil the nutrients actually... think beginning of bb movements starts with flutters lor...i read before, some pple can feel it as early as 13/14 weeks!!

kimiko, aiya...we all started as first timer mah...its thru asking qns n reading then we kno mah... so dun be afraid to ask la...

kimiko>> actually i'm quite glad that i dun have to wake up in the middle of the night to pee.

but yet i cannot slp soundly. i will have random dreams and sometimes, when it's a sad/nightmare, i will wake up crying. feel so emo nowadays.

kimiko, you are not alone. i also blur and duno what to ask.

when is the best time to buy breast pump? no need so fast right?

Sporty, I thought I felt Bb kicks last night too! N I dint think it's wind in my stomach causing it cos I felt it in lower abdomen.

Kimiko, direct latch is good for bonding actually. For me I had problems latching but I continued to wake up to pump in middle of night so to make sure my supply maintains.

Kimiko: regarding bf, it's best to fully latch for the first month at least n not intro bottles. If someone else is gg to feed then use a feeding cup to feed expressed milk. If not will end up like me, at 6 weeks plus my boy refused to latch coz he prefers the bottle then I had to fully express for 8 months.

I see! Mummies, what about nipple cream? What is it for?

Hi missusBL,

Yes I agree too! I always felt so tired when I had to wake up numerous times in the middle of the night to pee. I'm so glad that such symptoms have subsided and I'm able to sleep better.

Today is my Week 13!!! Finally into my second trismester...now not feeling nauseous..hope will not vomit again...haha...tomorow i will be going for my oscar scan and sat go c my gynae! this waiting momment finali comes! but i oso quite worry that my naseuous systom stop...hopefully my baby is still development healthy..

stella: my #2 also refused my breast during my confinment mth, so i express & let my CL feed him, after she left, i really force him to latch on direct, cos he knows if no latch, no milk! so for 1st day, the moment i put him on my breast, he cry, then i tell him, if u dun latch, then no milk, so for 1st day he try to latch & cry, drink & cry... haha... then 2nd day he's ok...

Hi happymok,

2nd trimester starts from week 14 onwards actually but you are nearing it already! Do update us on your oscar scan k? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ling, actually no hurry to buy la...for my #1 i only started with avent manual then bought a dual electric pump when my #1 was 1 mth old...first mth only focus on latching!

cloud, yeah i feel flutters once in a while nowadays...at least it give me the false sense of security tha bb's fine :p

kimiko, nipple cream is to moisturise the nipples n to heal cracked nipples... due to incorrect latching, our nipples may crack n even have blood, thas where nipple cream comes into place... so its good tha after every latch, u put some nipple cream or a few drops of the bm to moisturise the nipples...

hoolla mummies! long time no log in here... today abit distracted cos feeling nauseated... @_@ so come here and get distracted.. Haha...

Kimiko: bm cannot warm to pipping hot, will destroy all nutrients and antibodies. Normally i will take out the milk half an hour before feed time, then later soak the bottle in a cup of hot water. After 5 - 10 min u take it out, should feel like room temp. My frens said glass bottle gets warmed up faster.

Nipple cream is for you to apply on nipple can keep it moisturized. Normally first time mummies might experienced bleeding/sore nipple. the cream does help in relieving the sore nipple.

happymok: dun think so much! and look forward to your appt this sat. my appt still long lo.. 2 July.. =)

all: some nights i also wake up in the middle of the night to pee. Hubby said i din drink so much water and emptied my bladder before i slp, and yet i still need to go toilet. >.< i felt flutters in my stomach some days ago. But Im only 9 weeks plus!! haha.. i guess since is #3, can feel the symptoms and movements even earlier. And i already wear my maternity bottoms le cos my stomach is showing slightly..

Mamaash: my boy too stubborn he refused to latch and jus scream n scream till I got scared. Gave him bottle he quietened down n drank haiz... even saw a lactation consultant and she also said abit too late to correct him, just give him the milk the way he wants as long as he is fed.

Kimono: nipple cream is very good for the initial week or two wen the nipples r feeling very sore. There are a few brands that dun need to rinse off before latching.

thanks mummies...i will update u all soon! reali hope everytin is fine...n can see the gender even better! anyway, i am getting my mil to do confinement for me since we stay together...as for the taking care of the baby, will be getting a maid so that can help my mil with the hsework while she can take care of my bb n my sil's toddler..

happymok: jia u jia u! =)

Ling: im not so sure about purchasing from ebay. But im gonna ask hubby to help me buy medela freestyle from US as he will be travelling there in August. Is USD 359.00. Still cheaper than buying in SG..

Mummymoo, you are so lucky. My dh only travel to Thai and Vietnam. Never go US de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re latching vs bottle feed,

actually its really a hang suay thing also... some babies no matter how careful the mother has been in avoiding bottles n sometimes just one bottle feed, bb ends up rejecting mummy's breasts. some babies can alternate btw breasts n bottle easily n not fussy with either one... some totally dun like bottles... its really the babies' personalities...

like for my #1 case, i also tried to avoid all bottle initially but later due to jaundice n of course my mistakes in not establishing good supply in the 1st 1-2 weeks, ended up milk ss not enough for bb n gotta give fm... tried using cup but dunno how n bb gagged on it.. n in the end gave her the bottle... she was ok with both bottle n breasts n i managed to partial bf her till she was 8 mths old...

then there are mummies BBs who reject breasts despite mummies great efforts to avoid bottles..

but of course having said all these, best is to avoid bottles first bcoz we wanna minimise chances of bbs rejecting breasts. just sharing this to let mummies know that if in the event that despite great efforts put in, babies still reject breasts, dun be too upset or harsh on urselves... sometimes its not that we have done any steps wrong...

Anyone has breakout? Mine only on my nose and getting more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Me me me...

I am having breakout under my chin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Quite long nv log in liao

Me hospitalised again

Dehyrdration n depression have not eat n drink for 6 days gynae seems cant b bothered feel like changing

Any gynae to recommend in kk???

crack nipples: went to a talk previously and reme tat they mentioned bm is the best to heal crack nipples.

bm: Im worried i dun hv bm too as my sis dun hv. Its really hard work hearing fm experienced mummies here. Imagining how it's like for 1st time mummy like me.

Fluttering: I also feel it but nt sure if its baby's movement anot. I try hard to see movement on my tummy but dun hv.

Dawn: is smtg troubling you? believe u r on drip now since have nt eaten for 6 days.

Hi Dawn,

If you are referring to KKH, we have a few gynaes you can refer to. Like myself I visit A.Prof William Han How Chuan. He himself have 7 children and I personally find him very amicable and patient. He will never rush his patients and will explain all your questions or concerns. He even jokes at times making every visit fun [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What are your concerns on having no. 1 and no. 2 too near apart? Perhaps you can share with us and some of us can share or discuss things with you so that you will not think negatively?

Ling>> I hv on my cheeks & beginning to hv some on my forehead liao. Dare not to use my doc's skin products as they contain retinol A, which is said harmful to bb..

Dawn>> hope u are ok. Cheer up & try to eat something..

My frd had a m/c at her 15weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] din say why and I oso dare not to ask her.. She doesn't know I'm pregnant though. Seems so scary to me.. It's like nothing is stable until bb is out.

dawn,

dont think ur #1 n #2 too close bah? im in the same threads as u leh... share ur worries n problems here with us... u will feel better after that... ur hb knows ur feelings?

Gbh>> yup [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we will all hv a smooth & sound pregnancy.. A healthy & chubby bb too..

Its actually continued from previous hospitalisation

My gynae failedto detect my depression thus this time admit again

I spoke to himfew days ago he doesnt seem very imterested until my hubbytold himi wan die then he say refer me to see xin li yi sheng but i was atthat time 4 days nv eat liao n the appp is next week lor how i am going tahan end up today see family doc who slowly explain what i experience is very comoon

Few reason

Worried n guilty for no1 coz. Not able to look after him well now

Worried no 2 how to look after

Hormones

Cant slp well

My no1 more cranky these days coz teething big teeth but he is alot more guai than his peers so i m quite lucky but this made me more guilty. Somerimes see him ownself trying to relief his teething prob by bitting. His pillow etc n he hungry nv cry until he cant tahan liao

I do have full support from family so i dun know why i like this

Dawn, cheer up n hang in there! R u having v bad MS too? If so it may cause a bit more emotion n depression. For my 1st preg, I had v bad MS, also felt v down n cried a lot.. This phase will pass soon... Hang in there!

Dawn, its the mind playing wif u. be positive. we got 1 life so live it to the fullest. throw away unhappiness. i told myself got to b strong for my boys. If i die of depression huby sure remarry. my sons how they cannot remarry or get same mother like me... So i tell myself i must survive n b strong for my sons....

Hi Dawn,

Cheer up dun be stress nor depressed. We are all here to listen to you. How old is ur no. 1?

My no. 1 is only 17 months. I also wonder how to handle both but I think we as mother can de. With our determination and patience we can handle de. Especially u have your full support family always there for you.

I too agree we tend to get more emo now. Coz I personally oso sense that i m more emo and especially with stress. I feel like quit and stay at home but not choice need money.

Yes yes same feeling as u all here thats why i ownself wanna seek treatment but gynae seems not so caring

I would not suicide for my boy n family so faster seek treatment while my mind is still clear

Hi Dawn,

Though I do not have any experience for the same or similar situation but I believe that things will turn out ok when you reaches that stage. It's not good to dwell in your worries and keep thinking negatively. I'm guessing that you are feeling this way due to no prior preparation for a second child or that you realised that things are not so simple as you think and starts to worry unduly for everything.

You really have to stop thinking negatively and try to take things a little easier esp that currently things are being taken care of. Don't be so hard on yourself. Think about the joy of being able to conceive the 2nd time. Think about the fact that it may be tough for you when your #2 is out but both babies will grow up in no time and you can feel relieved earlier as compared to having babies with greater age gap.

Dawn,

Same. My #1 just turned 14 mths few days bk. It's the hormones lah. Go seek a psychiatrist. Nothing to be ashamed or shy abt it. I have a friend who suffered such bad preg symptoms that she was really suicidal n she couldn't eat or slp well n got hallucinations too. She also sought treatment during her preg. On top of tt she had physical complications towards later part of preg but now she has 2 healthy boys age 6 n 8 yrs old. so come in here n share ur worries or unhappiness. It will help a lot too. Our #1 thread also got

other mummies having #2 now so dun tt feel u r alone. U can also go share your worries there. We can understand bcoz same situation mah.

Dawn, dun be depressed. Bad for your baby. cheer up. Some ppl wan a baby also difficult. That is god's gift to you. You should be happy abt it

Hey Dawn, cheer up and be strong yah! You should not feel guilty when you see your boy so guai, should be happy and proud instead!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So try to drive away the negative thoughts, take this time in hospital to sleep well yah. Gain strength back then can shower your guai boy with lotsa love and care. Don't worry about how to take care of no. 2, still 6mths away wor, next time then think about it yah. Must believe, 船到桥头自然直。

And if you think the current gynae isn't up to your expectations, don't hesitate to change. Very important that it's someone you feel truly cares, then won't make unnecessary comments to cause you to worry for nothing.

Dawn, cheer up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When I was pregnant with my #2, my #1 is only 11 months only. SO talking about close age gap, my #1 and #2 are pretty close too.

As long as baby healthy, close age gap is not a problem.

Morning all!

Dawn: Hope you had a good night's rest!

sporty: Wow you intend to take leave from Nov onwards? When's your due date? Mine is fluctuating between 10 to 13 Dec, so I'm thinking 25 Nov will be my last day at work, buffer about 2wks. My supervisor actually thought I would work until deliver, go hospital from office that kind!!! Faint... apparently his wife did that loh. Haha I very boliao, so looking forward to it that I've planned out in my calendar how to take leave to "maximize" the 16wks!!! :p But very sad leh, I think we will all "lugi" 2 public holidays (Christmas & New Year). My workplace is near Bukit Merah, nowhere near town [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ling: YAH I have outbreak on my nose too!!! Quite painful, look ugly, very sianz. Nowadays look at myself in the mirror feel a bit depressed. At the stage where simply look FAT and not pregnant loh. This is my wk13 and gained 3kg liao, my friend was like "isn't that a lot!!!" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Hear already heart pain sigh...

Hi Dawn, cheer up girl. Although I am a 1st timer, I was quite depressed in between my 6 to 10 weeks. This is because I started to vomit very badly on a daily basis and felt tired and sleekly everyday. I was really upset that I have to give up setting up my accounting firm ( I cancelled my rental just 3 days after confirming to rent it) cause my office is on Te 2nd level without a lift and it would very taxing for me to start a co while I am pregnant. I also have to stop working as property agent for more than 6 weeks and all these really cause a major shift to my plan and financial. When I could not work and was always resting at home, I felt sian and terrible but terrible y all has changed and the financial problem that I will be having soon if my vomiting does not stop coupled with frequent backache and I can't really continue to work for the next 7 months. But I slowly come to realize that no use to worry so much and I have been cutting down my expenses and talking to my Hubby and friends. Luckily, I have friends who are also as worry as me and spoke on phone to give each other encouragement.

One fav encouragement by my friend - if u are not happy, your Bb will not feel happy. So make your self happy!!

If u need a chit chat, u can pm me for my Hp contact. Cheers!!!

yallo, my pimple today ripe till very big and red. im so sad, look so ugly. concealer also cannot cover much.

after my this pregnancy, i will try again once i can start to conceive. it is very hard for me to conceive hence i dun care abt the age gap liao. im not young anymore.

@gbh: thx for ur sharing on bf... i will try to latch the bb if possible during the 1st 2 mths

@Ling: i've a very bad outbreak 2 weeks ago (to the extend that i dun wan to go anywhere !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]) , and now still have... basically on my jaw-line [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my nose is oily all the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haiz...

@missus BL: it is indeed scary to hear abt all those stories... similarly, i tink we will be constantly worrying for the lil one inside till bb is out safe and sound! but jiayou, rmbr we need to be happy & positive to have a happy bb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Dawn:

maybe u try to talk to ur hb or close family mbrs/frenz abt any concerns that's bothering...

indeed, a gd gynae, esp one that u feel comfortable with is very impt... so perhaps you can charge to someone whom u feel more easy with.

Cheer up ok! bb needs u, so u gotta stay strong!!

@yallo: argh... i'm into my 12W and i have gained 4kg! and my colleague (sitting juz beside me), keep emphasizing to me that she's at her 22W and she only gained 5kg!

can be depressing at times! i also hope to ctrl my weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morn gals!

ling, actually if u buy the medela frm bulk purchase here is quite reasonable leh, i think PISA abt 300+ and FS abt 450...breakout i have one BIG one on my cheek, now its slowly diminishing...

dawn, be positive! u have all ur family to love & support u...if u need a listening ear, can always log in to share ur woes...jia you jia you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littledarling, most pple shd have bm la, its juz whether u are gg to work hard for it or not...

yallo, yes i think will take from 27 oct ba... my due date's on 2 dec... but usually i will pop 2 to 3 weeks earlier, so will be mid nov ba... also i have alot of uncleared annual leave, so intend to start annual leave first then ML... aiya tell ur supervisor, not everyone is like his wife la... actually hor, if u dun wanna lugi CNY hor, u go back on 23 jan tha week, which is like 8 weeks after u start from 25 nov, then continue after tha :p cuz the first 8 weeks must take one shot mah then balance of the leave and stagger... for me, i juz looking forward to nov la, also "counting down"...very tired of working liao!!

jasline, no need to control ur weight la...everyone's weight gain/body is diff... some pple gain becuz of water retention lor...

Hi Dawn,

I too have depression for the past few days until my parents & husband notice it.

My husband says that we can't control our hormones and we are listening to them. It's like our hormones telling us to feel depress, feel that there are too many problems to face & there is no solution to it. That's when we start to overthink.

I'm a first time mum so naturally I have a lot of questions & doubt about raising up a kid. I feel that 24/7 hours a day I'm thinking of all the problems, so anything that comes bothers me, irritates me.

It's our poor hubby that has to bear with everything. And because I want my baby to be a happier child , I think we got to live happier for them! So cheer up! Let's jiayou together!