(2011/12) Dec 2011

Missus BL..tink small better to deliver thru natural..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]i hope mine not too big..haha

Gbh..mayb the bb size was small due to Bad MS and you hardly eat much..that y my dr say it depends on individual[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]anyway,whether big or small..still got to go birth..haha..it bring joy to our life..

Jasline, dacylet and shasha, heehee yes, I am a worrier by nature. After the oscar test, I was so worried about the blood test my hubby had to call and try to get tmc to give us results... But they refused of course. Because cannot release over the phone mah. Anyway, finally I can sleep better. Next detailed scan on 29 July. The oscar test score showed about 1:8000, so I am more relaxed about next scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sporty and Jinghui, I also dun wear at night now, but I can't help worrying that my boobs will sag!! Cause now growing so fast, if no support......

Delivery position: erm, I think even if I want to squat my legs too soft liao. The pain was crazy when I started pushing. And my gynae turned off my epidural because he believes I need to feel to push. &@!%#^*

I mustered enough energy to shop quickly after lunch today. Finally managed to get two pairs of flats presentable for work. Happy like a bird... heee..

@spaghetti: sure, i can fully ustd hw u feel.. the sense of relief and assurance after each scan..

for me, i'm simply counting down to my next visit...

oh, so when can we expect to know our oscar scan results? i'm scheduled for mine on the 24th June...

today, i'm officially 12W1D, calculated based on LMP. but bb GA is 11w1D.

so which shuld i follow?

such a perfect weather to laze in bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morn all!

having a bad headache...sianz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: size of bb

actually big/small at birth doesnt matter cuz most imptly is healthy...can always beef bb up if bb was born small...

spagetti, i think boobs wun sag so easily la...heee...after we stop bfing then use cream or what to help "lift up" the boobs!!

jasline, which edd does ur gynae tells u? follow tha one lor... oscar results normally a few days after the test...for my gynae case, no news is good news cuz he will only share the results at the next appt...

Jasline: Previously I always follow GA date. As my GA keep changing now both my GA and LMP calculation is exactly the same day.

jasline>> yes, perfect weather to laze in bed.

i oso follow my GA cos sometimes we ovulated late and LMP is not accurate. but maybe will keep changing until they are exactly the same too.

sporty>> i oso.. mega headache! threw up this morning then come ofc and throw up again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ya, my frd told me the same thing. small bb is ok. cos can still feed them after they are born.

Morning!...

sporty: Why headache? Not enough of sleep, or sleep not well? For me, usually if I have headache means I don't sleep well & not enough of sleep, resulting in higher BP. That explained the headache.

RE: Baby's size.

I don't have a chance to worry about my baby's size coz most visit I don't have scan. LOL. Only get to hear heartbeat & doc only measure tummy with measuring tape, and use their 'miao shou' to feel & touch my tummy to locate baby's head position & etc. Got 1 less thing to worry, haha...not a bad thing huh.

spaghetti: As sporty said, our breasts won't sag that easily la...Only that I feel when I breastfeeding, my breasts are over-sized then only tend to sag like papaya, haha! But after stopped breastfeeding, will back to normal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Don't worry about the sagging thingy la! ;-)

Gestational Age. when i first go for the scan gynae pointed my gestational to me saying that is my waterbag. Usually the scan will show the GA and based on it calculate the EDD.

@bfly: so gd to have both the LMP and GA fall on the same date [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] easier to rmbr...

@sporty: yup, my edd was initially 24dec, but now pushed back by 1 week to 30dec...

so i tink its better to follow the GA! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So i'm officially into my 11W! 2more wks to end of 1st tri!!!

@Lyn: GA indicates Gestational Age of the bb.. it think it is calculated based on u/s.. so the gynae wuld tell u ur GA based on ur u/s and if there;s any diff bet ur LMP and GA.

for me, the difference is 1 week.

missus bl, yah...i think i never sleep well also...one eye is swollen lor...sianz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] alamak, hope u feeling better now... yah, my bbs born were quite small, but their birth weight doubled within 3 mths...so not much of a concern abt birth weight of bb...smaller bb easier to seh also!

jing hui, haven been sleeping well la, last nite woke up 3 times lor!! 2 times to pee n 1 time my son woke me up becuz he pee-ed on the bed!!

jasline, yeah...GA better la...anyways edd is juz an indication only... nearer to deliver the gynae can advise further on when is bb arriving!

Jasline: actually after i seen gynae, i stop calculating my LMP date and just follow my GA date. Only when GA keeps changing i went to calculate back my LMP then realised they are on the same date.

Morning all!

Ling: How did you try it out? Really put on and try to pump??? Not pain meh?! Sorry if I sound silly haha but cannot imagine doing that!! I heard the suction might be abit too strong that it hurts a little? Freestyle seems better and lighter, but of course more expensive lah.

Keep yawning non-stop in office... damn jialat :p Realise after pregnancy somehow no more mood to work, always 心不在焉 haha

@Ling: hahaha... yup, how did u try it?

anw, 3 mommies in my office using medela PIS! they also mention that the suction power is gd...

but i tink i will need to go down to counter to see how exactly how to use it...

btw, where did u try it? hw much is the retail price?

@yallo: me too... so sleepy! every nite, i will wake up to pee, and then have probs falling asleep again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yeh man, always 心不在焉 haha!! ;p

ling, wahh u really go n try ah? actually not advisable leh cuz nipple stimulation may cause contractions leh...

yallo, same la...i am only looking forward to nov now...cuz i intend to start my leave from nov...hahhaha

btw which area are u gals working at? anyone working at town area?

From thr 5th week till 3 days ago, I always wake up at least 4 times for toilet breaks.

But suddenly 2 days ago, I no longer need to wake up at all. Make me panic now. Don't know how baby is doing.

I thought the number will increase as the days goes by.

morning mummies...

aiyo, dun think ling will put on the PIS to try lah... the most the lady will ask her to suck her palm or hand lah... haha... PIS suction is adjustable, if u find too strong, u can lower the suction...

i had my first iced milo since i tested positive today... feels good!! cos i think my MS is gone for GOOD... i HOPE!!! at least can down plain water now... hee hee...

sporty: hope yr headache goes off soon... did u take the normal panadol?? maybe not enuf oxygen izit? cos for me, if not enuf oxygen, my headache comes immediately!! scary sia...

i went AMK to try out, they test it on my arms la. my dh was giggling away when the thing sucking my fat arm. i try the mini plus and indeed it is so noisy. i didnt have a chance to try freestyle. PIS motor must put in that haversack one hah? cannot remove?

medela PIS cost abt $750 and freestyle is about $1K. now got 15% off

Hi Mummies to be, sorry to disturb. I got the following items to sell off (still in original packaging, yet to open), all gifts from relatives /parent

1.Eu Yan Sang Essence of chicken (Normal)$10 per box of 6 can - 5 boxes

2.Eu Yan Sang Essence of chicken (with wolfberries & red date) $14 per box of 6 can10 boxes

Pls email me at [email protected] if you are keen

Hmm, PIS suction is strong then I may consider getting it. Is freestyle the same suction strength

Joanne - I still wake up twice a night to pee. could it be you drink lesser water? or perhaps baby shifted position and not pressing on your bladder.

sporty - I'm working at somerset. how abt u?

@sporty: i m working at marina bay financial tower... considered town rite...

whre r u girls working?

@Ling: i see my colleagues with a hand carry black color bag with beige shade handles... not haversack though....

Hi Mummies to be, sorry to disturb. I got the following items to sell off (still in original packaging, yet to open), all gifts from relatives /parent

1.Eu Yan Sang Essence of chicken (Normal)$10 per box of 6 can - 5 boxes

2.Eu Yan Sang Essence of chicken (with wolfberries & red date) $14 per box of 6 can10 boxes

Pls email me at [email protected] if you are keen

joanne, dun worry la...less pee break doesnt mean anything la...for me, average is 2 to 3 times a nite...v zombified the next day!!

mama ash, wahh u v disciplined leh!! first time had ur cold drink...i drink until like no tomorrow liao...hahaha... good good tha ms's gone...!! dunno leh, think not enough zzz la, these few weeks didnt sleep well, v stressed at work ah! thot mb later got time then go downstairs to visit the doc...

ling, pls pls...dun buy mini electric... it sounds like a grass cutter lor!! i hate it when i pump with someone using tha in the nursing room cuz v noisy lor :p yes PIS motor comes with haversack de, thas why v bulky!!

bernice, me at city hall area! ya, FS suction not as strong but you can always turn UP the suction if not enough strength lor...

sporty: wrong.. i had other cold drinks, but can't take milo till NOW! hahaha...

i dun like to get up in the middle of the nite to go loo... but sometimes really can't tahan then pull myself up... cos once up, i find it tough to get back to sleep!! cham... dunno how to start the nite feed routine end of the year... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mamaAsh: The way you've phrased your dilemma sounds really funny! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What a friend of mine did is to sleep with her kid on the same bed with an easy to open-from-the-front blouse. When the kid is hungry, she'll half-asleep open her blouse, feed her kid while half asleep, button up when kid is done and in her first month, her nanny will take care of the kid the moment the kid has finished feeding so she goes back to sleep from that half-asleep phase.

This is my first child so I don't know whether that will work. But it works for my friend. :D

Sporty - oh city hall [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] PIS may suit me better then thanks for the info. Have u decided wh pump? a little early hor

Ling - I'm at 111 somerset, u?

manaAsh: Tell me about it...I'm now starting to get shivers liao about the night feeds & pumps. Really stressful for me for my last 2 kids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm those very alert type/light sleeper. Once I'm disturbed/waken up cannot go back to sleep. Really jialat...Also, I cannot just latch baby then straight go back to sleep coz I always have over supply of breast milk. If don't pump after latch surely will be super engorged & leak like pipe water lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Not becoz I over pump, just that I really have lotsa milk/overflow. Nightmare...!

Some really good...supply just nice for the baby & don't have to worry about leaking & engorgement. Really envy those ah...

I'm also scared of waking up at night to pee several times coz it really disrupt my sleep. Usually after 9pm. I don't dare drink water anymore & I always will try to empty my bladder before I go to bed.

mscarpediem: tat's wat i did too, but only when bb is abt 6mths old then i nurse while i sleep... cos bb too fragile, so i prefer to get, carry & nurse properly...

mama ash, whahhah...oh so its milo!! :p yah same, agree tha i have probs getting back to sleep after i wake up to pee, tha feeling is horrible!

ms carpe diem, yah...eventually its best to master the skill of latching lying down so we can continue to sleep while bb drinks...

bernice, i am gg to use FS cuz already bought tha for no 2 use... yah, PIS is a good pump, worth ur investment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bernice/ling, i can pop by to have lunch with u gals if u meet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JingHui, you are so blessed to be over-flowing!! I never seem to have enough! Just as I managed to match up with my son's consumption, he had growth spurt, then I am back to drawing board!! I tried fernugreek, goats rue, papaya & fish soup, soup, soup, soup in any form... no help. Finally, I was pumping "strawberry" milk and gave up at 5mths..

Mummies those cheap ones not singapore warranty. Kkh pharmacy carry singapore warranty. can pay by cdac card.try calling the promoter ms. Annie tan 97416006. tat day she promote me to buy using cdac card but i thought to early to buy.

KK: Got pro & con lor...mine is really overly supplied w/o taking any supplement or boost until I feed big & small still got extra in the fridge. I really have to follow schedule & pump in time else I always get engorged breasts that will lead me to either high fever or mastitis (infection).

Some really cannot supply much to the baby no matter what they take & do to help boost supply. As long as u already tried ur best, that's good enough ler, have done a good job! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If we buy obimin (multi vit) or fish oil from KKH, can we just walk in to buy or do we need to show them KKH gynae prescription?

joanne>> i heard the toilet frequency will decrease as we approached to the end of 1st trim.

for me, maybe cos i try to cut down on drinking water at night so i dun really wake up to pee during middle of my slp liao. but my bb is growing fine so dun worry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Joanne & missus BL,

I think the toilet frequency will decrease as we approach trimester 2 then increase again when we are nearing delivery. However I did also notice that I tend to wake up to pee whenever I did not have a deep sleep but toilet frequency have decrease on the average.

Hi bfly,

Not very sure whether can get obimin or fish oil from KKH. But there's a pharmacy there and sometimes I do noticed some medications like anti stomach acid pills on the shelf. Perhaps you might want to call KKH hotline to check before making a trip there.

On the breast milk issues. When do we actually start to store/freeze breast milk and how much do we heat up the breast milk for baby to drink? I noticed that most mummies latch during confinement even during sleep time. Can we express milk for baby to drink at night instead? Will it be bad for the baby?

Kimiko: I shall call them up then. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimiko, u can start freezing bm when u have excess n build up a milk bank for ur bb... how much to heat up depends on how much bb is drinking... yes u can express milk for bb to drink, express milk (fresh ones) and latching no diff... but if u really wanna increase ur supply, cannot be lazy & sleep thru the nite, must wake up to latch/pump cuz nite time is the "golden period" for milk production! so 1st 2 mths of bfing is the toughest cuz must work really hard to build up the supply!! jia you! everyone can do it!!

this week i started to feel some flutters in my tummy...wondering whether tha's bb movements...

Kimoko: no prob for u to express out & feed baby during confinement or even after tat. so either yr hb or CL or MIL can help to feed bb @ nite, so u can rest.

here's wat i did during my confinemt: daytime, u can try to latch bb every 2 hourly or on demand, if not possible to latch, then u express. nite time, even if u had express out for hb or CL to feed baby, u still need to get up 2/3 hourly to express, so yr supply can be established, normally if u do this, yr labour can be establised bet 1-2week time. how much to feed, depends on bb, start fr small amt first, like 30-40ml per feed & see how much bb can finish, rem even bb can't finish the milk, u can't keep for next feed, will have to throw away k. if u express, the milk can be put in the fridge for 24 hours. if frozen then can be 3-4mths, so u always need to label yr milk, time & date of express. if u need to mix the cold milk with yr fresh ones, i would suggest to warm the cold milk first, then u add the fresh ones to the amt you want, then put in the fridge on the balance.

As for when to freeze milk, u can start to freeze even during confinement, when u find there's really too much for baby to finish for the day, freeze milk in small portion or juz enuf for 1 feed, & also label the amount of milk u freeze.

Thanks sporty and mamaAsh!

Now I understand the need to still wake up at regular intervals during night time. Motherhood indeed is no 'walk in the park'.

Sorry if I mis-phrase my question >.<, I was wondering if we have to heat up BM till piping hot or body temp to feed baby?

Sporty,

I also feel some flutters in the tummy recently. Sometimes it feels a bit ticklish, sometimes a bit pain but not sharp pain and definitely not from contractions or pulling. I was wondering if baby was kicking me though I didn't feel the kicking movements just the feeling of 'tiny' pain on the tummy.