(2011/12) Dec 2011

kimiko,

so good! How I wish I can dun work. It is not easy to get any seats in bus/train.

my gynae gave me three types: DHA, Calcium, multivit. so different gyane will have different practice.

Hi dacylet,

My gynae gave me the same medicine as you too.

Just started the fish oil this morning, 10mins after taking the pills, i vomitted out. This is the first time this happened to me, the previous two pregnancy was okay.

feeling nauseous now. din eat much in the morning, just a packet of soya bean milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

still waiting for lunch. dunno still can eat later on or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kimiko: Wow. you bought 12 boxes of EYS chicken essence. Haha. In comparison to the 2 boxes I bought, wondering if I bought too little. Coz all the while, I dun take chicken essence and afraid now still dun like it.

dacylet: if nauseous, then you may want to ease on milk/ soya bean. for past 2 days, I found new comfort drink - ice lemon tea. Think the lemon helped sooth the nauseous feeling. While I know still got tea component but dun drink too much lor. I take sip by sip...

Hi dacylet, ya different doctor have different beliefs. I'm actually feeling nauseous taking the multi-vit so I'm quite relieved that I don't have to take fish oil otherwise I will feel more sick than feeling better.

Hi TIE, I actually like the taste of chicken essence.. Haha! Since it's such a good deal so I bought enough to last till delivery starting from week 14. I intend to take 2-3 times per week. You can always top up later if you get used to the taste [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re multi vit...

i only seen my gynae once so far for my #2 at 8 weeks n he din mention anything abt multi vit only folic acid tablets... in fact for my #1, i took folic acid thru out preg n only got iron n fish oil in last tri when im low on iron... fish oil is know to be good for bb brain development esp in last tri i rem... i guess my gynae is those that believes that if there is no deficiency theres no need to take multi vit bah... bcoz i heard from a fren who went to same gynae also din get multi vit... but gynae only prescribe when she insists on taking... hahaha... maybe i shld ask my gynae abt multi vit in next appt n see what he says...

goh,

my gynae only start giving me multivit after 3 months. He mentioned first 3 months dun need, only need folic acid. now no need to continue folic acid.

kimiko,

my colleague once told me, if you drink chicken essence daily, bb will grow very fast. cuz got lots of protein. But not advisable to drink too much cuz afraid bb too big in later stage. drink in moderation

kimiko, u bought the EYS chix essence from the NEX sale eh? last time i bought one carton :p hahah... anyways i hope there will be another sale soon near me cuz i dun wanna go nex la... u better take care gal n slowly get up if u squat down!

little fren, no prob... so have u decided to buy?

hazymum, icic...tha means ur #1 is 2008, #2 is 2009? mine quite similar to urs but my #1 is older...he's born in 2007... yah, me too...didnt expect so fast have no 3...nevermind, god's will, juz accept [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bfly, i didnt take calcium pills for my last 2 pregnancies as my gynae dun give...juz make sure u drink milk n replenish the calcium...

dacylet, same as u...i started vits after 3 mths before tha only folic acid...

Re: EYS CE

Hi mummies, is the sale still on?? i am considering stocking up too but nv tried EYS brand... btw, am i to produce any document to be entitled for the sale item?

Re: Folic Acid/Multi vit

My gynae only give folic acid for 1ast Trimester.. 2nd trimester onwards, he will give iron tab n that is to last me all the way till full term.. i have nv eaten multi vit nor fish oil for my #1.

Hello mummies and mtbs! Wow this thread is super happening...

For breast pumps, I'd strongly recommend the Medela PIS. The dual mode is very helpful during letdown. I pumped for a good 6 months at work and the PIS really helped to cut down pumping time. Although I must warn it is slightly big and bulky, but it comes in a haversack, which has space for all my other pump barangs.

For bottle warmer, I used pigeon because it was wide enoughto sit most bottles. Same for desteriliser. Just dump everything inside the huge bin!

Wow so many of you started on multivits! I'm still on folic acid and is dreading the fish oil and multivits in tri 2. I hate taking pills....

Hi Wendy, sporty and lawshe,

Yes, I bought chicken essence from EYS sales at Nex. The sale is only till today. Chicken essence is one of their hot item so I won't be surprised if already sold out. Price was $18.10/box of 6s, it's going for $11 at the sale. It's sales price for everyone at level one open space.

I heard some mummies drink every day or every alternate day. Is 2-3times/ week still too much? If still too much will reduce to 1-2times/week.

Hi sporty,

I have decided not to buy the Philips one n compare more brands first.... Will be checking out the chicco brand by gbh too.

Do u know what's the use of drinking bird nest? Is it necessary? Any mummies who dun take during their preg??

Hi LawShe,

The sale at NEX EYS ends today. Personally, I feel the chicken essence at EYS is dilute compared to the Brands one. The New Moon's brand is comparable to Brands. I liked the Brands one most and easy to open cos it is screw top. I drink it in office about 2-3 times weekly.

EYS chix essence selling $11 at Expo. The Singapore Food Fest or something like that...hashima and bird's nest all got discount also...the fest is till next week so if don't want to go NEX can try expo...it's open on weekdays too so for those who are not working or can go during lunch time will be good...less crowded...

the honey that my wife take is yummi house one and they are at expo also...

nothing much for baby stuff at JL sale though...

Kimiko, my mum taught me to make homemade chicken essence and I have been taking that once a week (cause a bit troublesome). Not sure what herbs they put in the EYS ones, but 2, 3 times a week should be ok bah.

Littlefren, I think birdnest is for baby's skin, but I heard that the large amt of protein may cause asthma in babies if either parent has history of that. I only started in my last tri when I had my 1st kid and about 2x a week. So far my kid has nice fair skin and no signs of asthma (although noting that his daddy and I both no asthma history lah)

I have a question about pao sheng. Anyone know if it's ok to take that?

Wish to sell the following items:

S26 Stage 2, 900g: Quantity: 2 Expiry: 21/01/2013

S26 Stage 4, 400g: Quantity: 2 Expiry: 05/09/2012

Friso Gold, 900g: Quantity 1. Expiry: 06/07/2012

self-collection at sengkang / buangkok area. pls pm me your best price. thank you.

trying hard to digest and read all the postings. hahah...

wow, some of you actually braved thru the crowd and heat to the philip carnival. i wanted to go but my nauseous is driving me nut. i think i will faint there. feeling veri sian cos walked too much, i will feel tired and cramp. T_T am i the only one having such prob?

nauseous - vomit and giddy, wanna poo - nothing comes out due to constipation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hopefully not too gross here.

cant wait for 1 trim to be over. even though if i suffer means the bb is healthy, i still hope i can stop the nauseous feeling too.

Hi spaghetti, mind sharing how to make home cooked chicken essence? Is the taste very different from those bottled ones?

On the protein part, got one mummy mentioned chicken essence also a source of protein, will it cause asthma in baby if taken too much? Coz I have asthma though gynae advised it's genes related not food related but I prefer to play safe.

Hi missusBL, you have to hang on! Did your gynae prescribed you anything to help with the bad MS?

Re: EYS CE

Verene, tHanks for sharing the details of the promo.. I guess I gonna give the promotion a miss now that the feedback is so so only.. Will stick to Brands then since I find New Moon fishy...

Re: Bird Nest

Is it a must to take?? What are the benefits for both Mama n Baby? I hv not taken any for my #1 (someone was telling me abt cough n asthma on bb)

Re: Sterilizer

I just kept away my Philip when my #1 turn 18mths n now i gonna bring it out n reorganize my kitchen top to allow space for it.. Tiring... I am also considering a cheap n gd one to get for inlaws' place if they r helping w #2. any brand to recommend??

Re: Domestic Helper

I am considering to get a helper, any tips from Mummies here.. despite getting the right person is more of a 'Heng sway' thing but wanna be careful too..

Re; Hunger Strike

I am feeling hungry all the time (even right now when I am posting this), do any mummies feel the same?? Apart from the so-call healthy snacks, what else do u pack in ur bag for such contigencies..

Kimiko, take a whole organic chicken, skin and cut it open via breast side. Take a very big bowl and place a small soup bowl inside inverted. Place the chicken over the small bowl inside the big bowl, then steam it for 2 - 3 hours. At the end of the steaming, the soup will all be hidden in the same bowl. Remove the chicken meat and take the soup. You can add some pao sheng or dates under the small bowl before starting to steam if you like. This site has some pretty good instructions http://mysugarnspice.net/?p=474

The homemade chicken essence is very light, sweet and has no fishy smell. I can't take the bottled one... Too fishy liao...

Spaghetti - my gynae mention pao sheng is ok but not ren sheng.

LawShe - Im hungry every 3 hrs .. just yest night ard 10pm plus .. feel hungry and couldnt sleep. tot to eat maggie mee but like nt so healthy so din eat in the end. ren and go to bed. this morning so hungry till feel nauseous ..

maybe can pack some sweets/choco ...

LawShe: I'm suffering from hunger strike too! Last night had dinner before 7pm but by 930pm was hungry again. Ate a few mouths of beehoon, but was starving by midnight!!! End up eating bread with cheese. Damn jialat! Every 2-3hrs my stomach will start growling. And the strange thing is the feeling of hunger is mixed with nausea and bloatedness, so I actually cannot tell whether I'm full or hungry until I'm really starving!!! Sigh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Entering wk12 now, hopefully the nausea will disappear soon!

Bought a Capella stroller for $280 from Mothercare over the weekend. Both me & my hubby were very impressed with the Baby Jogger though! I love the way it folds up so neatly by just pulling the center upwards, super convenient! But it commands a hefty price ($599 before discount!!!) and also cannot do the "reverse" pushing thing so that baby will face me. Any of you ladies bought baby stuff over the weekend??

kimiko, i also like the taste of chix essence so i take 2 times a week...i dun think chix essence will make the bb big la... usually pple take egg, beef n durian to beef bb up lor

littlefren/lawshe, bird's nest is more for the complexion of the bb... i kno some pple dun take also... so its not like "compulsary"... also excess will cause asthma like what the gals mentioned here...

spagetti, yeah, pao sheng is ok but not for ginseng...

missus BL, if u are suffering from constipation, try drink a glass of warm water every morning after u wake up...

lawshe, i have biscuits to stand by if i am hungry but usually i juz take the main 3 meals...

Hi all, me too hunger attack so often, hv to Eat n eat all the time, gotta wake up once in middle of night to munch some bread too if not can't go back sleep, I'm into week12 this week too.

my sleep is disrupted too. Wake up few times in middle of night either hungry or pee then have problems going back to sleep... End up feeling tired in morning..

@yallo & cloud942: can ask whether your EDD is fixed since which week? Kind of worried im not in the correct week.

bfly, the edd will change due to the size of the bb... usually edd is a guide la cuz not all bbs will be born on edd (40 weeks), bbs are usually born between 36 weeks to 41 weeks...

cloud, tell me abt it...i woke up 4 times last nite...3 times to pee and once to cover blanket for #1...now abit zombified...haha

feeling very hungry now even tho i had breakfast! counting down to lunchtime!!!

gd mrg mommies! it seems that most of u have great purchases @ philips carnival + EYS sale @ NEX!

seems like there'r a million things to buy, and so brands available that i m lost on which brand to buy @@!!

guess for now, i will be reading reviews of wat u all r buying so that it gives me an idea!

for me, i only managed to get myself a pair of fitflop sandals and 2 pairs of maternity pants bcoz i m rily growing so much to fit into my current bottoms. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@sporty: i will be going for OSCAR in a few days and hope i fall within the dates. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, have you start wearing bigger size bra and panty already?

Me now at week 11, can feel that my usual bra and panty cant fit in anymore..time to damage my wallet..

@Hippy: Envy you!! I'm on my week 12 and still wearing my current bra! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haha

Kimiko>> gynae gave me anti-vomit pills but doesn't seem to help much.. He said my nauseous could be due to duphaston or water bag is too huge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I hv to take duphaston as there are old blood inside, so he told me not to take any multi-vit pills as they might aggregate my vomiting..

Sporty>> will try that. But veri scared cos I threw up the water b4.

Bfly>> my edd kept changing +/- 5 days too. I guess that's normal as long as bb is growing well. Dun worry, ok? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All>> I'm oso starving every 2-3hrs! Will get up in the middle of my slp to munch biscuits & then go pee b4 gng back to my slp again.

I hv been on mc for the past few days. My boss sure #%^*+=! I threw up empty stomach every morning that I dunno if its my ms or I'm really unwell. Zzz.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi, my edd is on 19 dec 2011 and I am in my 11weeks . every excited but also in terrible pain. could not work at all cause i kept vomitting everyday.

wow thread moves sooo fast i can't catch up agn!!

Spaghetti - hey tks so much on the chicken essense receipe! the link is v good too! sorry need ask, the small bowl is upside down and the essence is evaporated/ collected inside. so, ehh, how to take out huh? remove the meat pieces out from big bowl then 'flip' the whole thing? sorry if i sounded stupid but jus trying to visualise it's gonna be messy??

those who's still having ms at week 12 take comfort. tis is my 13th week and i'm STILL puking. till nw i've not started to 'bu' cos no apetite and only waste food - eat puke eat puke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

LawShe - with #2 coming i'm also seriously considering dosmetic helper... it's really out of bo bian-ness... addtional exp sigh! now not cheap. even indon maids demand $400-450/ mth? for my #1 i send him to ifc but as expected, always sick bt tat time v easy to take leave (understnading boss n cols) but for #2, not so easy to tk leave now for both hubby and i. really is BO BIAN need to hire helper n spend another sum install cctv ard the hse!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bfly>> congrats on stepping onto 2nd trim!

Shasha>> same here. I hv to hug the toilet bowl & lie on the bed due to giddiness. Can't focus on work at all! Din know ms can be this severe..

bfly, dun worry too much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hippy, i am using the bra extender for the bra if not its quite tight...

missus bl, yeah juz try la...hopefully ur ms go away soon!

gretel, hope ur ms goes away soon...shoo shoo!

mama ash, ur mil stays nearby? if not can ask her to come n supervise the maid lor, at least more fang xin to have an elder at home with the maid... yah dunno why in the morning i v easily hungry, i had 2 slices of bread n milo lor!! now i feel so much better after lunch!!

MamaAsh>> I almost every morning, noon, evening & night oso vomit.. I'm at week 8+ now, I really hope it will cure by 2nd trim. Now I hv no appetite to eat exp or good food. Think is waste of $$ cos I will juz puke out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi sporty n spaghetti,

Thanks for the info on birdnest.... I will take some cos my skin no good, would like my bb to have nice skin. But I'm confused as to when to start taking. Some pp told me take in 2nd tri cos third tri will cause bb have plaghm, some say the other way round..... Hmmmmm...

Hi spaghetti, thanks for the recipe for chicken esscense, will try it out cos I dunno whether I dare take bottle ones.... Homemade sounds more apettising.

Hi all, me in 2nd tri n 13 plus week but recently my nauseousness n burps seems worse..., sigh.... Hang on everyone! All mummies are great!

Re: bra n panty

For bra, I recommend bra extension first lah.... Later on I will go buy maternity bra. Wireless are more comfortable.

Panty I also buy bigger ones Liao. Just to share, perice Cardin has this panty selling 3 for $18, doesn't look big but very stretchable n comfy. It has some numbers 509- #### printed on the back. At first the aunty told me can last till I deliver, I dun believe cos doesn't look very big, so I bought one set. Then went back buy one more set. keke!

sporty: not really nearby lah, still within yishun... but when the tot of a village will be @ my place for dinner fr mon-fri due to her coming my place to jaga my maid, i super reluctant lor...

missus: understand... but still need to eat lah... cos gynae did mention even puke also won't be 100% out... will still leave abit in yr stomach... so eat wat u feel like eating... i also dun care if it's 'bu' food or not, i juz eat when i feel like it... else very 'xin ku' also... take care there...

@mamaAsh:

initially my hubby also suggested for my mil to come over to jaga the maid...

but having stay together under 1 roof before, and knowing that things doesnt work and we juz cant see things eye-to-eye, i have finally convinced my hubby that we will have a maid, and we will install a gd bb monitor...

as such, mommies, pls let me know if you have any gd maid agencies and/or gd bb monitor to recommend..

RE: burping

i'm into my 10+wks, and my burping seems to be geeting worse! i feel bloated most of the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jasline: i also told my hb b4, but he always feels his mum is easy, but the thing is, whenever i tell her things, dunno she chose to ignore or she juz simple nvr listen!! so tat really pisses me off!! esp when my #1 will be in P1 next yr, so i hate it when she always give my gal sweets or sweet drinks despite me telling her my gal is having cough etc...

i had been eyeing this BP... http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5456944.html?1306728890 maybe u can consider this??

@mamaAsh: i fully ustd hw u feel... even till today, my hb feel that i m the 1 who's not easy to get along, and there's no fault with his mom..

haiz... i juz wan to keep a distance frm them.. i wuld rather manage on my own..

of coz, i ve frenz who have such wonderful pil and are able to live happily under one roof, but unfortunately, i dun ve..

thanks for sharing the BP! in fact, i ve also read abt this thread... the thing that attracts me is iphone viewing ...

ve u decided which model u will be getting??

haha...my wife know her parents are difficult to live with...but we got no choice...sign...hope their condo is sold soon so that they can buy their HDB...hopefully with so many BTOs this year the price will drop abit...

jasline: tat's also my intention, my #1 & #2 were taken care by my mum till 2YO then we put them into childcare, but cos my mum is now staying w my sis, so tot it's too crowded if i send the maid & #3 to my mum during daytime & hb was saying so troublesome & when #1 finish sch who to pick? so i tot to have a maid @ home for #1 & #3... dunno how to work this yet... i also feel the same as u, always manage on my own unless really super bo-bian!! yes... some friend have wonderful PILs... not me too!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

anyway, am looking @ the cam with the pan/tilt function, so can view the whole room even with iphone, the $150 one... but still thinking to get 2 or 3 or 4 units! haha... cos tot of putting 1 unit in each room!!