(2011/12) Dec 2011

AC: if price drop then their condo price will also drop... then will have things to say again... haiz... pple will always find excuse if they dun share the same tots as you lor...

littlefren, most imptly is to take in moderation la...thas more impt!

mama ash, if still within yishun then not as bad la... ohh ur mil needs to cook dinner for the village ah? then v sianz leh... how abt bringing bb+maid to ur mil's hse instead? then no village will come ur hse :p hehe oh yah, which pri skool are u enrolling ur #1 in? for us we will DIY la, will send #2 to cc next yr then #1 & #2 will be in cc...

looking at the situation now...likely HDB price will drop 1st...then condo price will slowly drop in response...so hopefully can catch this gap in between...

what i worry is they start seeing HDB price drop after selling their condo...and decide they want to wait some more...then i will really want to pull out my hair...

i think i will be going to PC show next week to see what other IP cameras there are...will be installing one camera in my car also...should have many models available there...i don't quite trust this brand as it's not very well known. well known brands also have such cameras that can pan/tilt and can view using iphone or any internet-connected computer so i would prefer to check out the better-known brands...

sporty: me & hb's final intention is, since #1 gg P1 next yr, we would be staying home for dinner fr Mon-Fri so she can do her homework. tat's y we also moved end of last yr nearer to the pri sch we intend to enrol her in, i.e. Chong Fu, which is now a blk away fr our house. so if need to send maid + #3 to MIL house, which is not wat i wanted, i would rather send them to my mum's house! anyway, now i juz need to pray tat i can get a good maid who i can trust & get my CL to train maid for looking after bb, cos this CL trained my friend's maid to look after her bb too!! & next yr P1 is still in the afternoon session, i hope i can find early time off fr my office. since #2 will still be in cc for another 2 yrs b4 he join jiejie in the same pri sch. so by then my #3 is 2YO can go cc, i'll be off maid, i HOPE! hahaha...

AC: i not very IT-savvy leh... & i hate the crowd @ IT shows... very tough for me to go searching for a branded cam & fix up myself... the one in the BP looks easy to set up bah... haha... juz hope the cameras can last me at least 2 yrs? haha... :p

@mamaAsh: same here! juz hope to get a good maid, and have my CL train her to take care of my bb!

i juz hope i'm lucky to get a good maid!

mama ash, icic! yes u are staying v near to chongfu...i also intend to enrol my #1 there when the time comes, hopefully can get in la! ... does ur mum stay at yishun also? ya la, hopefully u can get good maid tha can do the job well lor...

HI Yallo & cloud942, me too.. I have the mixed feelings of hunger + bloatedness while feeling full the next minute.. cannot tell whether I'm full or hungry.. had to standby bread just in case.. Not forgetting that I will definitely wake up a few times every night feeling either uncomfortable or having to go for toilet visits. I'm only gg into week 9. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bfly: haha you are so funny! Why you envious that we have to change to bigger bras? Expensive wor :p My EDD is also fluctuating, originally 13 Dec, then now 10 Dec, but I just close one eye and stick to the original. Shouldn't be too far off I hope.

Wow so many of you are thinking of getting maids! I actually told my boss that I want to take 6mths no pay leave after I deliver to take care of baby, coz my mother will have hers hands full with my sister's #2 (due Aug this year) and my MIL... let's just say she's not the type to stay at home and take care of kids, always out singing ktv, shopping etc plus super short temper. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Luckily my boss is quite encouraging but he said this is only a temporary solution. After 6mths how? Sigh so now it's a big headache. How young/old do you mummies think a child should be before being sent to infant care or child care??? Really don't want to turn to maid option. Hear so many horror stories!

orh...all the IP cameras work the same way... and all of them basically installs to the wall the same way...in fact, when you get well-known brands, it's more likely to find guides online on how to solve problems that you may encounter. just that well-known brands might cost more...

or you can go sim lim to buy the cameras during PC show period...sim lim will be rather empty and they can still give you the same price as PC show...just insist on it...in fact go to harvey or courts also can get same offer as PC show...just without the freebies and lucky draw chance...

it's gonna be crowded so i told my wife this time i'm going without her...she usually goes with me but i decided the long walk plus squeezing with people is not healthy for her now...so i'm going with my friends...

my wife say her mum can help to cook during confinement but she don't know how to take care of BB...my mum also no experience as i'm only child and this is her 1st grandchild...so looks like we need to get CL...but no room in my house for CL unless my in laws move out...i guess this is perfect excuse to get them to move... :p

i also heard alot of scary maid stories.

Haiz... i rather send to infant/childcare than leave baby with maid.

yeah...i also worry about maid...thus thinking of getting a maid to stay with my parents then we send BB over every morning before we go to work...

but wife worry grandparents (either side) will spoil the kid and very hard to keep BB to schedules and sleeping habits...so she prefers to send to infant care... can only send after 6 months right? i know babies in infant care more likely to fall sick...so i worry also...

i got relatively cheap infant care at my work place now for staff...but i might be changing job soon...not sure if new job will have subsidised child care or not...

sporty: do volunteer lah! haha... once #1 goes in, #2 & #3 is easy liao...

YAH all my colleagues that have kids tell me that you can NEVER expect the grandparent to take care of our kids properly. They will always without fail spoil them rotten. So I agree that probably infant care / child care is better in a sense? At least they get to interact with other kids and receive some form (however limited) of education?

But I remember last time my sister wanted to send her #1 to infant care, in the end kena scolded by her GP!!! Said how can send when bb so young, not good coz will fall sick easily. So many considerations sigh...

yeah...when in a group...once 1 BB is sick...it will spread easily... plus the people at infant care have to take care of so many babies...if one don't take care of hygiene disease can easily spread also...see BB sick and keep crying...so heart pain...then if too young they cannot say out...can only cry...aiyo...

but it's true being in a group can help them to learn community living and also have a structured 'education' program la...the cost is also an issue...sigh...

sometimes i wonder how people have 3-4 kids...really salute them...all the stress and everything...

kids grow up more to worry...sch...results...CCA...enrichment classes...all those costs...think already head big...

ck, i also wake up many times at nite...last time 4 times...today totally zombified!

yallo, u can start sending ur bb to infantcare from 2 to 3 mths...i also agree with u, i dun trust maid, thas why i am not getting a maid...

ac, yes get a cl la...at least ur wife can rest at nite with cl ard... we can send bb to infantcare after 2/3 mths...no need 6 mths... yup yup grandparents will definitely spolit the kids, thas for sure!

mama ash, u did PV eh? no la...i go for easy way out, i joined the clan lor...easier :p

Actually can get the maid to do juz purely hse work, no touching of the bb. This is wat my frds are doing. They dun let the maid get in touch with the kids at all, only cleaning the hse etc. I think this is quite ideal & can reduce a bit of hse work burden..

I'm considering to be a SAHM but dunno if this is doable since std of living is so high..

hhmm...if can strictly keep maid to doing housework i would be ok to get maid...plus having parents around to supervise them so no worries of them up to funny ideas...can have the time to spend time with kids...

just read on yahoo news about sex & drugs parties at chalets...so scary...girls as young as 14 are involved...

actually standard of living partly is our own fault la...if the kid just go sch and come home to do homework...the cost is not that high...it's high when we throw in tuition, enrichment classes, CCAs (esp the exp ones like certain sports...)...we kiasu...end up costs very high...but don't have all these...we scared the kid lose out to peers...double edged sword...

2/3 months send to infant care...gosh...BB is still so fragile...worry leh...

want to join clan also must see which clan ma...cannot be cantoese try to join teochew clan...LOL

yallo: yes, if send to infact care will get sick quite often, my friend 2nd mth, bb kenna HFMD! then she quit her job juz to look after bb! of cos another alternative is to look for nanny lah.. but wat's the diff w sending bb to ILs house? haha...

AC: tell me abt it man!! haha.. my 2 kids now attending enrichment classes, say i kiasu, but when u see wat K1 & K2 are learning & my #1 is speaking to me in broken english & she's gg P1 next year, i kan cheong!! so now both kids attending english & chinese enrichemt classes, 1 term each kid cost abt $1k liao!! tat's besides the cc tat goes lor!! lucky my cc is still cheap, after subsidy is like only $400 lah... cos not branded cc & no air-con, but we find the teachers are good, so had been with them for 3 years now...

sporty: my hb did PV lah.. haha... i told him, everything also mummy, u better do something being a daddy! haha... tough to join clan lah... we not hokkien! haha...

missus: i also tot of tat, but i dun quite like the way my MIL handle bb, she everything also carry bb, make it a habit for bb to be carried & her nails are always not trimmed & always w accessories on hand! sorry lah, i super 'im jim' with bb care... my hb dun support me being SAHM, i guess if i SAHM, will be maidless then i'll go crazy!!

ac, yup yup...esp if wanna send kids to this n tha...thas alot of $$ lor...even good cc nowadays dun come cheap also!!

mama ash, wahh what enrichment class is tha...so ex?! wow ur hb v onz did the PV... i am hokkien so juz join clan la...pay $ and solve the prob cuz we no time to PV also...hopefully can get in the skool la! not easy to be sahm la, if i be one, i will ki siao v fast :p

sporty: I wonder if we are going to be like this till we deliver...by then, we would have truely become zombie.. thought we are supposed to feel tired during our 1st tri..

ck, ur body is trying to let u get used to waking up at nite lor... think 2nd trimester shd be slightly better...3rd trimester it will come back again... finally when bb's born is worse, if tha day bb dun cooperate, really zombified!

sporty: I can read & tian xia for both kids, then son attending music lesson, cos tot he likes but seems he's not enjoying so will be stopping him comes end of June, gal likes ballet & art, but scare she overloaded, so ask if she wanna stop any of those, she say stop art, but wants ballet... so u see, our wkend is ferrying kids to classes! haha...

CK: 3rd trim will be lagi worst, will get up more often, cos our bb is growing bigger & pressing on our bladder more & we will need the loo more often... some say it's to prepare us for motherhood cos if bf bb, majority will need to be feed like every 2 hourly... :p

mama ash, peifu u...let ur kids attend so many classes!! the fetching is already an headache!! i only let my #1 attend speech n drama in his cc and #2 attends gug during weekends... $$ not enough la! LOL

sporty: i bo bian leh... cos we speak mandarin @ home, so english to them is abit tough... we were freaking out when we realised gal is really prepared for P1 next year & hb had been trying to teach her english, but it's really tough lor, so hope the enrichment class will help her better. and the kids really enjoyed the class, which they are always looking forward to for the week! oh ya, lucky the cc also got speech & drama, so tat saves us another trip to another class for both! hahaha...

mamaAsh & Sporty: Being SAHM w/o maid is very tough ah??? I'm giving it some serious thought leh. Tough because need to jaga kid and do household chores at the same time? I really don't like the idea of "throwing" baby at infant care at such a young age, like very kelian like that.

yallo: can be done if no cooking lah... but as bb grows, he will sleep lesser lor... then really can't throw them aside & u do yr housework... unless u consider getting those part time helper... i tried for 3mths after i deliver my #1, tough lor.. somemore i have to prepare dinner... so cook half way, go entertain bb for awhile, else is she wanna drink milk, & bf can takes 30mins or so... haha... so really no rest... when bb sleep, u will wanna shower or do some housework, then bb gets up, u will be busy w bb, feeding, changing, play with him.. can try for a few mths then see lor... my SIL first 2 mths, no lunch!! cos she's really new mum & dun even know how to carry bb... when bb gets bigger then she learn to bring bb out in stroller to buy lunch, dinner will be @ my MIL's place...

yallo, if sahm, first few mths maybe easier, cos bb just drink milk n sleep n play, no need to prepare their meals yet.

mamaAsh, for latching on, is it always abt 30min then baby will be full? I didnt manage to master latch on, i fully express, find it much faster n easier in the sense i know how much baby drinks and i know how much is full for my gal last time... So wondering if i shld try latch on again this time. And also, if in event milk supply havent comes in after delivery, do u supplment FM first to bb? cos my milk supply didnt come in immediately, although was told bb is ok without milk yet but i hear the cries i find bb so hungry leh....

mama ash, same la...i also speak more mandarin to my kids at home cuz i find tha mandarin is a more diff language to learn...yah, i heard i can read is good...think tha will help ur gal... yes, cuz when i send my boy to cc, my first thing tha comes in my mind is no weekend class for him, cuz i wanna give him a break & i need a break also la...cc 5 days a week liao leh!!

yallo, can be done la...but u have to train ur bb to a fixed schedule then u can catch up hseworks during bb's naptime etc lor... if can cook is bonus lor (like what mama ash said)...

cloud942: depends on individual bb leh... some less than 30mins, but tat's for the initial, as u progress, bb will take shorter time to full... yes, i supplement w FM to bb, esp for first 2 weeks, & i juz try to express every 2 hours, very fast, the supply will be established and u slowly reduce the FM feed... & i find this way, bb's jaundice level is lower... so far my 2 kids are low in jaundice... also this way, bb can sleep more... else bb keep crying... i can't sleep bb also can't sleep! haha... i lazy, i also latch on my bb, so i no need to wash bottles & pump & sterislise! haha... & when go out also lesser things to bring... but then bb will really BOND to u lor... haha...

cloud, u shd try to latch this time leh cuz it helps to generate ss...i normally latched 15/20 mins per side per session...actually first few days bb dun need much, most imptly is to make sure they are not dehydrated...from their pee/poo... i did not supplement with fm... but of cuz if the milk ss comes in later, no harm supplementing while we build up our supply lor... same as mama ash, i prefer to latch ... so much easier!

yeah, the last time i feed total BM after 2 weeks i think but all expressed BM. I find latch on challenging, haha cos one night i latched and then think she didnt drink enough, in the end woke up less than 2hr then i gave up, bottle feed BM instead so that i know she's full... ya lor, downside abt pumping is we bond with pump more instead! haha.

Sporty, for me i fully express after wk 2 and my milk supply came in fast too. That time my gal dont really wanna latch and i find it difficult so gave up latch and full express instead. This time i'll try latch first again...

I'm on 2-day MC again. Tdy saw the relief gynae...her scanning was bad but anyway, at least I feel better now. I hv mega MS and merlion out yday. And lost 1 kg over the past week. So cant wait for regular gynae ro come back and decided to just ask to see the relief. She told me it was not MS but gastric, prescribe me with probiotics....told me ginger water and yakult may not work for serious cases like mine..now i actually do feel alot better...at least no cramps liao. Tot i shld share in case there are other mummies hvg same prob as me and wondering why MS worsen after tri 1...

re birdnest - the asthma may result from not removing the feathers properly. Some pple tell me no known scientific proof of benefits so take cordyceps better. I havent start on anything except on fish essence...but I'm still very tired leh..haha

re maid - I'm also looking for one. Esp since we are not living near parents or PIL. I see my hubby take care of me and the 2 dogs v kelian. Somemore, I'm so tired nowadays he has taken over my share of the chores as well. So maid if can come early can relieve his load. But is it gd to leave bb with maid? Some of my frens told me it's a no-no. But if maid go to my MIL's place, hard to do housework? I also dont like infant care cos my frens' bb always ill...one had to be hosp several times so now she also no choice hire maid.

stardust25 - on maids - it's a strict no no for my no 1. we rather send him to ifc. however, now w no 2, and no longer flexi working hrs and no pil or p's help, i can b and am more understanding y some parents leave their bb w maid. really is bo bian... nothing is perfect. if put maid at MIL's place. #1 - illegal, #2 - cannot do your home's hsewk (end up prob do your mil's hse more) #3 - seriously, your mil will likely be the one discipline (i dunno if u have an issue w tat but for my and many frens' cases, conflicts on parenting style - but u r at pple's place, no say u get wat i mean?) then end up jus like wasting $ employ maid... jus sharing some of the issues cos i'm also in constant dilemma on tis... sigh!

sahm - losing financial freedom aside, not easy esp if u r not the 'domestic kind'. cook, clean, coach w no income. i was a sahm for half a yr n v ashamed to call it quits. really cannot. round the clock service. at work, u can still gossip/ 'let it out' w cols or retail therapy during lunch...sahm really v wei da... salute them.

Hellow mommies, am just back from my 12 wk scan. Well, i lost weight. Lost 1 kg from previous visit. sigh. Gynae said its ok but i have to start gaining from 2nd tri. She told me my MS prolly will subside 2 wks later. im like wtf?? 2 wks!!???

Ok, my BB was actively swimming inside. did the blood test and neck scan etc. Poked hubby too for some test. Gave me a T3 cream for my pimples, moisturiser for my skin, and the usual dHa etc.

I have to start on my Annum! I have to! sigh. but i still havent recover from my MS!

I hope all mommies are doing great and recovered from your MS!!

gretel - yah fully understand. I also cant be SAHM, I took 3 mths off work b4 during which I occasionally helped my mum with my nephews, also visited my sis, a SAHM who lives overseas. I almost went crazy - no one to gossip to, and kids climbing all over me.....i always veri peifu SAHM cos they are so resilient.

As for maid, I can ask MIL to come my hse but I dont really like this idea. She's quite bossy and she doesnt like my dogs. I'm not so worried abt her disciplining my bb tho cos she's quite strict with my BIL's daughter.

Oh I received my Down Syndrome test results. Low risk. Yay!

SAHM- Ya, losing financial income & suddenly your world only evolve in bb & taking care of the hse are kinda scary.. Cos I'm not a domestic person. But like many others here, I oso bu fang xin putting the bb in infant care at such a tender age. It's not mentally comforting passing your bb to someone unknown, I reckon.. Then my mil dunno how to take care of bb & my mum is getting old. Sigh, c how bah. 船到橋頭,自然直。

Maybe I will slow down my work pace to spend more time with the kid. Priority changed...

Woah, the thread is moving really fast.

I'm in a dilemma if I should get a CL though we have no space for CL to sleep and I'm staying with in-laws. I thought that a CL would be really handy since this is my #1 and we know nothing about confinement. I really don't like the way my MIL treat things like 'last time I also like that, why you cannot'. I really don't think she will give proper care towards me and new born baby when time to come. My hubby still seem really carefree about this issue but I'm already freaking out. My health is not great to start with I don't wanna worsen it with poor care during confinement. What would any of you have done?

On the childcare part, if possible I would like to care for my child till at least 1year old before I join back workforce or even start a business. I think bonding with baby is really important and I hope to give my best for him or her to prepare the child for future education.

Hi kimiko,

Just wondering.... Will it be any issue if u go back to Yr parents place for confinement? If I dun rem wrongly, u are now shuttling btw mil n parents place too right?

Kimiko - I'm also thinking once I get a maid, do I need a CL...I have space since it's just hubby and me and the 2 dogs but suddenly hse have 2 strangers.....veri cramped lidat. I only hv 1 spare rm, then maid, CL and bb in one rm also veri congested. If my MIL or mum visit, I also scared too many views and so many women in the hse will quarrel. Then more stress rite?

My MIL also hinting to me she doesnt like CL. She said my SIL didnt hv CL, just hire maid and in the day, she will bring her own maid over and cook. My MIL is very modern, she will add ginger to everything and cook the confinement dishes using microwave that's abt it. Ingredients all from supermarket. I recall last year when I had op, she cooked for me, when my mum found out the fish was from supermarket, she grumbled...so hah, I'm veri scared when the 2 ladies are together.

Jus the other day, MIL brewed ginger water for me but she added into barley...I tot barley cooling i cant drink now...but I drank lah dont want to make her angry since she took effort to brew for me. So I doubt she knows much abt the dos and donts.

My health also no gd, but since it's first time for me, I'm super clueless. My 2 sis who got preggy before me also no CL, one used confinement centre cos she was in taipei, nothing much, 2nd day she bathe liao...the other one her MIL just do simple simple dishes for her...so I really dont know....

Are we worrying too much? Sigh....

Omg, anyone of u know if local bubble tea kena the poisonous chemical thingy in Taiwan? I suddenly rem I drank some bubble tea 2 weeks ago n I was alrdy preggie then!! I'm so worried now.

Hi stardust n kimiko,

Actually if u are worried abt food wise, u can order catering for confinement. I can't rem what the name of the catering co was, it has very good reviews fr the nov mummies. I can go find out if u want.

Hi stardust, does Yr mil know how to take care of bb like bath, burp, teach u how to use cloth diapers, care for the umblical cord area, feed the bb? Like u, I'm a first time mummy n am relying on my mum to do for me for first month n teach me to do after that. If she ok, then maybe u can get a maid to help u w housework n cater food to get all the right nutrients. but if not, a CL may be better... I do not think a CL, maid n bb in same room too cramp or u can ask Yr maid to zzzz in leaving room just for that mth?

Hi Littlefren, I did think about what you suggested but I think if I do that, my hubby and in-laws will not be happy becoz it's very obvious like I'm saying they are no good esp that I stay with my in-laws. My parents have no problem helping but also worry the in-laws having the wrong idea. Sometimes I really dislike all this, things can be very simple but human relationships make it so complicated. My mum have had tough confinement last time resulting in poor health hence she kept telling me that I have to watch certain things. But it's not easy to listen and do accordingly since it's my first time. I'm not so worried about food and tonic, it's the care like when to bathe, what special thing to take note when bathing, can on fan to sleep? When can wash hair, can I do housework or have to rest totally? That sort of things I'm really not sure.

Hi stardust, I think we worry becoz our health wasn't great to start with. I understand what you meant becoz I also experienced something like what you went through. However comparing maid and CL, I think CL is more crucial during confinement but maid is helpful after that. Though congested but it's only for a month when the maid can receive some 'training' under CL and the CL leaves thereafter. For my case, I don't need a maid yet since I'll be at home for a while and my MIL still can help look after small baby but it's the care for myself that I'm concerned about. Hai, really headache. But I think I really need a serious discussion with my hubby on this issue.

Littledarlin and Sporty, tx! I wasn't sure if pao sheng is American ginseng, because many sites say that's a no no. Yay, now can continue to add to my chicken essence. I love the smell of pao sheng brewing.

Kimiko and Littlefren, yes yes do try! It's really quite yummy although I usually dun crush the chicken bones lah. You'll give up bottles after that heehee.

Hi spaghetti, thanks for sharing! It sure looks delicious, shall try it with my mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi kimiko,

Ic ic, ya I agree that relationship is always the tricky part n ESP harder if u are staying tog.... Ya, have a good tok w Yr hubby bah.... Its better if u can get his support first. Tell him Yr concern abt Yr health. I know what u mean abt hubby too, they still very carefree, just like mine.... Everything also tell me no need..., that day almost quarreled w him cos he said y must hv video monitor! Arghhh! W video, I more fang Xin since bb sleeping on it's own, which I already so bu she de... ! They r slow reactor, we need to be more patient....

Hey kimiko, do u still feel nauseous these days? Mine's quite bad today! Until I took a cold polka apple soda down during, I then soothe down. I never have it as bad as today in tri 1.

Hi Littlefren, I think it's becoz my hubby finds it hard to talk to his mum about such issues. When I put myself in his shoes, I would be worried my mum think why my wife like so fussy and troublesome. But eventually all this have to be talked out, probably I shall helped him by asking how my MIL do confinement last time then I can make better decision.

After separating multi-vit and calcium tablet by at least 1hr, I felt so much better. I even went out the whole day today with my mum and sis. I think walking more also helps with my lower backache. But I noticed I'm not as thirsty as before, it's like back to how I was before pregnant. I have been eating so much this week, my tummy look so big now and I think I have put on about 3kg?

Hi gbh,

Hmmmmm fr what I understand fr the news at 6.30pm, I dun think sg affected but I think they mentioned that they stop importing 2 types of fruit juice ingredient or 2 types of food juice to sell..... Dun worry bah... U will be fine!!! ;)))

I see! That's gd! Yeah.... I think it's time to incorporate some exercises in too! I started on my treadmill slow walk.... Keke! Only did for one day! Ha! Shd start again!