(2011/11) Nov 2011

#2 OTW,

Congrats on knowing gender.

I can't wait to know mine. Guessing from the symptoms, I thot maybe different gender. From your experience, think my chances are low.

Good morning ladies! I can't wait to find out next Monday! Please, little one...Don't cross your legs and be shy okay!

By the way, Jmi, I live in Clementi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gd morning ladies!!

pls update mine:

Nick: bleh

EDD: 15 Nov

Gynae: Dr adrian woodworth / dr paul tseng

Hospital: TMC / MAH

Baby: #2

Area: Bt Panjang

thanks!!

good morning everyone!

sophia, so fast can know your bb gender alrdy?

FB:

im not a fb person. if i add the grp in my fb account, will my frenz see my postings and see who are in the group? im not the person will share anything in the fb... i prefer privacy.

bb gender:

when i went for OSCAR test on 12 may, i asked if can tell the gender of the bb now? the nurse said it's too early to know the gender. middle of our conversation when she scan, she said sth 'what a good-looking handsome bb'. not sure if she trying to hint me sth. anyway, i didn't ask futher..... when i went for routine gynae checkup on 14 may. the gynae said 'let's find out the bb gender'. hb and gynae spotted 'sth' but me dun know how to see. hopefully is a bb boy this time round. will confirm the gender next appt on 11Jun.

winter wear:

everywhere is now selling summer clothes. any mummies know where can i get winter clothing for my girl? went to winter time but the jacket is too thick. we are going to gold coast and melbourne in mid jun. i just need some warm clothing and a decent jacket for her.

berrypie, that's y i say ur nick was familiar... maybe we joined the Bt Panjang forum b4?

anyway, am in gangsa. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rainz: you seeing Woody in which clinic? Me seeing him at CCK one.

aabunny: me too @ JW! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

is anyone looking at infantcare? is there anything we should look out for when visiting the infantcare? can we just pop by or do we need to call in advance to book appointment?

btw, what are your opinions between having a nanny and sending bb to infantcare? is there such a thing as a nanny who comes to your place during the day? would that be expensive?

aabunny,

I have no experience in looking for infantcare but it should be similar to childcare. You have to call in advance to book appointment. However, I like to give surprise visits too by standing nearby to look-see.

My opinion is I prefer nanny to infantcare as it is 1-to-1 or 1-to-2 attention. And can dictate a little of what to expect. I have heard and seen that infants with runny nose and crying and not immediately wiped clean or coaxed. One cannot blame the teachers too cos too many to care for. Imagine 5 or 6 crying or making noise at same time.

Good thing about infant care is it is more structured and I have heard that knowledge wise, can pick up faster than nanny.

Have to weigh it out.

aabunny, my boy is currently in IFC. We prefer IFC over nanny. Reason being, should we be unhappy with how the way my boy is handle, someone is accountable and I can make a complain. With a nanny, I can't see what is done in the day, if she puts him in front of the tv all day long etc.

True, they fall sick easier during the 1st few months but once their immunity build up, they'll be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think different ppl have diff sch of thoughts, there is no right or wrong methodology whether issit infant care/nanny/parents/in-laws/maids as care giver. I think it boils down to individual and how comfortable you are. Situation and circumstances plays a part too.

For me, my 4yr old is taken care of by maid and maid alone at home since birth. For me i have no in-laws, my parents are working and prefer not to take care of grandchildren, of cos' having an elderly at home to jagar or supervise maid at home will be ideal but my situation don't allow. I believe trust and close communication is important between parents and caregiver in order to avoid any eruption or miscommunication that will result in any unpleasant incidents/accidents.

Agree with Jmi and Tiny Voice.

Have to look at the options available around your area (good nannies?, good nearby IFC?) and personal comfort.

thanks koi, jmi and tiny voice... our original thought is to go for IFC... but then we got a lot of negative response from friends when we said we are considering IFC... so now also exploring option of nanny, though i am not comfy with a nanny at this point... will prob go check out IFC around our area... what should we look out for when checking out IFC? student-teacher ratio?

aabunny, see what is available around your area and what you're comfortable with.

For me, my 1st choice IFC played me out (which turned out to be a blessing in disguise), I was told to ring back in Dec 2009 when I rang in Aug 2009 cos I will only be putting my child in May/Jun 2010. When I rang in Dec 2009, they said they were taking in 2011 kids!!!. When making our unhappiness there, I saw the teachers screaming at this little 3 YO to go take him nap.

2nd IFC only allowed me to register with my child's BC. How to have BC when child isn't even born yet!?

3rd IFC which is my boy's IFC, the centre supervisor was really nice. She brought us round to tour the school and we could see that the kids were happy. We like the environment plus she could reserve a space for my boy. 2 weeks later, we went back and confirmed the slot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aabunny: I suppose both have their plus and minuses. I might prefer a nanny because it would be a more personal touch, though I don't mind sending my kid over to the nanny's place. Also, I had a babysitter when I was younger, so good experiences. Hehe.

But anyone have any idea how to go about looking for a nanny/babysitter?? My mother asked me to distribute flyers in my condo estate. HAHA.

IFC or nanny - really a personal choice.

but let me share an encounter about a fren's fren's nanny.

the kid got burnt at the lower half of the body but nanny did not inform parents. when parents fetch kid and saw it, the nanny said it is rashes. went to hospital and told it was burns (not that mild kind). then nanny tried to blame maid (maid belong to nanny) and will not confess to anything. the parents made a police report after that.

moral of story is to find responsible nannies.... though accidents can happen anywhere, at least the nanny should have informed first hand to the parents. i pity the kid who had to tahan the pain for so long.

TiNy VoIcE,

My boy is 18 months old. Nowadays if hold his hand & walk outside, his legs will turn "jelly" to protest that he doesn't want us to hold his hand. If you release the hand & let him walk on his own, he will be very happy & walk very fast. But we worried that he will fall down, so normally only let him walk on his own on smooth surface (like shopping centre) & less crowded areas.

So good that your boy wants to zzz with daddy every night. Mine is opposite. Now letting my hubby coax him to zzz despite his cries as I have to handle the newborn next time.

Mag & Little bb,

Hope that both of your coughs recovered. I have bad coughs too! Probably got it from my son whose classmates was sick at the IFC. Seen the GP and she said that I caught a flu virus and it's contagious. I guess there is flu virus spreading around nowadays.

leikela/Jmi,

I've already sent a request on fb group Happy Days. Btw, I live in Hougang.

aabunny,

My boy just transferred from IFC to childcare around 1 week ago. Where do you live? If somewhere near Hougang, I can recommend the IFC my son went the other time. Thumbs up for the IFC environment!!! But one of the more ex IFC. You can call in advance to book appointment. And also, u need to make sure if the IFC still have vacancy for one baby. I prefer IFC and might even consider sending the 2nd one to IFC (after I got a job) next time despite the risk of them getting ill more often, more expensive & more inconvenient.

The reason is that the baby will get exposed to more different toys & will throw less tantrums to the teachers. With so many babies together, it also motivates the baby to eat, drink milk or play together.

Personally, I don't agree having a maid unless there is another person around the house to watch out what the maid is doing. Maid normally is not specialised in handling very young infants, so I rather you ask the maid to do household chores instead.

ent29: u shld go chinese svc and distribute flyers, mebbie one of the aunties there live in clementi and keen to take care, waahahaha! U stay which condo in clementi? Near Nan Hua Pri anot?

Shirley: I also install mobile LIVE cam at home too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My maid knows and sometimes i see something not right thru' the video cam, i will call immediate and correct her. There is transparency between us, nothing to hide.

aabunny, i was like u the 1st time wasn’t sure to send my ger to IFC or nanny. my case was different. initially my mum was taking care of my ger but she passed away suddenly. such a sudden, i wasnt sure what to do but to gather pinions fr experienced mum. i made up my mind to hav a nanny instead, as my priority is to have girl to be well taken care by 1-to-1 in terms of her health, food, sleep, etc. for education and social skills, i will take care of these areas as i dun expect nanny to do these. i spent my evening with ger and i sent her to enrichment class since she was 9 mths. I wld love to continue w my nanny but I was too tired with taking of my girl in the night, house chores, and work, moreover, I’ll be moving somewhere else not near to nanny’s place. So, my ger is now taking care by my maid (since 18 months) with my in-law’s supervision and she is on half day morning pre-nursery since she was 2 yo.

i visited many IFCs near to my house. most of the principals can sell their centre very good until i almost to sign-up. when i saw the bbs having runny nose and they seemed 'left out', shared toys with other bbs and the germs passing ard, i feel a bit sad. for other mummies, prob they think this is a good ground to train their bb to be independent and to have strong immunity system. for me, indpendent can be brought up in other way and immunity can be built on other ways.

i was fortunate to get a nanny near to my house within few days after my mum passed away. my nanny has 3 daughters, the youngest is in Sec 3, and they stay in executive 5-room flat. the whole family love my daughter and always spend extra $ to buy stuff for my ger. her daughters teach my girl play and read. i was happy. Until now, they will still bring my ger out for outing once a mth. when i moved house, she helped to take care of my girl over the weekend.

I got my nanny from an agent. if u need their contact, do let me know. They have a big pool of nannies available all over Singapore. You just need to name your criteria and they will help you to search one. Sometimes, it really depends on luck. Just like getting a maid.

anyway, the choice is on you. there is no right or wrong to send ur bb to IFC or nanny.

sorry for the 'lo so'.

Shirley - which infant care? Im staying in Punggol..not sure if the hougang one will be near enough..but im also looking for infant care..

aabunny - i have just been emaiing to ask for rates..not all yet..havent gone into full fleged research..after tt will ask if we can do a visit if not then i might just go n chk out the place by walking past lor...but i tink they have open house etc? i know learning vision has...but super ex so i may not go there...

TiNy VoIcE,

I'm surprised that you can leave the maid alone with the baby even though there is webcam. Anyway, for me, I don't wish to mainly because I think maid will take long time to train because they have different cultures & think differently like us.

However, I believe that there is good maid around. But right now, even my boys are bigger, I may not want a maid even cannot cope so well..... reason is that you have to let go some space for the maid to sleep and some privacy also. Even going for a holiday also have to bring maid along.

frenlop - how much did u hafta pay for the nanny per mth? i suppose the agent will charge commission n does the rate depend on individual nannies? hmmm always gd to haf options..do u mind sharing which agency this is?

Shirley: for me I trust my God is the one who will take care of my son and the maid in my absence, that is why we made that decision. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Of course along the years, we changed a few maids b'cos of some issues but those are not child abuse issues which i can tolerate and move on. Maids themselves are not perfect just as us, so sometimes have to open and close one eye.

i do agreed that you will lose your privacy if you hire a maid but if you want to plan a holiday, you can put your maid under the care of your in law or parents if you choose not to bring her.

leikela,

Actually, the IFC is at Serangoon North. It's called Cherie Hearts Whiz Kids Academy. The IFC is separated from childcare hence it is more quiet compared to some schools IFC and childcare is at the same place. The place is also quite big and spacious, but the place is air-con although not so cold. Air-con may be a disadvantage as virus can spread more easily.

It's quite expensive but my hubby find it is really worth it. Even childcare side, I find it is the most spacious out of the many that I have seen, hence less chaotic.

leikela, if i dun remember wrongly. bb below 6mths is $600. abv 6mths (cos bb starts to eat solid food like porridge, fish etc), it will be $680 per mth. they'll buy fresh food to cook. i just paid for $10 admin fee. the nanny is the one who paid the commission to agent. i think all nannies charge quite standard rate. i was not allowed to write the company name as it was blocked by the SMH website. i will email you their details.

BTW, i visited learning vision in changi business park. that was the centre i nearly signed up. their fee is v exp even after subsidy.

TiNy VoIcE,

Since maid is taking care of your child the whole day, does it means that ur child is more clingy to her? I BF my child & intend to do the same for the 2nd one. Normally BF babies are very clingy. Last time 1st time bring bb to the IFC, all the teachers complained that my son is more difficult. They even take turns to carry him. He can cry non-stop even when my auntie brought him away from me. He is also very sensitive to noises. Luckily, now better. I just hope that 2nd baby would not be like him.

Thanks Shirley and frenlop!

Childcare for me i will go to learning vision @ airport coz i work there so i got additional subsidy for airport staff so heard its quite cheap...so just need to sort out the arrangements before 18 mths...

Shirley - how much does cherie hearts charge?

frenlop - can pm me the details..thanks!! nannies cannot use subsidy right..thats the headache part coz its definitey more cash outta pocket..

Tiny_Voice: Hehehe...Yah lor hor, I would love for those aunties to help man. Some of them are really so cool. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also think your relationship with your helper is really good...As long as she is willing to be open and willing to listen to changes, that's really awesome. And indeed, God is watching over your kids! I think that way too, sadly, sometimes hubs is less trustful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Frenlop: Could you share the contact for nannies with me/us please? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] That would be very helpful!

Harlow ladies!!

Aabunny,

which area are u living at?

U can go to mcys website n list down the ifcs around your area that u want to visit.

U can drop by n make surprise visit.

Best time to visit is in the morning after bfast or go after their lunch time.

Some centres will tell u that they prefer u to make appt but most wont turn u away since u are already there.

My personal opinion is its better to get nanny.

If u getting your own nanny n not from agency then check that the nanny house is clean, no animals, no other person living in the house is smoking.

My boy has been taken care of by my mil since baby.

This year he started going to cc as i tot i wana prepare him in case the next sibling comes along. But my boy kept falling sick. I had to bring him to pd every 2 weeks.

So we changed from full day to half day. Now im thinking of changing him to a better kindy as i find his cc doesnt teach him much. My boy is so bored as he is more advanced than the rest. My fren whose kid is in k2 at the same centre is very worried as the cc doesnt prepare her kid for p1.

Good afternoon ladies!!

wow u have been bz chatting..hahaha and those who knows their baby genders - congrats!!make me very excited too.

jmi - i stay at bt batok!thanx

tiny voice - i go to CCK too coz more convenient for me lah....gtg this thur ard 10 am to get my Oscar Results conclusion.

aabunny - i am intending to put my babies into IFC too after seeing the speed my nephew learns new stuff and yes,definitely easier to fall sick initially but after a while immune system builds up.

the IFC he's placed in is called Sparkletots.

my sis drop by on those weird timings to see how the IFC cope with the children,lucky for my nephew is the teachers are very loving and they do updates on a timetable what they are doing during every hr eg- feeding,changing etc.

if baby diarrhea/vomit they'll jot down too.

wow you girls talking about infantcare and nanny already! it's definitely good being a bit more kiasu over this. 'cos i think singapore REALLY lack infantcare centres. a lot of my friends say very hard to enroll. once heard got new centre opening nearby they will chiong to call/book. i have a gf planning for baby in a year or 2 and already asking me if i know of any nannies near our area. lol!!

if place in IFC, have to bear in mind that baby got likelyhood of falling sick during the initial months. can be quite heartpain for the parents. and if got potential HFMD outbreak, parents have to take leave from work to care for baby. for nanny, things are a bit more flexible. even if on some evenings you run a little bit late in picking baby up also okay. just that i think a good nanny takes time to find and may be a little more costly.

lynzi,

i'm going to start my girl on cc soon too, but hard to find. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my mom's estate is matured estate and so few cc's!! very frustrating. now thinking of enrolling her in cc with school bus to fetch her to my mom's place in the evening. major headache..

ladies, i'm going for my gynae check up tonight! wish me good luck okay?? really hope to find out baby's gender. gonna gulp cold, sweet drinks and make baby move more later. hee hee!!

starry - if another baby girl u save $ coz can recycle.haha

But if boy boy,more chance to buy other stuff too!

good luck ya!!

Shirley: no leh, when we are home, my son will want us and not maid, and he will follow the daddy whereever he goes until the daddy told him, 'can you stop following me eh!' hee hee.... We also don't bring my maid wherever we go, we prefer to handle him ourselves whenever possible.

rainzz: aiyah, we will miss each other, am going for appt this fri morning after the meet the parents session w/ my son's teacher.

Frenlop: Thanks!! I got it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: YAYY! I'm really excited for you tooooo!!! Update on FB soon also k! Hehehehe...Anw, I think school bus is not too bad an option...Plus your girl so friendly, so should be ok with the bus people! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies, wow, thank you very much for all the advice and your experience. We, first-timers definitely benefit a lot from them.

Shirley, I live in Jurong West, but I think there is also a Cherie Heart here.

Frenlop, can you message me the agency? thank you!

lynzi, why is after breakfast or lunch better timing?

with nanny, i am afraid that they would just let bb watch tv all day, and i would not know... also as a few of you has pointed out, there is less accountability, if anything happens also don't know complain to who... but i guess if you get a good one, then it is a different story

with IFC, i believe the bb will develop faster and also social skills will be better (?? correct me if I am wrong...) but getting sick is an issue... eh, if i send the kid at 6 months rather than 4 months, would it be better?

starry, good luck with your gynea check up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do update us.

so satisfied ...just had roast duck+roast pork+ngor hiang rice for my lunch!

Starry: all the best for your checkup tonight, excited for u, am sure wld be able to see gender now unless baby playing hide & seek with you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also can't wait for mine this friday!

rainzz: aiya u change appt lah, change to friday morning, haahahhaa! Actually mine was thurs evening but i changed to friday so that not so rush since i applying leave this fri. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainzz: hee hee...nvm...next time we arrange to meet again. Usually my appt is evening cos' am working. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]