(2011/11) Nov 2011

On baby's gender:

During the OSCAR scan, it was 80% confirmed. But gynea told me to buy white.

Last Sat, went for my check-up. Gynea would only do 90% confirmed. She don't wanna give me 100% confirmation. :p

This is my 1st time posting in this forum and it really good to be able to learn from all of you. This is my 1st pregnancy and so much things to learn, hope that all will goes well.

hi Julia, welcome.

rainzz: how how, u like him anot? He speak like 'choo choo train' right, very fast hor. waahahahah!

Can't recall who post some online website for buying maternity wears eh? Am looking for spaghetti top.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can the kind mummies post again? Paiseh...

Julia - welcome!

tiny voice - i was prepared for the fast speed he speaks coz my sis have 3 out of 4 babies delivered by him and she warned me liao.

1st visit i wrote down the qns i wanna ask so that i won't get kan cheong n forget.

he's definitely more reassuring n steady compared to the KKH gynae i kena.

at least he's able to ans my queries etc..

even my hubby feels the same way after the experience we had at KKH.haha

@ Shirley ..thanks ..my cough is getting much much better n nowadays really scared of eating anything cold haaha..

@ Little Bb ..Hope ur cough is getting better as well ;)

To all mummy for sharing the comments wheather to put ur baby in IFC or nanny ...tat's the big prob to me also .. 1st tot of putting my baby in IFC but then after find out the price is exp le hmm hav to reconsider at the same time i'm worry i cant cope wit the housework at the same hav to take care the baby coz i know at nite hav to wake few times to feed milk then teh next day still need to work 'pengsan' so me & hubby drop the idea. N tis is my 1st baby really kalang kabuk like sotong.. Later come with the idea 'MAID" bobian lah .. got maid we worry also hahaha coz not sure she can take good care of my baby or not .. The end ..at tis moment we can think of is to sent the baby n maid 2gether to my inlaw house which they r staying at BtBatok n we stay HOugang, morning sent after work fetch them up LOL .. now i can onli pray really pray tat can get some1 to supervise the Big & small 1 near my place ..

TiNy VoIcE,

Good that both of you think this way and try to handle the child more often yourselves. It is better than next time baby prefers the maid more than both of you.

aabunny,

You can check on the Cherie Hearts near your home then. They will jot down when baby has last feed, diaper change, morning/afternoon bowels/nap, etc. Actually, I think whether your child got sick more often depends on the immunity and luck. My son got sick quite often especially the beginning months. Was really unlucky that he got chickenpox that time from other infants a month soon after enrolled him in IFC. He got it at 5th month and it was really a heartache when we saw him at the hospital with the needles poking at him for the glucose drip as his feeding was bad due to not feeling well.

The school does have temperature and body checks but normally virus will attack before it show symptoms of fever.

However, my brother's son immunity is extremely good in a sense that he didn't fall sick so often that even his mum got chickenpox that time, he didn't get affected. So, really depends on the baby's immunity and we pray hard that there isn't any major illness. For minor, we are still quite ok.

rainzz: yah, he speaks very fast and he is a man of few words! Be prepared for your OSCAR results, he will only have 1 sentence for u, 'everything is normal'...haahaa! You will also likely be taking blood test as well, be prepared. I didn't ask that time the blood test is for what, haahaaa, this fri will know blood test result as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just curious, he charges $550 as well for your twins?

tiny voice - yup,$550 for the package.

but Oscars is 400plus after disc using FBI..got additional charge for twins but is for 12 and 20 wks together.

the nurse called me day after Oscars liao,saying everything is normal.hahaha..

got another blood test meh?coz i took on day of Oscars liao leh.

but TMC the nurse take blood abit pain compared to KKIVF.haa

julia,

welcome! and congrats too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mag,

having a maid is almost around the same cost as putting baby in ifc. can ur mil help you look after ur baby so that u can save the maid cost? 'cos if tally everything up, maid + daily transport fees think easily more than $1k a month! actually baby's sleep pattern may not be as bad as u think. by the time you go back to work ur baby will be 3-4mths old? by then most babies can sleep through or just need 1 feeding at night. should be manageable. so far, hubby and i have managed and it wasn't half as bad as we initially thought it would be.

Sophia-Congras,you can doll your little girl.How many weeks pregnant are you?

l.tulips-I know my bb gender last sat when i am 14weeks 2days preganat.If boy tends to know earlier.

Shirley-My coughs almost 2weeks still havent recovered.Yesterday night cough even badly.At first no phelghm just throat very itchy and cough only at night when i lie down on bed.Then it becomes day and night cough with no phelghm and now got alittle white phelghm coughing day and night.Gynae prescibe me Sedilix DM Linctus cough syrup,took for 2days still cough like shit then my friend who also pregnant gave me a cough syruph which she claims very good,Dhasedyl cough syruph and Dorithricin lozenges.Just took today so not sure if its good.Cough is very annoying and torturing,i cough till breathless and my lower tummy so pain becoz of the coughing.What cough syrup your doc prescribe to you??

Mag- Cough getting worst [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Today i took another kind of cough syruph,Dhasedyl.Hope tomorrow will feel better.Cough really takes very long to recover.I did not took any cold drinks except milk but not straight out of the fridge,i leave it out for 5mins..What cough syruph you took? Mine at first is Sedilix DM Linctus then Dhasedyl syrup with Dorithricin lozenges.I am going to Phuket this thrusday,i pray my cough will recover orelse how to enjoy there.

rainzz: don't worry, woody's skill is good, no pain one! The left hand that the nurse at NUH find it difficult to detect my vein, woody has no problem and within few sec, he's done! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mag, dun worry too much. u will know what to do when time comes. as for housework, i feel that need to open 1 eye close 1 eye. we dont mop everyday, we dont do alot of things and my hse is very messy esp now when my son just puts his things everywhere. during infant time, they tend to slp more so u can do ur laundry at nite. i no longer buy too many expensive clothes so that i can just dump all into washing m/c (that includes my bra). lol

little bb - oh 14 weeks. ya, i remembered when scanning for no 1, also knew around 3+ mths. hopefully i will know soon.

cough is very annoying esp if cough due to itchy throat. drink warm water. i tried honey. if u dare take almond drink or those almond dessert (not the longan almond), then give it a try.

fit for travel letter i think is when tummy is pretty obvious such that airline pple will stop u fr boarding. think like 20+ weeks or so....

Leikela: im staying punggol too oso looking for IFC ard punggol area. Maybe our bb can be in e same IFC.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Frenlop: can pm me e nanny agency. Thks.

I agree with I.tulips. I was a cleaning freak before any kid came along. With my boy, when he was younger, I did my laundry at night when he goes to bed. Now, I do my laundry every Friday evening and Sunday morning.

The house is always messy with his toys here there and everywhere. With a kid, you just have to give and take and accept that your house no longer looks super neat.

My plan to go back to work today is dashed.

Of all the days, my boy chose today to fall sick.

Morning he was fine but afternoon when my mil fetched him, he was down with fever.

Teacher said he got no appetite n complained of tummy ache.

Poor boy look so weak n listless.

He is seldom like this. Usually even sick also he still quite active.

Today is sooooooo hot.

I gave up n went to get coke slurpee from 7-11.

Felt so satisfied.

starry,

You are the lucky mummy whose bb can sleep throughout with only 1 feeding at night. I'm not sure is it that coz my bb is BF, hence gets hungry more easily or it's because my son sleeps early like around 8.30pm. Hence most of the time, he would wake up at maybe 12am, 3am, 5am and finally 7am without fail. We tried to delay his sleeping hours, but makes no difference. He will still wake up at 7am. We are those late night owls..... so tends to sleep at around 11.30am. On good nights, he can sleep with only waking up at 3am, probably because of aircon. Hence our son is really a killer to our beauty sleep. That is y we are worried that we can't handle the 2nd one.

You are really lucky that MIL can help to look after. My mum can only help once a week probably. My hubby's mother passed away very early, hence no MIL to help. Sometimes my hubby really got pissed off and throw temper at me because after work, most men wants a break. Sigh!!! I really hope and pray hard that everything is really manageable after the 2nd arrival.

Little bb,

My doctor prescribed Phenexpect Expectorant Syrup & Mac-Extra Lozenge. The cough syrup is those drowsy type as she said that there is no non-drowsy medicine here for preggies. I've bought Vicks lozenges but mostly eat the "Ye Shan Lemon" to cure my throat as I once heard it is no good to eat lozenges so often and more than the prescribed amount. I dunno whether I cough too much, not as good or need more pelvic exercise..... Will tend to urine out some after coughing too hard.

aabunny,Shirley- When i told my gynae wheather he should write me a fit for travel letter,he just said i am totally fit to travel?? Izzit that if have that letter,we di not need to go through any scans at airport?

shirley,

i know of friends whose babies slept throughout from the 2nd month and they are tbf babies. i don't know how the mummies did that though. perhaps some babies are just better 'sleepers' than others? waking up at 12am, 3am, 5am and 7am sounds really siong.. went through this with my girl when she was a newborn. super duper tiring for both my hubby and i. think all parents have to go through this. it's part and parcel of parenting. just bear and grin through it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

it's my mom who looks after my babe. they totally adore each other, so in that sense, i'm really lucky. 'cos my work requires me to travel for 3 days to a week a few times a year. so having my mom look after her is really a blessing, don't have to worry at all. sometimes i feel she does a much better job looking after her than i do. but cannot rely on her so much for #2. now headache, wondering how on earth we are going to manage a 1 yo and an infant.

re: cough

boiled pear slices with nan xing bei xing is easy to make and good for coughs.

jmi,

my house is like a farm on some days of the week. hubby and i return home around 8.30pm after fetching baby from my mom's place and we are usually pretty tired out by then. saturdays and sundays are housework days. so you can imagine how messy it gets on thursdays/fridays. lol!

vis - yah...ill share info w u if i find any..u let me noe if u find some also? ahaha gd gd if out baby can be in same ifc...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vis, i have PM u the contact details of the nanny service.

aabunny, u do not accept PM.

starry, u r so lucky to have HB and mil to help u. talk abt my HB really made me mad sometimes. i was pissed off last night w my hb. my ger always like to throw tantrum suddenly with no reason. then i was trying to clean her and changed her to pyjama. then my hb heard my ger was crying and he didn't bother to check wat happened or lend me a hand to cool my ger down. my hb never wake up in the night to take care of my ger. he has never bathed my girl, changed her diaper only few times. he has the 'right' to sleep late in the weekend ard 3am and woke up next morning ard 10plus. sometimes i really think i'm stupid! why he always has the privilege to do his stuff. if i want to cut my hair, i got to plan v long ahead. he always complained he is tired and stressed with work and left my girl to me to handle. with #2, I also dun know how. I dun think I will let my maid to handle an infant. Also, I haven’t made a deal with my HB on how to take care of #1 & #2. sometimes, i really pissed off w my HB! but luckily, the only thing he knows is to be my girl's playmate. they can play till very 'crazy'!

frenlop - i pm-ed u with my email address..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can send me the nanny service info thru email? thanks!

lynzi,

i hope your boy gets well soon! heartache to watch our little ones fall sick. how many days of leave are you taking??

frenlop,

all these sounds so familiar!! my hubby was exactly like that. made me very very mad on several occasions. if i weren't pregnant, he would STILL be like this. but no choice, my pregnancy was very unstable during 1st tri. i had heavy bleeding and passed out blood clots. hubby went to gynae with me and gynae told him to help me as much as possible 'cos i was not supposed to carry my girl and stay on bedrest. he 'diam diam' followed instructions, but very reluctantly. from there he slowly helped a bit, learnt to bathe her, wipe her down. to be fair to him, i must admit i scolded him a lot, which i regret lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

then got one weekend i had to work whole day for an event. my mom was not free to take care of her and again, no choice, he had to manage my girl from 7am till 7pm! i was very anxious and jittery the whole day, paranoid that he didn't clean her up well, feed her well etc.. somehow he managed, sent me pics via whatsapp constantly to update me and even felt very proud of himself! i guess through that weekend, both of us feel better about leaving our babe with him. he also knows when #2 comes, he will be super bz. so better start learning on-the-job right now. the only things he still cannot bring himself to do is washing her poopy butt. lol!

30 mins more to knockoff!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cough:

if the cough is mostly in the night, then try to inhale steam from hot water or go for sauna. this will help to soothe the throat and relieve from cough. for drinking, u can try honey w lemon. for soup, u can make fresh 'huai san' (chinese yam) w carrot, red dates and wolfberries.

starry, haha... i thought im the only woman kena bullied by my hb. luckily tat ur hb guai guai learnt to be a good father now and give u a hand. actually, since after i got #2, he did try to help me like carry my girl etc but i still think he didn't do much. when i travel, my girl is either w nanny or now w my maid/in law. he's so lucky to have peaceful sleep all the way till the next morning. i wonder after #2, will he still having such privilege or not. probably i should really try to leave my girl with him the whole day or whole week so that he will learn how to take care of my girl without me and maid. i believe he can but the problem is on me (separation anxiety!) dun trust my hb!

ThaNKS Starry , I.tulips & jMi for the comments ; ) ya guess really hav to think & plan probably .. My MIL cant take care of my kid coz her leg aching all the time not convenient my purpose to bring my baby there jus wan her to supervise the maid while take care of my baby..of course i dun really wan to do such troublesome way to sent & fetch unless we hav no choice .. so b4 final decision made i wish i hav better choice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ..

@Frenlop ..ya think alot mummies here would happy if u can share the nanny agency contact heheh

@little bb .. after taking n finish the whole bottle of cough syrup from Doc i didnt take anymore ..but i'd tried boiled ginger water then mixied with honey n drink , lemon/lime with honey ..the end the the apple & some chinese ingredient (nan bei xing + pipa powder + meeZhou) then my cough start getting better ..but but but eveyday i drink alot hot water to stop my throat getting itchy ;) k wish u speedy recover b4 ur trip coming ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ shirley ..hmm .. eventhough my cough getting much better but sometime when cough Will still tend to urine out some also :p ..i'm wondering izit bcoz we r pregnant so tat's happen hahah

frenlop,

me too, i couldn't trust him! i know my girl was going to be okay. just 12 hours, it's fine. it was me who couldn't get past my own fears 'cos she was just 5mths old then, too young to make feel safe with her daddy at home. maybe shld tekan your hubby and let him try taking care of your girl for a few hours. let him have a 'taste' of it and at the same time, let him learn. once our tummy gets bigger, i don't think we can do as much as we are doing right now.

mag, i wld love to share the contact details but i was not allowed to put in this company name in the SHM. mummies with FB group, perhaps u can share the contact details via FB.

starry, maybe i shld learn to let go and trust my hb. i will find a day to escape myself from the family and let my hb to take charge.

bye everyone! ... going for hair cut! i have not cut my hair since jan till now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

frenlop/starry: i think the hubs need to know that we are not indispensable, should find a weekend we go out jalan and have tea with friends and leave them to take care of the kids, let them be hands-on w/o us and then they will appreciate us more w/o taking us for granted. They sure can survive one, we just have to let go and let them do the job! Very soon am going to do that, have tea w/ friends on sat afternoon and let my hb take care of my son since my son loves to stick to him!

Mag,

from hougang to bukit batok every day is no joke.

Unless u wana consider sleeping over for weekdays n only go back on weekends.

Starry,

i only took today n tomoro.

Cant take too many as im going for holiday in july.

Will need to save up my leave.

Leikela, vis,

if im not wrong around punggol got learning vision.

Got a fren whose kid is there.

Heard its quite good but slightly more ex.

There is a cc called Character Montessori too at punggol.

The prog there is very good but not sure if it has ifc.

I wanted to get a maid but my dh is against it.

Currently my mil is taking care of my boy for the most part of the day.

From morning till noon, boy is in school.

With no 2 coming, i might switch to flexi hours or part time.

On DH taking care of the kiddo:

The first time I left my DH to take care of my boy was during the end of his HFMD. Subsequently, there were times I had to go back to work on weekends and when my boy fell sick and I cannot take leave from work.

Nowadays with my preggers with #2, DH has been showering my boy more often. He also coos my boy when he fusses in the night.

So I'm thankful for whatever he's doing and believe he will do more when #2 is out. Especially since both of us DO NOT want to get a maid unless absolutely necessary. I don't wanna look after a stranger adult.

On dh taking care of bb

Before the arrival of my boy, me n dh have sat down to discuss our roles n parenting styles.

We knew once bb is out we wont have time for this talk.

After discussing, we put it down in black n white.

I have always believe that marriage is a partnership..cannot only one person do the job.

Both are working so once we reach hm also must be fair.

Among the things we agreed on is dh must bathe bb himself at least once a week, dh must know how to change diaper when bb poo or pee etc.

Dh training started when i was doing confinement.

I didnt touch bb unless its for feeding or bb insist n fuss for me.

My mum n mil took turns to take care of me n bb.

Dh took 2 weeks of leave n during that time he learned how to bathe bb, change diapers, heat up ebm, sterilise bottles n pump parts etc under the supervision of my mum n mil.

While mum or mil did the cooking, dh was the one who did all the housework n laundry.

After my confinement was over, it was a breeze transition as dh already know what to do.

For night feeds, dh n me will take turns to wake up.

At times we do argue but we will manage to iron out the issues eventually.

Both not perfect so both must slowly learn.

My mum said men are like pets..must be trained..lol

She said if dont train early, they will take it for granted n forever not learn.

Will be hard for the wife to shoulder the responsibilities alone.

I think got some truth in her words ah.

little bb, still need to go through scan. my gynea just gave me the letter when i told her i would be travelling at the end of my first sem. i did not use the letter at all in the end.

wa, i better psycho my hubby now that he has to learn to take care of bb alone next time.... or else i would not have any me-time after bb is born!

Wah, all of you ladies have very good experience to share about the hubbies. I also must not expect too much fr mine, especially since this is #1!! He always play with his niece until so happy, beam from ear to ear, then always praising her. Scared that when baby comes, he disillusioned with the baby craziness, then compare to his darling niece. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Iynzi- hahaha I know no jokes ;) hope tat's not my choice also, very time consuming end up make myself more tired haha .. N the rooms there at my inLaw house all occupied dun think We r able to overnite there. Hopefully when nearer the date we able to hav better solution heheh with my finger cross ..

Oh ya Iynzi hope ur boy recover soon .. When kid sick every1 sure very worry.

Hi jmi, pls update mine:

Nick: elyn

EDD: 11 Nov

Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham

Hospital: TMC

Baby: #1

Area: Tampines

My next appt is this sat... hopefully I will know the gender by then..so looking forward to the weekend! Holidays are starting soon.. Happy days for teachers who are mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi i just bot a bottle of Nu Zea Bee lemon honey.Is this the one that can reduce cough? I just drank a big glass,its not sweet at all infact more to sour due to the lemon.

morning ladies! looking forward to tmr! gonna hav scan. muz ask bb open leg big big to 'show'. lolx.

jmi/leikela

im staying at Tampines =)