(2011/10) Oct 2011

Gynae assessment is cervix dilate abt 1.x cm but head still high. Tomorrow, going back to see gynae again.if tonite, no labour might I induce tomorrow!

So now walking around paragon to exercise while waiting for prenatal massage. Hopefully will stimulate labor .....hubby only request to shop only in paragon now... Cos near to gynae and mt e hospital ....

JoJobar,

Envy you still able to shop around,

I'm still working, trying to occupy myself from thinking about the D-Day,

all the best to you, hope your bb cooperate with you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello, Jojobar, i nod u ve the same EDD as me.. :0

my next check up is this thur, as i wld stop work this thur and wait for her to come out...

bt getting abit too tired... cause i ve to come back to work on the 16th Jan, hopefully she comes out earlier then got more time to bond wif her...

Breastfeeding

My son also same thing sometimes at nite wake up every 1 hr to feed then feed for 5-10 min dozed off agn.. v tiring for me.. but slp v long hrs in noon.. no matter how I wake him he refused to wake up!

Today, while shopping around, lots of the sales personnel ask if I am having twin as my tummy is so big. So paiseh loh... Haiz, hopefully tomorrow I can induce and deliver naturally .... With epidural of course...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rejoy, understand how you feel. I even worse start ml so early and baby not out. Today gynae ask me why so ganchrong, I was like.... I have training plan in dec and traveling/training plan in feb leh.... Of course I would like my bb to be older when I m away mah. Then I will be back to work in mid march officially, he will only be four/five months .... My initial plan was to be with him till he is six month old....

Snippy, kudos that you are still working like rejoy ,.. At least you can save as much ml to spend with bb.

Today I went shopping to reward myself in advance before I deliver and start confinement ......quite happy mood today hopefully tomorrow is the d day !

Candyfloss

If finish 1 side 1st then BB refuse e other side alr then other side will feel engorged need to pump out was thinking of 10min each side then at least both sides dun feel engorged.. which is better?

To all who is like me still waiting, I hope we will get to see our little one soon.

My feet started to swell quite bad today. I hope it's a sign. Can't wait for next checkup

bubbly

actually bb should finish 1 side 1st cos initial milk is waterly follow by thicker flow. therefore if you bf 10min each side, then bb will only receive diluted bm. maybe you give bb alternate breast.

hospital stay - anyone know when hospital state now (2 days stay) when will the check out be? I will be induced on Wed at 1pm so when do I check out?

Hi winnie,

Not sure if all hospital operate same way. If mt e, you will check out Friday before noon.

Bubbly, if you want to seriously stimulate your supply. You will feeb one breast and when bb refuse the other side you pump out. In fact, my last bf with #1, the mt e lactation consultant ask me to pump out excess from both breast after each feed. That is how you keep sending signal to your brain. You need more milk,. Then by about 5 weeks, my milk supply surplus what the bb need per day,

I know is very tiring to express after each feed, that is why you get a double electric pump to speed up the process if possible.

I rem I was constantly tired then and no choice as my son refuse formula so I was forced to build up the milk supply for him. Hopefully this time round, I can do it as well.

Sweetsnow, when is your next checkup ? I also very anxious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] to meet my little one but yet quite worry abt the labour. Flashes of my last labor keep coming to mind ......

Bubbly

You can just pump a little on your other breast to relieve the engorgement, you'll be comfortable by the time bb is up for the next nursing. This is what I did for #1. if you follow jojo's method, then you are building up supply for many months ahead. But this method is very tiring for you, and it means that you can't go out for long stretches without your pump cos your boobs will demand to be milked on time.

Hi tamm.

On milk supply establish, per stretch is about 4 to 5 hours after that. Hence I need to pump about twice at work if I work 10 to 14 hours.

If is social, I usually bring bb out with me so no need to pump. Just get hime to suckle loh. But bear in mind, infant formula is very expensive, hence the more you can supply yourself the more you save on milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] .

Sweetsnow, my no 1 pop at week 36plus. And is natural with epi, no need induce [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] . I ask gynae he say my cervix is already soft and dilate so a good chance to induce naturally. I agreed with your friend comment abt induce if this is your #1. ask your gynae for professional opinion is the best lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sweetsnow,

Oh gosh, my pupp rashes now spread to arm,...so itchy..... I read and it say it happen after week 35 and mostly pregnancy with boy ... Mine is 2nd preg, still Kenna [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I itch until I can sleep....anyone beside me suffering from it ?

Re BF:

ya i also have to feed about 40min each time. when bb falls asleep, will wake him up to continue eating if less than 40min. this is wat the TMC LC teach me, n I found its better than letting him slp cos he will wake up hungry if eat less than 40min. so better to feed properly than have him cranky and crying like every hr.

Re BM:

i'm not storing any at the moment, cos hope to do latch on during ML. plus all the sterilizing n washing is very ma fan.

anyone taking those special formulated tea for increase milk supply? eg TM Mother's Milk or Scared Tea?

Hi bubbly,

As the initial mill known as foremilk as lesser fats and it's less filling, so it's better to empty one breast and pump out the other side to store. If baby gets only foremilk will get hungry faster. The hindmilk which has more fats fill BB tummy longer. During initial Bf, it's recommended that after feeding both sides, still try to pump ti send signal that u need more milk so supply will be sufficient.

Hi Winnie,

If u deliver at TMC, it would be fri noon to discharge. A suggestion, since u going to induce, you may discuss w ur gyne to induce at 11pm on tues night. As long as u admit after 11pm, first day stay in next day fee. For me, I did that and hubby and check in like hotel stay, enjoy the aircon, get comfy. My gyne broke my water bag at 8am and BB delivered after noon.

You may want to ask ur gyne after induce, how long wil he/she suggest to burst waterbag.

Hi cream donut,

One of the recommended Herb iS fenugreek. You can take them as pill and buy from gnc. But as suggested b myself and candy floss, the way to increase milk supplies to send signal to brain that you need morehemce they produce more.

Ya, bf is very tiring. I get around the washing by buying two sets of the pump accessories, hence I don't need to wash and sterilse middle of the nite. Pump out also help by getting hubby and other to give one feed via bottle.

In fact, I feel this help to transit bb from bottle to nipple easier ,in later stage when u need to go back to work

Sorry, should be transit from nipple to bottles is easier.

As for cream relief, gynae never give ask me to use mh baby cream. So I using carlifornia candella cream and Lucas paw paw cream to refief

How do u sterilize breast pumps n storage bottles? Can we sterilize n keep in a box to be used later on without needing to sterilize again? Or if sterlised n kept in box still need to rinse with boiling water before use?

If starting need to bf ever 2hrs means everytime need to sterilize the pump parts? How do you arrange the timing? Sterilize while u latch so after that can pump the residue?

Mummies, in the early days after you express, how much can you pump out? I tried but after a long while only max 20 ml [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I dunno what to do with it after that cos it is too little to freeze and my baby is too full to be fed with that.

For TMC, I checked in at 1am 12 Oct and discharged on Friday noon.

Hi sweetsnow,

If I am at home, I will leave it inside my sterilizer which is 24 hr running avert iq. If I go work, I put all sterilized part in airtight Tupperware. Take it out and use when need it. when I get home, I wash and sterilize both set together

No progress from yesterday, hence doc decide to hold off induce and see on Friday..... Another couple of days of waiting for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jojobar (mummychanel) : fenugreek is popular but results vary. for me, it does increase slightly, but not enuf to store. so most of the time i pump i have to throw away.

Candy Floss (ourbaby) : when u put in the box the parts are still wet? if no, hw u clean the parts without introducing bacteria?

Mummies can check anyone exprerience pain on the nipple when baby is suckling exp when there is a let down when baby suckling..... Seems like it's pain like when milk is trying to come out?

BF:

Thanx to all mummies who ans to my queries! Ok then from now on i'll try to empty 1 side 1st then pump e other. Ya i can't imagine in future if need to go out for whole day still need to bring pump out! Gosh!

Creamdount

When I told e lactation nurse I'm feeding 20min she tell me he sulfur be full alr leh.. but my BB sometimes only latch for 5-10min then dozed off n no matter how I wake him he refused to wake up so he'll get up every hr or so to feed on which is v tiring for me. Max he can latch is up to 20-25min.. but tat's occasionally..

Hi creamdonut,

When I stored in Tupperware box, it's still wet. I din dry it. Before use, sometimes I will use hot water (boiled) to rinsed.

I finally can log on again.

Librabb, good to know ur bb is doing well!

Tamms, luv,jojobar,

Thanks for the concern.

My baby finally got discharged on sat. The bill is huge but helped offset by medisave. I was so happy he could be discharged nothing else matters! Now doc put him on antiobiotics for a week which cause him to have loose stools. My diaper supply almost down jus after 4 days. Have sent my hubby to buy more. Which is the cheapest brand? I can change n change disperse co's he keep pooing.

Hi Jojobar,

at least you are 1 cm dilated already. My gynae just checked and I am still 0 cm dilated. Sigh... Still waiting. If he doesn't come out next Tuesday, then need to decide on which date to induce already.

Pofy, cheapest brand may not suit your baby le. Better to try out some samples first before buying in bulk. Drypers is cheap but not suitable for my first one. Remember to clean and check your baby for rashes frequently since he is having loose stools.

Pofy,

I have bought pet pet, 32 pcs for $5.95 at NTUC, if have sales is about $10.90 for 64 pcs. so each pc ard $0.19 like tat

so far reviews seems not bad, but again my bb still playing inside, so i cannot comment on it.. can only introduce u to this..

pofy: congrats to u.. finally can bring BB home.. i am sure he wld be a healthy and happy BB under your care... have more happy thoughts, m sure he can feel it...

i m seeing the gynae on thur, wld discuss wif him on the induce part if there is still no sign..

i dun think she is even engaged... is it true that if the BB is engaged, u cant feel her?

Mommies, my gynae ask me to be admitted tmr already. He checked on my amniotic fluid and it's getting lower and i have dilated 3cm.

Gosh..i'm so scared. The check on the dilation is already so painful. I dun know if i can take it tmr.

Winny congras that's fast 3cm diluited it's gd remember before u go hos drink Milo with egg tell baby dun let mummy pain pain so long if u nt gg for epi that's important if u nt gg for epi u can use laughing gas for relieve this helps me abit for pain relieve cos I did nt take epi very fast de dun worry jiayou all the best .....

Wow... u gals are still active in this forum!!! I haven't been here for like dunno how many months!

Where to get fenugreek huh?

Hi Winny

Great to hear you will be meeting your bb tomorrow ... I "envy" leh... For me, i wil see my progress/development on friday. If there is not much improvement in diliation and head still not engage. I might consider C section.

Not ideal but what i dont want is to drag and drag in the end, still end of emergency c section after long induced labour pain....this friday i will be week 39 + 1 days already...

Caca, okok i'll drink milo with egg tmr. I was shivering and legs soften just now after gynae checked if cervix dilate anot. Really cannot imagine tmr.

Jojobar, dun need to envy la. Ur turn will come. Honestly, i still not mentally prepared.

bubblygeekypig (bubblygeekypig) : u went back to find ur LC ah? i wonder if i can jus feed bb a lot so that at nite wun wake up so often? hehehe...

Jinnous (jinnous) : gnc got [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i got mine from there

Jojobar (mummychanel) : i heard gynae can help push/turn baby to engage. hav u tried? bt i also heard its pain... hav u tried walking? it really helps to speed up labour n prep bb.

Candy Floss (ourbaby) : so u use the wet parts (either stored in tupperware or rinse with hot water) to pump or u dry them before pump? sorry am confused...

May I know if contractions will be accompanied by the show of mucus plug or water bag burst? I mean can we have contractions even without any bloody show?

Will drinking to much cold stuff give tummy cramp when we are so far into our preg?

Creamdonut

No cos i request for full breastfeed so every 3 hrs nurse would wake me up during my hosp stay n nurse will usually ask how long has e BB been fed. Ya i also wanna feed more so i need not wake up for feed so often. But even formula feed he sometimes only take 20-60ml but nurse told me they can feed up to 90-110ml wonder how they do it!!

Sweetsnow

I had contraction w/o bloody show too n best is CTG show 5vmin interval I still dun feel pain!

Hi crewmdonut,

I don't think my situation warrant such a drastic intervention from gynae at the moment. To manually turn or push the baby now actually pose some risk. So being very old school gynae, he would wait for couple of days more since it is still week 38.

I will go shopping aka walk walk tomorrow and see if it help[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubblygeekypig (bubblygeekypig): wow, u r very patient leh! i just asked the nurses to give formula at nite cos i was too tired aft delivery. i was jus stoning all the way in the room n even wen i told the nurses i wana try breastfeeding at nite, they dun recommend it cos i was in too bad a shape, hahahah...

Jojobar (mummychanel) : yups, walking is good! try 20min a day of slow leisure walking. it helps to soften the cervix too, so labor will be more smooth. enjoy ur shopping tom! heheheh!

Hi sweetsnow, I had contractions every 5 mins but no bloody show until the water bag broke. Even then not much blood.

Hi pofy,so happy for you that your bow can finally go home with mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you have a good rest since you have such a rough week.

Creamdonut, would you feel engorged at night if you dont feed? My girl has this habit of demanding milk almost every hour before bedtime 10pm then once she sleeps, she will not wake up until 4-5 hours. in the end, I was the one who had to wake her uP to drink at 2am cos I couldn't sleep due to the engorgement and leaking of milk. So frustrating!

Letting go:

1) 7 pieces of BRAND NEW - FRONT BUTTON SHIRT which is cooling & easy to wear at only S$19 include normal postage

https://picasaweb.google.com/114952665081774752567/BRANDNEWShirts7PIECESFORS19

2) Brand new In Box PUSH WALKER AT ONLY S$22

https://picasaweb.google.com/114952665081774752567/BNIBPUSHWALKER22NET

3) Preloved High TOY CHAIR AT ONLY S$10

https://picasaweb.google.com/114952665081774752567/PRELOVEDHIGHCHAIRTOYLETTINGGOAT10INCLUDENORMALPOSTAGE

4) BRAND NEW BREAD TOASTER AT only S$10

https://picasaweb.google.com/114952665081774752567/BrandNEWBREADTOASTERLETGOATS12ONLY

5) Preloved Fisher Price New Born to Toddler Portable rocker at only S$80 NET. condition 9/10

https://picasaweb.google.com/114952665081774752567/PRELOVEDFISHERPRICENBTOTODDLERPORTABLEROCKERAT85CONDITION910BOUGHTAT169

Creamdonut

No choice hb wan me to bf freq as bf is gd for BB n mummy.. I v lazy to pump n I pump only when i feel super engorged but my massage therapist say better to pump consistently cos for some aft 3 mths no milk alr.. but seriously super lazy!!

leeoh (leeoh) : yups, i will! breasts will be rock hard and leak until the breast pads cannot absorb n the bra and mattress wet, ahhaha! r u taking supplements to increase your milk supply?

bubblygeekypig (bubblygeekypig) : ya, use pump very tedious, have to wash n dry and keep the milk have to monitor the timings. plus my fridge very small, no space for the frozen milk liao