(2011/10) Oct 2011

yeah, not the one across the road. come out from mrt and ground level, OG is on the right hand side. the old block with hawker center is directly in front of you only. cheong choon store is there too, can go take a look.

minidiary,

no need nappy liners bah. never used it at all even though i bought 2 boxes. wasted lor. i bought a pack of cloth nappies (anakku brand) and used those to swaddle baby or as a little blanket. no more use after the 2nd month. wasted again... my friend improvised and cut hers up into little squares to double up as burp cloths and hankies. very absorbent! get the liquid detergent (powder one not so good) and rubber changing mat. wet wipes buy from singapore better bah. i often buy the pigeon unscented ones.

don't expect too much for cheong choon store though. it's very small and cramped! they have some product catalogues for you to browse so what my hubby and i did was go to baby fairs and shops like kiddy palace to see look, confirm what we want then call up cheong choon tell them brand and model no. think payment is via internet banking and delivery made within 2-3 working days. all by phone. oh, don't go too early! they open at 1pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

a lot of PJ shops there, just walk see see-look. i cannot remember which store i bought from. i only remember it's a shop all cluttered with PJs, towels etc, and if not wrong it was at level 2. very 'japalang' type. haha! but cheap!! i also bought 2 stacks of cotton hankies at very good price.

there is a shop at level 3 call Dragon Dor Cosmetics. sells a very wide range of organic items like shampoo, shower gel etc. bought cloth diapers and a lot of burts bees items from them for my babe.

re: changing mat

yes, that's the one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winny: Pray for you. Me and hubby went for our DNA blood test at KK hospital last sat for the thalassemia as well cos clinic blood test red blood cell low. Hubby and I are worry as well.

Bless!!!

All Mummies- start buying baby stuff? I haven't start buying anything yet but have got the list from my sister on what to prepare for baby arrival.

My hubby think that is too early to start buying baby stuff which i think otherwise. hmmmm....

They open so late. 1pm hv to head back to HBF liao. May try steal some catalogues first. But act only need those small daily items, won't be in catalogue ba.

Mil also use nappy cloth for household cleaning then when it gets too dirty just throw.

Ok will try concentrate this mission is for PJs! Thanks so much for helping!!!

any one having sneezing problem? i sneeze a lot since i'm pregnant. sneeze very loud. i just can't control it. scare it will affect the baby.

Hey can ask u gals if your gynae still give u the fish oil and prenaforte vitamins? My gynae nvr give me leh but he gave vitamin c for my stuffy nose.

my mum very traditions... keep insisting wants cloth diapers and nappy liner. so i have no choice, keep argue with her to use diposable diaper but she said hot, rashes and etc on baby later... so i just ask her to buy lo if she is washing haha

minidiary,

it's true that cloth diapers are best. but very ma fan to soak and wash everyday. some babies are more sensitive so can't use those disposables. my girl is okay, even now still using disposables at night and on weekends. on weekdays, she will be using cloth ones at my mom's place. but not the traditional nappies. even my mom finds those too troublesome. she uses the blueberry minky pocket diapers. even went around recommending them to her friends who have grandbabies. like an ambassador liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fantastar,

muahahahah

i wanted to enrol but they said way too early, so i will wait till december.

ya heng got subsidy, if not i really eat "wind" and "grass".

oh oh as for the liquid cleanser for bottles.. i saw pigeon (100% food grade) has it now value refill pack 2 for $19.50 at kiddy palace. i might be getting that but hubby said baby no need to be soo "clean" if not next time go out will fall sick easily..

oh ytd i bought wide neck pigeon and tried out with nuk premium teat..

i'm pointed it might sightly be popped up cos nuk teat is more hard & it's new.

but once we close the bottle it seems perfectly alright, but still yet to use it practically.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5539809.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5539810.jpg]

second thoughts, i didnt expect pigeon teat to be such soft as i was playing it lol.. :x.

starry,

oh tha anakku looks very cute and nice! selling $8 here? I wonder KL sells how much because got sales now also. the blueberry minky pocket diapers how much ar? where to get? i hope i can change my mum's mind using modern type cloth diaper haha

Winny> good luck, dun think too much cos it does not help. i went thru this agony too cos I have alpha thalassemia and my hub had to take blood test so the wait was very worrying too..Lucky he didn't have.

starry> What is the diff between the diaper pocket n traditional kind? I saw the vid clip, still need to wash the whole thing? Like that need how many to standby cos will need to change alot lei..Where to buy them from ar?

Jinnous> Yup, i'm still taking fish oil n calcium from gynae

snuppy> I'm still clueless about choosing milk bottle or teats..haha

rabbit bb,

no worries me too, this is my #1.. i just buy because of the set, if not the price or what other experienced parents advise, hehe.

because some said pigeon bottles can fit nuk teats.. pigeon bottles cheap n good n cute .. so i also wanna do some cost savings in the future.. hehehe

minidiary, rabbit bb,

i got the blueberry minkies from the Dragon Dor Cosmetics. that time their warehouse side had fire, a lot of diapers were stained with smoke soot so i managed to get many pcs at like $18-$22 each. those soot washed out very easily so no damage done lah.

if you ladies are keen, can buy from their online store (http://www.milagrotrading.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=20&zenid=67a8f38d6bae93790395e4730f20fcba). either go by post or collect from the shop itself. there are other diaper brands like Bummis, Fuzzi Bunz, bumGenius etc. on sale.

i bought ard 12 - 14 pcs. actually no need so many, unless you intend to start your baby from birth. they poo/pee a lot the first couple of months. my mom started my babe on these clothies when she was ard 4-5mths old, only need like 4-6 pcs a day. no need nappy liners. the poo wash out very easily. just hose the stained part, rub/agitate the stained area a bit with detergent and soak for an hr then rinse in washing machine. dries very fast even indoors.

some ppl still prefer traditional while nappies but those soak thru way too fast. and need to pin with the huge safety pin. these new pocket diapers are very attractive and the inserts can hold urine for ard 2-3hrs or even more. they are very lasting also. my babe's been using those for 3-4mths and still look brand new, no stains at all. the velcro and buttons all still very 'solid'.

Starry> you use the snap or Velcro type? Wonder if the snap ones are troublesome. Maybe ask my frd help me see if she can find in US. Minidiary, u wan? If she manage to find and is cheaper here lah.

Good noon mummies!

starry: Cheong Choon Store open at 130pm wor, not 1pm.. I was thinking of checking their stuffs later after work before going to the MH Fair tml.. Now that you say, I dunno if it's worth the effort to walk all the way there fr Raffles! & thanks for the info on pocket diapers! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mum's also keen on using cloth ones, maybe can ask her try the pocket diapers.. heh.. what about when ur babe is before 4 mths? traditional cloth diapers?

Other mummies: Good to call them first cause on I think on certain days (like yesterday perhaps due to special occasions), they close at 6pm instead of 8pm..

Tel: 6532 3855

Jinnous: eh my gynae only gave me multi vit, no fish oil wor.. should take fish oil too?

Minidiary,

Both concept same. Moo moo kow is local brand. Blueberry minky is US brand. Can wear from birth till child is 1yr plus? Depends on child's size. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rabbit bb,

I have both snap and Velcro. Snap ones better in long run as they are hardier. Velcro ones may wear off but so far mine still in perfect condition. Think very easy to find in US. Otherwise purchase from store direct and ship in? Dunno whether amazon has or not. Can go look.

rabbit bb,

Sure! I want! if cheaper... everything is US so cheap! but must ask ur fren choose Baby Boy pattern wor I prefer Snap one...hahaha how i wish im in us now. so regret last year, didnt buy much baby stuffs in US and dunno those baby brand in US.

miffy,

Didn't know that. Thot was 1pm. Gd thing u checked. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] In my opinion, not worth the trip down unless u have in mind what u wanna get.

My babe was fully on disposables before she ws 4mths old. I was still on ML then and didn't do laundry everyday so didn't use cloth diapers. When my mom took over, she was overjoyed that I bought cloth ones 'cos she's a firm believer that they are better than disposables and she's into the Reduce, Reuse and Recycle movement. Haha!

Minidiary, rabbit bb,

Both of u can consolidate the order then order one shot? Don't think shipping will be expensive 'cos very light and compact. Heard that boderlinx is cheaper for shipping to SG than vpost. Otherwise check out Milagro Trading website. They have certain cloth diapers on sale.

My mom says the minky ones are better than the bumGenius and Fuzzi Bunz I got 'cos material (got the bamboo ones) is so much cooler to the touch.

Im using Borderlinx... haha waiting for my Carters order to arrive and then going to order the Swaddle me and maybe the JJ cole muslin blanket u recommended... haha then will check out lo!

I see the US website for blueberry minky and Amazon selling around US$25... not cheap also compares to Milagro.

yeah, not cheap. So just get a few pcs will do. The good thing is can keep for 2nd baby cos they are really very very lasting. Nowadays disposables are getting more and more expensive so if u use long term, u get to save.

minky ones feel softer to the touch 'cos of the 'mao mao' texture. if u look carefully, it's like microfibre. deluxe ones don't have this kind of smooth, soft texture. the outer layer is similar to that of moo moo kow's.

oh yes, forgot to mention that the more you wash, the more absorbent and softer it gets! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so before using, just wash couple of rounds in the machine. remember not to use any softeners. softeners will form a thin moisture barrier on the surface and prevent absorption.

Starry

only managed to shop pj n towel stuff level 3 near escalator.

$100 for 4 dress pj, 1 seperate pj, 1 dozen cotton nappy clothes, 3 small towels for bb, 3 Big towels for adults.

Felt abit ex lady also refuse any discount.

The dragon cosmetic nothing much to get.

hope i can remember by tat time... haha i feel myself cant remember things when im pregnancy... my memory like not good as before. baby takes away by DHA? haha

Minidiary> if comparing same minky one size design:-

USA site selling US24.95 (Approx SG32) come with 2 microfiber terry inserts. bamboo insets is seperate at USD8 for one

Milagro selling SGD41.50 (excludes shipping)come with 2 microfiber terry inserts. if Bamboo inserts is SGD48.50 (excludes shipping)

If can buy there best saving..haha..otherwise need to add in the shipping cost. then again SG32 for just one quite ex sia. Imagine we need at least 6pcs? Woww..

Haha... Can buy baby cot aredi with that price... Bigger in size. Thought of getting 3 first. When your fern going to USA?

I saw one blueberry minky selling at amazon US19.. Think is promo price... Others selling us24.95. Maybe I buy one there also..

Starry,

Just to clarify with you, the blueberry thing you mentioned is a diaper cover right? then what do we put inside as the absorbent??

Woaw i didnt know got something like that, other than the old fashion big pin cloth ones.

snuppy,

it's a pocket diaper. meaning you can put something call 'inserts' into the pocket. the inserts are very absorbent. check out the video here to understand what i mean: http://www.blueberrydiapers.com/Pocket-Diapers_2

no need to worry about sizing either, 'cos it is a one-size diaper. you can adjust with the snap buttons to make it small for newborn, medium for 3-4mths old and large for 6mths onwards.

Jinnous

my gynae also gave me multi Vit n fish oil i bot it from her.

Diaper

i was looking at this moo moo diaper cos i found them cute hee.. but was thinking if i've to wash it after every poo or pee then v tiring leh n stinks too.... wonder can i jus change e insert or e pee n poo will stain e outer part as well?

minidiary> she gg on Fri and I haven't done up my shopping list..I will put it down in my shopping list if its less than USD25 for one then maybe buy 4 for me first. You want any if its lesser or you prefer buy from Amazon?

I should be getting the snap snap kind the minky one size bamboo and without bamboo is selling same price on the site. I hope its cheaper there.

Starry> the Bamboo one is better? funny the US site selling for same price for the diaper with bamboo material and without bamboo material.

I know this may sound silly. I heard from my friends that Gingersnaps sell very pretty clothes for baby and toddlers. So being first time parents, when both my hubby & I went shopping at Gingersnaps 3 mths ago, we couldn't resist the temptations & grap a trolley of cutie clothes home even before knowing our baby gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now that we know that it's a boy, my MIL is suggesting me to let go of the girl's clothing before they turn yellow and "out of fashion". Didn't realise but I think I bought quite a bit, ranging from 6mth-2years old. I will posting the pics tog with the size and measurements. So non-first-time-mums or if you think you are interested in getting any of the following items for your kiddos or friends' kids, just let me know.

P.S All items were not worn before, tags still on. Come with gift boxes as they have given me quite a few since I bought many pieces.

my baby boy realy very naughty, I in and out the room 3 times but he stil keep in the same position during my 2nd detailed scan(for spinal) today .he refuse to turn back to let Auntie to scan his spinal. I really don't knw wat to do, hav to come back for 3rd time scan. feeling very sad now :-(

bubblygeekypig,

that's the con of using cloth diapers lor. have to change after every pee/poo. the pee will not leak out, but inside the diaper already wet, not so good to just replace with new insert lah. if not for my mom insisting on clothies, i wouldn't have used them. 'cos i don't have a maid at home to help with the washing. haha!

rabbit bb,

better get a combination of velcro and snap ones. because when your baby starts flipping here and there, snap ones will be a little challenging! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and yes, the bamboo ones are better. you can really feel the difference. inserts no need to get bamboo ones, normal microterry ones work just fine.

Starry> okie, thanks for the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also dun have maid..I'm the maid lo..but just buy la..first time mommies like to waste money one :x

Starry,

thank you very much i will show it to my hubby as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mums who are planning on going green:

Just wondering now that we are on the topic of cloth diapers, have any of you considered washable sanitary pads??? Rather than buy disposable pads, would you consider buying cloth pads? It's got the ick factor of washing off blood everyday, but if here we are, prepared to wash poo, does blood make any difference to you?

I came across this brand of re-useable menstrual pads http://www.sckoon.com/clothmenstrualpads.html

Just wanted your views on this. it's supposed to be green since its re-useable, more comfortable cos cotton is fluffier, and saves $$$ in the long run. Would you consider using these?