(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hey! I also have thalassemia. But my hubby is ok. I didn't know until my sil told me my brother has thalassemia. I think shd be ok? But alpha means you will need major blood transfusion leh. So I think you are just minor bah?

Jinnous> no lei, I never had blood transfusion *touchwood* before, so the nurse told me I have alpha I also blur and when I read the symptoms I also confused. I only had childhood asthma, face pale pale and sometimes dizziness, but it sort of improved when i got older and I was never under any treatment for this.

RabbitBB, they made my hubby do a blood test but his blood count is good, so no further tests required but gynae explained the entire process to us.

No worries & dun panic ok? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r> i hope!! thanks for ur info. That's the thing about us taking tests, result not ideal and end up stressed. You enjoy ur weekend too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw mommies, my friend just sms-ed me say tanjong pagar MRT got one maternity shop closing down so having clearance sales, go check it out if you are interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rabbit, same here... I have childhood asthma. Somemore I have hole in the heart condition. Nvr op, close naturally but have heart murmur. So everytime got op, I need to take antibotics.

I used to faint and go in/ out hospital for oxygen up to mid primary I think. I remembered my pa used to piggyback me in the middle of the nite drive me go hospital....

Now I'm a little worried if the condition is hereditary... and if I'm able to tahan the childbirth...

1d1r

Oh okay. Noted that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rabbit_bb

Don't worry u will b fine. Me too have mild one. Hubby doesn't have it. I knew it way before when I'm married. Is pass down from my mummy.

rabbit_bb: oh no .. Look away when they insert the needle .. Get a can of cold drink ready and apply to the site of blood-taking immediately .. It will 'numb' the pain ..

Me was planning to go back to my parent's .. Then I was thinking, 'why should I avoid her when this is my home now' .. Going to stay put .. At most, I will wake up early during weekend and go to office (and play games =p) .. The more she try to piss me, the more I am going to 'tire' myself out .. Can you believe it? I finished all the housework by myself earlier on (within 45 minutes); my hubby was worried that I tire myself out and kept asking me to go and sleep .. I replied him, 'cannot sleep after I am being disturbed from my sleep' and he went out out of the room to tell SIL off .. Although very bad of me, I rather be selfish than sacrifice mine and baby's precious sleep ..

Jinnous, my cousin has the same conditions as you. She's a happy mummy of 2 healthy kids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So don't worry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Be a happy mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RabbitBB, that's why I dun like tests. Why know so much when all I know is I'm keeping this baby no matter what & I will still love this baby no matter the outcome? So I only do compulsory tests :p & the blood count was part of the compulsory test, no choice.

Fantastar... Your hubby on your side!! good!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The worst case is when hubby not on wife's side, poor wife gotta suffer in silence...

There really are hubbies who are not on their wife's side one... Read from another forum... They kena bully by MIL/SIL & the hubby just keep quiet or say it's the wife's fault for not trying to be harmonious!

So must give your hubby a kiss when he scolds your SIL for you :p

1dog1rabbit: yupz; heard a lot of those stories before .. Pity those wives .. My hubby sided with me because I was throwing tantrum at him =p

Hello fellow mummies!

I have not been here for a LOOOOOOONG time. Was busy and all, and was going though some worrisome weeks a few weeks ago (to do with Oscars and Thalassemia testing).

Rabbitbb: I can share my experience. I've come to realise that we cannot worry over things we have no control over, but really to take small steps at a time.

KKH took my hubby's blood for sampling on my first gynae visit when I was about 8 weeks into pregnancy and 2 days after they called me saying hubby's blood a bit abnormal (Red blood cells a bit small in sizes). So they referred us to Singapore Thalessamia Registry (STR) immediately as the detailed report from STR would take 3 weeks and by then I would have been 11 weeks into pregnancy (in case hubby and I decide to make certain decisions).

At STR, both hubby and I took the blood test. This one will confirm if we are minors/ majors etc. So while waiting for this result, we also went for our Oscars.

We were lucky that we cleared both blood test and scan in Oscars, and so we were waiting with fingers very crossed for our results from STR. Just 3 days ago, I finally received a call from them saying I am cleared (though hubby is now a confirmed minor).

So as of today, I am just past my 13th week (does this mean first trimester is over? Or do we clear the whole 13th week then it's considered First trimester over?) and we've cleared Oscars and Thalassemia and our beanie as of 5 days ago measured 6.7cm! :D

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

BALANCE 10 BOXES OF TRIPLUS ALL RESERVED.

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Hi Yayoi

Rec'd ur email thanks! Glad to noe tat u've cleared the test [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Congrats..

It'll be a long way if i were to do amnio but i hope my bb would be fine too...

huggsss let's hope for e best.

congrats yayoi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasmine, the sonergrapher who did my oscar told me she had the same problem leh.. i think i also got read somewhere abt this before but then, not sure whether now so small got impact or not..

ya, i agree with morninghugs that there are many things not in our control.. so, just hope for the best for everything and stay positive.. For me, I hope my complications will not bring harm to my baby and I hope I will continue to stay healthy after birth..

morninghugs, start of 14th week is the beginning of 2nd trimester

Morning mummies .. A beautiful Sunday morning, total contrast to my mood .. Now on my way to office .. Not that I am working today but going to seek shelter over there .. Haiz, long story .. Enjoy your weekend, mummies ..

Morning mummies....

Fantastar, you could have ask ur Hubby to bring you breakfast and shopping instead of returning to office. ;) or ask ur parents out walk walk....

2nd_bb: hubby is probably the last person i want to see now .. do not want to bother my parents, for fear that they might find out what happenened .. do not want to bring marital problems back .. anyway, prefer some alone time right now .. plus, work is the best way to get distracted ..

1dog1rabbit: is mandatory for everyone to have keys to office .. so no such issue for me =D you are up early on a sunday morning ..

Fantastar, I always make trips home on frequent occasions or ask mum out for jalan jalan. This will built family bond and esp u r pregnant with #1 ur parents can understand... Cos it was the case when I had my #1...just my 2cents worth!!! Maybe hopefully mommies will organize some get-together soon after all the MS problems... Them there can be more support!!

2nd_bb: thk .. Had an argument with hubby over SIL and thus do not wish to burden my parents with those issues .. Anyway, called my mum and talked to her .. She gave me full support .. Whatever in-laws cannot provide, my mum will provide .. Was still worried who is to take care of my baby if SIL kept coming back .. Now decided on infant care and my mum's support, I am so much relieved .. Going to go back to my parent's for the weekend next week - initially was still worried my mum will tell me off but luckily she welcome me .. Just as well, stay away for the weekend and SIL might make my life better ..

Hope things will go smoothly .. Not going to think so much now and affect the little precious in me ..

Fantastar, there are some that comes with audiobook. Can play for baby :p My boy loves to listen to those and he speaks like 'angmoh' cos listen to all the angmoh reading :p

creamdonut: listen to mozart's pieces .. did some research and it seemed it is good .. me just installed a series of flashcards and children's stories .. you can try searching for kindergarten.com .. their apps are free for this month ..

my hubby just bought earphones for the little bb inside... hehe... maybe will jus plug on ipod and tune to classical FM 92.4 n let bb listen bah... or maybe shd listen to a variety of music ?

I think the bb cant hear now, their hearing develop much later

fantastar, it is not worth quarreling with ur hubby over ur SIL.. dont waste energy on someone u dun like..

2nd_bb: glad that your boy likes it .. browsed it by coincidence .. and since it is free and being a kiasu mum, i decided to just install 1st =p

roxanne: is hard not to quarrel with my hubby coz of SIL, as he raised his voice at me (1st time ever; and no one, except my mum, raised their voice at me) .. summary - 1) was woken up early on saturday morning, not by her daughter's cries, but by her loud and high-pitched voice .. for goodness's sake, I would appreciate it if she could be a bit considerate .. I need my sleep, especially when I have been through a tiring week, with the audit and FIL's blood pressure .. and since I am a light sleeper with migraine; I was in a super lousy mood .. hubby told her off after I threw my tantrum .. anyway, did not manage to get any sleep after that ..

2) was feeling grouchy and with a migraine, I cooked dinner for everyone .. she did not help out and was napping .. nvm; I take it that she is a guest .. so I cooked and washed .. she, upon seeing the dishes, told my hubby that spinach and tofu cannot be mixed as it will cause diarrhea, coz it happened to her daughter .. do not know how true is that, but if so, why are restaurants selling tofu with spinach?? and plus, her daughter is not eating .. even if she is, she as her mum just take note and do not feed her both .. why have to make such sarcastic remark when someone cooked dinner for her?? was so pissed off by her remarks that I finished up all the tofu and hubby told me off .. since she said it will cause diarrhea, I rather I finished it myself and do not cause anyone diarrhea .. and hubby told me it was just a passing remark .. not the first time that her 'passing remark' caused me hurt ..

anyway, I woke up early this morning before anyone, and went to the office .. I also printed out 19 pages on the list of incompatible food .. Going to pass it to MIL, so that we can 'take note of what we cannot eat together' since her daughter pointed out .. And from what I gathered from the list, there are a whole tons of food that we cannot mix together .. But we are still alive and kicking, eating those food combination ..

thinking about it is enough to make my blood boil and I still got 2 more weeks to go .. how I wish my flat is ready and I can move out NOW!!

fantastar: my sil sama-sama.. nothing good comes out from her mouth everytime she talks. Used to quarrel v badly over her with my hubby until i wanted to divorce him! cos he always side her. Until i told him he carry on side her, bye bye i divorce. and i went to tear up our ROM cert!!! he knew i meant it. so from that time onwards, he dare not take her side anymore.

I was really really mad that time cos my sil did something v v nasty to me.

creamdonut: she knows!! in fact when she knows that I got pregnant after I went to temple and pray, she also wanted to do so .. and mind you, when she knew about me going to temple to pray, she commented that 'as if it works' .. she comes back every now and then when her MIL is away as she needs my MIL to help her babysit .. and her MIL is away almost once every month ..

yan: totally understand your situation .. just do not understand why we got such SIL .. was so tired emotionally today that told myself that I have tried my best to be a good DIL, SIL and wife .. too bad if I cannot please anyone ..

I was looking at a BabyPLUS device at Taka last week; the promoter demo the set and it has different rhythm of drum beat... She claims that baby hears drum and beats better than classic music! interesting but I didn't buy cos too exp. ;)

fantastar: wa, sounds bad. does ur MIL know abt the friction? cos if she knows mayb can see if when your SIL need her to babysit then she go over instead of your SIL come over?

Sopdav: i saw a review where the mum say the baby came out one ear deaf cos of babyplus. quite scary leh.

my colleague used babyplus.. she didnt continue till the end cos everytime her baby kept kicking vigorously.. she did mention it was loud or something like that..

Ya creamdonut... Tat sound bad!! Let's just stick to the normal music enjoyment from cd and hope BB can feel the enjoyment thru mummy's mood! ;) gd nitz to all mommies