(2011/10) Oct 2011

Actually KK isnt that cheap nowadays. They charge outpatient private rate which is similar to our private gynae's charges. Maybe just a little cheaper. I also hate KK.

Starry, some agents allow postdated cheques for the maid's loan but they normally will charge higher agent fees if you choose post dated cheque. For me, I just pay upfront lor, cos we really need the maid what...

tabbyz & starry,

actually its not exactly peanuts, the damage costs for sun only with e urine test, blood test & detailed scans is alr $370+

hv not incl my hospitalisation & all.

hi starry and tabbyz, thanks for the reassurance. besides baby's well-being, i am also worried means my MS will be lengthened for 1 more week? (assuming it stops at wk 12). Haha. coz this MS is making me really tired and miserable. sigh.

wah, angel, u got such bad experience in KKH.. i think those people are trainee nurses n docs.. that is why i nvr choose the high risk specialist in KKH but the ones in SGH (crossed fingers that SGH's ones are good), can trust the docs but cant trust the nurses n the rest..

go to your gynae better.. I think KKH are better for kids?

Had been silently reading...so was thinking i shld post instead of read liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My EDD is 11/10/11.

Cherylden, hahaha! It's funny that you think about the extension of your "pains"! I'm not so sure about that though! You should probably check with your gynae. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yan, Angel, woo.. then it's worse! u pay so much and yet, get monkeys!

1d1r, my friend also warned me about the impending big hole in my pocket! $200 for each PD visit is a huge amount! There goes my pretty wardrobe. I used to buy at least 2 dresses a week. After I found out about this bb, I feel depressed when I go shopping. I can't buy clothes now because I won't be able to fit them soon.. I shiver at the thought of buying maternity clothes because I find them ugly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wah.. angel, after reading ya experience at kkh, i wont want to go there... hw in the first place did u go there? the fee tt they charge u is not cheap leh... oh gosh... u so worried abt ya bb le.. then they nv say comforting words but add more worries... y dun u see a pvt gynea to get a piece of mind...

Tabbyz, some maternity wear are real nice! I have very nice maternity wear which were not exp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] BUY ONLINE!!! hahahaha!!!

Having a baby really isn't cheap and the baby bonus will help, but it's only a small amount.

BTW, just to share the 'strategy' my cousin taught me with regards to Baby Bonus.

For #1 and #2, wil have $4k CASH and $6k top up.

So, open the CDA account for the top up (must have this acct if not no top up for you).

Use the CASH from the $4k (will be disbursed to us $1k at a time) to bank into CDA account and you will get your $4k matching bonus.

Then before your child turns 6yo, top in another $2k on your own to receive the last $2k top up.

For those having #3, a bit more 'shiong' cos the top up is $12k and cash is $6k if I recall correctly. You need to top in 6k on your own to get the full 12k matching bonus.

This CDA money can be used for doctor's visits, vaccinations (which can cost around $500 - 1000++) and SCHOOL FEES for preschool/infantcare/childcare (must be approved kindy/centre).

My calculation based on the kindy my boy attends (provided no increase in fees):

Total in CDA after matching bonus = $12k

My boy's current kindy's fees per year = $4700

The money can last for 2.5 years of school fees. Still not too bad :D

Hubs say must faster have #3 and get the 12k matching bonus more worth it. HAHAHA

1dog1rabbit

haha! that's how i broke my #1 preg news to my mum. most prob will also break the news the same way, once i have a copy of u/s.

tabbyz

don't worry, there are nice maternity dresses around, just have to chose them. i didn't buy much cause i was wearing my normal tops, those flare and long kind, all the way till i gave birth. but the essentials are pants, or maybe bermudas/jeans for weekends. i only bought like 3 dresses. everyweek wear the same thing for work! hahahah!

angel

poor thing, why don't u try and get an earlier appt with gynae? at least to give yourself a peace of mind.

how do we go about opening CDA account? what is the latest figures now for BBs born year 2011.

would hospitals be informing us of all the government perks and usage of medisave a/c etc?

how true is free upgrade from 4-bedder to 2-bedder at TMC? how soon do we need to confirm hospital to deliver?

tabbyz

forgot to add that bb really requires alot of money. there's a whole lot of stuffs to get, so it's good when your relatives know about your pregnancy, if they're willing or wanting to get your bb something, let them know what you want, so that they can buy in advance before bb born, like cot, stroller, playpen, mat etc etc... that's what i did lah, and save abit of money. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no need to be shy one...

starry

that's exactly how i felt when i went back to work after maternity leave. like everyday when i come home and see my girl, she like grow bigger. my mum always will tell me "that's because i take good care of her, that's why she fat fat." haha.

starry,

Ya lor... somemore I am alone with my gal at home all day. So I can only play hi-5 videos for her to watch while i take a super quick power nap whenever i feel dizzy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel,

Ur KKH "adventure" really freaks me out!

pls rec online sites / shops to buy maternity clothes. am already size UK 16/18 in 1st tri, cant imagine how much weight i will put on.

clothes at EGG are expensive and i just looked lumpy everywhere when i tried them on....

Gilera,

for CDA, they will send you the letter with the details on how to open the acct cos it's only with OCBC or Standard Chartered.

For the cash bonus, I remembered they gave me a form to fill while in hospital. I filled everything up in hospital and settled everything upon discharge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Free upgrade:

It depends on your gynae and also the availability of beds.

For my gynae, he did tell me will hv auto upgrade to 2 bedder if I choose 4 bedder :D

tabbyz

thanks! ya is very difficult.. esp hubby is not in town. luckily i got my mil's help in the daytime. Nighttime i suffer myself. When i pull myself up the bed too fast, can feel tummy pain den will rub rub "sayang" bb inside.

starry

Cannot carry them feel so heartpain. I love hugging my gal though she is 30months now. Always ask her kiss kiss or big hug me. Hubby not in town cannot help, mil look after another gal, my fil my gal dont want. Mil and fil acc me to bring her see doc ytd, no choice i got to carry her.

I also hope faster 1st tri over.

hello everyone,

i get my nap again after drink chicken essence and soda crackers... haha too hungry so wake up at 7am, then 8.30am continued my sleep again.

the thread is very fast oh... i think bb is growing today..because abdominal cramp and vomit little sour sour stuff today... but still bearable...

Angel,

somehow we had the same nightmare in KKH. it's a total mentally exhausted. I swore to myself never ever go there again...! Even mine is only 4hours midnight tortured. I believe you suffered more than me because they kept tortured u with negative comments for every check and scan. Horrible! Yeah, agreed that the lady gynae was very rude also to me when did vscan. Cant imagine how can you spent being tortured for few nights there... luckily you're strong enuf and don listen to them...

Hope you're feeling better now.. and find ur own gynae! don step into KKH anymore liao. the world like sunk in there.

i am worried as went to gynae yesterday, he saw the bb although he say v blur.

Although he congrats me, but he still added, its still not stable.

Now i am worried.

And to make things worse, i had a bad dream yesterday.

i dreamt that my sis ask my gynae abt my situation & gynae told my sis, he is not optimistic abt this pregnancy.

After i wake up... i so scared and worried.

People say if got bad dream, must say out so wont becoe true...

Thats what all happened to SIL who visited KK private. after joy etc KK says blur ,unclear, scan after scan , blood test after bllod test, so many trips to KK. ended in MC

dun waste time. so see other gynae.

ya i think go KKH will make you more stress...

add up have to go for many trips, make u more walking, waiting, emotional disturbed end up not a healthy pregnancy...

Was rather unwell and no mood to come online these days. The thread is moving so fast.

I will be visiting my gynae tomorrow. Hopefully I will be able to see the heartbeat.

Just to share something. I have a friend who gave birth yesterday without epidural and the baby is very big. I was amazed by her...

Just seen my gynae! BB at 5weeks 6 days instead of 6 weeks 4 days. Managed to hear e heart beat. Thank god! But dr ask me nt to cont bf. So sad!

Hi I have one set Brand New unopened Babyplus prenatal educational system bought from USA want to sell as I receive another set from my friend.

selling at $250.00(neg) I can arrange for courier deliver to your home

please PM me for details

vivi,

i was also asked by gynae if i am still bfing. he said best to stop 'cos bfing will cause uterus to contract, which may be harmful to baby.

minidiary,

thanks for the updates.

gilera,

don't have to confirm so early. usually 2nd tri then confirm with hospital and if it is for MAH, you will receive a letter from thenm with some forms to fill up in advance before admission. not sure for TMC. about upgrade, don't think it is free leh.. for my gf's case, she booked single room, end up all taken and was offered the premier deluxe room but gotta top up the diif. they initially didn't want to 'cos not their fault that no more single bedded room, but no choice. either top up or pay the same and downgrade to 2 bedder.

kiki,

maybe your gynae's u/s machine lao kok kok type so not clear. don't worry lah! if he congratulate you means can see something there liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary,

taking chicken essence daily? i'm taking daily now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yum yum. i like the slight salty taste.

jasmine,

no matter how old our kids are, sure will still wanna hug them, carry them (if still young enough to be carried). can't wait to see my girl again tonight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rina,

yeah, i din want to go KKH in the first place but it was rather late at night & my hb thought the facilities at KKH are better than e others + its e nearest to us too hence the trip there. but after this incident, even my hb agree not to step into KKH for e 3rd time!!!

redgin,

decided to only go in 3wks time cos that's when heartbeat can be seen on ultrasound. my 'sac' is abt 5mm now, i read heartbeat can be seen when sac is ard 25mm in size (it grows 1mm a day) so thats 20 days fr sun for me. i din want to go early & be kept pondering if my bb's gg to hv heartbeats again in 1-2wks time so i try to take my mind off & not think abt anything now & wait it out. i do hope i hv gd news to share with all in 3wks time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks to all mtbs who expressed concerns, empathy & encouragements too, i appreciate all of them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hopes all our babies are sticky ones & may we hv a smooth & safe pregnancy + delivery.

is chicken essence / bird's nest safe for frequent consumption in 1st tri?

normal chicken essence , not those with added herbs like cordyceps

gilera,

chicken essence is great thru out pregnancy! i took a lot for my #1 and was very fit physically. many came down with flu bug in the office but didn't fall sick at all thru the entire pregnancy. take those normal types, no ginseng or cordycep.

angel,

9kg is heavy! how old is she now?

starry,

abt 7.5mths old. lol.

she went on a mini milk strike recently since 6mths+ till now so her weight remained abt the same since late dec till date. approx 8kg+ lor.

Angel

in 3 weeks time, how many weeks will you be? i remember for my #1, can hear heartbeat at 6weeks plus already on u/s. but, u must take care k? rest more, and concentrate on your girl. that should keep u bz. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel,

7.5mths old can crawl and sit already? my little girl is trying to crawl already but arms not quite strong enough yet. her butt and legs are already doing the crawling motion. waiting for her to learn to sit too!

starry,

chicken essence taken daily.. but now wanna reduce to alternate days.. because many drinks to drink... haha can cure my cough also!

i am also still carrying my gal, 12kg.. very hard to turn her away.. haiz

i am having difficulty eating already... and the funny sense of smell coming back again.. urgghhh

#1 Pray&Love (minidiary), i will give you my EDD and details tmr after my checkup.. hopefully the high-risk gynae will be good.

redgin,

cos my cycles v irregular so i'm not entirely sure when i o. but i figure i shd be btwn 7-8wks by then. i'll continue to be positive. u know my mil passed on just earlier on in early feb. my bb was conceived same mth. my mil was born in e yr of rabbit & bb will also be born in e yr of a rabbit. so i kinda like to think that my mil is watching out for us fr abv lor. one cycle ends & a new one begins. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry,

my gal can sit on her own & can pulled on the top of her playpen fr sitting position into kneeling position & even pulled herself to stand. but she cannnot crawl properly yet. i was kinda hoping she can skip crawling altogether. lol.

my gal is so active & likes to play so much but hb was asking me not to tire myself playing w her & stuffs.

hey, we shd hv a FB grp for our oct mtbs. last time in my thread, we did that & abt everyone on everyone's friend list. its nice to see each mommy popping & their bb growing too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh yes, i meant we shd hv one when we are past our 1st trimester lah. now, many of us r still keeping our pregnancy hush-hush ya.

Hi mummies, i saw the sac! Doc almost cannot find it!! At first tells me that no sac found, I almost cried out!!

Then after being raped by the machine for 2 mins, then finally I saw it!! So small!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So happy!! Doc said I'm 5 weeks and EDD 2nd nov!! But normally earlier...so end October.

kwxy,

our edd very close! also managed to see sac only yesterday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

back from horrible lunch at this nasi padang place. I feel like throwing up the tasteless nasi padang now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

kwxy, vivi, congrats on the good gynae visit!!

1d1r, redgin, let's share where we can buy cheap maternity clothes when we get bigger! probably will need to buy in about two months' time. I'm trying to make sure that I don't eat too much so that I won't show so early!

Pray&Love, thanks for updating my details in the list!

Angel, I think most of us here have yet to share the good news with our friends! So, we can't start the FB group so early if not our friends will know already!

Are you ladies refraining from bedroom activities now? My gynae told me to refrain for the first trimester and that got my DH and I quite upset! My friend told me that she didn't have any activities throughout her pregnancy!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angel, why dont we exchange email adds and msn? haha.. my feb 09 thread mummies did likewise and the thread seldom move..

congrats kwxy!

1dog1rabbit, ya.. i also realise is the posture.. as long as nvr strain tummy, i think is fine bah.. i also seen alot of mummies, esp angmoh mummies, they still carry their kids while pregnant with big stomach somemore..