(2011/10) Oct 2011

starry: mine was jus feel like super stuffy, suddenly v giddy and like no oxygen and body weak. have to take deep breath, close eyes and imagine i'm not really there bt at another place. lucky i made it out of the mrt in time. duno wat will hap if i faint in that mrt where stand also no space.

bt since i have such a close shave, coupled with your experience, i tink i will take extra care if i feel not right next time le. its quite scary loh.

ya, u also v power leh. preg n still go jb urself. not ma fan meh? hahhaha...

rabbit_bb: ya its quite scary in tt sense. bt no choice, its for the better of bb to take it so that the body is more conducive for bb. bt u only need to take it once a wk so i dun tink the effect will be that bad on you. its a gd idea to eat on fri, so that if sat u feel v tired or giddy can have bed rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

on the other hand, u might b one of those lucky ones tt do not have any side effects at all leh? hahaha!

creamdonut,

i was in JB with friends but they all went ard shopping and i was alone.

i also gonna turn in. super duper tired..gd nite babes!

creamdonut> no lah, have to take nightly..fingercross when i start tml [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nitez to u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow we have so many mummies expecting #2 and #3. i remember my last MTB thread more of the mums were first timers. hmmm... is SMH forum not growing enough new members?

amici 17mm is on track for 8 weeks i think... mine is 20.5mm at 8w3d based on LMP seems to be average. dr mentioned everything ok. In the end I did an ultrasound. The feeling is different when we could see a baby, got a little bit more excited.

1dog1rabbit, you boy sounds so much like my girl. She was an angel baby, and actually still is even though she's already past 2. Such a pleasure to take her out and so easy to bf her then. She latched on right away after birth. Hope that #2 will be the same, although hb and I sometimes joke that #2 will be a monster as a punishment for having a #1 angel. After all god is fair right??? I was also always in a good mood and listened to lots of music, I believe these contributed to my girl's calm and happy nature.

Shan

Eat EVERYTHING but in moderation. Even if you want to eat pineapple, its fine, just limit yourself to a few cubes.

But do try to stay away from these:

Alcohol - Tiny bit is ok prob no more than half a glass of wine

Discount oysters and sashimi - cos not so fresh anymore

High mercury fish - eg shark, swordfish ... I believe this was already discussed

Preserved food and ham due to the high level of nitrates

Raw food /Rare meats - higher chance of bacterial contamination / parasites. Even salad, please wash thoroughly

Starry,

Previously I google online abt brown discharge and also read as long not bright red shouldn't be too much a concern. Just that sometimes can't help worrying and worse still need to be on duphaston. I hate duphaston! Can't stand the side effects like what they just mentioned. Just given another 2 more boxes by my gynae.

Regarding c-sec scar - that's what I think so but since gynae said healing well and gave me the green light to try for #2, I assume should be ok bah. I think it's better for you to let your gynae examine.

Minidiary,

Was quite surprised too. Still rem 2 weeks back I can only see the heartbeat, now shapes are forming. So miracle. Your turn coming soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Using abdominal scan. Dr Adrian's machine look quite old to me but it seems like still better than KKH. I rem when I was abt 5wks preg I went to KKH 24hrs, had V scan and the Dr there said still early, can only see waterbag. Just few days later, I went to Dr Adrian and he can show me the heartbeat. Strange hor

Tamms,

Glad to hear 17mm is normal range. Wow, you have such an angel baby. My #1 was quite an angel baby when he was small. Now became little terror, so active.

amici, found this:

http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart

Gestational age Length (US) Weight (US) Length (cm) Mass (g)

(crown to rump) (crown to rump)

8 weeks 0.63 inch 0.04 ounce 1.6 cm 1 gram

9 weeks 0.90 inch 0.07 ounce 2.3 cm 2 grams

10 weeks 1.22 inch 0.14 ounce 3.1 cm 4 grams

11 weeks 1.61 inch 0.25 ounce 4.1 cm 7 grams

12 weeks 2.13 inches 0.49 ounce 5.4 cm 14 grams

13 weeks 2.91 inches 0.81 ounce 7.4 cm 23 grams

14 weeks 3.42 inches 1.52 ounce 8.7 cm 43 grams

15 weeks 3.98 inches 2.47 ounces 10.1 cm 70 grams

16 weeks 4.57 inches 3.53 ounces 11.6 cm 100 grams

17 weeks 5.12 inches 4.94 ounces 13 cm 140 grams

18 weeks 5.59 inches 6.70 ounces 14.2 cm 190 grams

19 weeks 6.02 inches 8.47 ounces 15.3 cm 240 grams

20 weeks 6.46 inches 10.58 ounces 16.4 cm 300 grams

(crown to heel) (crown to heel)

20 weeks 10.08 inches 10.58 ounces 25.6 cm 300 grams

21 weeks 10.51 inches 12.70 ounces 26.7 cm 360 grams

22 weeks 10.94 inches 15.17 ounces 27.8 cm 430 grams

23 weeks 11.38 inches 1.10 pound 28.9 cm 501 grams

24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams

25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams

26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams

27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams

28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams

29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams

30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams

31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams

32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams

33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams

34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams

35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams

36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams

37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams

38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams

39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams

40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams

41 weeks 20.35 inches 7.93 pounds 51.7 cm 3597 grams

42 weeks 20.28 inches 8.12 pounds 51.5 cm 3685 grams

amici, I take my girl downstairs with her pull along dog when she's feeling active. She loves taking her dog for a 'walk'! very cute, she'll talk to the dog as we're walking. Keeps her satisfied when she gets home. Or its the playground but gotta be prepared to play with her at least half an hour. Otherwise its time to whip out the crayons and sticker book, or read her favourite book. Right now its 'What's in your Tummy Mummy?' its a cute lift the flap book. I recently went to Popular and stocked up on activity material. She's not as easily satisfied as before..... but its fun for me too

When she was a baby she really just had milk and slept, seldom cried! Even now when she wakes up, she'll greet me with a 'Good morning MAMA' with a big smile. Feel so blessed.

TGIF mummies!

Starry, my csect wound healed 1 week after delivery. I agree with amici tat itching means wound is healing. Try not to scratch n apply the scar healing cream.

amici, I think your bb is developing v normally cos #1 had the same features s u described in the ultrasound at 8w5d. There r women who had spotting throughout their preg but deliver healthy bbs so try not worry too much.

KWXY, I too have giddiness and gynae said I've low blood pressure. U might want to try iron pills tho side effect is constipation.

amici

yeah, i sld be going on to week 5 now. i'm trying to tahan for 2 more weeks then see gynae, hope can tahan! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KWXY

i was also on duphaston for #1, till 5 months! gave me very bad ms, headaches and bloatedness. so you must take care, and rest more. anyway, first tri is more tiring, i feel like sleeping all the time. can't concentrate in my meetings at work.... :p

kwxy, are you taking folic acid? Recommend for you to take it. Hugs.

jojo, did you deliver #1 with Dr Ang? Natural or CS?

Huishan, why are you considering to go back to your old gynae? Sounds like your epidural wasn't

administered very well, ended up with GA? Are you sure you want to go back to your old gynae?

starrymommy, my CS scar still there, alot better than before but it's not invisible. I don't think you will still get infection after so long? Infection should be within the first six weeks of the CS itself? Is there any liquid flowing out? If still dry and you don't have fever should be ok? Best to go gynae if in doubt though.

Didn't use CL for #1 or #2. Now considering CL for #3. Heard it's important to do proper confinement, if not for all pregnancies, at least the last one.

I'm not getting CL cos I managed my first confinement with help from my mum and maid. So will be doing the same this time round.

The sept mummies hv started to look for CL and the highly recommended ones are already booked! So best to act fast if you are looking for CL.

Hi mummies, I just tested positive and went to see the gynae yesterday as I was spotting. My due date will be on 22nd Oct as of now. This will be my #2 and my #1 has just turned 2. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies!!

Noodle, yes I'm taking folic acid while ttc...but just realized the dosage not high enough. After seeing gynae then he gave me higher dosage. I'm also taking milk powder for preg with very high folate. So ok bah.

CL :

haven't got the chance to talk to my mum. Dunno she wants to help a not....she may not know how to handle confinement. She is a very hippy modern mum...later feed me with all the wrong things! Haha...better to look one elsewhere. But will only book CL after first tri....still not secure.

Congrats, sarahfaith!

Considering not to get CL to save cost. But maid doesn't know how to cook confinement food, and how to adjust the herbs/wine/etc according to how my body/baby takes to the food.

Kwxy : I also dont have Ms. Been eating lots and just weighed myself last night right after a full dinner. actually lost 1 kg! i also dont know what happened.

Noodles, actually confinement food is very simple. And because I was breastfeeding, I avoided all herbs & alcohol.

My food was simply cooked with sesame oil, ginger, chicken essence. I bought a confinement cookbook for my maid to follow. Very simple. All using simple everyday ingredients.

I don't like herbs and feel that too much herbs also not good for breastmilk. Cos a lot of those confinement herbs actually prevent breastmilk from coming!

KWXY, not everyone has MS. It really depends. Some ppl got severe MS, some got slight. Comparing my first pregnancy and this #2, my MS was much worse during first pregnancy.

My cousins totally got no MS at all. And their kids already in primary school :D

kwxy : i'm act from sept thread. abt 10w plus.

i almost have no ms at all from the start..

only for couple of days before i realise i was pregnant. I was on no carb diet then.

i started eating normal and more ..no more ms

I weigh cos gynae has not weighed me so far..

KWXY

i also haven't feel any ms. not everyone will have ms and i think it will kick in later, like in week 7-8. don't worry k?

me haven't thought of confinement lady, for my #1, my mum helped me with my confinement. and since i'm closing shop at #2, am still unsure whether want to hire confinement lady or not.

then actually we can do confinement ourselves...hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ms- #1 ms thruout

#2 slight ms from 2-3 mths

#3 ms for the whole of week 5.

now no more ms as of now. keeping fingers crossed

Bunnz, I did not drink DOM at all cos:

1. I don't like the taste

2. I'm breastfeeding, so NO alcohol

But my mum did cook some Martell with my food. But she made sure she boiled until the alcohol confirm evaporate before she served it to me :D

I only had chicken essence and a lot of soups. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also took a lot of lemongrass with ginger tea. It's suppose to help get rid of wind and warm up your body.

I did not drink red date tea cos too sweet for me... & it made me more thirsty.

I ended up drinking milo and warm water throughout confinement :D

Thanks girls for the welcome. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have already called to confirm my CL yesterday as she is extremely popular, so have to be kiasu hehe. So mummies better call if u want to hire a CL as the good ones are snap up really fast.

I also have no ms yet, hoping that the ms dun kick in. I had very bad ms for my #1 and when i think of how it felt, i still shudder at how it was.

RE: M/S & spotting

#1- v v bad M/S from week 8 onwards ( if i dont rem wrongly cos 11yrs ago!!)

#2- mild M/S week 6-12, but spotting everyday from week5 till I was about 4-5mths!!!

(on hormone jabs 2x weekly, and on duphaston pills as well)

#3- currently week5, no M/S, no spotting ( touch wood!!!)

not feelin so well today, just wake up and vomit little "suan suan" water... dunno what is that. think my MS starts to kick in aredi... is it because duphaston? been taking 1 week++ for twice daily.. or bb is growing more?

creamdonut,

ya think i will sign up package when i visit Dr Benjamin on 10th weeks. time pass very fast ya... Im 7w++ also...

RE: CL

guess I will ask my mum to come over to do confinement for me. havent reveal the secret to her yet... hopefully she will come. if not, gonna hire CL... MIL will come on 19Nov onwards...

Welcome sportyger!!!

i also dunno how much to pay for mummy... maybe 1-2k? I think my mummy doesnt matter about the token...

sportyger,

your EDD is on my bday... haha

morning mommies~

tamms> ur girl is such an angel, makes the pregnancy journey so worth it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh no, I haven't thought of the confinement yet. Duno my MIL wan to do for me if ask my mom abit troublesome cos I got to stay over at her place. But my mom has more experience having done the confinement for my two sis-in-law. decisions decisions decisions....

#1 Pray&Love, wow really [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My CL didnt require me to pay her deposit, maybe because she did for my sister as well, so she knew us.

My mum did not want token from me at all. She say the best reward is getting to see her grandson everyday.

My hubs did give her an angpow but she give an even bigger one back to baby during full month celebration -_-"

Which means... my mum also paid for all the food while we were staying at her place...

This round should be stay at my place but my mum will come daily to bathe baby and buy groceries for us.

Had my 1st MS.

Just vomitted my breakfast out. Gosh! My throat feel so uncomfortable now. Thanks to the plum juice.

Took it cos constipation. Instead of poo-ing, it came out from my mouth =(