(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hi mummies, do you guys give water to your baby? I started giving my boy about 60ml a day when he turns 3mth, and wonder if I shd up the volume since he's coming to 6mths.

Love Everyday, my boy does that at times...will flow out from his diaper and stain our clothes as well. And this happens when he hasn't been pooing for 3 days. We will look at the texture of the poo and not too concern about it since the poo is not watery. we assume that this huge pile is an accumulation of poo over the days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]And the smell is really overwhelming too.

Olivesyoghurt-I feed him water when he started on full FM. only give him max 30ml per day. If the day is unusally hot, will give more, max 40ml? I asked my PD on this and he says can give but not much. Should I up the amount of water?

Telez, that's what I'm not sure of, some website will say no no to water, but my hubby said we're living in a humid country so shd give some water. Then some site says when they're 6mth old can start giving water. I thought the 60ml I'm giving him is quite a lot, that's why at times I actually cut down, unless it's during really hot days or when I see he's sweating quite a lot for the day, then I'll give him 60ml a day of water.

Thanks Olivesyoghurt, I'll ask the doc about the BioGaia probiotics. Read that natural born babies will 'absorb' these helpful bacteria as they make their way down to the birth canal, as for C-section babies, they don't get these bacteria. My boy is via C-section that's why I am thinking of adding some pre/probiotics when he starts on food. :D

Telez, yes the smell is bad. Ok I'm glad I'm not the only one to get these volcanic lava poops.

Btw, the marketplace threads -- need to have an account that is active for at least 1 year before allowed to post.

Love Everyday, my boy too was through C-sect plus I only BF him for 2mths+, you know how they all said breastmilk is easier to digest then others, which is why I started him on the probiotics.

I've been giving my girl water since from 3rd month as my pd said so. The weather in Singapore is humid so she say I can give more than 40ml. Sometimes I give up to 70ml a day but depends if she wants to drink anot.

Mia so long as I was busy. Was back from my USA trip and now already started work this week. So far, I have started cereal with my bb since he turn 4th month. I am feeding him the Hollie rice cereal from super natural at paragon. he is drinking only about 120ml per feed. Funny thing is when I was oversea, he was drinking like 150ml per feed !

Creamdonut, Nestlé and frisco cream tend to be sweeter than the organic ones, hence I stick to only organic brand like healthy times, Hollie and hipp and plum. These are the favorites of my number 1 so I intend to feed these to my no 2.

Oh I am also giving vitamins and fish oil to him via his milk and cereal. The vitamin is baby flex and the fish oil are all available from vitakids.

jojobar: helo! Long time no see [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cereal: Thanks for explaining. but the funny thing is, for non-organic ones, I see quite a lot of comments on frisocream bt not cerealac, so was wondering y cerealac no one buy leh.

Cerealec nestle brand.I bought but have not fed. Really very sweet? Oh dear. Co's I didn't find organic white rice n I bought brown rice so tot just buy cerealec.

Actually my pd said Nestlé cereal can le. If got extra cash then buy organic one. She say we are all fed by normal cereals. Keke...

Ya, I think I'll try to buy some other brands of cereals that are either not sweet or not as sweet.

Frisco actually is pretty sweet for babies I personally think so. I bought it as it was the first rice cereal I saw on the shelves, so thought I'd try it.

Hi pofy,

I know ntuc usee to sell healthy times, I am not sure if they still carry them. Healthy times have a brown rice cereal which is suitable for bb 4 months and above. The multigrain and barley one is for six months and above. So do check carefully b4 purchase.

Hi winny, it is true that non organic is also suit the purpose. I guess is the personal choice of parents. I feed my #1 only organic stuff and snacks till he was 2 years. Now he is 3.5 sill not expose to sweet and lollybut he take chocolate. Not excessive amt even it is free to take. His palate is quite bland and he like anatutally sweet stuffs like fruits rather than sweet.

I always try the food b4 I give my bb, so try the taste if it is sweet or the texture is good b4 you give them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winny - thanks, will give more water to my boy then. Quite like your PD's style from the way she advises you.

Olivesyoghurt-Went to buy Frisocream last weekend. I tried it on myself first and found it abit sweet, so I added more water than the given instruction. It became quite watery. Is this ok coz I fed my boy with this. He seemed to enjoy the change in food and methods of feeding.

After reading the postings here, realised there are so many brands of rice cereal in the market. Can I buy any of these according to my budget/preference and give it to my boy?

Si sen brown rice

What r the benefits of taking this ?

Healthy times brown rice

Hougang mall Ntuc n comPass point cold storage selling

Si sen brown rice

My mil said tat it improve bb appetite n stronger legs muscle. Supposed to be better as have additional ingredients on top of brown rice

Porridge

My bb is also born in early oct n recently we introduce porridge to her liao. Mu mil mixed n smashed porridge with carrot n pumpkin. Taste yummy n bb likes it.

Sleeping posture

Does yr bb sleeping position change ? Always found my bb roll to different side of the bed middle of the night. At time she even sleep face down the pillow.. So scared that she will suffocate herself n hav to wake up few times to check on her..

Coco, my boy is rolling all over nowadays too! He shares our bed with us as he still wakes up for feeds at night. I'm going to get those safety bed rails today from kiddy palace.

If you are worried about suffocation, best to remove the pillow from her bed I guess.

Cereal

I saw this organic brand - Hippo or is it Hipp? Selling $9.20 at an organic shop at City Sq Mall. Haven't check out Fairprice yet. Anyone knows the rough price difference between Organic and Non Organic cereal?

I tried a sample pack of Nestle Cerelac instant brown rice cereal, wanted to eat it as a snack -- i didn't really like the taste, it's too sweet lah I think...hahaa.

Telez, ya the Frisocrem is a bit too sweet for babies I think. But if you put more water then isn't it too diluted? But if he's enjoying it it shd be ok. Maybe you can try the si sen brown rice from Eu Yen Seng? I'm going to get it some time for my boy. That might be healthier for him.

Hipp is a very good brand of cereal from uk. I know a shop in holland village carry it, other than that I have not see it. Love everyday, can you share where u see it ?

For pillow my hubby just bought a pillow with a lot of mini holes. The brand is COMFI. He bought at taka fair at $40+.

It's said to prevent suffocation in case the baby face down.

Hi mummies,I'm oct mum too and have been following this thred since pregnant,really enjoy reading your post and have learn alot from you mummies,now my bb is 5 month plus,she stil wakes up at night 2 to 3 times,anyone encounter same problem?thinking of let her start her solid food,not sure what to start with,puree or cereal?

i bought afew from heinz,still holding back dunno how and where to start with,help help help...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, I am still dropping hair since one month ago [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Very scary! Any way to stop the hair loss? Is it normal for it to last so long?

Olivesyoghurt

yup, it turned out to be very diluted but not to waste it, I fed some to my boy to try. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will go get the si sen brown rice or the organic brand mentioned in the postings.

Sleeping posture

my boy can turn 180 degrees, his head will be on the opposite end of his cot the next morning. sometimes his leg will protrude out and dangle between the bars of the cot. We still let him sleep on his dimpled pillow. but will have to wake up to check on him in the night. He's getting more active so now there's alot of sleeping patterns popping out.

Hair

My hair has been dropping non-stop as well. When i run my fingers through the hair, there will be strands and strands of hair on the floor/palm. Maybe will have to monitor for awhile more until our hormones are back to normal?am crossing my fingers that hair will not be too thin by then.

mandyyu

My baby has been sleeping through the night from 9pm till 6.30am since 3rd month. We gave him his milk at 11.30pm before we go to sleep. Times when he wakes up in the night is when he's feeling hot or having bad dreams(I assume).

Cereal

Jojobar, I saw the Hipp cereal in City Square Mall. The shop is called Four Seasons Organic Market.

Hair

Me too, dropping alot of hair. It's driving me crazy when I see my house's floor filled with hair. This has been happening since mid January. Yesterday my baby was 'munching' on 1 strand of my hair! It's so easy for him to grab and pull out my hair! I heard that the hairfall should stop by the time our babies are 8 to 9 mths.

Just sharing - I bought bed rails from Kiddy Palace yesterday to prevent my cheeky boy from rolling to the floor when he shares our bed. $39.90 for 1 rail. That's the cheapest I can find. Gmarket selling a similar one at $38 but out of stock.

I'm spending more money on baby than on myself. Hahaha.

There is a organic baby food shop at 112 Katong.. quite alot of variety.

Hair drop until 8/9 months?! I will be half bald by then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mandyyu - Feed him his usual 180ml milk at 8pm. Play, sing and talk for awhile before we put him in bed. Then 11.30 -12am will feed him again. Actually, we can skip the 11.30pm feeding but my husband wants to feed him. so now this is a routine. U can do it too. We have tried to prolong his feeding and before u know it, baby will sleep through the night.

LoveEveryday-Hair gotta drop for another 5 more months...i'm worried there won't be much left by then.

Love Everyday

Got the reply from the moderator on the posting on market place. Here's the reply "I regret to inform that Want To Sell and Overseas Spree sections are restricted to members who have participated in the forum for over a year. New members will be invited after a year of active participation."

So I can't post yet coz am new. :p

Thanks Telez. That means I must wait until Oct then I can post. sigh!

Hair

Won't go botak I think! I guess just have to make sure we have enough nutrition while we are growing our new hair.

Exersaucer

I bought something similar at $145 from Baby Kingdom / Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit. The brand is Bright Starts --Model: Bounce-a-bout. It has a bouncy base. Wanted to buy preloved ones from this forum but can't find a suitable one. My baby loves it!!

Growth Spurt

Can I check, any babies going through a growth spurt lately? My baby is wanting more milk than usual since yesterday. I wonder if it is due to a growth spurt.

Jojobar,

welcome back to the forum!

Cereals

I guess we all buy within our budget.

I have bought the healthy times but brown rice so I wait until after the nestle cerealac i bought (white rice) finish then i start. its a little sweet so i don't intend to add milk. breast milk perhaps or water to mix. taste not bad actually as a snack for myself. hahaha.

Four Seasons Organic market i saw at Great World City.

hair

i fear i will be bald if i have to have further hair loss and till 8 or 9 months? oh my gosh. really worried. the floor, bed and worse during bath time i can see alot of hair on the floor. just use fingers to comb through also will have a few strands drop out. its getting very scary.

weekend is here again.

mummies, have a great weekend with our babies!

Hi telez, I have been feeding my bb at 11 or 11.30 too before I sleep but she will still wakes up at 4 am. I guess it's ok la since only once. But that's the only time I can carry her peacefully on my arms. I love just simply at her while she sleeps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies, check with you guys. Especially those who've started on solids. Do you give your baby mash potato or any other vegetable like carrots, sweet potato or broccoli? If yes, what quantity of it do you usually give? For me, I usually give him one small potato with about 4-5 sticks of baby carrots, boiled them and purée them and he eats it all. Am wondering will it be too much. Oh ya, on top of it I also give him milk of about 120ml-150ml.

Mommies, can u guide me how is the schedule like to start weaning? So far I only add 1 teaspoon of cereal to her milk. She's 5mth 1 week. How should I start feeding from sPoon?

Do I pour the milk on a bowl instead of bottle?

Winny, you can first put a little milk on the spoon then try to feed her with the spoon to see if her thrush reflex is still strong, if she's not pushing it out then she might be ready for spoon feeding.

I started my boy with spoon feeding when he turns 5mth 1 week. It's best to feed them during lunchtime when introducing solids. I do this on an alternate day basis for about a few days then I start giving him daily during lunchtime. And after about a week, I started introducing mash potato (remember the consistency of the mash should be like the cereal, so you can either put water or milk into the mash) during dinner time.

After I see that he's eating well then I started giving him other vegetables during dinner time and for lunchtime I'm still giving him cereal (rice, barley, oats).

Once I tested that his tongue thrush reflex is gone I started giving him solids in a bowl with spoon feeding.

So take your baby's cue she'll tell you when she's ready to start eating ;)

hi olivesyoghurt,

thank you for advising.

So example my noon milk feed is 2pm and bb drinking 160ml of milk. So you will add cereal to this 160ml of milk then feed him using spoon? if bb rejects then pour back to bottle?

What about the rest of the milkfeed? will you add cereal to milk and bottlefeed?

Winny, I usually make 90ml milk then use the milk to mix in the cereal then I'll have an additional 120ml of bottled milk for him after I finish feeding him the cereal in a bowl with spoon, I'll feed him the milk.

But it really depends on your baby, some babies wanna hv a little milk first as an 'appetitzer' then they're willing to try the food, others like to finish their milk then taste the food.

If my boy rejects (which he does sometimes) then I'll just give him the milk first then I'll try again to see if he wanna still try some, if still no then I'll give up trying.

I only give him solids for the noon and evening feed, the first feed and last feed of the day I only give him milk.

Wah u boy eat so much? 90 ml of milk+cereal and on top of that 120ml of milk?

This noon I tried to feed my girl from spoon and she spit all out so I bottle fed her.. Does this mean she's not even ready for puréed food?

Do I have to wait until at least she can swallow from spoon? Actually diff to feed her coz she can't sit yet do have to feed while carrying her.

Winny

Do u have a rocker at home? U can let your girl sit on it and feed her. My boy sits on it while I feed him. He's going to be 5 mths old this week. Me too loves to just look at my boy while he's sleeping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Olivesyoghurt

I'm still trying out rice cereal and yesterday apple puree on my boy. Only get to do it on weekends coz weekdays, he's in infant care.

hi telez! yes i have a rocker chair at home. I tried to feed her very watery cereal but she keep spitting out. Does this mean she's not ready even for puree?

Would you like to try feeding her with water from the spoon first? I give my boy water to drink from the spoon now and then. So now, when I start him on cereal, he is ok with spoon feeding and gets very excited.