(2011/10) Oct 2011

Sweetsnow,

How's work? your boss allow u to pump?

Winny,

Today should be your first day at work, i hope all goes smoothly.

Rejoy28,

Thanks. I intend to try top to toe right after i finish up all the samples i got from hospital. No fridge at work, my boss is those super stingy kind. Haha. I trying to train breast so only feed baby in the morning and night but i also worry milk supply drop and i cant feed him full.

Nnicole,

Thanks. I also find kodomo too soapy. I tired but ended up use alot of water to rinse off then i start worry baby might catch a cold cos i took do long to wash him up. Ended up using the sample for myself! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Quizzer,

I think i was too engorged so was dizzy. My head spinning i was so worried i will pass out first day at work! Sure to get sack if that happens. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Tues n wed not so bad, not so engorged already. I think stress at work n my supply alsodrop like whay CoCo is experiencing. I think it wont be long before i stop as i worry he not full. Similar to rejoy28, i feel the closest to him when he latch directly. But i cant sustain work n night feeds.

Nightmares?

I havent been sleeping well because after bb start ifc, he cant sleep thru the night. He will wake u p at 3amthen4 amcrying loudly.but i dun know if he is hungry or not cos after i carry him n sooth him, he will go back to sleep butmesuper tired for work. I worrt he not used to ifc then not sleeping well? Any advice?

Change of teat

When do we know its time to change? Teacher at ifc comment tat my bb not feeding well. She says take long time to feed cos he keep biting the teat and turn he head leftand right to look around, very distracted and dont want to drink. I dun know how to answer.is it teat must change?

Coco,

I m same as u. I feed 150ml per 4 hour. At times teacher say he dun finish at all but when i see milk tin n also read those books, based on his weight he should be taking 210ml? I also dun know ifmhe is full or not.

Previously when i direct latch him, he was drinking well. 7 feeds a day. Weight was ok and no fuss at night. Eversine i change to fm, he fuss at milm times n also wake up at night. I wonder if its because he is hungry?

Can share with me your baby feeding times?

I now feed 5 feeds a day.

6am direct latch, 10am, 2pm, 6pm and 10pm. The 2pm feed still ebm until i no suppy. The rest all 150ml. Is it too little feeds?

pofy: my daughter is like that, she get distracted n dun wan to drink milk cause she cant suck the milk, after i change the teat, she started to drink again. usually recommendation is to change 1-2 mths i think, bt i change once a month.

the doc calculation is weight * 150 / 7, that is the amount of milk that the baby sld be taking.

my daughter feeds: 130am / 450am / 7am / 11am / 1500 / 1900 / 2200 (something like tt), she do not ve very regular feed time.

Pofy,

Tml then I start work... Hope everything will be fine... Boss alrdy warned me this yr sales target v strict, so Gd luck to me.

I oso wanna know when to change teat. My bb like to drink little bit little bit, can be 20-40ml every hour.

Think I'm a blur mummy but how do we know what is our bb weight and height?

My last appt with the doc was on 5 jan, so my bb height and weight is outdated. My next doc appt is only in April.

My son feeds at 8am/12pm/2pm/5pm/8pm/11pm/2am/5am.its every 3hrs but recently some feeds interval can streach to 4hrs. I latch on exclusively unless i'm going out then will feed EBM. I give now ard 140ml, not sure if its enuff but he drinks every single drop.

rejoy 28: hahah. i think this is normal. I felt the same way initially too. cause it was my fil taking care of my boy, then there was this period whereby he would want his grandad more than me and it hurts so bad cause i felt the bond slipping away. and my husband said i was dumb to feel that way. but what do guys know really. -.- luckily he's okay now and he always focus his attention on me when im back.

pofy: yeah. try the pigeon one. its really good!:)

these couple of days, when i am putting him to bed, he would stare at the ceiling and look like hes about to cry. i have no idea what he is staring at. either its at the shadows or what(i have no idea) that is scaring him.

Change of teats: i think most kids are just more easily distracted than others. is he sucking very hard?

my hb is the one that get jealous over maid. coz bb smiles & talks to maid. wat i hate is maid will try to be helpful and look after bb when we eating, but bb was looking at us that moment, so feel she like snatch bb away from us.

POFY

how have u been, u never join our FB group? last i heard when u just popped & bb had some troubles have to go KKH, coz never log in SMH long time.

my bb 4 mths, changed to 2-hole teat sometime in 3rd month. i changed teats when bb struggle to drink finish and seem tired of sucking. trial and error. if u change teat too early, the milk will sputter out and milk overflow from bb mouth. thats when bb not ready to upgrade teat yet...

now my bb drinking 120ml / 3-4 hrly. tomorrow have 4th month jab, ahve to go thru fever suffering again... why jabs will cause fever... so poor thing for bb and us!

forever81 (forever81)

why ur appt so far apart? jan then april? do not think that is normal. wat about the monthly jabs?

I've the following to let go:

- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65

- 3 tins of Similac Mum (exp Oct'13), $12 each (*$30 if taking all 3 tins)

- 2 tins of NAN 2 (exp

- 1 tin of Gain IQ (exp May'12) $10

- 2 tins of Mamil Gold 2 (exp Oct'13), $15 each (free tin of 400g)

- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder & Wrist Rattle Set @ $10

- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Washing pump

I jus wash my pump wif hot water n leave it n it's not dry yet for my next usage. Pump in office toilet cos no other place to pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Milk

My BB drinks ard 70-80ml every 2-3 hrs v little I feel but since I c him put in weight I also dun bother.. at nite will latch him on n he wakes up ard 12 or 1 depending on his last feed n next ard 3+ n 5+ sometimes he can slp for longer n i'll dream feed him b4 7 am.. so tired waking up few times at nite but can't help la..

Milk

My bb is 4 mths 1 week old n we feed her fm 150 ml every 3 hrs during the day . 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm n night feed between 4 to 6am depending wat time she cry for milk. This is the timing we try to stick with as easy to remember the feeding time.

My Bb also easily distracted during feeding... Bottle or latching. Whenever pp walk pass or talking, She will stop drinking n look up. Otherwise she play with the teats n dun drink the milk. Wat we do is to hide at a corner when feeding her, all lights off n keep things very quiet, especially during the night feed at 9pm. However these two days she is very naughty during feeding time n only managed to sleep ard 11pm!

Hi pofy n gilera, long time no see!! So nice to see u all agn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pofy: I feeding five times too, 4hr interval. 2 times bottle feed of 220ml each n 3 times direct latch. I calculate e amt to feed based on bb weight.

Gilera: I read online tt can start let bb sit on bumbo already. If so, bb can sit at dining table with parents to enjoy e dinner tog. Mayb u can try? If e maid still do it then prob have to ask her do other stuff when u dine? Hahaha

Hi hi pofy! Yeah back to work yesterday and nothin to do as my work ID was almost revoked as too long didn't log in. Haha! Today start have to rush work as I have my staff appraisal to do by next Monday!

MILK

My bb is on her 16th week and drinking 140ml FM every 4 hours. Last feed usually 10.30pm and would wake up 3am for feeding. I enjoy waking up to feed her as I don't get to do it during daytime now.

Hi Gilera

Thanks for mentioning abt the mthly jabs, I called and they mention the jab to be taken 2,4 and 6 mths. Have arrange for my son's 2nd vaccination next week.

Fully understand abt how u feel the maid snatching the bb away. I also has the same feeling when my maid just arrived.Whenever she change diaper for my son she doesn't want to give him back to me. She even insist of my son sleeping with her. But now she has very minimal contact with my son.We try not to let her come in contact too often.

Mrschun: me too have been dropping alot of hair. My hubby ask me to go see doc but I heard from my colleagues that it's normal after giving birth to drop hair. I have also been wondering what to do abt it.

Any mummies can give advise?

forever81,

It's noraml to drop hair..cos our bodies are undergoing hormonal changes..for recently i dread of combing my hair especially when i wake up in the morning..i can find so much hair coming off..

My baby will be taking his jabs monthly..cos doc suggest we let him space out his 6in 1 and prevenar rather than take together to prevent fever and other side effect..

MILK FEEDING TIME,

My baby is drinking 3 hourly..is set by the ifc to fit into their baby program..

5.30am ,9.30am,12.30pm,3.30pm, 6.30pm, 9.30pm, 12 mn dream feed ( to make sure he doesn't wake up too early for morning feed)

i don't understand..my baby feeding pattern has sudden change upside down 2 weeks ago? i don't know if it's the jabs? spurts? ifc change his feeding time to 3hrly (last time is 3.5 to 4hrly) he seems like he's waking up earlier for morning feeds these days? he used to be able to sleep thru 10.30pm - 6pm..now he can get up 4-4.30am to cry for milk..my hb was trying to stay up till 12midnight to give him a top up feed to last him longer..now we are trying to work together with the ifc to adjust his feeding time..luckily the school understands ..it's tough for working parents to keep waking up to feed in the night..

Mrs chun: don't worry. Like what forever 81 said. It's hormonal change. Apparently your body is changing back. I was dropping a lot of hair last month too but now it's okay so I think itll go away in awhile.

Has anyone created a fb chat group that we can join?

Hi mrs chun, my mum told me dropping hair is normal. Temp only. Normally when ur bb knw smile at u, its time the hair drop. Lol, tis is old folks story.

1st day of work

1st day and big boss alrdy ask me to start running for sales, but my portfolio of customers is not ready! My 2pid team leader gave my portfolio to my covering officer then now asking each team mate to "donate" some customers to me to form my new portfolio. Of coz they will thro the lousy customers to me wat! Sigh

Hair loss.

I drop so much hair that I hv a balding patch in front near the hairline. Sad... My maid oso comment that she see my hair everywhere even after sweeping the floor

Hi Oct mummies! Am also an Oct mummy to my 3.5 month old lil boss!

I participated in this forum in my early pregnancy journey and then dropped off the radar completely.;-) Have since moved to China with hubby and baby, therefore I hope to depend on this forum to share my baby's progress.

For mummies who are on full bm schedule with your babies, what is the interval your babies can last these days? Mine can last around 1.5 hours, sometimes 2 hours if I get lucky!

Also, is your baby pooing less these day? I know for fbm babies, it is acceptable to poo once a week. Mine is doing exactly that...so when she pooed twice this week, hubby and I do a victory dance!

Hi mee_you: my son is only fbm, now is 3.5 mths. Bm can last 3 to 4 hrs during the day.At nite he can sleep through for max 5 hrs

POO

My son will poo 2 big times daily.He used to do it more often (almost every after feed) when he was younger but stop when he was ard 2 mths.Doc did mentioned its ok for Bb not to poor daily.max is to poo once in 2 wks.But u may want to confirm with ur doc too

esther: which is quite true, my hair start dropping like crazy when my baby start to smile at mi, which is ard 3 months lah... haha....

scare to wash hair nowadays....

Hi forever 81! Thanks for sharing!

Feeding interval

3-4 hours is fantastic! You can do lots in this interval:)) Any tips on achieving this interval?? We were out yesterday and baby L managed to stretch to 2.5 hours..I am already very thankful. 3-4 hours would be amazing, haha!

Nightime feed

We would wake up baby L around 10:30pm for one last feed and she would sleep till 8 or 9am (on our lucky days).

Poo

Exactly, ours used to poo after every feed too. But her pooing habits has really changed in the last 3 weeks. Doc confirmed that it is ok for fbm babies to poo once a week but I guess as newbie parents, we just wish she poo more often, haha!

forever 81, do you mind sharing your baby's birthday? Baby L was born on Oct 24. Babies' habits really differ a lot ya!

me & u: my baby feeding habit is almost same as forever81. Bt your Baby L has to be fed 2.5hrs max in the day bt can zzzz throughout in the night? ???

puzzled.

My baby, Charis, is on fbm as well, bt like forever81, she can only stretch up to 5hrs on a gd day max at night.

She is born on 25th, so close to yours.

Rejoy,

My girl's name is Charisse, v similar to urs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She's born on 22nd.

Her max interval at night is 4hours. She's on fbm too

Finally can log in. Been stress out with work n baby. Upset with my boss. He told me he would prefer i dont disappear frm my desk for long intervals. Hinting that i should not pump. I don't even pump to store, i pump to discard so as to prevent engorgement or breast leak! Upset. I wonder how his mum fed him last time! To think he is a married man with kids. Shame or not?

Rejoy28,

I saw your post, i change to M size teat, he suck faster instead of 1 hour but milk will leak out of his mouth at times esp when he turn here turn there. But no choke,so its ok?

Change teat once a month? You mean even if not spoilt we have to change or change size?

After i change the teat, he still turn here and there. Teacher complain say very difficult to feed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It cant be he is not hungry cos 4 hour interval. I dont know how to answer teacher why he is so distracted. Sigh

sweetsnow: how is ur work today?

do u keep the milk that u pump in toilet?

m able to pump in the meeting room so not too bad... bt tend to get tired during the day as i wake up 1-2 times every night to feed.

Gilera, creamdonut,

Long time no see here. I dont join fb becos my boss blocked websites like fb, twitter n also those stock and shares websites.

Winny,

Lucky you, system log out is the best! There was once happen in office, we endednup chatting! I wish it happen again! Haha

My bb same as yours. Feed 4 hourly. I will switch him to fm soon. Sigh. Supply drop like crazy cos tired and stress. Worry i underfeed baby with pour supply.

Sweetsnow,

Your boss is terrible also. Borrow customers from other team members? Sure they give u not so good ones right???

Pofy: i think as long as he do not choke, sld be ok... i dun nod leh, the teat tends to get bigger than the original size after using for a while, so i juz change it.

think he is is new environment that why he is so distracted?

My girl tends to get distracted when feeding as well, i think maybe they are starting to explore their environment so always looking around to look at things....

she cries so badly when i carried her yesterday and she imm quiet down when my mil carried her, sad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] bt no choice....

so bad of ur boss, maybe u can explain to him that if you do not pump out, u wld get infection and wld need to take mc? so rather than waiting for that to happen, u juz ned to be away for a short while?

Hi mee & you: my bb bdae is 31 Oct.

No tips on how to last 3 hrs though.but 1.5 hrs to 2hrs interval does that mean ur bb is not drinking enough?Coz the doc did mention to me when I ask how to gauge how much milk to give if I express out,doc mentioned if bb can last 3hrs means its enough,anything less than 3 hrs means bb can drink more.

Rejoy28,

He is a silly man. Now he prefers the lady he hired to take over me, said they went thru thick n thin together esp to close the accounts etc. i jus keep quiet. If he wants to sack me, he has to pay me one monrh notification so i got to hang on instead of quit myself. It seems he trying to make things difficult for me but i endure cos i need the job. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I hope bb is fussing becos of new enviornment at ifc. I also dont know, guess trial and error.

Quizzler,

I same as u. These days i got to stay up until 12pm to feed him,then he seems can last till 5am on fm. His last feed in school is 6 to 6.30pm. When i bring him home, i tried to feed at 10.30pm but he dont want. Turn here n there and cry so i end up carrying and soothing him then he will sleep without milk??? Then i do housework and wait till 12am to feed if not he will wake up at 3 or 4 am and cry n if i feed at that time, i end up cannot sleep already cos i need to get ready for work after i feed him. Sigh

Coco,

You start full fm already??

My supply drop badly n i also wonder if i should stop as i worry he underfeed!

Lobang for nanha2

Cant recall which mummies r on nan? I found seller selling nan2 ha at $35 each but must buy min 6 tins at one time. Is this cheap??

Hair loss,

I dropping alot of hair too. Worry bald esp when i m gettng on in age and already not much hair! Bath time drop alot, dry hair with hair dryer worse n pillow when wake up also alot. I hope the hormone thing will settle down asap before i go bald!

Thanks for sharing feeding times. Good reference and sharing. At least i know i not feeding him wrongly.

Pofy: ur boss is a terrible man, if he sacks you, as long as he gives you 1 mth notice, he does not have to pay you as well. Why dun u look for another job now and see if you can resign after finding another job?

Thanks Rejoy(28) and forever 81!

Feeding times/Lasting through the night

I suspect that baby L drinks more often during the day so that she can last through the night. I read some literature, they term this as tanking up for the night. Maybe, baby L just prefer to sleep through at night so she rather drink more during the day??

I introduced the 10:30pm night feed after reading up on Gina Ford and true enough, that very night, she slept till 8am. This was 3 weeks ago.

Forever 81, I will see if baby L can drink more these days. If she can stretch up to 2.5 hours more regularly, I will be very happy.

Also Baby L's day times are still very unpredictable. We just moved to China so she is also distracted. In SG (three weeks ago), she used to have three naps but these days, she seemed to need only 2?

Can mummies please share? Thank you!

pofy: Yes, just hang in there! don't allow him to not pay you the one month cause you quit on your own accord!

dont worry about the hair loss thing. It actually stopped after 2 weeks or so. now im dropping way less hair than the period. my husband kept constantly making fun of me saying that i would need to go to lao for ye, no idea if its spelt this way.