(2011/10) Oct 2011

robinsons sale have Ameda Lactaline breast pump (electric one), with 2pk milk bag and nursing pillow. my fren say not bad to use, and its quite good offer... anyone used this before ?

tabbyz, starry

yes its much cheaper than DFS, I asked my hb to check for me when he was coming back from a trip. I buy my SKII essence from Bestbuy and clarins from Beautynscent. I buy practically everything online, even my dog supplies... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not sure about the expiry date, dn't think its listed on non food products, only the batch number but the stock moves very fast. last time when I wanted to order it was oos

Hi mummies~ I'm new to this forum..currently 18 wks pregnant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've went to another gynae juz now... confirm it's a boyboy too... this gynae very patient, he showed me a lot of different views of the BB n point to me his "little bird"....My boy a bit rough, he open his legs wide... This gynane estimated my ETD as 10Oct11.

BB is 251g & its 138.66mm...

*alarmed*

my colleague mentioned that my feet are swollen today!

I didn't even notice them! They really look bloated n the ankle bone not popping out like before. Will it get bigger? Wat can help it reduce?

gilera, I've the same swollen feet. It's termed as edema. Not much of a concern there as i oso had this for my last preg. There's nothing much we can do except to wear comfy shoes, elevate our legs while sitting and reduce salt intake.

good morning ladies!!

tamms

thanks for sharing! I'll get a bottle of Clarins oil from them. I'm applying everything to my tummy now! Elancyl, Palmer's and now gonna top up with Clarins! Hehehe.. Super kiasee..

gilera

I notice that my fingers are swollen too! had difficulty putting on my rings! Boo hoo.. Can't wear my wedding band soon..

RE: fitflops

I will be buying the shoes from this seller "Cottage Kiddy". She's doing a pre-order now. Not sure when the shoes will be arriving. Checking with her. But the prices are $30-$40 cheaper than the stores! Check out her website (http://picasaweb.google.com/Cottagekiddy).

Ginn

Your gynae is really patient! Just wondering how they measure the weight of the baby? My gynae never told me bb's weight the past few visits.. My EDD is near yours, 13 Oct. I'm surprise bb is already 200+ grams! Amazing.. No wonder tummy is really getting big!

gilera

Drink lots of water. 2 weeks ago, my feet swollen too. I drown myself with lots of water like almost 2-2.5 litres a day. Now the swell has come down. Quite effectively.

I had my swollen feet at week 28 when i had my #1... By week 38, it got too swollen and painful to walk... I still remember I cried when I went to fareast flora to see flowers during CNY period cos walking is too painful... Initial stage, raising feet will reduce swell.. However, in the later stage, it doesnt work anymore... I ever tried resting for 2 full days, the swelling came down but once I started to walk, it came back again... Like what luv said, there is nothing much to prevent it from coming back... Just wear comfy shoes...

Finally, I am going for my 16th week checkup this evening, hope the baby is well and growing well...

I had natural birth and I did my confinement on my own.. I just ordered confinement tingkat.. I think it is copable and better for one to take care of ur own child for the first few months of their lives... this time, i am going to do it on my own too... But if u have c-sec, then better to get a helper...

Ginn, I intend to induce on my 38th week on 10 Oct 2011.. Hehe.. But need to see the baby's development then..

HS, 9 oct is my niece's bday.. dun want to clash with her... No particular reason, cos I dont want the baby to stay too long in me this time, my gal stayed till 40th week last time and refused to come out.. 40th week i wasnt even dilatd at all and gynae had to induce me cos her umbilical cord tied ard her neck.... i think last few weeks of pregnancy is really suffering... heavy, pelvis painful, legs painful... so thinking of inducing on week 38 which is just nice on 10/10...

oooh ic... my current EDD is 10 oct.. my sister wan bb to be same bday as her which is 9 Oct.. my hubby wan bb to be on same day as him, but its 30 Sept hahha... so i told both of them to psycho the baby loh, see in e end bb will listen to who hahaha...

is the last few wks really that bad?? my fren also induced her #2 becos she dun wan to wait anymore le...

ACtually the first gynae estimation is 5Oct11... then the 2nd gynae said it's 10Oct11 & i find the date 10Oct11 to be very nice... so will ask BB to stay inside till 10Oct11... haha...

yeah, i also find 10/10/11 nice leh.. but 11/10/11 also can.. but then i think in numerology, too many 1s in birthdates not too good, will be domineering...

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

For pictures, pls indicate email address.

mummies.. any recommendations on CL? i m thinking of engaging from agencies. Either PEM or I-kare.

Thanks mummies! Will try rest feet more. HB nv automatic massage feet lei.

Weird uncomfy feelings from BB dunno wat he doing inside. Feels like he swimming left to right then duel in ball then pinch me. When walking now feel tummy is wobbly n bouncing.

Detailed scan next week@ wk 20!!!

HS, for me really quite bad.. cos I got really bad water retention like elephant's legs... N i also duno why pelvis so painful until cant walk much & v tiring.. When u see many mummies popping before u and u r still waiting, the feeling also horrible... need to have lotsa lotsa patience...

Hello people!

I just realised, my tummy's really big today! I think baby's growing really really fast! So amazing! And I really wonder how the tummy can stretch further than it has already stretched! Now already feels, errm, taut!

tabbyz,

i also bought my fitflops from cottage kiddy. very fast delivery if she has ready stocks. feel tempted to buy another pair from her.

roxanne,

wow! you did confinement alone? *salute*!! very tiring. but you are right, it's manageable, just need proper time management and close one eye about the housework. think the ang mohs also like that. took care of baby alone 'cos parents live very very far away.

re: birth dates

so fast thinking already? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm also considering already. our girl was born on 9/10/10. if want same bday, baby would have just turned 37 weeks only. recommended to pop so early? worried about developments even though online articles all say it's ok for babies to come out at 37 weeks. also scared to drag on further in case baby wanna come out before 38 weeks. then have to e-csect. expensive le!

gilera,

very fast for you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] keep us updated and show us scan pics. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, i leave housework to my hubby..

every morning i will boil water, then put all the red date ingredients into slow cooker... feed the baby/pump milk, use the dry mop to mop dust and then wash clothes n hang clothes...

my MIL will come my hse to bathe my gal then i can take a break.. noon time i sure napped de, if not cannot last so long...

it's tiring, esp on days when baby wants to be carried n kept crying.. but sometimes i let her cry (if she didnt cry badly) while i napped.. haha..

i wanted to go my MIL's hse at first but then, i want to bathe daily leh.. scare during confinement or rather i feel during confinement we sure got conflicts de... everytime when she reached my hse, i need to ensure that i wore a slipper and wear alot of clothes (no shorts, no spaghetti strap).. when i lift up my shirt to pump milk, she still say i allow wind to go in lor.. differences in style.. so better to do myself.. free n easy...

roxanne,

my mil also a bit long winded about all these things.. cannot this cannot that. ask her why, she dunno how to answer and say last time ppl also do it. -_-!! definitely need a nap in the afternoon otherwise cannot function. i only managed to sleep 3-4hrs a day when i first brought baby home for the initial few days. really damn siong. a bit scared scared to go thru all these again. :p

EDD 101011:

My Edd is also on 10 Oct.. but since its my first, many are telling me that i might expect my bb to come out earlier.. Still gotta let boss know when my ML starts. what if baby pop suddenly before i go on ML?! OMG. How many mummies had ur first much earlier than edd, and how early?? mind sharing?

swollen feet:

my feet tend to start swelling in the late afternoon.. dont have anything to lift up my leg in the office.. and i tend to crave for salty food. Does drinking more water really help??

detail scan:

im going for mine at Mt. A on 23rd May. Is it the same as the OSCAR scan? will they draw blood again?

Yalor.. they everything cannot and no reasons one.. for example, baby's sneezing means they are cold.. then i brought her to pd and ask the pd in front of her.. pd said sneezing is to help them clear the dust in the nose... baby no appetite means stomach got wind, then i asked pd.. pd said everyone got wind in stomach.. lol..

i will ask other ppl to explain to her or i will go google information and tell her abt the scientific reasons.. she is more receptive when i told her i ask doc or google from the net.. luckily she is receptive...

but recently she tell me dont eat so much yellow food cos baby come out will have jaundice.. haiz.. then she compared another cousin whose babies all nvr kena jaundice.. my gal's jaundice isnt serious at all mah.... dont understand the logic.. but she got tell me go and ask gynae or do research see if eat yellow food then baby will get jaundice or not.. haha

gladys, ur gynae will check for dilation at ard 37 weeks de.. before that they will see baby's position to determine.. normally from 37 weeks onwards will pop liao... doc will be able to give u estimate 1-2 weeks before.. safest to tell ur boss u taking ard 3 weeks before and tell him to get ready lor... unless u really pop earlier than 37 weeks, then that one is premture liao..

some babies are healthy when they are borned on 36th week, some maybe need some aid.. recently i got a fren's baby whose lungs got water and need to be put in NICU.. so poor thing, all the tubes n needles poking.. he was borned on 36th week..

some mummies i know take mc all the way from 37/38 weeks until they popped to save maternity leave.. haha

detailed scan no need blood test.. just a normal scanning to ensure all the organs and limbs are in place.. after detailed scan, some mummies might be asked to take glucose test at around 28 weeks to test for gestational diabetes.. forgot that one is urine or blood test..

2nd trimester urine urgency suppose to ease as bb move upwards n not rest on our bladder right?

But feeling more urgent esp when walking, feel need use alot of muscles to hold up the weight ard bb n to hold pee.

roxanne,

yah! baby sneeze means cold. lol! even during hot weather like this??!! haha! i nv heard about yellow foods causing jaundice. 'cos no link at all leh. the one thing i dislike most is my mil carrying baby and rocking her. not gentle rocking hor, it was that kind of bumpy rocking! can faint... and her knees not good (one side had full knee replacement, the other side giving way soon) yet still insist on carrying baby and even brought her downstairs or to neighbours' house without telling me. if she fell or what nobody knows le.

jgladys,

first child usually won't pop so fast. several of my friends' first baby came like 7-4 days before edd. unlikely to give birth before 37weeks so just take ML 2 weeks before edd should be safe enough. and make sure you clear/handover all your work by week 37 so in case you pop before week 38, u can still go give birth in peace! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway, leave all these till 3rd tri bah. too early to think about it now. i was also kiasu, planned everything nicely but baby breeched, so end up c-sect and i worked till the day i popped!

for gestational diabetes, i remember it's urine test first to determine if urine got sugar or not. if have then gotta take blood test to see how bad the condition is. if really serious case, then gotta measure blood sugar level at home everyday plus strict diet. very rare lah, so don't worry about this.

Haiz.... My mil open mouth offered to come over n do confinement for me. Asked if I don't mind her so but that must eat whatever she cook. She will cook mee sua n all those black vinegar stuff. It's really not that healthy. Dunno how to reject her. Her son nv agree infront of her but seemed happy got someone control me. She was nagging that I drink lemon tea. Told hb I might not b able to tolerate all nags although it's just words of concern to me la. I just dun like ppl comment n say me.plus I can't say her back coz it's not my own mother. He replied "good then u can't choose food"!

Feel frustrated. He still not v receptive to maid idea n catered confinement food. Also insisted bb cot be in our room when so squeezy. Anyone placing cot in seperate room?

gilera,

look at it this way... may not be a bad idea to have mil help out. at least got someone to help with washing and cleaning too. besides, homecooked food is considered cleaner than confinement food, maybe not as yummy. maids can cause more problems for the employers, unless u hire early and train her or change is she's not good. your relationship with mil good? if not too bad, then just take up her offer?

re: food

i remember i had a lot of mee sua during confinement. got sick of it then changed to oyster rice, noodles etc. didn't eat much black vinegar trotter 'cos bfing baby and she had jaundice so gotta avoid ginger (a lot in the vinegar dish).

re: baby cot

can place in another room, just have to buy a baby monitor so that when baby cries u will be alerted and can attend to him/her straight away. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry.. if bf means confirm cant eat ginger isit? then sesame oil chicken also cant eat ? becos this dish also have alot of ginger one...

HS,

Not sure whether confirmed or not. What happened was my girl had mild jaundice when she was ard 3 days old. Had phototherapy for 2 days then allowed to discharge on her 5th day. Back home, I had to sun her then she was slightly better. I started taking ginger stuff and her jaundice rose the following week! So naturally I thought it was the ginger and stopped completely till she was fully cleared by PD. There are other ways to dispel wind from body apart from ginger. Alcohol helps, be it cooked or straight from bottle (drink at least 2hrs before pumping or bfing). Dried oysters, sesame oil, red dates tea etc also help. Another way is rub rice wine all over arms, legs, body after u bathe. Works too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Roxanne and starry! Perhaps its a good idea to ask for MC before my due date. Will keep that in mind :D Have to convince boss to get replacement in earlier. Im hoping to rest awhile and get things ready for bb before popping. Hope my bb will guai guai and pop at the right time! haha.

gilera, take it as a cheaper alternative lo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] im living with my in-laws but have to hire CL cause everyone is working. I like to eat instant noodles and potato chips and find them so appetizing but my MIL made a comment.. so, yea had to cut down in front of her... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i will hav to place the cot in my room cause all the other rooms are taken up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but nvm la.. can see bb ma.

Re: Confinement & MIL

have already discussed with MIL; she is open-minded, and is alright with my daily showering & alternate days of hair washing (but with herbs) during confinement .. thinking of ordering the tingkat for dinner, so that it will not be tiring and taxing for MIL; she will be helping me with my confinement ..

Re: Symptoms

no swollen feet as of now but aching feet =( do not know whether is it due to bigger tummy or not .. morning sickness is still not subsiding, with increasing migraine frequency ..

Re: Detailed Scan

will only be having my detailed scan on 3rd June, which is such a long way to go .. my colleagues are 'opening gambling den and gamble on my baby's gender' =.=

Re: Delivery

going to wait till baby is willing to come out to the world =p

not going down to the robinson's sale today, as having a migraine now .. anyone went? any good offers/discounts?

I wouldn't mind if my MIL wanna come & cook for me during confinement but I can dream on... HAHAHAHAH!!!

Until now my hubby still dun wanna tell his parents I'm preggie... -_-""

gilera

black vinegar stuff is confinement food but if you think is not that healthy, don't eat the fat part loh. Think this dish might also appear if you cater for confinement food. While looking at the menu for confinement food, I feel that some are quite normal except with more ginger & some herb. confinement food also not cheap loh

Mine husband can cook so he will cook normal food where both can eat, maybe some dish with more ginger. I will just boil red dates water. think is good not to drink cold drinks.

The baby cot will be in our bedroom cos is easiler for night feeding