(2011/09) Sep 2011

Kelly, there was major carpark construciton at my mum's place during my confinement too. End up my boy is ok, not afraid of loud noises at all. He can sleep through it! As for the dust, we got an air purifier so it was still ok.

haha..i got 2 air purifier at home...cos of my dogs..i'm not thinking of whether the baby will be afriad of the loud noise..but i'm one who cannot stand noise..so i'm the one who'll go crazy..haha

Kelly, I spent my days watching TV... so just on LOUD LOUD :p & I was in my mum's room the entire day with aircon :D so close windows = lesser noise :D

With estate upgrading works, alot of dogs suffer from allergies too (bad skin, itchy paws etc). Think have to be extra careful with the baby/nursery as well.

Thanks Kelly!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also saw some tops at Dorothy Perkins yesterday that caught my eye but no sale. Will wait for credit card promos, they usually tie up with UOB. Anyway, I've been shopping for clothes the last 3 weeks and I think my hb is gonna complain soon. Haha.

Gina, I had a baby blog for #1 but decided not to hv it for #2 due to privacy issues. Recently got a lot of 'boliao' ppl like to do online stalking...

Yup, it was a case of referral. My friend's daughter was delivered by him too last April and had good reviews and so I am willing to travel all the way to Thomson for his consultation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So far, I have found him to be gentle and assuring.

Do you live near Thomson?

Thanks bunnz!

Kyra,

We didn't inform my mil too. She came n visited us together with my sil 2 weeks ago. Not that we r afraid she has got big mouth but rather, since it's my 3rd P n she always wanna have a grandson, we didn't want to disappoint her yet again in case it's a gal again.

Re: furniture moving and clearing of space

Last time my nursery room used to be store room too, where we keep all our clothes and ironing board. So when we prepare for my boy, I clear out the stuff progressively. The clothes and ironing board are shifted to our own bedroom. We put in a cot and 1 changing table, and 1 closet with drawers. The closet was used to store my boy clothes. I also got a comfy small sofa for breastfeeding.

Subsquently when he grows older and his clothes get bigger, some clothes for wearing outside is better to be hang rather than fold. So i clear out part of the wardrobe (which used to store our clothes) in his nursery room to put his clothes, and throw away my old clothes. Then we bought new shelves from Ikea to store our own clothes (previously using temp hangers)

When my boy start to learn crawling, i took few days leave to clear more space at living room, throw away or store furniture away. Subsquently when he start to learn walking. Eventually clear a lot of space for his toys and playing etc. Kitchen also clearing to keep a separate space for steriliser, warmer and his food etc.

Anyway having a new baby is a major project but u dun have to do it all at one shot before giving birth. My advice is to do it progressively at certain stages.

Painting wise - the fumes not good for pregnant women and suggest to avoid during painting and after painting.

Moving of furniture - i let my hb do while i am outside the house.

Jennifer - Big mouth was what my hb said. Haha! But for me, I told him to hold the news because baby wasnt stable and I wasnt feeling good. Really wont appreciate having a few more people nagging at me or being overly concerned. As for gender of the baby, I've no preference though friends think that I should be pressurised to have a son as my hb is not just the only son, he is the only grandson. But his sis also married an only son and they have 2 daughters. My inlaws doted on the 2 girls ALOT. So if I get a daughter and receive different treatments, I will be very disappointed with them *double std*

kelly

Buy major stuff during the 2nd trimester, after 20 weeks detail scan when u know the gender of yr bb. Dun buy during 3rd trimester bec' by then u will be v tired and lazy to do shopping/squeezing with many people.

Do your research on pricing and if discount is 20% min, can consider. Usually discount dun give more than 20% for bb pdts esp big ticket items i notice.

bb fair - not necessary good deals. I used to get better deals during Robinsons sale than Taka baby fair.

Kyra,

Sigh... I fully understand... Likewise, everyone is expecting me to have a bb boy this time too. I asked my hubby what if it's a gal again? He said, so be it. I told him I am going to stop at 3 even if it's a gal n even asked more abt ligation as I'm thinking of having it since I'm doing c section this time too. My mum disapprove me of having ligation... Haha...

Tis morn a colleague from another dept ask me how many mths preggy, then when i told her, she say she tot is 5mths and how come big. Then she saw me carry cold drink then told me cannot drink cold drinks, tats why bb no good etc. WAH her big smelly mouth! Make me so angry at her.

Kyra,

Sigh... I fully understand... Likewise, everyone is expecting me to have a bb boy this time too. I asked my hubby what if it's a gal again? He said, so be it. I told him I am going to stop at 3 even if it's a gal n even asked more abt ligation as I'm thinking of having it since I'm doing c section this time too. My mum disapprove me of having ligation... Haha...

ooh, ellysia, i noe the kind of ppl u'r talking about! they always have sth bad to say and nothing good, except when it's about themselves...

just ignore her, and dun talk too much with her, so she'll have nothing else to say to you. ^^

Gina: yes... Dr Goh is gd, I was with him since my #1... According to the nurses at TMC, he is strict compared to other doctors. I m sure Dr Goh is definitely worth u travelling all the way here for him.

Yes... I stay quite near, AMK area but in the midst of shifting now to Lentor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

There are always such ppl ard la... i kena a few times as well... one ear go in another come out lo.. these ppl juz simply eat too full had nothing to come out.. got stuck there...

@ Roybelle - I see. I don't think he is that strict, maybe cos he is the first gynae I've seen. I do find him fatherly and knowledgeable although he is slightly older than other male gynaes. But def very stable and trustworthy.

Everytime my hb accompanies me to the gynae, his heart would beat very fast and he would walk in, walk out of the clinic and when we go into the room, he will not be able to seat properly. And the moment Dr Goh speaks, he would be very calm and assured.

Haha. He is slightly pricy but the location and cost is worthwhile to me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Do you also know one of the nurse is his wife?

Take care during the shifting. Can be tedious!

Hi Ellysia, thanks for your advice! =)

DO you think we sld buy the electric breast pump online thru the US sites? after conversion the medela will cost 400sing...say shipping 100max...500 total..still cheaper than s'pore right?? does medela have good pricing during sales?

For electric breastpump, I would rather buy 2nd hand one with warranty, then change all the funnels/valves/bottles for hygiene purpose. Still cheaper than getting from US.

gina: Correction! In fact I started seeing him since I was 21... and I am 33 this year! I totally agree with how u describe him.

You mean the one who is oldest among the nurses? I dunno... never ask but she has been there since the first time I went. But I know Dr Goh's dialect is teochew cos my mum asked him during my 2nd pregnancy.

Thanks for your concern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am only doing the packing/unpacking, my dad, bro and hubby are doing the shifting.

Hi Sep mummies...im from OCT/NOV thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I heard from some mummies not able to produce milk after giving birth....and ended up the pricey breast pump staring at them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So you may want to consider to buy after giving birth or borrow from your friend first and if you can produce milk...then go and buy.

Thats what my friends advised me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow!! 21! You're such a young mummy. Hopefully I will still see him when I'm 33. I'm 24. Hehe.

Yup, the oldest one. I was there earlier this week and had asked how I can address her, if not sometimes when I need to call and ask somes questions, it is little weird to not know her name but see her month after month. So i asked and she smiled and say, I'm Mrs Goh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]SHouldn't be a coincidence right?

Haha, anyway she is very nice too.

gina: The nurses described him as strict compared to other gynaes because he do not allow his patients to eat everything after delivery. He will advise the kitchen to give whatever he thinks appropriate...

You know during hospital stay, the nurse will give you the menu and u tick what you want to eat but my order was rejected because he said "Cannot" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

After my #1 delivered, he only let me drink half cup of Milo on the 2nd day evening... before that i am not allowed to take anything cos on drip. On 3rd day, only congee and soup, no solid food (rice)!

But for #2, not too bad, start to drink Milo the next morning... I even had mee siam on the 3rd day! :p

But I think is good for him to be strict cos my tummy flattened at the day of discharge. I see many mummies who discharged on the same day as me still like carrying 7-8mths tummy. Even my massage lady (Mdm Rokiah) asked me why I need her to come for 7 days... she said in fact I don't need, so she advised me not to waste $, reduced to 5 days instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow, his post natal care is not bad! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Although I think I will need a lot of discipline to stick to it. Hahaha. Looking fwd to see him again cos see him = see baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Kelly - Not really la, maybe I married early. This is only my first child. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Look at Roybelle and #2, even younger when they turned mums. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies can I join in the chat?

My gynae is Dr Christopher chong .1st Bb for me n hope to deliver at gleneagles. My edd is 20 sept 2011.

p00H, I heard his package is $600nia, one of the cheapest and his delivery charges are also reasonable. when is ur nex appt? i will be seeing him firs time tis sat.

have u taken ur blood test for those hiv screening, etc?

jenifer, u have 2 girls? i hav 1 , who turned 3 recently. i also considering ligitation irregardless of bb gender. this no.2 preg is not as easy as no.1 n i tink 2 kids defnitely enuff for me!!

Mummies, unless you are in your late thirties/beyond 40, it's best not to ligate yet....

I know of ppl who ligate after their 2nd/3rd child and they regret later on due to a variety of reasons...

If you are looking for more long term birth control, can try IUD.

@Chine Dr Chris Chong is quite gd and assuring. i'm terrified of needles and whenever he wants to give me the hormonal jab, i will curse and swear and complain but he is able to "pacify'' me . haha then jab me lor.

I chose him as my gynae bcos of my friend's referral as she is the same as me, terrified of injections and Dr chris is able to calm her in that aspect.

But if Dr Koh has a better package and is also reassuring , i might consider to change. He is at TMC right, v difficult to park car leh..

chine, my next appt (4th one) is this sat.. so far, he only refer me to TMC for oscar test.. didnt do any blood test at the clinic yet..

Chine, one of my friend went for ligation aft her 3rd bb and she regretted cos she said her sex drive dropped .

ladies, does any1 experience the same problem as me ? EXCESSIVE SALIVA... super disruptive as every 3 min needs to spit the excessive saliva. I felt disgusted to swallow and this is really frustrating. Any remedy? Doc said be patient and wait but this is so disruptive and i cant go out at all.

igop, dr koh delivers at MT A. what is a better package? he definitely cheaper than dr chris.

p00h, reali? mine too, so mebe i get to see u, my appt is at 12.15

Igop,

Me too! I hate it too! I once read some where that it's a norm to have excess saliva.... I take sweet n it helps. U may like to try too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Chine

Haha when I told my frens my gynae is dr Chris chong . They all said wah expensive . But i dun have any experience with other gynae . Can't rem how much is his consultation . I think it's $55 n $ 35 for the ultrascan . May check out dr Koh if I need a 2nd opinion . Thanks!

@Jennifer . It's super disruptive right!! I eat hard candy when I'm traveling in cars lor. If I need to go out, I carry a plastic bag ard n spit in it. During sleep I even drool. So embarrassing . Hope this phrase pass faster. I'm not enjoying it . Everyday feel sick n tired .

Jennifer do u have excessive saliva in your previous 2 p? I read on a webbie n according to the mothers from other countries who have this problem have Bb gals. So they claim that mothers who have this prob are prone to having Bb gals. Wonder how true it is...

MtBvirgo: you still can rent out 2 rooms in your HDB flat legally. just lock one room and go back ocassionally.

Did you happen to book micasa? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Our own 5 room is coming anytime next year.

Reno to do agn! more $$$

but will cont to stay with parents n go back own house on weekend.

Igop : i tot chris chong is ex too. he's like a specialist,

Gina Christine: you are so young. I tot being married at 24 is considered young.

I had a friend who did IUD. i think for IUD, you have to replace something every few years or something. who knows, she got pregnant with twins. plus 2 other children. she thinks the reason is her gynae didnt replace it properly.