(2011/09) Sep 2011

Did your notice any change in food preference? Mine changed to the extreme and it has upset everyone especially my mum. I used to love the food she cooked, lots of veg, steam fish and soupy noodles. Now the sight of it and I want to puke, so I will turn my eyes away instantly. How how how? Better tell her to stop cooking my share? Feeling so guilty, need to confess ..

Now I can only take food which are very salty, spicy and sour... This pregnancy is making my life upside down. Noticed the odd stare from colleagues when they see what I ate for lunch.. Fish soup noodle without fish, egg and veg. Just ikan billis, lots of small chilli, small portion of noodles and soup. I finished all the soup and ikan billis leaving most of the noodle untouched. Will I get high blood pressure or something if I continue to eat like that? 7 more months le. How???

Asura79: hihi tks. I am interested in sbi. Tks for the analyzing and sharing here. But then we already have the reference books and bag from #1 so I was wondering if it's still worth signing up.

Hi pinky!

Me too had food adversion....totally can't stoamch chinese cooked style veg ( which i used to love) i crave for sour soup like borsch....and only feel like drinking milo, milk and fruits everyday....

Anyone knows if it is bad if we take too much fruits. I take up to 6-7 servings...

I can eat a whole basket of strawberries (the size that ntuc selling) all at once, plus orange and kiwi x 2 the more sour the better.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kelly: haha I too have been drinking lots of milo and milk these days! Especially love milo...scared of the high sugar content though...and I have to confess I use alot of condensed milk to make it nice. =p

Seems like more and more ladies are going for OSCARS test...which means we are all clearing the 12th week mark! =) I'm going for mine coming Mon afternoon...

Hi pinkpiggy,

When u say fruits wat fruits do u usually take? Pple keep telling mi dun anyhow take, end up I only stick to apples, grapes n strawberries only. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi mummies, it's sat! yippy, finally am going out today, i'm so happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's mark my 10th week too. hoping all the indigestion and ms will be gone soon and appetite can come back.

congrats to the mummies ending your 1st trim soon, still got some way for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jts, i finally cfm my cl after 3 tries. 1st one has hestitations helping to cook/bathe my #1 so decided to call another one. 2nd one wasn't sure if she could make it for my edd n ask me to wait for her another mth or so to cfm. haha guess i'm too ks and paranoid to wait, luckily 3rd one ok. so a big load off my mind, at least my #1 will have food and bathe everyday now, phew.

realised for this preg, my tots and worries kept circulating around my #1. how is he going to take it, how to help him adapt and love bb, who's going to take care of him during my confinement, how am i going to cope with 2 esp since #1 is sticky to me, etc. feel somewhat guilty towards bb, i didn't spend as much time as i used to with #1 in talking/singing to bb. also feel like i'm a bit unfair in kept worrying about #1's daily care instead. even for cl, my priority was to get a good one who will agree to care for my #1. sigh... any 2nd time mummies feeling the same way as me?

jen ng, as long as you dun take liang fruits like watermelon and pineapple, etc, shd be fine to take other fruits. dun take too much grapes in 3rd trim coz i heard can cause phelgm in bb later. i have been taking a lot of fruits like apple, banana (small one, not the del monte big ones, the latter cannot), kiwi, plum, strawberries, etc to aid digestion and help me poo regularly.

I eat anything I want to eat, including watermelon and pineapple. I have no discipline at all in this pregnancy. Just no herbal stuff and liquor. I even tAke tea and coke.

I used to drink at least 2 cups of coffee daily, but now I hate the sign if it, even the packaging. Tea has a higher caffeine content right?

However, there is a period when I have spotting, so I do control a bit during those days but it's also before the food aversion started.

Tks so much for sharing! At least nw I have a wider choice. Because is my first bb So everybody ard mi is giving mi advices but too much can b really overwhelming.

Yes! All the food I used to love are a big NO nw. Dun noe y will b lk tat.

I have no aversions but sometimes keep thinking about spicy foods! Can't get enough of fruits -- have eaten lots of apples, strawberries, oranges but my favorite is jambu! Doctors will advise you that most fruits are permissible but some stuff like pineapples and papayas need to take in moderation.

Simbaobao & Kyra: Did you go to the NUH fetal care centre for the test? I have an appt there on next Tues at 10am, followed by gynae appt at 11 (also NUH). What tests are the blood for?

wow ladies morning! awake so early in the morning! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

glad simbaobao's bb is fine. i'll be going for mine on wed. *cross fingers.

Chine, I don't go to Dr Koh but my bestie goes to him. I went with her for a few appts before cos her hubby works overseas.

Dr Koh is nice and patient, but his charges quite exp. Waiting time at the clinic also quite long.

Plus I find the location of his clinic quite inconvenient (hard to find parking and quite a walk from MRT).

Other than that, he's a nice gynae. He delivered my bestie's 2 kiddos :D

Thanks ladies for the opinions on circumcision. Will not think any it anymore. Realize it s mainly a Muslim thing. My Chinese fren married Malay .. So mb that s why she circumcised her son. Tot mb it s usual practice these days.: p

I eat normally. Just craving for more sweet things. Eat strawberries n blueberries everyday. Love the Korean ones. the mandarin oranges during cny time. Luckily no more at home. Superhigh in sugar that one, min 10 g of sugar each!! Love apples also (tiny ones). drink home made almond milk. Oh craving for soupy stuff also. Clear ones. Creamy ones forget it.

Bananas better don't eat too much.. Forgot why. ESP the big

ones. cooling.

Wow simbaobao can even see the shape of your bb s nose!! Power!! Hope I can see mine too. Hehe . Ho pe bb ll take hb features more .. I also hv flat nose [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but big nose usually means gd fortune!!

Serious! I was craving for it and ate 7 in a day (orange).

Use to love papaya and apple, hate them now.. Dun mind green apple though but they are usually not crunchy?

Pinkypiggy: the sugar content is for the mandarin oranges. U ate 7 ! I used to take 2 a day . After seeing the sugar content, reduced to 1-2 a week. Luckily cny ended![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Green apple!! Wah quite sourish!! u can tahan. Used to take it tog w carrot as a juice.

But still need to look for more fruit alternatives.

Oh yeah be very careful the fruits are ripe enough .

#2on the way, who is ur gynae then? is he/she good? i heard dr koh package 12 weeks is $600, i tot it is consider cheap. coz i heard hs delivery charge for natural is $800 n caesserean is 1.6k.

Chine, you sure so cheap? Cos my bestie told me his charges increased (she just delivered in June 2010). She delivered at Glen E and her total bill was super high (natural w/o epi, 2 bedder).

Hope all of you had a gd weekend!

Went for Chong Qing hot pot at suntec . Some how not as nice at tanglin. Or standard dropped? Was so full I skipped the 8 treasure rice n ice cream.

Think this time sure gain weight.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope everyone has a great sat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's a slow sat for me, the hot weather this afternoon is unbearable. Had to turn on air con to nap. :p

I am having food aversions, in particular towards chinese food. Eg. I had dinner at Lao Beijing this evening & the sight of fish maw soup & roast beijing duck didnt excite me at all.

Also, i lost the addiction for kopi-c, lemon tea or teh-c. Now only drink milo & coke! Which i hardly drink previously.

I've these reference book on "Pregnancy" & "Recipe" to let go cheap.

Bought last year and they are like new.

PM me if keen. Thanks.

I've these reference book on "Pregnancy" & "Recipe" to let go cheap.

Bought last year and they are like new.

PM me if keen. Thanks.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5155749.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5155750.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5155751.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5155752.jpg]

pinkypiggy,

The cash discount already make up for the cost of the card. That's my consideration. As for the books, trying selling them cheap at WTS. Maybe can get some $$ back to cover the cost of the card.

muffin,

I havent started researching on the fish oil yet but have checked with my gynae. Must get those that indicate it is for pre-natal as the oil is better filtered and lesser contamination. Best to get those with EPA below 100 mg and DHA above 300 mg. SHe said that too much EPA is not good. I forgot to ask her why and havent got the time to research. Will update on this again. Hope this helps.

simbaobao,

so lucky to get the Oscars done in such short time! My #1 took me 4 hrs.. sigh.. am prepared for a long one this time lor. mine is on the 17th mar. Looking forward. Starting to miss bb already.

bunnz,

I also prefer the hotpot at tanglin. Somehow got different one. So when i wanna go chongqing, it must be the tanglin one. I ever go to the suntec one for dinner and most of the non-lunch steamboat items for dinner are not available, still charged at dinner price.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Asura : yeah really very luckily BB is so co operative. Lol maybe coz of my endless reminder to baby. And we lunch before going over so BB was in a good mood.

Can't get to Slp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Am wondering is it the herbal soup granny made... I doesnt dare to drink it in past but force myself to drink it caus gang said it's gd for me n BB n it took her 4 hrs to double boiled it.

Had ai cao chicken soup for dinner soup too ESP made for us. Bought back a flask of it too. Felt so so blessed ....

Love chong Qing hotpot too

The lil desserts served complete it so well after dat Ma la sensation.

I oso find tanglin ones tasted better....

Morning everybody! Went for my scan n blood test ytd. First time hearing my bb's heartbeat, so touched n almost cried when I heard it! Lolz, think I very emo. Hope everything will n ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My weight hv been the same as before I was pregnant. Gynae is concern n told mi I hv to start gaining weight. Really hope I can start eating n put on the weight I need!

My hb never eat all the one time served food like rolled buns/egg skin /guotie/xiao long bun..

I ate all his share!!! that's why no more room for the last 3 items? :I

Somehow i think my mouth never stopped chewing throughout.

our first time to suntec's branch. next visit to chongqing wil be years later already.

Simbaobao : lucky you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think i will wait a while more before i embark on herbal soup.

at least 1st trim right? but only mum to cook for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey when can we feel movements?

I thought i felt something moving in my stomach when i put my hands on my tummy yest and this morning. just a sec only.duno imaginin things a not.

but need to really concentrate..like close eyes and in stillness environment la

BE positive Jennifer !!

how many weeks are you?

I lost 1 kg some days ago when i weighed myself.

Think gain too much also no good.. need to be steady pace.

Bunnz, some ppl start to feel some tickles quite early. I remember I feel movement from my boy during first tri. Was more like a ticklish feeling.

Good morning everyone!

Jennifer - After 1st trimester, it will just get better. So don't worry too much.

RE : Herbal soup

I also avoided all kinds of herbal soup. But don't know when then is safe to start drinking and what kinds of herbs are okay. But herbs also apply to the ang moh type, eg. Basil... not supposed to take in pregnancy. I google when needed before placing order when dining outside.

Wanna ask you gals... any comments or feedback on Combi stroller?

We saw one model we like. Light weight, easy to fold, can stand on its own after folding. Can fully recline, front and rear facing position.

The only problem is the recline position is controlled by tightening a "string" or harness they called it. Safe, like that?

The retail price is at $319....

Pommes, Combi is good and lasting brand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The recline position controlled by string is better. My boy's Graco stroller is like that, more flexi with the position & when need to change position when baby is asleep is more 'smooth'.

The other types very hard to change position & only got 2 - 4 fixed positions to choose from.

BTW, when buying stroller, must also try out if it's easy to put into your car boot if you drive :D

Cos certain models after folded quite bulky & hard to put into car boot. :D

Morning all,

I've asked my gynae regarding herbal soup, she says avoid dang gui especially. The rest of the herbs, not sure wat effects there might be cos not much studies done, so if can best to avoid also. Think she say ginseng is ok thou...

I juz received 2 pcs of maternity wear from www.asos.com! The pieces are nice and there's sales now! Free worldwide shipping, so u gals might wanna check it out. Prices are in british pound... My 2 dresses only cost 64! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnz: Currently 12weeks plus already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pommes: Thank you! Really hope so!

bunnz: granny said after 3mth can take some mild one alrdy...ytd just hit 3mth... so she made it for me... i my heart .. i was WHY hb not there la.. *lolz evilz plot*

No worries no dang gui inside... i canot stand dang guai taste/smell...

I dun really know what is tat but seem like some ginseng kind of stuffs... really freak me off when she bought out the soup.. i cannot tell her.. i dun dare to drink...so drink lo... she spent quite alots of it.. made me felt quite bad..

later miting hb for breakfast den gg to top up my fruits.. no more fruits for us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] must make sure i got enough supply of it...

After delivery also must avoid dang gui. Cos it may reduce your breastmilk. I only took it twice during confinement: My mum's friend cook pig stomach's soup for me & he got put dang gui. My milk supply for those few days was affected [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Then we realised cannot...

My mum is too excited already.

She drove all the way to my house this morning, just to remind me to eat bird nest.

& to remind me to drink more water to prevent dehydration.

oh i never like dang gui lo.. cannot stand dat weird smell/taste though alots of ppl said its good things... last time when my mum cook herbal soup i will juz u turn and run...

i was whispering to my cousin who was there.. actually is my 1st time drinkng such thing sia..she went.. HUH! hahaha