(2011/09) Sep 2011

My dogs dont take grains/carbo. If it's meat & vege, I'll need to pack separately as well? How long can I keep the frozen food?

Kyra, meat and vege must seperate. If you cooked and freeze immediately, can keep for 1 month.

My friend likes to defrost her frozen food in fridge the night before, so it takes lesser time to steam to heat up...

I normally make 2 weeks food at one go. Then weekends will hv more time to bake fish/vege for her. Sometimes will bring her to doggie cafe for dinner :D

Thanks thanks! Think I shall try with weekly batches first. That already beats cooking 7 times a week :p

I like to defrost the meat overnight in fridge too. My dogs have their own chest freezer cos I order the meat from supplier in bulk (I dont know how to shop in markets). So every night while cooking their dinner, we'll take over next day's portion to defrost in our own fridge.

Baking! Thats something Ive been wanting to try for a long long time. But 3 yrs liao, I havent bought my oven. Wahahahhaha!

Which one? The two which we used to go have closed down.

Kyra, we go to the one at Thomson. Hidden inside private estate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also have chest freezer, but it was meant for my breastmilk. hahaha!!

My hubby also buy our meat/fish from wholesaler. He likes to go to Jln Malu Malu & Woodlands.

Woo! Can share details? My dogs have been so deprived of outings. We only go to West Coast Dog Run these days.

Wah! Your supply must be very good! If I can fill my own fridge's freezer, I'm very happy liao.

I got a pdt list from them and order through email. Keke! Cos wont know how to choose personally even if I go down. For our own consumption, usually my mum will help me buy from wet markets and pack into 2pax portions. But those are rare occasions. We usually eat out or at parents' place. So currently, my own freezer is filled with ice-cream, ice cubes and some instant food (hash browns/fish fingers) only.

Kyra, my mentality is... the more milk I produce, the more $$ I save. At tt time, we were low wage earners lah... So saving money is top priority!!

I can't rmb the address offhand cos I only know how to drive there.... I ask my hubby tonight :D

I don't bring my dog to dog runs already... cos she very naughty... Will bully smaller dogs... but when bigger dogs come near her, she will hide behind me for cover.... useless dog....

We bring her around our neighbourhood only...

re. carriers/ breast pump

hee 1st time mummies, dun rush to buy k. actually can wait till later. best esp if you can tried it out first esp the breast pump. coz what works for one may not work for another.

medala pumps always have very good feedback but it cannot work for me coz the suction is too strong and the nipple shield is too small for me even if i buy the larger shield cover. i kept getting sores and rubbing against aerola, very painful. have not tried out avent before. based on #2's positive feedback, very tempted to try but too exp to buy another pump. my current pump is ameda and it works good for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i agreed that dual pump r better, saves more time.

BMSG has pumps for mothers to try out and you can decide if to get from them too. not sure if they still provide the service now. they also have workshops for mothers keen on bf, wanted to attend last time but dates couldn't match. can check them out.

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/home/index.php

carriers - diff mummies with diff sizes may prefer diff types of carriers. but based on my previous research, best is the type that have bbs facing mummies. even though bbs cannot see the "outside world", they feel more secure facing mummy and this is supposedly better for their developing spine and pelvic bones. mine's ergo carrier and it's really good for me but i have also heard very positive feedback on beco carrier.

siangjiao, hope you r better now. did your gynae ok your air travel, esp given that you recently bleed?

kyra, congrats! 42" is really big [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't really rem the diff but a doc once told me cysts is solid, then fibroids are like liquid, i tink :p polyps usually found in vagina area r more like blood lumps? dun worry too much. i had a cyst before with #1 but it disappear on its own after some time. usually harmless to bb, gynae will monitor.

pommes, oh, you jia you k. 14 days of all work and no break is really a drag :p as for stroller, i do think it's better for bb to face you, at least got interaction and bb wun be so bored/feel insecure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnz, i had very itchy stomach during #1 too. must be careful what you applied on tummy, some make the itch worst. i realised i couldn't applied any stretch mark cream then, cocoa butter and olive oil made the itch very much worst and all red. so in the end i only applied cooling aloe vera gel, works great to relieve itch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dorset_baby, be careful it dun turn into piles. piles r really troublesome n irritating. had piles during 3rd trim for my #1 and it never really go away since. still bothering me now, sometimes itchy, sometimes uncomfy. did you take spicy food, sometimes hot feeling is coz of spicy food stuff :p

#2, wow! you have a very doting mother! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#2 and kyra, for a minute there, i tot you were talking abt prep food for toddlers, then got a surprise when i realise it's for your dogs, haha! your dogs are really lucky and yes, have such a good life [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I miss tea... I oso wan my sugarless bubble tea but I doesn't dare to take unless gyane gave the green light.

I oso wan my cold cold de green tea soba...

oohh i missed heaven and earth ice lemon tea, it's so refreshing and light. dun dare drink now. haha i'm the more traditional type, restrict myself from lots of food/drinks...

Thanks sung for the advice. I ll try to get my hands on the avent manual at mothercare first . 39 at special px. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like what #2 advised as well.

Funny to talk of tea, I was eyeing the drinks at the aisle at ntuc. Juice, tea , pink dolphin.. In e end never buy any. Just bgt my normal groceries.

I accompanied my wife for OSCAR last week at TMC ... baby is now at 12w2d and measured at 5.79cm ...

The sonographer managed only to perform the measurement at the 3rd attempt as the baby was not in the "ideal" position. I noticed the sonographer made several measurement and the result of 2.3 keeps repeating on the screen. Not sure what does it represent.

My wife has been "spotting" on and off since late February and consulted the gynae and he did a swap test to check on the cause ... so far no phone call from the clinic, ie. no news is good news ... he also mentioned nothing can be done if the fetal really wants to "drop" ... sound scary ... but i think he means medically, there isn't any ways to prevent it ...

Here is our info ...

BB #2 (no. 1 is now P2)

EDD: 09Sep11 (initially on 14Sep11)

Gynea: Dr. Lawrence Ang

Hospital: TMC

Area: Admiralty

simbaobao,

i love tea! i'm a tea person coz dun drink coffee. very hard to resist tea, esp my fav chinese pu er tea. trying hard to control, as long as dun see, at least better lol!

can we drink bubble tea??

for my first preg i was so anal about coffee and tea but then again, my first preg was a breeze.. no ms so i just ate and ate.. i also avoided cold drinks like the plague.. and faithfully drank a glass of mamil milk every morning...

this round coz i have ms, i have to watch wat i eat.. so teh-o seems to be fine for me.. so i limit myself to one cup a day.. wasn't sure about bubble tea though.. but #2 say hb bot koi then suddenly i gian bubble tea again haha..

didn't know cannot eat carrot cake.. not that i have eaten any lately but also like the dish alot..

sung: can drink chinese tea?? i tot that's like a no-no.. same as green tea? was at a wedding on sat and the food was good then i ate so much and towards the end was so tempted to drink chinese tea to wash it all down but didn't dare haha...

Choco, we r not supposed to. But with my indigestion constipation, I steal a quarter cup last week. Stomach feels so relieved after that, not so bloated :p it's supposedly quite cooling so not good to hv. I can't resist, am used to at least a cup a day. It's my first sip since preg :p

Hi-5 choco! To fragrant tea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i must have tea everyday last time.. my mum kept scolding me said its like a drug to me.. any kind of tea as long as i had it.. if not, be like low batt the whole day...

During cny.. everyone was drinking tea infornt of me till i bth.. i went.. CAN U ALL stop coming near me with TEA! sigh

I know i can be "notti" but decided to be good for ones.. coz green tea is very liang for us asian woman according to the sin seh my family is seeing..

Durian? i run @ the smell of it...

Durians not my kind of fruits ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All kinds of tea n coffee I dun mind not drinking at all. But masala tea or coffee from Indian restaurants... Makes me go gaga. That time hb drank.. I can only sniff it. Like so poor thing. Some more free flow!! Provided at a seminar.

haha me too. yup i too heard chinese tea (same as green tea?) too cooling for us ladies, even if not preg. i have backache so got to restrict intake of chinese and jap tea, can satisfy instead with ice lemon tea, teh, teh-o, etc but now all cannot <pout!>

muffin, i love durian, just sneak a durian pancake last week. but felt quite queasy after taking it. plus i dun tink it's doing my consitpation any good haha. dun tink i will take again till 3rd trim [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good nites mummies! going to zzz now, hope we can all have undisrupted sleep tonight. hates insonmia. hope tonight can sleep through [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning!! I'm on my way for the oscar test at TMC, such a wet morning to drive. You mummies take care too. I couldn't bear to read all the entries on tea last night, it made me crave so bad. Hahah

Good morning everyone!

Gina- enjoy Ur time with Ur little one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Simbaobao - u're up early, hope u r back to Ur bed now. Is such a nice weather to sleep in.

I miss my Teh Si most.

Re: stroller

Will discuss with hubby again. Anyway taka baby fair is

starting tomo. Hope can drop by.

Re: breasts pump

So glad there's discussion now. have better understanding.

Okay have to go wash up n get ready for work. Wish I could go back to my bed.

Good Morning Ladies

SJ: I asked the doc to give me long m/c , you are rite normally the doc give 2 days m/c thats wat she kept givin me since two weeks before i went on HL. in fact i insisted and i noe she cannot give long m/c until she hospitalizes me hence it was my suggestion to go for HL.

I spoke to my boss ystd he has a replacement for me which does nt bother me a lot since i will be goin to a new project of which i will noe tomorrow and i always wanted to get out of the previosu project (very demandin client)

I went to a few maternity shops ystd, went to centre point did nt buy anything there, then to harbour front centre and vivo city bot pants worth 100 buks from modern maternity (i am so fussy abt pants but this shop had really good ones the fabric is really good)and a top (30 doolars), then went to mother care bot a top (24 dollars) took a look at strelizers, bb cot, breast pump, stroller(with car seat built in and especially for joggers) roughly got a feel of the range and also got belly belt(23 dollars).. i also sum shops sellin sumthing similar to bb plus

hello ladies, good morning ... by right supposed to be a good night to sleep with the pouring rain, but i was tossing and turning, all disturbed by the lightning flashes.

Breast pump: agree that dual is better than single, save time. cos as you pump one breast, the other will letdown too, so might as well, pump both at the same time. Yah, personally i don't find the suction for Ameda very strong, but i think it can clear 80-90% of the milk. Then, i'll use the Avent hand pump to clear the last bit. During work, then i solely use the hand pump, cos i can pack everything nicely into a tupperware. The electric one would have been too bulky and ley chey cos i travel by company transport. I work in a male dominated company, so sometimes the guys will ask what's inside my "little black lunchbox bag". Then i tell them, its breakfast, lunch and tea for my son tomorrow. Then they *zip*. Haha..

Ooh, i love koi and gong cha a lot a lot! But stopping completely cos my sugar level has always been high. It runs in my family unfortunately.

Sung: Gynea gave the green light to fly if everything is alright. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, read the earlier posts and seems like most mummies are tea lover. In my first pregnancy I really endure not to have my daily teh si...till about 8mth, cannot tahan....but now in my 2nd pregnancy, I asked my gynae and he said fine to have a cup of tea/coffee a day, so I just go ahead and drink. I think it generally makes me happier with my daily dose of tea....so I think being happy mum will make my bb happy too! As for bubble tea,I also drink...just that I share with hubby.

My mum nagged at my hubby. Told him can only buy Koi for me once a week. And don't let me drink any tea at home (we stock up a lot of tea at home).

Good morning all!

Agree with sung on the breast pump. Better to try before buy. I also have ameda for #1 but my supply was very low. This round, hope got more supply. Any ways to increase supply? I also want to fill my fridge freezer...hee (wishing!)

I say the mothercare sales. I want to quinny stroller but only 5 sets. I dont think i can ever get it. Sob sob.

BTW, i have a combi carrier. Anyone use before cos when i tried my my #1 when he was young he hates it. Now i'm thinking if i should buy another brand for #2 but such a waste of $.

Gina: good luck [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] baby pls b in a good position ... Remember to say CHEEZEZ.... Hehe

Oh Taka fair starts today??? Hopefully can swing by to take a look if got time later on...

After all the tea tok Ytd... My mind is full of floating tea in my dream...

Pommes: sigh din managed to Slp back... Once woke up.. Very hard for me to get back into slping mode... It b another zombie day for me..

Velo, latch and pump, latch and pump. Drink loads of liquid (water, fruits, soup). Rest as much as you can.

I remember my confinement/maternity days were:

Latch, pump, sleep/watch TV, eat, drink soup, latch pump, play computer/sleep, eat, drink soup, and the cycle just repeats :p

Crazy stuff I've tried to increase milk supply:

- Fenugreek seeds cooked in soup (works very well)

- Fenugreek pills (when I went back to work, effective, but not as effective as the soups)

- Organic Mother's Milk Tea (effective but hate the taste)

- Make hubby latch when baby refuse to latch (to stimulate and produce more milk)

- Massage boobies everyday

- Drown myself in water (at least 4L a day)

- Try all sorts of recipes for soups/food that increase BM

- Drink hot milk/milo before latch/pump (helps in letdown)

In the end, the water/soups with fenugreek are most effective.

To increase supply, you must trick your body into thinking that baby needs more milk. So pumping after latch is the best way. Once your boobies totally empty, your brain will think that you've got not enough milk and send signal to boobies to make more milk.

morning ladies

choco15: have pm you

i suppose all slept well.

i didnt even know it was raining.

slept really well ln [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mb cos i ate well before sleeping too :p

waiting to drop by taka baby fair tom.

legs itchy to go walking

Gina: have fun with your bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

these days:i always feel bb is swimming in my tummy ..

#2 : good tips. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simbaobao: nice weather today. u have whole day to sleep whenever

Virgo MTB; u shd be back to work tmr if i rem correctly? take things easy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ohayo Mummies!

Envied all who slept well..., woke up at 2.30am to go empty my bladder, tossed and turned till 4am and ended up eating toast as my stomach was growling!~ GRRR...

Its better to avoid all caffeine-rich drinks during our pregnancy (coffee, tea and carbonated drinks like coke *sad*) as they are diuretics and cause our bodies to give up water (i.e. urinate more) in order to discharge the high content of acidity. But I guessed its all worth it!

Other than tea, does anyone have weird cravings or totally turned off by certain food? For me, I cannot stand the sight and smell of chicken!!! Even if the sky rains KFC now FOC, I also don't want!!!

Morning to all, have been puking since last nite till now. Really cannot go to work. So stress to take leave now coz still under probation. Stress that will affect my performance n lose my job. Sigh!

I am already in week 14th yet ms is still here! Arrgghh! Shoo ms, please go away!

bunnz: today can't slp.. nid to go out to settle alots of stuffs... i had been grounded at home for the past 3 mths.. haha so today.. hopefully my strenght are back to walk walk walk...

hopefully can get some new dress... i realised baby hate me to be in pant.. baby felt so "tight" up whenever i sat down.. simply lve freedom like the mother.. haha in the past 20yrs years.. am never a short/pant person... always in skirt/dress... but coz of wrk.. had to be in pant more often...

nw is back to my dresses time.. hehe

Taka baby fair is starting tml...big wu long.. i tot is today... dunno can go anot.. hb is on shift wrk.. only off on sat n sun.. den he will said it be too crowded...

gina, good luck! hope u can see bb dancing n waving at you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

siangjiao, oh good, be careful overseas and with your luggage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#2, wow, your hb will latch on for you :p hee i asked my hb once coz very bad block and massage lady suggest he help me suck out, he was so embarrased and shy hee hee :p

btw, hee bug you hor, where do you buy the fenugreek seeds? i want to try to increase bm!! haha no need to store up fridge as long as enough to fully latch for bb, i'm contended [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simbaobao & blossomsbb, yup me too, once wake up to pee, sure cannot get back to sleep. so i dread the nightly call to pee, if can tahan, i try my best not to get up. i know it's unhealthy to bear with it, but if can't get back to sleep, i'm usually unbearably grouchy in the day :p

sung: no matter i got drink water before slp anot.. i will still wake up to pee.. -_-"

ya lo.. am alrdy feeling the effect nw... he saw me damm pek chek den ask.. err bubble TEA u cannot drink but how abt ice blended? haha can make do anot.. i rolled my eyes...

Sung, can get from any Indian dry goods store that sell all the spices [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morn mummies!

I used to wake up in the wee hrs to pee n couldn't get back to sleep. After I told the nurse, she advised me not to drink after 9pm n pee b4 heading to bed. It works for me. In addition, I get my hubby to massage my feet n it helps to make me sleep a lot better. Hope the above helps.

#2,

U were saying to try the pump b4 buying from hopsital. May I check with u which is the hospital which provide this wonderful service? I would like to try b4 committing. ;)

#2: Good tips [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sorry, i laughed a bit when i saw that you made your hubby latch. haha.. but i guess when you need milk, or to clear those blocked boobs, every single method count yah.

I had my fair share of woes at the beginning too when the milk volume was pathetic. i think constant latching and pumping will stimulate more milk. Papaya with fish soup works for me too. My mum continued cooking lotsa fish soup even after my confinement. But my fav all time method is still eating oatmeals. Much as i hated, i still forced a bowl down everyday. And stay stress free! it affects milk production too... seriously