(2011/09) Sep 2011

oops ... i had been taking barley all along cos my mum says its ok (but to my mum, everything is also ok one.. haiz)

But i really needed something cooling. No excuses though. My face is bursting with zits. Sometimes i feel so heaty until my head feels like a pressure cooker.

BlossomsBB: I used the Ameda dual lactaline breast pumps. Not too bad, but find the Avent hand pump better (though the hand end up very sng). Gotten it during the taka baby fair, i find the price much better than any other time. No hurry though, in Aug, there is another taka baby fair. If i get a good bonus this year, maybe i'll invest in a posh Medela pump. Ex, but many people says worthed it!

SJ, I had the Ameda pump and the Avent Duo. Avent wins, no doubts about that. Ameda is good if you need to pump at places with no electrical socket cos it can be operated with batteries (I use it in the car when we go out).

Alamak really cannot take carrot cake ar? I ate it almost every week eh...

I oso took some barley those Chinese barley in the ginko beancurd dessert coz my gyane said ok wor...

Was told barley if cooked more then 15 min will lost it's cooling effect

Simbaobao, that's what my mum told me too...

Barley that has been boiled until the water is very thick is not cooling anymore...

If want cooling barley, you must boil the water first... then add in the barley to boil for 1 minute then turn off already...

hi pooh,

can add me to the list?

EDD: 25 Sep

Nick: mareikebb

BB#: 1

Gynae: Dr Fong Yang

Hospital: TBA

btw ladies, anyone knows where can go for pre-natal yoga?

#2 : u win Liao .. :p pinespple tarts is ok cos been cooked already. That s what mum says.

can even express in car??

Barley n even green bean I dun eat already :/

Fedex called n says they ll deliver tmr. Now finger crossed I get everything!

But bb fair in aug, stomach ll be very big. Duno can still drive a not. Any preg mummies drove till full term?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] already find sear belt not very comfy .

Bunnz, cos on my way home from work. Hubby pick me up, need 30 - 40min to reach home. & my boobs felt like bursting cos so busy at work. So express in the car on my way home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] & in the past, there's not much nursing rooms available at shopping centres... So I also express in the car on our way home from movie dates...

Eh... I'm avoiding driving if I can cos I find that my reaction is a bit slow now. I also find the seatbelt uncomfy but there's a seat belt clip you can get [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hehe i Juz ate watever I can put inside my mouth now... Seeing foods now made me wanna puke... My bro was commenting how come I dun seem to had interest in foods now...

Mum was scolding me tat I didn't give enuff nutrients to BB but I really had no mood to tink of foods now... Even my fav foods...

Simbaobao, my mum also nag at me. My hubby tell her I not interested in food. Will puke like mad.

Then I said that the only thing I won't puke out is bird's nest and my mum send bird nest over every few days... hahahahahahah!!!!

And she tell my hubby to buy anything I crave for. Got food inside better than no food.

hey bunnz,

i used to do yoga for 2 years +, and am thinking of going back now. Your yoga instructor said you shouldnt be doing? I thought yoga is really good for the body and to help with the delivery... (i also checked with my gynae and he said, go for it cos it's good!)

Well i dont think power or vinyasa classes will suit us anymore, but hatha and prenatal should work right?

Pommes, wow that's so coincidental! if all remains the same, we might meet on the 17th! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can't seem to keep any food or drink now since yesterday. I felt extremely exhausted . N mil remarks always piss me off saying my Bb not growing well at the rate I'm puking . Sianz.

Abt the breast pumps, is single or dual breast pumps better? I'm considering the medela swing but it's only single. It's portable than dual ones n it's battery or power operated. But my frens recommend dual ones as they feel is more efficient.

SJ: Thanks for the recommendation! I also worried that its too early to get the stuff at this round Taka fair, so there's one in Aug, then got time!

Muffin: Yes Yes same gynae! What a coincidence! I am going to see Dr. Poon tomolo evening..., when's your visit? Have u done the Down Syndrome and blood tests?

Igop, I prefer dual :D Tried single and gave up. One side leaking like mad while I'm pumping the other side. Some more 20-30 minutes per side = 1hour for both sides! With dual, only 20 - 30minutes for both sides :D

Scycho Sis: I m still few days shy of 12 weeks. He was supposed to be doing hatha class yest. He has his own unique style of practice .Turned to be a very challengin class also. He knows yest s practice is not for me. He said I shd o for prenatal yoga instd. Says I can take the practice but the little one may not be able to handle the large amounts of oxygen level suddenly. I so miss all the power classes.:/

#2: oi c . Saves some time also.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will see if I find the set belt clip.

Bunnz, if you intent to get Avent Duo, then get Avent manual first. If you intend to get Medela's pumps, then get Medela's manual first.

Cos most of the parts are the same, you won't 'waste' the manual one after converting to the electric one :D

I also think dual pump is better but the medela one is so ex! I went to check out the mums&babes website and its going for close to 1k *heartpain*

I decided to ask my friend to lend me her dual pump to try first before investing in one...

So its really true that for a normal pregnancy till birth, the expenses with all the baby stuff thrown in, supplements, gynae visits etc... around 10k!!!! *horrors*

#2 thanks for the advice. I think I will go for medela pump in style aft I read so many gd reviews on amazon uk n boots uk.

Hope the money is well spent.

Blossoms, cheaper alternative: Buy 2nd hand pump. Then go get a new set of the funnel/tubes (for hygiene purposes). Will be much cheaper this way.

Mine is Avent Duo (retail $899). We bought 2nd had $300 (with warranty). Then buy the whole brand new funnel set and tube/valve for $100. End up still cheaper [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And I used it for 18mths, my gf used it for 1yr and loaned to another gf for 6mths and my colleague for 6mths. They all bought new funnels for hygiene purposes.

So really worth it.

And this is how I calculate:

Every month formula milk = $200

Pump = $400 (cos buy 2nd hand)

BF for at least 2 mths will be worth it already.

I BF for 18mths = save a lot of $$$$ :D

Bunnz, if you are unsure if wanna spend so much on pump, get manual first. When sure got milk and you wanna invest, then send hubby out to buy it. :D

If you are very sure you wanna invest and by hook or by crook will produce milk, then go ahead and buy in your last trimester :D

Igop, pump is very personal. I tried the Medela PIS in hospital but don't like it. Too strong. Feel like my nipples are getting ripped off! Still prefer Avent cos more gentle and can customise the suction better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow thanks #2 for your advice! Its something that is definitely worth considering but thanks again for suggesting this to me! As a first-time mum, I am really trying to struggle with so many things to find out and what I dont know (in schools, teachers never teach us how to become a mother and cope with pregnancy or bb!!!), but so glad I have this forum to turn to!

#2 that's a funny description ! May I ask u the avent duo , beside can customize the suction, any more advantages over your ameda one? Bcos I have seen frens using ameda ones and it gave them v gd result.

Igop, comparing Ameda and Avent Duo (based on my boob's feedback):

Avent can clear my boobies faster and more efficiently.

Ameda is more portable but I find the suction weaker than Avent.

My milk supply increased tremendously after I started using Avent (was using Ameda for 1mth before that).

At first I thought Ameda was good. But after trying PIS and Avent at hospital (before we decided which we wanted), I still like Avent better.

And with Ameda, I got more incidences of blocked ducts due to the poorer suction. With Avent only once (cos I was in a hurry at work and nvr pump until empty).

I think Ameda is good for SAHM who get to latch often. For FTWM who mostly depend on pump, Avent/PIS will be better investment.

Forgot to mention, Ameda is more noisy and it only works better when placed on a flat surface like table/chair. Cos I pump on bed, find that the pump doesn't work very well when I place it on the bed (cos got no table/chair nearby).

But must remember: Ameda can use battery (can pump anywhere). Avent no battery.

My Ameda set sold away already....

So this time, we are going to buy an Ameda set to complement the Avent :D

Cos predicting that I'll be shuttling between home and new centre alot, so if can pump while I drive will save time :D

Thanks for the info! A bit confused now. Hehe I will be home between the day to breastfeed. But still need to invest in a pump right? I like to think by hook or by crook.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] more motivated.

The ulcer is killing me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Is Bonjela safe for pregnancy?

Welcome Blossom! I stay in Hougang too, at Ave 9 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Like you, I also find myself struggling to get more info. And the worse thing is, I somehow cannot remember them well! These baby terms/items just dont come naturally to me. Was totally lost when we stepped into Mothercare last week :p

Igop, yup! Avent ISIS Duo :D

Bunnz, in that case, you may want to wait till after delivery then go try out the different pumps and see which one you like better?

Or just plunge into one that fits your budget :D

Hi Muffin, yeah I did both tests when I was 12 weeks..., will be collecting my test report tomolo. I did call up the clinic after a week of the test as I was worried sick and scaring myself silly haha, but Dr. Poon said results were ok so nothing to worry... It was a huge relief. My worries stemmed because I had a 6cm cyst during my week 8 scan and that really freaked me out! Thank goodness the cyst went away by week 11...

Kyra, I used normal salt direct on ulcer. Pain but effective. Nvr used Bonjela cos don't like the texture/taste. If you dun wanna put salt direct, gargle with salt water. I find it good too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All the info will come along the way.... don't worry!

I was very thankful to have close friends who were mummies to guide me.

Also thankful that during my studies, we were taught a lot on nutrition/pregnancy/baby care too, especially breastfeeding.

Forum is good place to get info, but remember: One man's meat is another man's poison. Everyone got different styles and beliefs, so do as you and your hubby are comfy :D

I personally don't really believe in those old wives' tales. So my mum calls me a bad influence when I tell my friends/cousins that certain things no need to follow :p

& I'm very anal about herbs for infants. My friend give their kid 'jin feng san' which is some powder to prevent them from getting scared.

I don't allow at all cos I dunno what is inside (infant kidney/liver are very immature and may not be able to process).

So my mum says I'm very 'anal' and troublesome.

Anyway, my boy grew up well without all those herbal remedies.... So I still don't believe in using them :p

#2 thanks so much for the info. Will consider carefully before Investing in 1.

Totally agree that there's many info n knowledge 1st mum has to digest. And it's indeed ex to have a Bb in sin bcos we are all buying export stuff.

Hi Muffin, yeah I did both tests when I was 12 weeks..., will be collecting my test report tomolo. I did call up the clinic after a week of the test as I was worried sick and scaring myself silly haha, but Dr. Poon said results were ok so nothing to worry... It was a huge relief. My worries stemmed because I had a 6cm cyst during my week 8 scan and that really freaked me out! Thank goodness the cyst went away by week 11...

Hi Kyra, nice meeting you in this forum hehe..., to find out more, I talked alot to friends or colleagues with kids and of course from this forum hehe...

Hi blossomsbb, thank God yr results are gd and the cyst went away. a polyps was found ydae.. thats cld b y he has push forward my scheduled app. doc says shd be fine but wont be removing for now ,hopefully when i deliver it will come out . that is one possibility

Muffin, usually if nvr come out during delivery, gynae will just quickly get it out (before stitching up). That was what happened for one of the ladies I knew from another thread.

Muffin, don't worry and think too much about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Must focus on keeping yourself happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy mummy = happy baby :D

Hi Muffin, all will be fine don't worry..., most important is to relax and stay happy then bb will be happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When I first visited my gynae, I was facing slot of stress at work and from hearing about ectopic pregnancy and miscarriages from friends around me... So the first thing I asked Dr Poon was is my embryo in the uterus and he gave me the puzzled look lolx

Just googled on bonjela, apparently not quite safe to be used during pregnancy. Will try salt tonight *OUCH*

Yeah! I'm so glad there's this thread. Now considering if I shd also move to Aug's thread cos gynae said I might have to deliver by w38. But I'm not really active so it will be a challenge to keep up with 2 threads :p

Haha! I'm one who have broken all too many "rules" too. Esp on my diet and some old wives' tales on the dos and donts. So far, we welcome any good advices that come our way but have agreed on the side that we shall do as we deem fit when time comes, since every family has different practices. We have also learnt from rearing dogs over the years. No single food is the best food, only your dog will tell you what's best for him. In fact among my friends with dogs, I think we are doing things most unconventionally and not trusting alot of commercial products. Am lucky that I have found a vet who supports some of our ideas too.

So far my mum has proven to be a very chin chye person - right from our wedding - she everything also Shui Bian. Even told us to go for honeymoon wedding to save the hassle! MIL might be more conservative but I'm only meeting her tonight (see how it goes). Gynae also very chin chye but sinseh stricter with me. Friends...range from very chin-chye to very anal :p

BTW ladies, what's the difference between cysts, polyps and fibroids? I'm found with 2 fibroids at w12 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kyra, my dog has skin allergy cannot take any meat/meat products at all. Even commercial dog food with fish/vege only also cannot!

We resorted to cooking for her everyday. Fresh steamed fish, rice, veges... Sometimes I think she has better life than me!!

Same same! I used to be able to cook 2 meals for them daily before I got married. Staying with parents brought about alot of convenience. Eversince we shifted into our own place, every morning is a mad rush. So we went back to kibbles for breakfast but I managed to find one that is grain free. For dinner we serve steamed meat (fish/pork/beef/mutton) + variety of vege. I'm hoping to learn how to cook in batches so that we can go back to 2 meals of homecooked food.

Kyra, I cooked in batches when we did not have maid. What I did was to cook large pot of rice, chop and scald a lot of veges (roots I boil cos take longer to cook).

Pack the rice with vege into individual portions (we use ziploc bags). Then fish cut into per portion (1 large slice). Pack fish in ziploc seperately (1 slice per bag).

Then morning once wake up, I put the frozen rice/vege with fish in electric steamer. I will go about to wash up and change. By that time, the food is reheated already. I take out to let it cool while I pack my handbag. Then serve just before heading out :D

When we come home, same thing, rice/vege with fish in steamer. Then we do simple housework/cook our own dinner while it steams in steamer. Let it cool, serve :D

Must keep the meat/fish seperate from rice/vege to prevent cross contamination :D