(2011/09) Sep 2011

good morning

heard there is another baby fair this long weekend @ expo... i haven't get a single thing.. hopefully hb will bring us there to walk walk IF baby decided to revel his/her gender on thur :p

Jennifer: i been getting very hungry recently too and kept looking for foods... really scary.. but on certain foods.. the moment i see foods.. i had this wan to run feeling.. -_-"

Anyone experience high body temp now? starting was so freezing cold.. can't even on air con to slp.. now i can even sweat with air con on -_-"

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

BALANCE 10 BOXES OF TRIPLUS ALL RESERVED.

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Jennifer

Me now past my 19th week. Was from 54kg till now about 62-3kg. So, I think shd be ok? =p

Simbaobao

My body is those very 'han2' type, according to chinese sinseh - so i always need to cover myself with blanket when i sleep, with fan. My feet will usually be cold as well. But ever since with bb, now i dun even sleep with my blanket, unless it's really cold. Think we will feel even hotter when the bb gets bigger. =)

so i always says that my bbs is my warmer. heehee

Hi Mareike, I understand that the gynae will measure the length of the cervix and will suggest a cerclage if the length is less than 4cm if I'm not wrong. Apparently, my doc said mine was ok when he checked.

It was on one Sunday that I felt very mild menstrual cramps since the morning, then later in the afternoon, there was a ti y trail of blood when I wiped after peeing. So I called my gynae's nurse and she told me to go to A&E immediately. The doc saw via u/s that my cervix was opened and that bb's foot was sticking out. That phone call saved my bb!

When the cervix shortens or open too early, it's considered a weak or incompetent cervix.

There's a lot of info on the web if u google. The Sister in the hospital told me that those menstrual cramps feelings I had were contractions. She said it's impt to differentiate such cramps from the stretching pains, they are different.

poppy: haha my mum n hb always said i am 火星人.. i can slp without blanket before preggy.. but after preggy.. even a 24degee can freeze me.. nw i am getting warmer.... always throw the blanket to hb n he will covered us back.. and i will kick again.. *oppz*

Sleepiey

That's really scary experience. Is this your first BB? It must be a roller coaster for you. Do rest well.

I had spotting (fresh blood) from 6th - 7th week and was placed on bedrest. Since then, I also tried to minimise walking etc.

How do you differentiate cramps from stretching pains?

Simbaobao: We have not gotten a single thing for baby too.. Just wish to confirm gender, and see if my cousins are willing to part with their baby clothings etc before spending extra money to buy new stuff! I'm also feeling hot now..turn on air con can also perspire! But usually at night then it's a problem for me.

Have not felt (maybe I have) the fluttering! Is something wrong with me..?

Morning ladies , guess our babies are turning us to hot mums . I was scared of cold in the 1st trimester but now tends to get hot easily .

I get bloated easily during the past week n ms was bAck yesterday. Vomited a few times and spent the whole day sleeping. I only put on 3 kg n for the 1st time in my life I wish I cAn put on more weight ...

koume - me too! I haven't felt anything yet and I'm aready mid-way of my week 18.

sleepiey - what a close shave! Good that you have no work stres.. Can really rest well.

RE: Hunger and Thirsty

Have been constantly thirsty since preggie. definitely eating more than my 1st trimester. Haven't weighted myself recently, dunno got past 50kg or not.

RE: Feeling hot

Yesterday was so hot that this morning, I have heat rash again. But i think the cool weather this morning help abit, if not the heat rash would have been more.

Jessica

I tot during detail scan, they have to make sure to scan the gender no matter how?

For renovation, its better not to go inside the unit until almost rdy. U can ask yr hb to take fotos for u to see.

Renovation - I renovated my house in year 05/06 and spent 24K which including doing up all the floor tiles etc. Tat time no kids so didn't bother to tink abt kid safety. Now my cosy corner meant for reading corner/tea corner become a toys corner, and i throw away my coffee table for more space.

I suggest u dun have too many furniture so that u have more space as kids need more space to move around/crawling/running around etc.

Pommes

car seat which can last longer age should be ok.

But the length of the car seat u shown seems to be best for up to age of 3.

#2,

Thanks! Probably missed ur post that the cushion is only available at Philips TPY. Am borrowing from my colleague to check out the fit before I buy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I been sweating during sleep and heat rashes/eczema flare up as well. Last trim shd be v hot i rem. But for no 1 my confinement is in June and very very hot. tis time shd be a colder climate i suppose.

Last weekend went to zoo with no 1.. walk until can't walk and have to stop and take short breaks but my boy no patience to wait for me, plus the sky look crowdy n hb rushing me to quickly leave zoo. I have body ache the whole day after tat.

Just went for my gynae appt this morning. BB not very cooperative but there was something sticking out and two balls. Gynae said 90% confirm that I am expecting a bb boy but ask me to wait until detailed scan to do shopping. Bb is 11.4 cm from head to tailbone. She din give me any estimation on the weight though.

how's everyone feeling? hope u had a gd weekend!!

My mood is extra good today plus had an extra treat this morning (saw a 30mins live demo of yoga cum acrobatics vis rope, so awesome)..mb cos i didnt have to teach a lot over the weekend.only half the original schedule

Jennifer : i m also always lookin for food. but never gain much weight..still the same weight if not lost 1 kg!! anyone like me? in my 18th week. i thought i gain 1 kg but lost back the weight in the next few days.

sleepiey : sounds super scary..rest well!!thanks for sharing your experience. i sincerely hope none of all the pregnant ladies will ever have to go through this.

I'm still counting my blessings everyday for the little one.

asura79 : sounds like 100% confirmed to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simbaobao: ask your hb so sweet talk your bb la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babyfair: most likely will skip the expo fair this round.. will be bz this weekend. plus no urge to buy anything yet.

bunnz,

hahaha.. yah.. i think quite confirmed but my gynae say to play safe and wait cos bb din open legs wide. She had to scan from different directions to see the stick and balls. lol

By the way, i saw ur FB. Think we were from the same class during our first 3 months in CJC.

hihi..

i just ordered a cot from Metro infant sale..

the size of cot is 65cmW x124cmL so the width of mattress is 60cm x 120cm..

I am wondering if 60cm width is too small for bb? they said the cot can be convered to jnr bed and be used till 5 yrs old.. what do u all t hink ah.. although too late to ask.

Ellysia: Re detailed scan, I also thought we'll know the gender for sure during that session. Even if bb dun open legs, I thought they can 'disturb' until bb does. Read forums and saw that people actually spend 45 mins or even hours waiting for bb to open leg, but this is not the case for mine.

Me and HB felt that the radiologist was not very patient. After 2 min of 'disturbance' , she gave up and say cannot see gender, have to wait till my next gynae visit. She was the same one who did our OSCAR, and that experience wasn't fantastic as well.

Needless to say, this DS did not leave a good impression of TMC on me . I'm just glad I will not be delivering there.

Re renovation, I will visit my new house if they are not doing anything. Won't totally avoid going. HB is not the traditional type, and he didn't know it was due to pantang-ness that people advise preggie mums not to go to houses undergoing renovation. All along, he thought it was because of health reasons (lots of dust and dirt) that preggie mums should not go.

Sleepiey, it was really lucky you called your gynae and the nurse was able to give you good advice. thank god now all is well! do bedrest totally and an tai!

bunnz & asura, regarding the raspberry tea, sounds like worth a try. i shall try to drink it from wk 34 then. hope it helps me with the labour pain.

asura, ooh.. it seems that most likely your bb is a prince! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think my ms is returning again. been feeling nausous after meals for the past 1 week. today feels really bad coz having flu and sore throat. shall have to go and see GP again for my flu and sore throat. arghhh.. hate to keep falling sick. n the insomnia at night isn't helping! anyway to overcome insomnia?

Hello all mummies!

sleepiey: wat a scare u had! pls rest well..

mareike: oh dear..i hate the feeling of nausea too..

just seen my gynae today..mine is a boy..no wonder the symptoms were so different from my first pregnancy!

was relieved that the "opening" he saw in my uterine lining has closed after the removal of the polyp..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi woofie - wonder how do you remove the polyp?

My gf recently has this and shes due for ops. sounds scary.

Sleepiey: Rest well, that was really a close shave.

Hi Rumi - actually the cot lenght of 1.24m is not very long. i doubt can be converted to toddler bed. Maybe my gal is big size.. shes like 95 cm (maybe more - havnet measured her for a few mths now) and shes out of her cot since 4 mths back and right now sleeping on sofa bed while we scout for toddler bed.

BTW - my cot was a handmedown and its very huge liek the american size bb cot like that. Personally i find that to ensure your bb cot can last longer and for the comfort of your child, try getting the biggest bb cot. so that when the child gets older, they flip and turn and still have space. My gf bought 1 from ikea and the cot looks so small on him before he even turn 1. The boy still sleepnig inside (now 2 years plus) but very squeezy cos there isnt much room for him to turn at all. Anyway these are just my 2 cents worth

Afternoon all! Been busy the past week, and finally got a chance to come up today to catch up. So many posts! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah, I'm also feeling the heat, always very hot now, and just a little while without the fan/aircon, I'll be perspiring badly. Can't believe that few months back, I had been sooo scared of the cold. :s

Btw, just wanna find out, is it all right to apply our normal body cream to the nipples for moisturising purposes?

Asura79: really?! Now I m trying to recall the girls in my 3 mths. Can only rem one gal who didn't cont after 3 mths. Plus a few others who went other classes.Hehe will go take a look at ur fb later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessica

oic.. tmc scan is not a good experience for me too. I remember got 1 or 2 sonographer is v lazy, didn't bother to wait or disturb the bb and keep asking me to come back. During Oscar, i went in and out 3 times until the 3rd one, i met a patient sonographer who bother to disturb the bb and wait for me to cough until she finish the scan. It was a whole 2 hrs session with this in and out. My no 1 scans are smooth within only 2 'trips' in and out the room.

I rem the ds report has to mention gender le. how can the sonographer not confirm the gender like tat. shd complain to tmc.

I tink watever the size of the cot, still better to buy another toddler bed later on bec' they need space to move around. Mine suppose to be the biggest in sg but i still find it cramp for my boy now coming to 3yr old.

Jessica

seriously i tink will make a big fuss if the sonographer cannot confirm the gender...

tats not acceptable..

gynae machine may not be as good and may not be able to tell the gender early.

ilovesashimi: my polyp was around cervix area so my gynae just removed it on the spot using a forcep during one of my scan. During pregnancy, hormonal changes can lead to growths like polyp. Her fren's polyp is deep inside, isit? that's why need operation?

Jessica , I will kick a big fuss too. How can I be assured that the sonographer has done a proper job when he/she can't even tell the gender... Is this still call DS? It seems like a rough screening insteAd...

Daddysbao, I m thinking to buy the avent magic cream or some nipples cream to apply at a later stage .. Now my nipples look shiny n oily leh ... Heh

pooh>> im in damai grove too! have you gotten your keys? my reno started last friday..

jessica>> im still going to my house despite reno being carried out.. i just pop by on days that they dun do reno, the weekends lo..

Ellysia - is yours toddler bed or adult super single bed? Cos i am scouting for one for my gal and I dun noe whats the difference. I am looking at super single size bed for my gal but so far thsoe i have seen are way too high for my gal to climb up.|||

My gf one not sure if its deep in. Could be.. her story hear already so scary.. luckily shes not pregnant yet.. but was planning.

Now i hear so many complaints about TMC - I am thinking "siao liao". Actually I agreed TMC standard not very good but because my Gynae only deliver in TMC so no choice and naturally all tests will be done there so that after seeing gynae and just go upstairs.

iLoveSashimi, my boy sleeps on a super single mattress. No frame cos too high, he'll fall. He has been sleeping on the super single mattress from seahorse since he was 1yo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow so man mummies doing reno, it's a very exciting phrase to see your house converted into your dream home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Be sure to take many photos of the before and after look! I rem loving to look at my photos for a long long time afterwards. Esp for mummies who believe in not going to the site, photos are the next best thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Do also give some thought as to whether to rope in family to help check the quality of work n the cleaning up later. It's a huge process to clean up, very messy even after the wash by contractor. Else can always engage cleaning co to clean up just after reno. Hee so happy to read many mummies living in PG too, near me, I'm in SK [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sleepley, your experience is scary. Luckily Bb is doing well now. Pls rest well m take good care throughout the next 6mths..

Jessica, it's ok. You'll def know bb's gender soon. Bb prob juz want to tease you abit longer hee. If really want to buy stuff, can always get the neutral colours one, good for next time also if next preg is diff sex [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Though I must agree the sonographer us really unprofessional to juz let it be.

Simbaobao, u r welcome! I'm planning to stock up later. If u just want a pc to try, let me know, can always post to u. No need spend $ buy whole pack to try yeah. N yes, is feeling warmer every day, think body temp going up. Will feel it more in 3rd trim [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ Ellysia: That sonographer did not even ask me to take a walk outside. I just went in, scan, "cannot see gender", go back home. My bb was not given a chance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@ igop: "How can I be assured that the sonographer has done a proper job when he/she can't even tell the gender" That was my thought too. I was fuming all the way home. All that money spent for "cannot tell gender, have to wait for next gynae visit". Thanks TMC.

Btw, can mummies share how to differentiate cramps n contractions? Haha although a 2nd time mum, I din really experience labour contractions last time so can't tell. I only knows braxton hicks is like tightening of stomach area but it's generally painless. How does contractions feels like? *blush*

ilovesashimi,

mine is a cot but is supposely the largest size. can be converted to toddler bed, i removed 1 side panel. Need to put back the panel for no 2, as my boy is not sleeping in the bed although we converted it to toddler bed for his use.

Yah i tink tmc service not so good, maybe KKH will be even better! The nurses r also not helpful, when i need help on latching i need to persuade the nurse to help. My previous delivery experience at TMC is not good. But i also not changing bec' ored used to tmc and my gynae clinic is there, easier for her to come over etc.

jessica

this is horrible. from my previous trips to tmc, they at least will give u 2-3 chances.

sung

I had many contractions during 1st Pregnancy 3rd trim, until i cannot tell which one is false and which one is real. Gynae told me tat the real one lasted more than 1 hr with 5-15mins regular interval. The feeling is quite similar to braxton hicks but it is more painful until i cannot sleep. I tried to sleep past tat 1 hr but keep waking up due to the contractions pain. after 1 hr i had such severe back pain tat i can't even walk properly and tell my hb looks like its the real one. Sure enough go hospital, nurse say ored dilate 2-3cm and in labour.

Ellysia:

Re bed: Ah i see. I think my handmedown cot could be the same size as what you mentioned. Largest and can be converted. At least my gal can sleep till shes 2 and in fact she can still sleep int there longer but she somehow didnt want her cot suddenly.. and kept waking up at night. My gf one.. before the boy turn 1, the bed already looks so small.. cannot even turn fully.. half to the left and then half to the right.. but kids are always very adaptable hence he can still sleep in there despite his legs almost touching the end.

Oh i didnt have the prob of getting nurses or lactation consultant to help me to latch though for my 1st one.

But my c-sect experience was bad and I cannot remembered my OSCAR or detailed test for my #1. Haiz.. super poor memory.

Ellysia, thanks for explaining. I din had labour contractions, just water bag burst. Then contractions wouldn't really kick start, feel like bad cramps only at abt 6-7mins apart. Then emerg c sect liao, haha no more experience with it. Guess from your sharing, real contractions would be really painful until can affect back. Thanks again!

I dislike the tmc midwives nurse who delivered my boy. But the china nurse in the previous shift is nice and she keep coming over to help put pillows behind my back and shift me (to circulate blood flow).

I tink my colleague at 2-bed ward (upgrade from 4-bed) has worse experience with the ward nurses who didn't come no matter how she keep pressing the bell. at least i stayed in 1 bed and nurse still attend to me even 4 times in midnight.

sung

i understand my colleague experience does not involve the backache. some no contractions but got backache. some got contractions but no backache. and some is like me, have both.

no matter how, just go when u really feel uncomfortable tat u can't rest or sleep.

My niece who is 4 years old is still sleeping in her playpen . I seriously wonder how she can squeeze inside the playpen ...

Ilovesashimi what's your c section experience like? Pain?

Any mummies experience painful boobs? My boobs quite sore n hard leh ...

Igop: I also feel boobs very sore! Think all part of the change in hormones etc. I can't rem if I felt like this during 1st preg.

Asura & bunnz: looks like we all from same JC in same year haha.. So coincidence!