(2011/09) Sep 2011

p00h, BTO? Which project?

So exciting to collect keys to new house [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I remember when we went to collect keys, me & hubby were like little kids - so excited to get our present :p

p00h, mine also BTO and also in Punggol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But we moved in 3 years le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually reno can be simple. Do what you need first. The rest can add on. Like baby's room no need to elaborate cos when they grow older, they'll want their own design/style.

My reno was 17k. A lot of carpentry works. Plus furniture & stuff, total was 23k. Now new houses all so small, not much space for you to reno also. haha.

Hi p00h, yes, got my keys in late Jan. Will be moving from Hougang to Ang Mo Kio when done.

You're right, renovation costs a bomb, and we're only doing the bare minimum. My house does not come with floor tiles, that's why it adds to the cost. Of the 3 bedrooms, we're only doing up the master bedroom. The other 2 bedrooms will only have tiles, haha.

To date, I've only bought 1 pair of 0-3 months baby shoes (or socks) at the Expo bb fair in March. That cost me $2.90, haha. When I subscribed for Mother & Baby Magazine, they gave me 2 MAM bottles, one pacifier + clip. That's all I have for baby now.

#2: mine quite alot of carpentry works.. reno itself is 30K liao, cos need to do flooring too.

Jessica: i did bought some bb clothes from my usa trip last jan.. other than that, nothing liao..

p00h, flooring is exp!! Mine comes with flooring from HDB...

Now I'm sourcing for quote for my tuition centre. Est is around $30k exclude furniture... But the place is quite big. The whole floor area is equals to the old type of 5rm HDB...

Wahs p00h, 30k wor, that's alot! My quotation was 13k: main bulk goes to tiles, kitchen cabinets, feature wall and tv console, and a platform for my mattress in master bedroom.

Looks like my definition of 'cost a bomb' quite diff from yours =X

p00h, my carpentry a lot but cheap cos I go to carpenter direct [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Got the contact from a mummy in another forum. Her hubby is the carpenter & she is the designer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] They gave us B grade wood at cheaper than market rate price [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Very happy with the reno [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessica : air condition is ex in ur 13k quote? Just want to get rough idea cos we r doing similar Reno to our new plc next yr.. Plus built in wardrobe for master room..

Hi mummies! it's the end of another tiring week! my #1 really into terrible twos stage [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] it's wearing me out big time man!!

anyway, it's weekend again so shan't complain too much haha.. now hungry.. just ordered macs delivery..

noticed my bb's gender already updated in the table.. will confirm again after DS this wed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahjess: don't stress k.. bb just wants to keep you in suspense a little longer and give you a nice surprise [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#2: now after reading what you wrote about the medela suction being so painful, i abit scared to buy the medela.. for #1 i used avent single electric but hubby ask me get double pump this time to save time which i fully agree! he's heard tons of reviews about how good the medela is and his colleagues' wives who use it all swear by it.. so...

the other thing about the avent duo which i was initially eyeing is that it looks so bulky and i can't imagine carrying that around with me coz i definitely need to bring it everywhere with me.. so end up probably will get the medela freestyle so i don't need a table to use it with.. sigh... worried about the suction being too strong.. guess worse case i buy the avent petal cushion and fit it onto the medela pump?

my doc said i have slight low lying placenta. anyone with the saame prob? cannot walk for more than 1hr in a day..sigh..

--pooh: pls update my particulars into the list too!

edd: 4sept, with Dr AL Lim@TMC. 1st baby, princess, im staying at serangoon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi bunnz, my air con is not in the quotation. I got my dad's friend to do the aircon for my 3 bedrooms. It will cost 2k. I can pass you my final costing when reno is done, then you can have a better idea.

HDB is doing cement screeding for my house later, excited to finally get something going for the new house! HB dun allow me to go though. I know reno not good for bb, but so exciting leh, like I'm missing something.

Chocolate, since you already hv Avent Uno, you can use it first then try out both the Medela & Avent after delivery to see which you like?

Actually I brought the Avent Duo to & fro work everyday for 1yr! Plus a fridge-to-go to keep the milk chilled on the way home...

I don't normally bring laptop or work home, so I used the breastpump bag as my 'handbag'. My wallet & phone all inside [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnz>> im doing my reno now, also Punggol BTO.. which project is yours? those getting keys now are among the same area.. punggol spring and damai grove.. mine is the latter..

my flooring and doors we opted in, major reno includes hacking of half kitchen wall, building consol seats (with storage) at dining area, building of the wardrobe in MBR, toilets (gonna do a bathtub! yeah!!).. total quote is about $15k

Punggol Spring & Damai Grove are near my place! Means you'll be popping by the Sheng Shiong just below my blk very often in future [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bathtub is shiok! We hv a bathtub too. Nvr regret it cos my boy totally enjoys himself 'swimming' in here every 2 days :p

p00h, yupz Coralinus [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Damai will be diagonally opposite the future sports complex [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Shiok!

Hi all, I've been a silent reader for a while.

I almost lost my bb due to incompetent cervix. Did a cerclage 3 weeks ago and am still in hospital now.

Lydia, are u put on bed rest by the doctor? I have been put on bed rest for the past 3 weeks, will be discharging soon but will likely have to do bed rest till delivery. Coincidentally, my Edd is 4 Sep too.

My details are as follow:

BB#: 1

Gynae: Dr LK Yap

Hospital: MEH

Area: Punggol

p00h, got [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it was in the map when I bought my unit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Heard that they r gonna start building next yr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sleepiey, must rest well & take care. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Means a lot of Sept babies in Punggol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can organise playdates & outings!

Bunnz & p00H: Thanks! =)) To apply for the card, we can send in the app form right? Coz my next visit to Mt A will be my DS already so hopefully can use this card…=) p00H, oh good, have promo! Hee…do u know when it’ll last till? Any promo code to quote or can just send in the app form and they will charge at $68? Sorry a lot of Qs hahah…=p

Chine: Hee I haven’t gone to the DS yet…will be going only at 22wks in early May…

Simbaobao: There is a warehouse sale at Toh Guan?! Coz I stay there! Hhaha…*excited* Where is it? =)

Sleepiey: Do take care and hope things are much better and more stable now? =)

b.isforbb: yes, things are stable now. Thanks.

But I wun be able to do any physical shopping, gonna miss all the upcoming fairs and sales. Will have to do research online and get hb to do the shopping. Luckily we did go to the mothercare, expo and taka fair in march before this happened, so he has an idea.

Prob have to rely on some gfs to help with the shopping.

I have actually signed up for antenatal class by Wong Boi Boi, now can't go already, will have to ask for refund. Quite disappointing...me and hb were looking forward to it.

#2: thanks, I have been ordered to rest, will be obedient. I was so close to losing this darling. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Afternoon ladies.

Thanks Jess . 2k for aircon is cheap. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks pinkie me for your info. The quotes hv inspired me. I was budgetin 20 k for mine n was very concerned it " ll be tough to keep to that.

Ours is in havelock rd. We have a flat at Zion rd which got en blc some yrs ago. chose only doors n regretted not choosing floor tiles as we hv no idea what we wanted that time. Have a better idea now w homogenous for living area n laminated for

bed rooms. Grills , kitchen cabinets n do up master room plus air conditioning for whole hse.

Bisforbb: no promo code for card. Just send chq for $68. Been ard this price since late feb or last mth.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

BALANCE 10 BOXES OF TRIPLUS ALL RESERVED.

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Feel a great relief that I'm 90% done with my work report. Am not good in writing report, hence was quite stressed over it for the past week.

Yesterday went down to OG People's Park. Bought more clothes for my baby and a baby gym for him! His very first toy! Saw the baby cot on offer. We both liked it but wanted to compare more. So tomorrow, we are heading down to Baby's Hypermart after Church.

RE: RENOVATION

We bought resale and basically hacked down everything except the 2 toilets since HDB upgraded it not too long ago. We spent 33K on reno and another 23K on furnishing. We only completed furnishing our house 6 months after we move in. But our reno journey wasn't smooth, a lot of hiccups with the contractor. So better leave it to your hubby, if possible. I remember I was so so upset with the contractor I couldn't even eat and sleep well.

Pommes, another great buy: EXERSAUCER & PLAY YARD :p

I still keep my boy's exersaucer & play yard [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will take out to use for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

b.isforbb: i did ask when the promo is ending.. they dunno, but it shld last for few mths from now..

pommes: i told hubby he will be the one who over-see most of the reno, as i am not allowed to go when they are working.. so pray hard, things will go smooth..

hi sleepiey, hope you're feeling better now. doc asked me to not walk so much and exercise only. on fri i went taka wanting to buy some baby stuff then suddenly felt this sharp pain in my tummy and had to stop in the middle of the shop. so scary.. so far no bleeding. hopefully placenta will move up soon. maybe shouldnt stress yourself too much at work? im a stay home mum now so at least i can sleep the whole day.

Lets pray we will all have a healthy and chubby baby in sept!

Finally settle my confinement lady. Paid deposit to GPLS, hope they deliver what they promised.

Wishing everyone a great Sunday ahead!

Had dinner with my friend (mummy of a toddler) last night and when she heard that I did not have a confinement lady for #1 and not intending to have confinement lady for #2, she just stare at me blankly. hahaha!

I still cannot stand the thought of having a total stranger 'watch over' me during confinement & 'snatching' baby away from me.

But my friend also said, even if got CL, must be hands on personally cos her friend's baby is super sticky to CL and she couldn't cope after CL left.

#2, thanks for explaining. then i most prob will have blocked ducts too coz i had removed a lump from breast a few years ago.

hmmm.. seems like maybe avent is a better choice. maybe will re-consider again.

sleepiey, do take care and really do full bed rest. do you mind me asking, how did you find out you got incompetent cervix?

my immune system really weak. now got slight flu and very bad sore throat. now taking tons of water, hopefully can recover on my own without seeing GP. really don't want to take medicine again.

yest, happened to go into an organic store. the shop owner was recommending me to take organic pregnancy tea which helps to an tai. anyone tried this before? http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/PregnancyTea

the shop owner was telling me that from wk 34 onwards, we should take raspberry tea to help with labour pains. he has many customers who feedback to him their labour time is much shorter when they faithfully take the raspberry tea. 2nd time mummies, anyone tried this during your #1 pregnancy?

I drank raspberry tea during first pregnancy only drank for anweek start week 37 (delivered at week 38) & my labour went very smoothly. Natural without assistance like forceps or vacuum ;)

#2,

Was reading abt the avent petal massage cushion u mentioned. Do u know where we could buy them? I have tried Isetan and John Little. Both dont carry.

Mareika,

I drank the tea for #1 but is for fun and to reduce my thirst for other tea. Not sure if labour time will really be reduced cos quite difficult to determine if it was the tea that helped since 2nd birth usually have shorter labour time to begin with.

What a sleepy Monday morning! *Yawn*

Went for another round of shopping spree for baby yesterday. Got a set of bedding and beanie pillows for him from Baby's Hypermart. Wah... baby's stuff really not cheap. Cost us $200 for these. Then went over to Toyogo warehouse and bought those 5-tier drawers to keep his clothes.

The nursery room is filling up fast with stuff now.

Good morn mummies,

What a rain to start on a Monday ! I've not been logging in for some time n the tread is moving v fast!

Things to update... Into 18-19 weeks now... Ive ballooned from 47kg to 53kg now!!! And I'm continuing to gain more than ever! So scary!!! Always feeling hungry n thirsty.... ESP in the morn... Can't seem to stop eating.... Any mummy here exp the same thing as I do?

Asura, as mentioned before, they only sell the 'spare parts' at Philips HQ at TPY. They don't sell it at retail stores. You can also get it from overseas sprees (cheaper).