(2011/07) July 2011

woahhh I'm only out for lunch and this thread is already moving amazingly fast.

Pillow4 ~ I'm trying to take plain water instead of those sweet stuff. I suppose Lemon is fine cos the article was taken from babycentre but probably if someone could check with their gynae to see if it is ok to take lemon/lime into our water, cos i'm not going to see mine until 6th Dec.

Sunshinebb ~ 2pm is my sleepy time as well, i hope that normal.. *yawn*

omg...im so sleepy...especially so after lunch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

also, my nausea is acting up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very xing ku leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yes Elch woody charges are cheap and he is good.. Abit chop chop but its ok I don't like too naggy and long winded gynaes... As long as he is professional its good enuf..

Wendy: lets hope the weight gain is only fluid (and boobs increment) hahaha

Wendy

Yes it helps alot. All swell sour plum drink is good. But I took it cold. Some people are against taking cold drinks. but personally I'm ok with it. It's just a Chinese saying. Ang mohs will be puzzled if you tell them can't take cold drinks. Haha. I dunno. You try lor, it did help alot for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elch

Hmm really damn cheap lor. Need to discuss with hubby whether to change Gynae. Near my house somemore. But hubby is more pro female Gynae. Actually I also lah. the thought of male Gynae poking their finger in (when checking for dilation) Abit intrusive. Haha.

Btw, does he do more on belly scan or vaginal scan?

Daph,

He's more of a non-intrusive kind of gynae. Hence he's more on belly scan. For my 1st pregnancy, he only 'intrude' me during the last week of my 3rd trimester to check for possible dilation and of course during delivery. That's it.

elch / sunshinebb ~ i'm feeling bloated, sore breasts and dark nipples too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunshinebb, elch> same, me just feeling super bloated. breast not exactly sore yet. but hb say seems bigger *grins*

Anyway FYI ladies, in case anyone interested to know. My b.wax therapist told me after 1st tri then safer to do. Now just rest first. For facial, my therapist just told me she'll avoid the use of essential oils on me..gg to 'clear' my face after work today...yippee..

Week 4 to week 5 - i felt bloated, cramps and sore breast. Almost like having menses symptoms except is preggy one. Nauseous feeling off and on. Tired and no energy. See my fav jamie oliver show i also want to puke. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Week 6 and Week 7 (Currently) - Downhill all the way.... Nauseous and this week 7 starting to puke but nothing came out. Change diet with more light meals and rest at home the whole week. Sleep and work on bed. Giddy spells and breathless.

Always run to the toilet to puke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Dinner time somehow i had better appetites and will always crave for something salty and spicy/sour. So i always try to take advantage that once i had good appetite, eat more to replenish since i hardly eat during the day.

I tried alot of things like i've mentioned earlier to get me going.

Breakfast: 1 piece of bread with butter and sprinkled with sugar + 1 small cup of ribenna/juice/soy milk

Lunch: 1 small bowl of plain porridge sprinkle with jap seaweeds. If appetite is good, will eat another bowl.

Dinner: depending on the appetite again. if no appetite, i will eat plain porridge again.

Snacks: always eat salty meiji crackers (that's really one comfort food)

hope everyone enjoy ur lunch....

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my migrain hit me again...feel like exploding...but still hv to work...

Elch

Totally no additional cost? What about his delivery charges? Is it normal? Sorry abt the so many questions coz I really might use him.

ixoral ~ for facial, is it safe to use equipment now that we are preg? (equipment like eye treatment where small amt of current is pass thru body?)

Daph.. sorry not elch but since I am with Woody too. Of course not everything is included in the package.. Things like Duphaston not inclded in package, oscar scan not included also, I rem'd there was a list of 4 or 5 items that aren't in the package.. but I guess other gynaes do the same too, cos I heard oscar scan cost 400-500 bucks..

Delivery if I never rem wrongly its btw 1200- 1900 (normal/ c section). The nurse provides a paper with all the info..

tze> i guess u better chk w yr therapist. the facial i go to is quite simple, with no use of machine. the only machine they use on me is the steamer on the face to open up pores. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone knows, other than raw/half-cooked stuff which we shd avoid, do we need to also avoid 'poisonous' seadfood? eg., prawns, crabs, clams, etc

Daph,

Additional cost are when we do the NT Scan, Detailed Scan and etc. The usual ones that most have to pay with other gynaes. Other than that none I can think of. As for delivery charge, it ranges from 1-2k+. Can't remember. If his clinic is near you, you can just pop by to get the package price list from the counter, they have the prices stated clearly.

ixoral,

Everything in moderation should be ok as everyone of us here have different body constitution, so what is ok to others might not be ok for us.

Hi sunshinebb, i agree. I remember seeing that it is better to avoid massage unless they are professional with pregnany women as there are some areas that they have to avoid to prevent contractions.

Elch

CCK

Sometimes I wonder Gynae like him so busy dunno whether can get to our labour in time or not. Haha! Coz my first labour was very short. 3 hours from waterbag bursting at home.

Daph,

CCK clinic and SK clinic have alternate operating hours if not wrong. The clinic at CCK might be closed hence the diversion of phone line. I have personally experienced calling up SK Clinic when it's closed and the call is diverted to clinic assistant's mobile and once even Dr.Woody's own mobile! When they are busy no one will pick up. Try again later.

wow..this thread is fast.

I just woke from my long nap.

It feels nice to be at home n resting.

How i dread going back to work next week.

Daph I am with the cck one.. no need to call and make appointment just walk in.. its shared with a 24 hour clinic so don't be shocked by the number of patients.. Not all are pregnant lol. Its just beside the DBS branch, very near the MRT station

6893 1227

Choa Chu Kang

Blk 304 Choa Chu Kang Ave 4

#01-653 S(680304)

mon to sat morning from 10 to 12pm

night only mon n thurs from 6 to 9pm

Hello ladies, I had a better time with Dr. Tanny Chan after the frightening encounters at KK A&E this week (pls don't go there unless there's really an emergency in the middle of the night). And most importantly, her husband did an absolutely gentle, painless v-scan where everything is looking normal. Finally feel like I can breathe a little more easily now *deep breath*

Elch

Haha, yes I was afraid it might end up with woody's mobile too!

Px22

Thanks for the detailed info. So have you seen him yet? What did he say? Did you just walk in? I dunno what is a good time to go. Was thinking next mon. I would be in my 7th week.

daph: yes walked in, registered and saw him in less than 10mins wait, even though got 4/5 couples ahead of me. Went in, told him I am preggers, LMP date, he asks u any problems/cramps/pain/spotting, then tells u EDD, and scans for heartbeat.. Then gives u the scan pic in an envelop and starts drawing the teacup- no coffee tea alcohol cig etc.. I was out in 3mins.. But he answered all of my questions though. And was joking with my hubby..

i heard abt it but it seems like giving mummies even more worry. Of cos it's good that everything 'swee swee'.....i heard the scan shld be done at ard wk 12?

any exisiting mummies did oscar scan for their #1 before? maybe will like to share it here...

Hi feimei, from what i know. Oscar scan is a combination test offered in the first trimester to screen for risk of fetal anomalies, in particular Down Syndrome (Trisomy 21). It involves a Nuchal translucency (NT) scan and a blood test.

An OSCAR screening will allow you to find out sooner if your baby has a high risk of defects. OSCAR screenings are optional i think. It is usually done between 11 to 14 weeks of your pregnancy

Px22

Thanks. I guess also it's because each patient's duration is very short. That explains for cheap package? Haha. So did you 'hear' the heartbeat or 'see' the heartbeat? The other time with my vaginal scan, the equipment very advance. Can detect the edd based on the foetus size. And can hear the heartbeat through vaginal scan. But with male Gynae not good to do v-scan la. Haha!

Oscar scan

Didn't do it the other time. I seriously think that such additional scan gives mummies worry. Unless you have the intention to abort the bb if it doesn't turn out well. Some Oscar scan results shows slight negativity, but bb turns out to be fine.

daph: ya my scan also can see EDD based on foetus size.. I see hb, his cck clinic not so advance for hearing equipment.. so for all the detailed scans and oscar scans need to go TMC to scan.. Ok leh I prefer male docs, I think they more gentle and generous with mc... And Woody wont do v-scan unless absolutely necessary..

feimei,

OSCAR scan is not compulsory. For my gynae, he will assess our risk via family history, age and etc and recommend to do OSCAR or NT Scan. For my #1, Dr. Woody advised me to go just for NT scan, if result's not idea then go for blood test. No need to go for OSCAR scan direct as it's more ex.

Daph,

Though consultation is short, we get the information we want. In short, we pay for skills and not 'posh' service.

Px22,

Dr.Woody don't do detailed scan and OSCAR scan because he doesn't have the machines to do it in his clinic. Moreover, lots of time is required to do detailed scan and OSCAR scan, hence a sonographer is the one who'll do the job at the hospital.

Do your Gynae usually give you MC when you go for your checkup?

I feel very bloated now! Any remedies to reduce this uncomfortable feel?

Suneshinebb / Wendy ~ thks for sharing.

Ixoral ~ ohh yes you are right!!! but i still have stuff to do argggg!!!

hihi..my dinner today is chicken briyani...yummy!

i didnt do oscar for my no 1.

didnt consider it necessary cos i told dh even if got defects we wont abort the baby.

to those who may be concern about avoiding liang food or those considered sharp..here are some things i know that we should avoid now:

- watermelon

- wintermelon

- cucumber

- pineapple

- rojak

do add to the list, ladies.